Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr Roman's book is very good value.
Mr Roman is an extremely competent and clear writer. This book, whilst not as big as some, doesn't waste space with any padding, and boring repititious stuff you see in some texts.

Although there could have been a little more on interplay between Excel and the other Office objects, esp. Outlook, this book makes up for that with its clear, organised and logical...
Published on May 16, 2005 by Douglas L. Brasier

versus
26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good primary reference
I was looking for a primary reference for the Excel object model. I have years of programming experience, some VB, and was looking for something to get me started programming Excel VBA. This book is not suitable as a primary reference. Much better are either Power Programming (Walkenbach) or Excel VBA (Bovey) which contain many useful tips and gotchas that helped me out...
Published on September 14, 2004 by Will Golson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr Roman's book is very good value., May 16, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Writing Excel Macros with VBA, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
Mr Roman is an extremely competent and clear writer. This book, whilst not as big as some, doesn't waste space with any padding, and boring repititious stuff you see in some texts.

Although there could have been a little more on interplay between Excel and the other Office objects, esp. Outlook, this book makes up for that with its clear, organised and logical presenatation.

I use it as a reference book, and seem to remember the content of it more clearly than I do with other comparable books! Why is this? Mr Roman has a tidy turn of phrase, doesn't wafffle, but his explanations seem to sit well in how my mind works. I hope this will be the same for you.

I recommend this book for those who may be beyond the beginner stage of learning VB(A). It also includes some handy utilities for users of Excel.

Mr Roman - well done. Look forward to your next (high level?) Excel VBA book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Reference, June 7, 2005
By 
Dan McKinnon (Tewksbury, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Writing Excel Macros with VBA, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
This is a very specialized book with a very specialized core audience and this text does what it says it does -- teach you how to write Excel Macros using VBA. Nothing too exciting here folks, very dry reading that is a necessary reference if you need to have more control over Excel than the everyday user does.

I remember long ago when I needed to work on building some installers and I had never worked with Installshield before. There was one book on the market that was helpful in completing this task, and there is a very close correlation here as well. There simply is not enough of a market to provide a wide variety of different books to choose from when needing to learn how to write Excel macros. Any user would want a book that helps them complete their task at hand and this book gets my seal of approval in helping to do just that.

**** RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only mathematician can write this book, July 29, 2002
By 
Weiqin Xie (New Jersey, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Writing Excel Macros with VBA, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
I don't know why this book is labeled as "2nd Edition". The cover is the 3rd "face" I have seen. I did learn good stuff from the previous editions, but never recommend it to anybody for its' dry. The new edition has a big change. It is succinct, reader-freindly, but also contains many useful information you won't find in other books. For instance, there is no any other book goes so depth into Pivot Table properties and methods. Comparing with the Excel 2002 VBA books written by John Walkenbach or Stephen Bullen and John Green, this book definitely presents more real 2002 features. If you want to learn more about Excel 2002 objects, get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among the best books on Excel VBA, July 5, 2006
By 
K. Scott Proctor (Wilmington, DE USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Writing Excel Macros with VBA, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
"Writing Excel Macros with VBA" is an excellent book on the use of VBA (Visual Basic for Applications) for Microsoft Excel. Steven Roman provides a significant amount of information in a relatively short volume.

While this book is accessible to Excel users of a variety of skill levels, it is best suited to numerically-inclined and experienced users of Excel. The book offers a good introduction to the VBA programming environment and the Excel object model.

Steven Roman has written the best book on Excel VBA that I have read to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good primary reference, September 14, 2004
By 
Will Golson (Fort Collins, CO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Writing Excel Macros with VBA, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
I was looking for a primary reference for the Excel object model. I have years of programming experience, some VB, and was looking for something to get me started programming Excel VBA. This book is not suitable as a primary reference. Much better are either Power Programming (Walkenbach) or Excel VBA (Bovey) which contain many useful tips and gotchas that helped me out of a few baffling situations. Roman's book seemed to focus on the few examples he developed, rather than be a resource for problems a beginning/intermediate Excel programmer was likely to encounter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not helpful for an intermediate programmer, September 4, 2002
By 
David E Mather (MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Writing Excel Macros with VBA, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
When purchasing this book, I already had in mind the macros that I wanted to program and the logic I was going to use in order to accomplish the task. All I was really looking for was a breakdown of the syntax in VBA (I'm new to the language), and a list of commands that were available. Trying to extract this information from the book was tedious at best. It would have also been useful if there was an example or two of how some of the basic syntax works. I can only really use it as a second reference from the help menus already provided in excell and the online microsoft tutorial... suggest checking out that link and thumbing through the book at a store before buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only mathematician can write this book, July 29, 2002
By 
Weiqin Xie (New Jersey, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Writing Excel Macros with VBA, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
I don't know why this book is labeled as "2nd Edition". It's the 3rd "face" I have seen. I did learn good stuff from the previous editions, but never recommend it to anybody for its' dry. This edition has a big change. It is succinct, reader-freindly, but still contains many useful information you won't find in other books. For instance, there is no any other book goes so depth into Pivot Table properties and methods. Comparing with the Excel 2002 VBA books written by John Walkenbach or Stephen Bullen and John Green, this book definitely presents more real 2002 features and undocumented Excel VBA issues. If you want to learn more about Excel object model, you should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Title of the Book has Been Mistaken, December 4, 2003
This review is from: Writing Excel Macros with VBA, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
When I bought the book, I was impressed by its title and TOC since they give the promise of leading the reader into macro programming. However, it is rather a large-volume Excel/VBA reference, not a book on how to write macros.
Unfortunately, there is no system of introducing the reader gradually into the language (as in all usual programming textbooks) by introducing concepts, giving examples and requesting particular exercises.
On a positive note, the book contains (all) VBA concepts relevant to Excel macros and can very well serve as a future reference once the reader has bought another book to learn how to code within some range of macro programming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good reference information..., January 10, 2004
This review is from: Writing Excel Macros with VBA, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
OK... I can hear it now... What are we doing reviewing Microsoft application books in a Notes/Domino context? Trust me, it actually makes sense here. Read on...
This book is a refreshing change from the 1000+ page manuals you often see when you are looking for a technical reference book. The author's philosophy is such that he doesn't resort to handholding, nor does he try to explain every last nuance of an application. Instead, he gives a concise explanation of the material, and builds upon the information as you go. When you are done with the material, you should have the basic knowledge you need to be productive immediately, as well as the tools you need to delve further into VBA and Excel programming.
The first part of the book shows you the editing environment used to program Excel. Once you have that down, he explains the basics of VBA. VBA, or Visual Basic For Applications, is a subset of the Visual Basic language, and is well suited for scripting activities within an application object model. Once you understand all that, you start putting that newly acquired information to work by creating Excel applications that allow you to automate functions within Excel.
OK, now back to the Notes/Domino world. Why do you need to know anything about Excel and how to program it? It depends if you want to really want to extend the power of Notes. With LotusScript, you can create an Excel object in code using COM technology. Once you have the Excel object declared, you could use LotusScript to start manipulating the properties and methods of all the Excel objects. So for instance, you could build an agent that would read all the documents in a view and create a simple Excel spreadsheet without having the user work through the cumbersome view export menu option. Or to be more impressive, you could use the Excel object model within LotusScript to create monthly reports with all the formatting you would normally do manually within Excel. This keeps the user from having to manually transfer data from one application to another.
So why this book? To effectively program LotusScript and Excel, you MUST understand the object model of the application. If you don't understand the object hierarchy of Excel, it makes it nearly impossible to do anything more than the simplest of tasks. The author does a great job of explaining the different objects in Part 3 of the book. While not all of the objects are applicable to your Notes/Domino programming, most of the material will give you the information you need to understand where to start and to figure out what is possible.
Conclusion
I recommend this book to any Notes/Domino developer who wants to create applications that interface with Excel. Other books concentrate too much on how to work with Excel as an application. This book gives you the tools you need to work with Excel as a programmable tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An unpleasant read, but with good information..., September 27, 2003
By 
Steve (Salt Lake City, UT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Writing Excel Macros with VBA, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
First off, let me point out that I like O'Reilly books, typically. They strike a good mix between readability and content. However, this book is severely lacking in the readability department. Perhaps it's naive of me to expect to be getting my feet wet in writing macros from the earliest chapters on, or to expect clarity from the author. Instead, the book's ongoing project doesn't start up until the tenth chapter (of 22), and from that point on, the clarity is lacking. Steven Roman seems to have adopted the writing approach of "throw lots of information at them, then try to make it clear with a few examples." While clarity may come (with some effort on the reader's part), a good author would never let the reader lose coherence like that.
On the other hand, the book is full of useful information (after you've sifted through the muddy explanations, anyhow). Perhaps you should buy this book if you absolutely can't find another book that looks more promising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Writing Excel Macros with VBA, 2nd Edition
Writing Excel Macros with VBA, 2nd Edition by Steven Roman (Paperback - June 15, 2002)
$39.99 $28.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.