Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, Humorous - useful tidbits
My copy of "Write that book Already" arrived a few days ago, and I went through it rather quickly and with ease. Well written, and witty, it offers all the basics with a spoonful of humor and tidbits you won't find anywhere else. It covers all the obvious basics, getting great ideas down, submitting manuscripts, writing cover letters, and of course, handling rejection...
Published on July 23, 2010 by DignityRocks

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Useful Tips, But ...
Not the best book on writing that I've read, but there are some useful tips. However, most of it will be out of date within a year or two. There is a lot here about how to do book tours, on the value of having an agent, and attracting the publisher. It's all basically how publishing use to be done. Publishing will not be done this way in the future so I'd say the book is...
Published on December 26, 2011 by Allen Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, Humorous - useful tidbits, July 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My copy of "Write that book Already" arrived a few days ago, and I went through it rather quickly and with ease. Well written, and witty, it offers all the basics with a spoonful of humor and tidbits you won't find anywhere else. It covers all the obvious basics, getting great ideas down, submitting manuscripts, writing cover letters, and of course, handling rejection. What is added is inserts on the pages called, "Tough Love from the Author Enablers" where Sam and Kathi add some added info, or insight, that they have which offers unique information they have collected over their careers in the author/publication business. The glossary in the back was extensive and even had a couple of terms I hadn't run across, but the chapter with a variety of famous authors sharing their favorite books and tips again was something you won't find in mainstream writing help books. Since there are so many people offering this type of advice, getting it straight from successful authors, and their particular experience, added a refreshing twist to an otherwise well researched topic. There were a few additional surprises, including Kathi's now famous Matzo balls recipe, and possible dialogs of phone calls you may receive and how you may want to respond. In today's market, it is said that only 10% of success is writing the book, and the rest is in the marketing, including all the new media, (i.e. Facebook, twitter, blogs, etc). This is covered to some extent as well. This came at a good time, since I am working on three writing projects, one of them a collaborative effort, as a co-author. This book helped me get a better feel for how I would approach the complexity of getting the information down. I will be passing it onto two colleagues currently beginning their own writing projects.

Stephanie
DignityRocks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Covers every aspect of the publishing process, July 16, 2010
Writing is hard. Getting published is harder still. That's why "Write That Book Already! The Tough Love You Need to Get Published Now" by Sam Barry (Marketing and Promotions Manager, HarperOne) and author/publicist Kathi Kamen Goldmark is such an invaluable instructional resource for aspiring authors. A 226-page compendium packed from cover to cover with sage advice and practical commentary, "Write That Book Already!" provides an overview with the 'life cycle' of a book from original idea to published book -- and the marketing, publicity, and promotion that comes next. From step-by-step instructions on writing book proposals and pitch letters, to obtaining an agent, to working with editors, "Write That Book Already!" covers every aspect of the publishing process -- including the option of self-publishing. Enhanced with a glossary of publishing terms, effective tactics for dealing with writer's block, and personal stories of writers who went on to eventual success despite earlier rejections, "Write That Book Already!" is a highly recommended addition to academic and community library Writing/Publishing reference collections, and an enduringly useful read for anyone aspiring to become a successfully published author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Runs In the Family, December 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was recommended in an on-line chat (Washington Post??)for those of us who carry the beginnings of a book around in our heads and never get past the "thinking-about-it" stage. The authors are husband and wife who both have published works. He is the brother of humorist Dave Barry, and he is "famous" for actually writing a book on playing the harmonica.

While there are hundreds of books which tell you to "write every day and write about what you know" for mentally constipated would-be authors, this one also talks about building a marketing base, acquiring an agent, getting a publisher and what happens after the manuscript becomes an actual object. In other words, "I've been there, done that, bought the tee-shirt and here is what you look for as you follow me down the trail." Your experience may be different, but it is nice to have the advice of someone who has really walked down the path you want to follow.

In short, it's worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Useful Tips, But ..., December 26, 2011
By 
Allen Taylor "Allen Taylor" (York Springs, Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Write That Book Already! The Tough Love You Need to Get Published Now (Paperback)
Not the best book on writing that I've read, but there are some useful tips. However, most of it will be out of date within a year or two. There is a lot here about how to do book tours, on the value of having an agent, and attracting the publisher. It's all basically how publishing use to be done. Publishing will not be done this way in the future so I'd say the book is pretty much a throw away at this point. Good ideas, but for the wrong time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Book For Any Aspiring Writer, May 6, 2010
By 
I received this book yesterday and I'm already 2/3 of the way through it. I am an aspiring writer and my dream is to someday be a published author. This book gives you many good tips on how to get your name out there, and how to make your dream become a reality. Maya Angelou gives an excellent forward and there are many great pointers from Stephen King, Amy Tan, Roy blount,Jr., Dave Barry, Scott Turrow, and others. It's presented in an informative and entertaining way. One tip from Dave Barry is if you are going on TV to promote your book to find out if they will do your makeup. If not go to a department store, buy a tube of lipstick, ask for a makeover, and then you will look perfect for your TV interview. Unfortunately it doesn't say what shade of lipstick is Mr.Barry's favorite. There is also a quote by Dave Barry on the back cover which says," We can only imagine how much more Tolstory would have accomplished if only he'd had this book".
I've become more inspired by just reading this wonderful book. There are sections labeled 'Tough Love' where the authors give serious and well thought out advice about writing. In fact one of the most important ways to realize your dream of being a writer is to write. Everyday. This sounds so obvious but I'm constantly surprised at how much I procrastinate when it actually comes to putting something down on paper. It's nice to know that I am not the only one with this problem. It also gives you the truth about writing being a solitary venture most of the time. There are excellent suggestions about joining writers groups and how not to annoy your friends and relatives while you are writing. One thing I found very helpful is the index in the back of the book where you can look up certain topics. The chapter about how to obtain an agent was very informative and took some of the mystery out of that process. I always just assumed literary agents were these beings that sat behind desks with a reject stamp in one hand and a cup of coffee in the other. I was surprised to see that most of them do not even drink coffee.
Seriously, this is an excellent book and probably one of the best books I've read on writing. If you are truly serious about starting a career you need this book. I have several friends that are also aspiring writers and I will be recommending it to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Fun, and Practical!, August 21, 2010
By 
Vicki Hendricks (Hollywood, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is everything the beginning writer needs to know about getting published. Goldmark and Barry seem to have as much fun writing the book as the reader does learning from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay. Not great., March 15, 2013
By 
Richard Bradley (Daytona Beach FL area) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There are some humorous and helpful things in the beginning of the book. In the last few chapters on what to do after it is published, it fell apart for me. No independent writer has the time to do what is suggested. If your mainstream you do what you're told. After being published, all a writer can do is write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, Interesting Book on Writing for Beginners and Veterans, February 29, 2012
By 
Geni J. White (Pacific Northwest. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Write That BOOK Already
The Tough Love You Need to Get Published Now
Sam Barry and Kathi Kamen Goldmark ©2010
Adams Media
ISBN 978-1-60550-147-5 (p-book)
ISBN 978-1-4495-0710-6 (e-book)
Includes Appendix I :Beloved Books of Famous Author
Appendix II The Life Cycle of a Book
Appendix III Glossary of Publishing Terminology

With wit and clarity, the authors discuss the realities of writing and publishing. They are honest about the difficulties, but also encourage writers to persevere. They know that to be a writer you must read, read, read, learn effective methods and practice, practice, practice.

Known as the Author Enablers, Barry and Kamen explore an editors life, how books are chosen for publication and, marketing and publicity demands. They write about the pros and cons of self publishing and editing as well as other important basic issues.

A particularly helpful book for beginning writers, more experienced authors can also learn new information from Write That BOOK Already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Write That Book Already! says it all, February 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Famous authors and writers speak their mind in this straight-forward "hit-em between the eyes" read. If you haven't gotten the message by the end of the book,
you just wasted hours reading it. The title says it loudly. This is for those procrastinators who wait to make the American novel a reality. Read it in snippets daily and
it will keep you on track for doing some writing every day.

It is a no-nonsense book about getting it done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read For Aspiring Authors, August 9, 2010
I read Write That Book Already! The Tough Love You Need to Get Published Now and ran out of ink trying to highlight everything. I am an aspiring children's/YA author, but the genre does not matter since the goal of all (most) writers is publication. There are many avenues to publication today. Sam and Kathi covered them all. I would recommend this book to anyone who is serious about seeing their book in the hands of an agent/publisher. I am already following their advice of making sure I have a business card with my contact information on me at all times. You just never know who you might meet. Again, a must read for sure!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Write That Book Already! The Tough Love You Need to Get Published Now
Write That Book Already! The Tough Love You Need to Get Published Now by Kathi Kamen Goldmark (Paperback - May 18, 2010)
$14.95 $12.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.