Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, concise guide!, August 17, 2011
This review is from: Write a Novel and Get It Published: A Teach Yourself Guide (Teach Yourself: Writing) (Paperback)
I've read many books on the writing craft, and have taken numerous writing courses; they've all been of value, but none of them has provided such thorough technical detail on plot (the eight-point arc) and character development that this book does. In hindsight, I've been hunting for a resource like this for years (having spent the past six years writing two novels). The author provides not only numerous helpful laundry lists of things to consider regarding plot, characters, style, dialogue, setting, viewpoint, theme, editing, etc., but also 'softer', philosophical advice on how one might want to approach the novel-writing business. There are also many insightful quotations from accomplished novelists that help put the reader's (i.e. would-be writer's) mind and spirit in the appropriate place to tackle the beguiling world of writing a novel that others will want to read. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All that and a bag of chips, September 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Write a Novel and Get It Published: A Teach Yourself Guide (Teach Yourself: Writing) (Paperback)
This book offers fantastic coverage of the many facets of the art and science of writing. Whether you are new to the writing profession or a veteran, you can benefit from this book. The information offered in each chapter is trimmed nicely to provide the reader with what he/she needs, minus all the fluff. I particularly appreaciate the end of chapter summaries and exercises. Nuff said--buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Constructive Effort on Art of Writing, February 27, 2013
By 
JWL (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Write a Novel and Get It Published: A Teach Yourself Guide (Teach Yourself: Writing) (Paperback)
Watts has a simplified approach to the skill of writing a novel. It breaks the messy process into understandable elements that can be digested into delectable bites. It is not a formulaic approach, but one that resonates from the writer's heart and assures the reader that this author truly cares about the writer's effort and wants the reader to feel the same. This is a must buy book for any aspiring authors or even old ones who want to improve their understanding of what the art of writing really entails.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, April 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An encouraging, informative book. Beautifully written, with no hint of superiority hiding in its advice. Would highly recommend to any aspiring writer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, arrived damaged., October 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Write a Novel and Get It Published: A Teach Yourself Guide (Teach Yourself: Writing) (Paperback)
I love this book. It is helpful and written in a clear and engaging way. I borrowed it from the library and had to own my purchase. Great information that can easily be applied to your writing. I gave it four stars because my book came damaged (folded in half, breaking the binding).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Inspired, September 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Write a Novel and Get It Published: A Teach Yourself Guide (Teach Yourself: Writing) (Paperback)
It simply couldn't get any easier,,,, this book is beyond all expectations,,, it is one word,,, "Awesome"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough and well written, December 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found the book to be very well thought out and covers its bases well. The advice sounds very good - we'll see how it works out in my own writing efforts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is clear and concise therefore demonstrating good writing techniques which is the purpose of the book, February 28, 2015
By 
Ironmanbart (San Diego, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very well written. It is clear and concise therefore demonstrating good writing techniques which is the purpose of the book. Wish I knew about and read this book before I started to write my own,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, February 26, 2015
Brilliant, and very easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Write a Novel and Get It Published: A Teach Yourself Guide (Teach Yourself: Writing)
Used & New from: $43.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.