Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A great, high-testosterone entry for the series
I'm not certain, by I think so far the Wrong Turn movies have now rated three-for-three five star ratings from me.
Do spoilers follow? Spoilers galore!
It starts out looking like a good dose of what we've already seen. Four good looking white college-age rafters out in the West Virginia woods where they probably shouldn't be. We get a few minutes of some pretty...
Published 2 months ago by Binky Chottorrhśhia

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Go watch WT2 again instead.
I'm a fan of Wrong Turn 2. Its a movie I've watched half a dozen times now. WT2 and Hatchet both take me back to my days as a teeneager watching what were (at that time) great slasher movies. So I was excited to see WT3 being released on DVD. To everyone involved in this movie - shame, shame on you.

When a horror movie is great, I don't mind plot holes. When it...
Published on December 10, 2009 by highplainsdrifter


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Go watch WT2 again instead., December 10, 2009
This review is from: Wrong Turn 3: Left for Dead (Unrated) (DVD)
I'm a fan of Wrong Turn 2. Its a movie I've watched half a dozen times now. WT2 and Hatchet both take me back to my days as a teeneager watching what were (at that time) great slasher movies. So I was excited to see WT3 being released on DVD. To everyone involved in this movie - shame, shame on you.

When a horror movie is great, I don't mind plot holes. When it sucks, like this film, I simply can't abide them. Can someone explain to me how a mutant is driving around in a tow truck and no one knows he exists? Gas, oil changes, new tires and spark plugs - is there some sort of mutant gas station on the mountain that accepts animal skins in return for a full tank of gas? And how is it that an armored car went missing with tons of cash and no one went looking for it? And how the heck did it end up miles from the road? And if mutants use money to buy gas, why didn't they take all the cash?

Horrible acting, characters you don't care about, a complete lack of creativity in the death scenes, plot holes worse than the Saw franchise. Skip this one and watch WT2 again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, October 25, 2009
By 
B. Taylor (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrong Turn 3: Left for Dead (Unrated) (DVD)
I was anxious for this movie to come out, because I liked Wrong Turn part 1 and part 2 alot. But this movie was a disappointment for me. It looks very low budget and just seemed boring to me. I bought it instead of renting it, because I own the other two. But I would recommend renting this before buying it, unless you are like me and just buy it to have all three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AWFUL! PARTS 1 & 2 WERE GOOD BUT THIS ONE BLOWS!, November 19, 2009
By 
Explorator (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wrong Turn 3: Left for Dead (Unrated) (DVD)
This plays like a bland Syfy channel movie! It has that 'TV show' look and its NOT scary for one second! The 'gore' is incredibly fake with some of the WORST CG you'll ever see in a movie! I'm tolerant of low-budget FX and love some of the lowest budget movies ever made but this is just 'off the charts' BAD without the unintentional humor that would make such lameness worthwhile. It's sad to see a series that had potential get the axe like this (I loved the first 2 movies in the series). The actors are all so damn generic and their lines are delivered so blandly that you can never forget you are just watching a movie. There are no decent charismatic characters like in the first 2 movies. Every scene is lit by massive spotlights even though most of it takes place deep in the woods at night. The redneck mutants look really stupid with big oversized heads that are like bad halloween masks you could buy in a store! This thing is awful on so many levels it would take a book to list them all. Thanks hollywood for ruining yet another promising series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Three Finger and his son Baby Splooge help the Wrong Turn franchise officially die with this recent installment., October 21, 2009
This review is from: Wrong Turn 3 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The first Wrong Turn came out in the time when horror was just getting revitalized with the Saw films and a slew of successful remakes like The Texas Chainsaw Massacre and Dawn of the Dead. It also was part of the time's trend in that it was a non-self-referencial horror film that also was paying homage to the type of horror that was vogue in the mid to late 70's. The Texas Chainsaw remake and Rob Zombie's House of 1,000 Corpses were also part of this wave. The first Wrong Turn was surprisingly entertaining for me. It was stylishly made and directed by Rob Shmidt(Crime + Punishment in Suburbia), fun, and well acted. Sure, it was nothing original and towards the third act when the villains reluctance to die, no matter how hardcore the damage they took, pushed credulity, but I still enjoyed it and it brought me back to memories of the original Texas Chainsaw, The Hills Have Eyes, Last House on the Left, and Eaten Alive. It was good entertainment. Then years later the direct to video sequel, Wrong Turn 2: Dead End, was released and received much positive attention by fans and professional horror critics. It was energetically directed by first timer Joe Lynch(who was a clerk at 112 Video, a store I rented my horror from in my youth here in New York). It switched tones to more balls-out, in your face splatstick. It had a novel premise involving the hillbilly mutants attacking a group of contestants on a new reality show(very timely), and it had Henry Rollins pulling a Rambo and just being plain bad-a##! It was funny, fun, gross, well acted, and totally over the top to the point of hysteria. It's surprise success led to Fox now owning a profitable direct to video franchise and the inevitable Wrong Turn 3 was put into works. Well, here it is, and I assure you it won't go over as well as the previous films. It's quite mediocre and boring and the total quick death of this fun franchise.

None of the creative team, writers or directors, return for Wrong Turn 3, but that shouldn't be a negative sign due to the fact that that was the case with the fist sequel. Fox lets newcomers take a stab at their franchise and hope for the best. Well, this time they lost the hand. Director Declan O'brien isn't a first timer either when it comes to genre material. He's a veteran of Sci-Fi(I mean, Sy-Fy, D'oh) original productions like Cyclops and Rock Monster. I don't hold this against him. I was hoping this Wrong Turn sequel would be his road to legitimacy. His experience with the Sy-Fy Network means that he's a solid, fast working, journeyman director who can add flare to the lowest budgets, short scheduled shoot. Well, here the only thing the director contributes is efficiency. Unlike the previous Wrong Turn installments this film is without style. It's all by the numbers. There's no real or believable set ups. No suspense. It's just A to B to the next bloody death, and this film has the highest body count of all the Wrong Turn films. And the acting is mostly horrible. The lead prisoner bad guy, Chavez, is effective and the actor playing the hostage prison guard is good, but the rest of the cast, big or small parts, is terrible. It doesn't help that the script gives them dialogue only master thespians like Laurence Olivier could make convincing. I would say it's bad because nobody is committed to the characters, but it's worse then that, they are committed and their lack of acting chops makes it even more intolerable.

Plus, after Wrong Turn 2's ingenious, creative, and timely set up this film's plot is a real boring downer. It's been done so many times before, and done better. It's your basic plot about escaped convicts trying to make it out of the woods and holding some good guys hostage while they're all attacked by some inbred mutant hillbillys. Yawn. Been there done that. Sure, that's not a real problem if the director and the screenwriter are able to transcend the material and make the audience feel like we've never seen it before, but this film ain't that film. Plus, to make matters worse we spend more time with the convicts fighting each other over some conveniently found cash them we do with the survival of the fittest premise of man versus hillbilly. Hell, this script is so ham-fisted, it made Crocodile II(which had the same plot), seem downright Shakespearian. Also, unlike the previous films this one only focus on two mutants, the always returning from the dead Three Finger and his son Baby Splooge(the same baby born in Wrong Turn 2 and dubbed Baby Splooge by the filmmakers and not by the script). So, we get to see more of the always allusive Three Finger then ever before, and I assure you that's not a good thing. He's no longer creepy and more of a home made haunted house attraction. His maniacal creepy laugh so effective in the first film now just seems mannered and tacked on to compensate for the fact that this villain has no real character or personality. His son is in the film for minutes. We get a nice moment between pops and son and before you know it the little tykes head is on a spike. So much for a new character.

The make up in this film is also quite horrible. The first film, with the largest budget, had the benfit of having the late great Stan Winston as a producer and his special effects team to design the mutant make ups. The sequel had the great Bill Terazakis so they looked good too. This film is all rubber and no substance. I'm not sure if its the bad lighting or cinematography or if the make up is really that amateurish. The gore effects have no weight but they are right there and in your face. They're not even shocking or gross, because they look so phony. I know that can be a fun aspect of low budget horror, but in this film is just didn't work out that way. The opening scene follows Wrong Turn 2 in setting up some non-important characters and then killing them off in brutal ways. The fist film did it off screen, the second gave us a really macbre sight gag, and this film just gives us more victims. This time is just isn't interesting and just comes off as typical exploitation horror historionics. No excitement or repulsion, just waiting for the next scene to come.

The Blu Ray has some special features as well, not as many as the previous films. We get the obligatory deleted scenes. I didn't get through all of them, and I recommend you not even bother. We get three behind the scenes featurettes going over the special effects, the director and some of the fight scenes. Director Declan O'brien states that he wanted his film to be more action oriented then the previous installments. Which leads me to wonder why it's the least exciting and most boring of the three. Most of these featurettes go over the usual EPK stuff regarding how wonderful the director and is and how wonderful it is to work with everyone, BLAH, BLAH, BLAH! Not worth watching even if you enjoyed this film somehow.

Bottome line, if you're a fan of the first two Wrong Turn films you are going to watch this film, hopefully just as a rental. Your love and devotion to the horror franchise will make you do it regardless of my warning. But, if your just a plain horror fan and a moderate admirer of the first two films just skip this all together. You'll thank me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not terrible, but nothing special, October 20, 2009
This review is from: Wrong Turn 3 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Wrong Turn franchise is for all intents and purposes a one trick pony show. The first film was decent enough, but its first direct-to-DVD sequel was surprisingly good for its type. Now, here we are with Wrong Turn 3, which finds Three Finger and his crew of deformed hillbilly cannibals back in action and looking for blood. The story picks up with a prisoner transport bus crashing in the woods, and the crew of surviving guards and prisoners are soon picked off one by one, with some spectacularly bloody results. And yes, while Wrong Turn 3 has no shortage of blood, gore, and dismemberment; there just isn't anything shocking enough or compelling enough to hold your interest for long. It's pretty predictable to a point, but there is enough of the horror goods here that makes it worth checking out regardless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not terrible, but nothing special, October 20, 2009
This review is from: Wrong Turn 3: Left for Dead (Unrated) (DVD)
The Wrong Turn franchise is for all intents and purposes a one trick pony show. The first film was decent enough, but its first direct-to-DVD sequel was surprisingly good for its type. Now, here we are with Wrong Turn 3, which finds Three Finger and his crew of deformed hillbilly cannibals back in action and looking for blood. The story picks up with a prisoner transport bus crashing in the woods, and the crew of surviving guards and prisoners are soon picked off one by one, with some spectacularly bloody results. And yes, while Wrong Turn 3 has no shortage of blood, gore, and dismemberment; there just isn't anything shocking enough or compelling enough to hold your interest for long. It's pretty predictable to a point, but there is enough of the horror goods here that makes it worth checking out regardless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Wrong Turn 3" is one wrong turn too many...., October 27, 2009
This review is from: Wrong Turn 3: Left for Dead (Unrated) (DVD)
As a fan of the first two 'Wrong Turn' films, especially the first, 'Wrong Turn 3' is absolutely terrible and one of the worst sequels of the year. This film should have never have been a part of the series, as it feels nothing like a 'Wrong Turn' film. Well, apart from the presence of Three-Finger - but then again, he's barely in the film.

The script is awful and the whole prisoners aspect just didn't work for this film. All of the prisoners were unlikeable and stereotypical, with very little development. The lead girl was not lead girl material, and was either screaming, crying or standing in the background doing nothing. The dialog, especially in the opening scene, is so god-awful I wanted to hit mute. The acting ranges from horrific to bearable, with no memorable performances. Most of the actors are Brits playing Americans, and most of them keep slipping in and out of their accents.

There are no memorable horror sequences and absolutely no tension. Every character either steps into a trap, gets killed off-screen or is CGI'd with incredibly fake blood splatter. The film reeks of 'SyFy channel', which isn't surprising considering the director, Declan O'Brien, has an entire resume of SyFy productions and the same production services were used. Whether it's the cheesy 'TV movie' soundtrack playing constantly or the horrific CGI and green screen backdrops, it's really horrible to look at and makes 'WT2' look a blockbuster.

Where did it all go wrong? Wrong Turn 2 is one of the most well-received horror films of 2007 and one of the best DTV horror entries available. It received tons of praise from horror critics and fans, and I loved it. You'd think the series could only get better, but instead they give us this piece of sh-t? I know the trailer looked lame as hell, but I still wasn't expecting a terrible film.

The only worthy aspect of the film is the presence of Three-Finger and the fact the movie takes place on night, which was the main weak point of WT2. Everything else is a very low-budget SyFy channel flick merely posing as a sequel to what was once a great series. Prepare to be disappointed if you are a fan of the series.

2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Time Waster, February 7, 2010
By 
Sir Jub-Jub (Sir Jub-Jub's Lair, Alaska) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wrong Turn 3: Left for Dead (Unrated) (DVD)
For those familiar with the other films in this series, it's more of the same. This time a bunch of escaped convicts and their police prisoner face off against the inbred cannibals. The first thing one notices is that the budget for this film is obviously much lower than that of the other two. Examples of this are demonstrated by a pathetic use of "blue screen" during any driving scene (reminiscent of films from the thirties and forties) and some very poor cgi gore effects. Some other interesting things to tale note of are: a bus that has the power to restore itself after being blown up, a shotgun that holds unlimited ammo and the convict who cocks it all the time. I gave the film three stars because it truly is a time waster. It moves along at a fairly quick pace, there are a lot of bloody deaths (even though many of them are horribly fake looking) and the acting is okay. Also there is humor to be had from some truly pretentious dialouge such as the cops' lamentation on money. The DVD supplements include two deleted scenes and a short piece of behind the scenes stuff, none of which is very important or informative. If you are a huge fan of backwoods cannibal films you will probably find something to like although just about any other film in this genera is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's up with that ending??, February 15, 2010
This review is from: Wrong Turn 3: Left for Dead (Unrated) (DVD)
Before I deal with the issues I have with the ending, let me say that I found WT3 to be rather satisfying. If you're looking for a 1.5 hour escapist ride into the nightmarish woods we've come to be familiar with, well, I guess you're not going to be disappointed.
The movie has a decent plot and it attempts to be mildly original, by making the "victims" not victims at all. So, you don't know really who to root for. The film is also heavy on the corn syrup, and the special effects are fine.
For me, WT3 is just as decent as WT1 and WT2, it's in the same level.
My only big problem with the movie was the ending. The last minute of the movie was utterly stupid and useless, actually making the whole inferior. What were they thinking? I know they "have to" set up a scenario for a possible sequel, but the way they chose to do it contradicts the relationships and the characters themselves in the movie. Not to mention it is a lot to ask of us to believe they would all be there at the very same time. Come on!!
All in all.... if you liked the previous two, you'll probably like this one as well. When the movie fades to black the first time, you just press stop and you'll be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Turn 3, January 1, 2010
By 
This review is from: Wrong Turn 3: Left for Dead (Unrated) (DVD)
The first six minutes of this movie shows real promise. However, the film moves ahead to a prison yard and it just turns for the worst from then on. What was once seemed like a promising film turns to crap within mere minutes. While the kills are well done, even though you can tell it's all done with computers, I still enjoyed bits and pieces of the movie. Not a bad film with tons of blood and gore, so people looking for a cheap thrill may enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wrong Turn 3: Left for Dead (Unrated)
Wrong Turn 3: Left for Dead (Unrated) by Declan O'Brien (DVD - 2009)
$14.98 $4.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.