Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Writing Science in Plain English (Chicago Guides to Writing, Editing, and Publishing)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
13
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 8, 2013
I have a wide shelf of books on writing, but Writing Science in Plain English stands out from the rest. I believe it is an essential resource for all scientists and students. Everyone who writes about science needs to focus on the essentials of good communication, and Greene strikes gold with her approach: she presents material that science writers can actually use. So many times books on writing give long anecdotes and background that readers need to wade through to get to the author's advice, but the format of this book mirrors the brevity and clarity that are the goals of good science writing. Greene gets right to the point, and provides useful information that can be employed easily and immediately. It will earn a place alongside Strunk and White on the shelf of every serious science writer.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2016
After reading this book for a biology elective at the University of Washington I will never be able to read scientific literature the same. I am constantly critiquing articles I read and have begun editing my own publications accordingly! You'll love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2014
The book is interesting but it has too many mistakes that really bother me since this is a book on writing well. The author changes the meaning of the text when revising it, makes assumptions and omits parts of the sentences. I have found three such examples and I am only at page 17.

"Understanding seasonal habitat ranges and their distribution is critical for X conservation and management" (16 words) is changed to "Before we can conserve and manage X we must understand their seasonal habitats" (15 words). The author wants to show the new sentence is shorter and completely omits "ranges" and "distribution" which would lengthen the revised sentence.

Edit: Finished the book. It is useful and worth its price. Most of what the author says will not amaze you but it is good advice and it is nice to have everything collected together. Some examples get dry and tiring but most of it can be easily read. I liked it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2016
This is a superb book -- in the spirit of Wydick's PLAIN ENGLISH FOR LAWYERS but written with scientists in mind. Everyone can benefit from taking a look at it, and it will be especially good for students and post-docs as they begin a career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2014
I highly recommend Anne Greene’s book. She devotes each of her very short chapters to one or two key elements, and those elements lead to very clear, concise writing in any field. When writing about science, especially journal articles, authors tend to write in the third person and use passive verbs and abstract terminology. She tells her readers how to overcome these and many more problems. Although most of the principles are simple, they are unfamiliar to many students and professionals I’ve encountered. She also presents the reader with exercises to build skills in their implementation. I am teaching an undergraduate scientific technical writing course; this book does more in less time to improve writing than anything I’ve encountered to date. Whether you are teaching such a course or want a quick way to improve your own writing, you should buy this book. Your students won't believe that it is possible to buy a textbook so cheaply. An added benefit is that you can read it online or with regular e-book applications and are not constrained to reading it in the applications that many publishers require for textbooks.This enables students to read it on campus computers that don't allow the installation of applications.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2014
Really helpful. A clear and direct approach to writing to everybody without use jargon and obscure classical scientific term. A must read, for all the new scientist!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2014
Useful, engaging, to the point, and just what an academic short of time but that needs to improve his writing craft needs. A definite thumbs up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2014
Plain, simple, helpful information. Some tips are kind of obvious, but overall it is a good and inspiring read. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2014
This is a great simple book to help fine tune your writing to be concise and clear. A nice reference book to have around
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2015
Concise. Each lesson is a few pages with examples and problems you can try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse