Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Wynton
Wynton Marsalis is a superb musician. His style is bright, pure and exuberant, but he has a tendency to go a little overboard sometimes. In this CD that tendency is particularly evident in his rendition of Bach's Brandenburg Concerto. However, his playing is terribly moving and charismatic and he brings a vitality to these pieces that is seldom present in other...
Published on December 14, 2001 by badric

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not one for the purist!
As a Baroque trumpet enthusiast, Marsalis' latest offering of Baroque music on CD is not something I wish to hear again. The playing is fine, taking into account the high pitch of the arrangements. Taken individually, the performances are good. But who's idea was it to take perfectly good music and rearrange it, adding comical timpani parts to sonatas for trumpet...
Published on September 25, 1998


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Wynton, December 14, 2001
This review is from: Wynton Marsalis: In Gabriel's Garden (Audio CD)
Wynton Marsalis is a superb musician. His style is bright, pure and exuberant, but he has a tendency to go a little overboard sometimes. In this CD that tendency is particularly evident in his rendition of Bach's Brandenburg Concerto. However, his playing is terribly moving and charismatic and he brings a vitality to these pieces that is seldom present in other performers' interpretations. The repertoire is very varied and the English Chamber Orchestra provide wonderful accompaniment. These versions may be a little flamboyant sometimes, but they are great nonetheless, and Wynton's masterful playing is always worth listening. Very few people can express the sheer joy of making music as intensely as Mr. Marsalis; his renditions of Jeremiah Clarke's works are absolutely marvellous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darn Good Trumpet Playing, November 10, 2001
This review is from: Wynton Marsalis: In Gabriel's Garden (Audio CD)
Okay, I'll admit Mr. Marsalis may have taken some liberties with the music and made it a little more "flashy," shall we say. However, this IS Wynton Marsalis, and as long he continues to play impeccably on all his albums (this one being no exception), he can do whatever he darn well pleases as far as I'm concerned.
On this recording, Wynton Marsalis produces music from an instrument from which it is difficult for most other trumpet players to get any kind of respectable sound. His mastery of the piccolo trumpet is nothing short of remarkable, to say the least. If you've ever tried to play one, after hearing this you will gain a much deeper appreciation for the man's seemingly limitless talent and potential with both piccolo and regular trumpets.
Yes, piccolo trumpet means some high notes, so if high notes bother you, maybe you should shy away from this one and pick out another one of Mr. Marsalis' spectacular albums.
Conclusion: Why four stars instead of five? Mostly because of the liberties taken with the music. Still unbelievable trumpet playing - worth the price just for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not one for the purist!, September 25, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Wynton Marsalis: In Gabriel's Garden (Audio CD)
As a Baroque trumpet enthusiast, Marsalis' latest offering of Baroque music on CD is not something I wish to hear again. The playing is fine, taking into account the high pitch of the arrangements. Taken individually, the performances are good. But who's idea was it to take perfectly good music and rearrange it, adding comical timpani parts to sonatas for trumpet with chamber strings! The performance of Brandenburg 2 is, for me as something of a baroque trumpet purist, broadly offensive. This is NOT a trumpet concerto! It is a concerto grosso, with four equal solo parts. It just happens to have one of the most difficult and taxing trumpet parts in the repertoire, but this does not mean that Bach intended the trumpeter to take over the whole texture like Marsalis does. The other instrumentalists compete well, given the bright tone and insistent quality of Marsalis' playing (doubtless egged on by sympathetic electronics) and, one must admit, the quality of playing on the recording is good. It is just that the music is mass-murdered, given a thoroughly modern and, to my mind, thoroughly inappropriate treatment. Marsalis did much better in the previous album (Baroque Music for Trumpets), which contained rearrangement, but Raymond Leppard's efforts were for more tasteful than this offering. Someone please give Wynton a natural trumpet, let him get his admirably skilled chops around it, and we should all benefit greatly from the result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, July 28, 2001
This review is from: Wynton Marsalis: In Gabriel's Garden (Audio CD)
This CD is a real treat as Marsalis put his spin on baroque classics with the assistance of the English Chamber Orchestra. I will admit that I don't know a whole lot about this genre outside of what I learned during some introductory courses in school, still I enjoyed these selections. In the liner notes Anthony Newman speaks of the parallels between jazz and baroque in terms of the improvisations and flourishes, and I think that is what draws me to this music. It has lots of embellishments.
This was my first classical purchase, and it surely will not be the last. Wynton is a musical genius! (and cute too 8-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marsalis' Brandenburg is exceptional, July 27, 1999
This review is from: Wynton Marsalis: In Gabriel's Garden (Audio CD)
The bottom line - Mr. Marsalis and company have delivered an exceptional disc of Baroque treasures for trumpet. It is obvious that an urtext approach has not been taken, but I think that is fine. Anthony Newman has added some obbligato parts (timpani, organ, etc) and apparently notated tutti ornaments in the strings in a majority of the pieces in this collection. Incidentally, the Bach is the only substantial work on the disc (my reasoning for 4 stars in lieu of 5). It is in the Bach that Marsalis shows why he has become such a world-class artist. Now, I am very aware that he uses the modern Schilke piccolo for this recording and does play rather loud, and I love it! He produces a beautiful sound throughout and does tend to steal the spotlight. William Bennett's flute falls victim to being faintly heard at times. Neil Black, a great oboist, embellishes his passages in a way I have not previously heard. The English Chamber Orchestra provides a lush accompaniment throughout. Bach purists will most likely discount this interpretation in terms of balance but cannot dispute its character and virtuosity in execution. My only complaint throughout is the choice of repertoire. The music ends up sounding like the same story told over and over again, but well told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely CD!!!, December 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wynton Marsalis: In Gabriel's Garden (Audio CD)
I bought this CD after hearing one of the pieces performed on a youtube video and couldn't be happier!!!

This CD is a delight to listen to!

So many beautiful pieces, and each perfectly executed.

Wynton makes his playing sound so effortless, fun, and alive!!!

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet baroque trumpet music!, October 1, 2005
This review is from: Wynton Marsalis: In Gabriel's Garden (Audio CD)
It was the first disc that acquaints me with this trumpeter 2 years ago and i was suprised by that the disc brought me more than i ever dared expect from it, probably the artist is not active enough like a professional classical specialist to establish an impression to me as a classical artist from which I would like to expect more and more but this one is stunningly wonderful classical cd,although its sound quality is not preferable to me:the orchestre sounds too timid,afterall the trumpeter Mr Marsalis does not fail in retain my interest in the disc.well I cannot say more for trumpet is a complete musically stranger to me.if there are more classical trumpet music discs coming up.I would look forward to this name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ecstatically Recommended!, February 14, 2010
This review is from: Wynton Marsalis: In Gabriel's Garden (Audio CD)
This does NOT sound like a jazz musician's take on classical music. Rather, it sounds like (and is) a classically-trained musician playing Baroque music with all the embellishments associated with Baroque style in what feels like as close a way as we can get to the original (according to musicologists) without having actually heard how it was played centuries ago. That Wynton Marsalis can do this so well and what sounds like so easily, may be due to his jazz experience. So much the better for us! My understanding is that Baroque tradition was to play a phrase or part of the music relatively unembellished the first time, and when repeated it was to be embellished as the soloist saw fit. These embellishments were often improvised. In other words, improvisation was part of Baroque music (similar to the way it is in jazz). In addition to his exquisite embellishments, Marsalis' trumpeting on the Shilke Piccalo Trumpet (acc. to liner notes) is exquisite--both strong and sweet. Similarly, varying the instrumentation from what you may be used to hearing is also within the Baroque tradition (For example:How many variations of his Messiah did Handel himself direct?). The technical recording quality of this CD is excellent, as is the balance among instruments of The English Chamber Orchestra. Ecstatically recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praising The Most High Through The Clarion Voice, July 17, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Wynton Marsalis: In Gabriel's Garden (Audio CD)
...a lowly servant heralding the return of The King...
...perhaps at the fringe society-wise, but nevertheless a clarion voice in praise of The Most High...
...stunning and spiritually invigorating...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The music keeps you coming back for more, and more, and more, November 18, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Wynton Marsalis: In Gabriel's Garden (Audio CD)
Mr Marsalis' tonal quality and articulation is every bit as good on this album as on any other; the choice of selections put on the CD represents well the baroque period. As a musician--yet not per se a 'purist'--who enjoys good quality classical music, this CD is highly recommended to anyone who enjoys the majestic quality of trumpet and orchestra together. It is a CD I would have no hesitation in giving to anyone as a gift, classical music officionado on not. I would give it a 6-star rating out of five if it were possible to do so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wynton Marsalis: In Gabriel's Garden
Wynton Marsalis: In Gabriel's Garden by Wynton Marsalis (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.