Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Spiral-bound|Change
Price:$32.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon April 24, 2013
I expected this book, Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences, to be another of those dull, detail obsessed books on someone or another's interpretation of various style manuals for writing - Chicago, APA, and so on.

It's better than that.

This slim book is easy to read, discusses various types of writing in addition to oral and poster presentations, and discusses organizing data, using literature, and more.

The spiral bound format makes it easy to keep next to your keyboard as you are typing and working on a particular reference format.

I appreciate this contribution to student success. This was a text for my students this semester, and it was easy to keep referring to it for style issues.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2014
This is a great book for anyone who needs to do scientific writing--whether biology majors or not--because the principles here apply to a wide range of subjecs. It covers everything from lab reports to review articles, journal articles, CVs, presentation letters, and presentations. I teach science writing, and I find this to be an excellent resource. It also includes some very useful checklists!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2012
This McMillian's current publication contains some of the most usable reference in writing scientific papers. Much of the book reflects examples of different formats and proper citations on a paper. It is highly recommended to anyone.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2013
As an aspiring ecologist, I have to write countless lab reports. This book was a required purchase for a botany class and it is THE book on scientific papers. I wish I had come across this thing years ago.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2014
This little book is very helpful when writing lab reports and will serve me well for years to come in all of my science classes.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2015
This is a decent walk-through for research paper writing. It is pretty descriptive but by no means all encompassing. There are many additional appropriate citation formats (indeed some are only different in minor details) for research than what is demonstrated in this book. Alternative citation formats are given but not highlighted via the design of this manual. I referenced it and ended up seeking answers online anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2013
This book is excellent for students starting to write in the sciences, it explains the rationale behind each type of scientific writing. It is a bit shallow for graduate students.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2013
This is book is a good guide for writing undergraduate research papers and formal lab reports. Not sure if it would be helpful for any grad level writing but I thought it was excellent for undergrad.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2014
Perfect condition. This book is extremely helpful and I find it useful for every science report. I have used this book so far for three classes
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2013
If you don't know how to write a simple paper this will help greatly. The rest of us know how to write papers so this wasn't really needed...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse