Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Norma Jean
I am not one to say if this is or is not Norma Jean's best album. It is aggressive, progressive, melodic and it of course, very heavy. It is not their fastest album, and it's not their "trashiest"album. If you are looking for an album that perfectly reflects a previous NJ album this is not the album you are looking for. Norma Jean has done great, and each of their...
Published 17 months ago by Alberto

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They're Still Alive
I may not be the biggest fan of their post-Redeemer days but they're still making good music. It's just SO HARD not to want to compare their newer stuff to the first 3 amazing albums. It's all a matter of taste so 1 person may prefer Meridional or Anti Mother over Aftermath while someone like me prefers their earlier days. There was a certain kind of exuberance that...
Published 17 months ago by Fryeguy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Norma Jean, August 9, 2013
By 
Alberto (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrongdoers (MP3 Music)
I am not one to say if this is or is not Norma Jean's best album. It is aggressive, progressive, melodic and it of course, very heavy. It is not their fastest album, and it's not their "trashiest"album. If you are looking for an album that perfectly reflects a previous NJ album this is not the album you are looking for. Norma Jean has done great, and each of their albums has taken a slightly different approach, but to me they all seem cohesive as NJ's body of work. Is Bless the Martyr their best? Is it O'God? Meridional? It does not matter, they have all brought them to Wrongdoers, and this album seems to me very well crafted and very good,and it's its own album and it's 110% Norma Jean. If you want to listen to Bless the Martyr, listen to Bless the Martyr. If you want it's spiritual successor, go buy a The Chariot (Norma Jean's then front man Josh Scogin's current band) album, all of which are great in my opinion. If you want to listen to O' God, put it on repeat. But this is where Norma Jean is now, and i like it very much. The reason I gave it 4 stars it's it has taken a while for it to grow on me. But then again, so did Meridional, and I find it to be a phenomenal album, one of my favorites.
In conclusion, if you like Norma Jean already, this is the album for you. If you are a fan of a specific album but dislike the other ones, give it a listen here on amazon and chose for yourself. Is it their best? Well that's quite subjective and i'll leave that to you or people who consider their taste THE standard. I can't say it's my favorite NJ album, but I wouldn't be surprised if it became just that after a few more listens.

Norma Jean does not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The evolution of Norma Jean, August 7, 2013
By 
Les Hernandez (Colorado Springs, CO, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrongdoers (MP3 Music)
There is something about Norma Jean that makes them stand head and shoulder above their contemporaries. For fans and for people who feel the same, this something is difficult to frame. To me, the music and the screams just punch you in the chest. It can steal the breath from your lungs and coax goosebumps from your flesh.

No Norma Jean album sounds like any other Norma Jean album, but it all sounds like Norma Jean. Only the best heavy bands are capable of doing this. Think Mastodon or Between the Buried and Me. There are elements of Wrongdoers that will seem familiar, but never repetitious. There is more clean singing on this album, though there is not a lot of it.

I won't bore you with a track by track breakdown. But to anyone who loved Meridional and was wary of the lineup changes, please know that Wrongdoers is as good and often times better. The band feels invigorated. The songs feel dangerous, as good metal should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hit and Miss, June 8, 2014
By 
C Lynn (Holladay, TN) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrongdoers [+video] (MP3 Music)
Along with the sadly largely forgotten Drowningman, with whom Norma Jean toured in the early 2000s, this band is one of the forerunners in their genre, often referred to as "Hardcore." The staple song, which impelled me to make the purchase is admittedly more accessible to the mainstream than most of the rest of the album but there are some really great tunes to be found here. Unfortunately, they are littered amongst a number of lesser ones, many of which come across more as exercises and unfinished or unpolished attempts that were rushed to deadline.

I bought it at $5.00 and would have paid at least $8.00 for it, so the price is not at all an issue; MORE than worth what I paid for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, April 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrongdoers [+video] (MP3 Music)
This is my favorite album. I haven't heard these guys since they were lutikriss. They sound fantastic. Every song is a little different and each song is good. Metal heads check this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So Wrongdoers, It's Right, February 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrongdoers [+video] (MP3 Music)
This is probably my favorite Norma Jean album since their first one with their old singer. There exists a certain brutality in the songs, this churning sense of impending destruction that should excite any metal or metalcore fan. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST OWN!!!!!, February 10, 2014
This review is from: Wrongdoers [+video] (MP3 Music)
My fiancé surprised me with this cd one morning when I got home from work, because she knows I've been wanting to get it once t hit the shelves.

I have been listening to it NON-STOP! It literally is one of their BEST albums made. The sounds produced by these guys have definitely matured, they know the talent they posses, and they created an amazing album. The whole thing flows beautifully!
You would be CRAZY not to get this album!

be sure to play through good quality speakers to get the best sound possible. It deserves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best band in this genre, January 29, 2014
This review is from: Wrongdoers [+video] (MP3 Music)
The best band I know in this genre. Don't get me wrong, but there is a lot of good heavy mathcore, but these guys have made an art of making something beautiful from kind of trash. Cory (the singer) said jokingly that they love to put their music in the trash can, then get it out of it again and make something beautiful of it. That was of course making fun of the term "trans metal" but in a way one can imagine this is how it often happens: they just love making music, I can imagine they play around a lot, and record their stuff. They then start working on it again, leaving all the rough edges in it but make it more consistent into something that can finally be called a song.

And these songs are so frigging honest. Musically they are somehow always on top of everything I know. There are a million rough edges to their songs, the screamo singing is just fantastic and, oh, for the ladies, why not adding to this the observation that Cor is good looking too. Search for their video Bastardizer on NormanJeanVEVO (YouTube). But the quality of his voice is not just in screamo, he can hold a good tune too, he really has a good voice and combines it very well with screamo. Just as this band combines their mathcore stuff so well with great melodic lines, or they throw up, in the middle of a song, a beautiful (and often still heavy) soundscape, a real tapestry of sound. They love making music, there is no doubt about that.

This album is just as good as any other album. There is absolutely no valid reason why anyone would consider this album anything else than top quality music with the typical sound of Norma Jean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrongdoers (Vinyl)
One o fmy all time favorite bands and one of the first ones I started listening to. Flawless follow up to Meriodional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am in love with this album, November 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrongdoers [+video] (MP3 Music)
This album is hard and just keeps me listening everyday. You can't beat 5.99 and this album sounds better then some other bands that want 13.99
Will always be a Norma Jean fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best norma jean to date, October 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrongdoers (MP3 Music)
If you like norma jean, you will love this album.

Also good if you are just looking for some new stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wrongdoers [+video]
Wrongdoers [+video] by Norma Jean
Buy MP3 Album$9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.