Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but have realistic expectations
This is another good book by Bly. Keep in mind though, Bly has 30 years of experience, 80+ books published, and a loyal following of 60K+ followers. One doesn't build this type of reputation overnight. It takes time, experience, and expertise in a specific niche that evolves over time. If you have an infrastructure in place to exploit the tips Bly provides here, then yes,...
Published on March 8, 2011 by Kyle T. Logan

versus
97 of 101 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good ideas, light on specifics
The book provided a lot of good ideas, e.g. taking your existing materials and making audio programs/DVDs out of them, but felt light on specifics and implementation. While reading the book, I would frequently search the web for more information regarding the specific topic. After doing that for a while, I began to wonder why I purchased the book.

For me,...
Published on April 15, 2011 by AdamSTL


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but have realistic expectations, March 8, 2011
This review is from: How to Write & Sell Simple Information for Fun and Profit: Your Guide to Writing and Publishing Books, E-Books, Articles, Special Reports, Audio Programs, DVDs, and Other How-To Content (Paperback)
This is another good book by Bly. Keep in mind though, Bly has 30 years of experience, 80+ books published, and a loyal following of 60K+ followers. One doesn't build this type of reputation overnight. It takes time, experience, and expertise in a specific niche that evolves over time. If you have an infrastructure in place to exploit the tips Bly provides here, then yes, I do believe you can add significant income to your business using this book. If you don't however, you should realize that building a six figure supplementary income will take time as your loyal followers and infrastructure builds out. Bly estimates 12 - 24 months. I think that this depends on many factors, including: your time and ability to test ideas, you internet savvy and marketing smarts, the number of followers you have, your choice of material and audience pool (as Bly indicates), and more. Can you do it in two years or less? Perhaps. Can it take longer. Of course. My suggestion: buy the book, aim for the moon, but set expectations accordingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 101 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good ideas, light on specifics, April 15, 2011
By 
AdamSTL (Saint Louis, Missouri) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Write & Sell Simple Information for Fun and Profit: Your Guide to Writing and Publishing Books, E-Books, Articles, Special Reports, Audio Programs, DVDs, and Other How-To Content (Paperback)
The book provided a lot of good ideas, e.g. taking your existing materials and making audio programs/DVDs out of them, but felt light on specifics and implementation. While reading the book, I would frequently search the web for more information regarding the specific topic. After doing that for a while, I began to wonder why I purchased the book.

For me, it's best used as a quick "ah ha, I'll do that" type book for sparking ideas, with more in-depth research done elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


156 of 173 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars UGH, August 23, 2011
By 
TommyGuitar (Dutchess County, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Write & Sell Simple Information for Fun and Profit: Your Guide to Writing and Publishing Books, E-Books, Articles, Special Reports, Audio Programs, DVDs, and Other How-To Content (Paperback)
As usual, most of the 5 star reviews are from family and friends of the author. How do I know? Because almost all of the things that the author is recommending, turn out to be HIS OWN PRODUCTS. I purchased the book looking for specifics on how to sell and market my ebook. There is some good info here and there, but most of his tips end with, "for more information on how to do this, visit blahblahblah.com" which ends up being one of HIS websites (which, yes, you have to PAY for). How can you trust someone who already took your money and is also trying to load you up with back-end offers in the actual book? Isn't that the reason you purchased it already?? To avoid the BS?? Avoid this one on principle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hands-on practical guide that absolutely anyone interested in nonfiction writing as a career must have, September 12, 2010
This review is from: How to Write & Sell Simple Information for Fun and Profit: Your Guide to Writing and Publishing Books, E-Books, Articles, Special Reports, Audio Programs, DVDs, and Other How-To Content (Paperback)
How to Write & Sell Simple Information for Fun and Profit is a straightforward, career-minded guide to creating and publishing saleable how-to books, articles, reports, seminars, or even online content. Chapters cover how to efficiently and effectively conduct research, build a reputation in one's field, avoid common pitfalls, and earn a solid living. "One of the biggest challenges for the how-to writer running his own membership site is retaining members. There is really only one strategy that can prevent your members from leaving: continually posting fresh content on the site." Making money through the creation of audio CDs, DVDs, and even selling software is also covered, in this hands-on practical guide that absolutely anyone interested in nonfiction writing as a career must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Covers everything I need to know..., September 16, 2010
By 
Jack T. (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Write & Sell Simple Information for Fun and Profit: Your Guide to Writing and Publishing Books, E-Books, Articles, Special Reports, Audio Programs, DVDs, and Other How-To Content (Paperback)
I've been running my own info-publishing small business for years, but modestly and with a lot of trial-and-error. Imagine how much further along I'd be if I'd had this book from the beginning. Bob covers everything, soup-to-nuts -- from how to get the ideas to all the ways to repackage and sell them --and in a simple, straight-forward style. Most of Bob's suggestions don't require anything special to get started either. Definitely worthwhile, regardless of whether you're just starting out or you're just looking for ways to expand your business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book covers everyting for a successful info-publishing internet business, November 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Write & Sell Simple Information for Fun and Profit: Your Guide to Writing and Publishing Books, E-Books, Articles, Special Reports, Audio Programs, DVDs, and Other How-To Content (Paperback)
Once I heard on Facebook that Bob Bly published a new book, I rushed to buy. This is not the first book by Bob Bly I purchased, this is definitely not the last one. Why do I purchase books written by Bob Bly? His books are great sources of information. In addition, the books are very encouraging. Even when I think I can not do something, sure enough I find the solution in the book.

What you can find in the book:
* How to come up with great titles
* What kinds of media and formats exist, what to use and why
* Word length of different information products
* How to come up with killer titles
* What software program can help you create the book outline and how to create it if you have no money
for the software program
* Make money with tele-seminars, webinars and podcasts
* Profiting from book and e-book

Great, great book. I was so impressed, I wrote a review on one of my websites. Looking forward for the next one. Knowing Bob Bly, he is most likely working on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great How To Guide, January 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Write & Sell Simple Information for Fun and Profit: Your Guide to Writing and Publishing Books, E-Books, Articles, Special Reports, Audio Programs, DVDs, and Other How-To Content (Paperback)
Robert Bly is a highly successful writer, copywriter and marketer. He has put together a very valuable resource for anyone aspiring to make money from their writings.

This book is about how to profit from selling information in many different formats. If you are new to selling information, this book will open your eyes to the many different markets and venues within these markets which are available to you. Even for those who have been in the business for some time, you will learn some new ways to profit from your knowledge and experience.

In my mind, the most important thing about this book is that it is the collective knowledge and wisdom of someone who has made an outstanding living in this trade. Bob Bly is sharing what he knows. And what he shares is not theory, it is from actual experience. So while some of the information might seem counterintuitive, do not dismiss it. It would be a huge mistake to think that you know better.

This book really covers all aspects of information marketing - from picking the market to writing for magazines, doing your own book - either through a publisher or through self-publishing. He also gives some great insights on doing live workshops, online training and coaching/consulting.

The book offers plenty of additional resource information in the appendix. Mr. Bly also has an e-newsletter which is available for free.

The book is full of excellent information about how to capitalize on your knowledge and experience. It is well organized and very easy to read. He gives plenty of examples from the real world of his own experience.

Since the book is well organized you can skip any chapter that does not appeal to you. For example if you have no interest in writing for magazines, then you would not really miss anything if you skipped that chapter.

My suggestion is to read the book cover to cover to get an idea of all that is possible. Then keep it handy and refer to it for specific advice when you are doing a specific project.

If you are selling information, this should certainly be a standard part of your reference material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, April 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Write & Sell Simple Information for Fun and Profit: Your Guide to Writing and Publishing Books, E-Books, Articles, Special Reports, Audio Programs, DVDs, and Other How-To Content (Paperback)
This is an average book. While the author insists your written product is 'simple information', gleaning the publishing information from this book is anything but simple. I was hoping to get some concise and applicable publishing tips. While you might extract some specifics, they are far and few between- and the same old 'same ole'. I also felt the old school tone of salesmanship in this writing... as if the book was not truly for my benefit, but for the author who could con the masses to send money for such redundant, common sense information. I felt a bit 'taken'... but perhaps that was the point? Either way, I wasn't very impressed... obviously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to write & sell Simple information for fun & profit, October 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book to get some useful tips and I am not disappointed.

However, I wonder if the book could not have been written in less than half its length.

Also I found the cross selling efforts within the book somewhat irritating.

In spite of this the book is useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book For Writers, March 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Write & Sell Simple Information for Fun and Profit: Your Guide to Writing and Publishing Books, E-Books, Articles, Special Reports, Audio Programs, DVDs, and Other How-To Content (Paperback)
This is a great book for anyone who wants to break into the "how to" writing business. The author goes into a number of different methods and mediums to accomplish these goals, all of which are helpful. After an overview of the "how to" process, the author tackles different formats and how to market them.

Some of the best tips include:

Titling your work
Steps to publish a book
E-zine tips
Marketing tips for authors
Research a book
Mindmapping outlines
Organizing materials

The one complaint I have about this book is the organization of the nuts and bolts information. Some of the really good advice is tucked away in chapters that some people may skip (like the dvd chapter). Would have preferred to have each chapter on different mediums narrower in focus. That way, you could skip the parts that you really did not have an interest in. As it is, you really need to read each chapter to glean all the great information contained within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.