Customer Reviews


778 Reviews
5 star:
 (259)
4 star:
 (192)
3 star:
 (160)
2 star:
 (85)
1 star:
 (82)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very controversial among X-Men fans, but I have to confess I really liked this one
WARNING! Spoilers ahead!

I may be among the few who liked this one better than the previous two. It probably was never going to be possible to create an X-Men finale that was going to please everyone. I'll confess that there were a number of things in the three-film sequence that I didn't care for. But give the team an "A" for effort in at least trying to...
Published on September 17, 2006 by Robert Moore

versus
99 of 126 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Collector's Edition!!!!!
The Collector's Edition was a let down to say the least. All they did was take a regular widescreen X-MEN THE LAST STAND in the regular DVD CASE and put it in some nicer packaging and throw in a COMIC BOOK and charge you about $10.00 DOLLARS MORE. You are better off just getting the regular version and save yourself about $10.00 DOLLARS. I would think if you are putting...
Published on October 9, 2006 by Richie Dee


‹ Previous | 1 278 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very controversial among X-Men fans, but I have to confess I really liked this one, September 17, 2006
WARNING! Spoilers ahead!

I may be among the few who liked this one better than the previous two. It probably was never going to be possible to create an X-Men finale that was going to please everyone. I'll confess that there were a number of things in the three-film sequence that I didn't care for. But give the team an "A" for effort in at least trying to do something interesting and compelling. My complaint with the first film was that it was so safe and tame. It didn't try to take the X-Men saga anywhere new or interesting. THE LAST STAND did. For the record, my complaint with the series is that it managed to make Rogue an unessential and uninteresting member of the team. Of all the incarnations of Rogue, this one was the least powerful and the least complex. Anna Paquin did a fine job given the script they provided, but she should have been far more empowered than she was.

Most movies based on the comics suffer from a failure of nerve. The writers want to play it safe, don't want to offend, and refuse to take risks. THE LAST STAND takes a world of risks and leaves the X-Men universe shaken from top to bottom. I loved that! I didn't think all the gambles paid off. The Phoenix story was not as interesting as it has been in the past. Part of the problem with the Phoenix is that they tried to incorporate it with too many other arcs, including the "cure" of the mutant gene.

Most of all, this film, unlike the previous two, really made me care how the story ended. In the previous two, one figured everyone would be alive at the end, so in a way precisely what happened wouldn't matter all that much. But in this one once Mystique had been "cured" and Scott and Xavier killed, there was a great sense of danger. Not every one was going to emerge OK in this one. Who would have imagined that the film would have ended with Xavier, Scott, and Jean dead, and Mystique, Magneto, and Rogue stripped of their powers?

I loved the fact that they included some of the X-Men neglected in the previous films. Kelsey Grammer was excellent as Hank McCoy, but I thought Ellen Page was perfect as Kitty Pryde, who has always been one of my favorite X-Men, mainly because her power of being able to pass through solid objects (or having solid objects pass through her) made her fascinating because employing it required so much strategy. The sequence where she and Juggernaut engage one another was a lot of fun. Vinnie Jones was almost unrecognizable, by the way, as Juggernaut. Sidenote: Many X-Men fans are bothered by the fact that traditionally Juggernaut is not a mutant. Therefore, in the scene where his powers are stripped temporarily by the mutant who robs other mutants of their ability, he should have been unaffected. But on narrative grounds I can understand why they altered this in the film.

I can understand why so many fans of the comic disliked the final movie in the trilogy. It was a sharp departure from most of the various versions of the X-Men saga found in so many of the comics and cartoon shows. But I was ecstatic to see them try something really different and risky. They didn't take the safe route. And I personally found the story far more interesting than the first two films precisely for that reason. Yeah, I wish Rogue had been conceived differently in the trilogy and I wish the Phoenix story had been handled better, but I realize that because there have been so many permutations of the X-Men, everyone is going to contruct their own private version. This isn't quite the version I would have come up with had I the ability to cherry pick the elements I like, but this one managed the most important task: it made the story interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Disc Short, October 4, 2006
By 
Aubrey (Englewood,NJ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X-Men - The Last Stand (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
I bought the Collector's Edition of "X3" just because I'm a big fan and I didn't mind shelling out the extra dollars for the snazzy box and the nifty gifts. Well, the DVD comes in a nice box protected by a plastic sleeve with Wolverine's claw embossed on it. The box houses the DVD case with a nice little photo of the major characters in an ensemble shot. The comic is a little book with some reprinted X-stories and the much anticipated new story written by Stan Lee himself. Honestly, I don't plan on keeping the box or plastic sleeve. The comic is nice, though.

Then there's the DVD which was kinda disappointing. After "X-Men 1.5" and "X2: X-Men United" I was expecting a bus load of behind the scenes documentaries and interviews. Especially with this being the last film in the X-Men trilogy. The deleted scenes and commentary are good along with a hidden "easter egg" scene featuring Beast reciting Shakespeare to encourage his teammates before going to war (found in the "Scene Select" option). Also, the viewer has the option of choosing the style of the menu to reflect the Brotherhoods' personality or the X-Men's. Also has a sneak peek at The Simpsons Movie which was another welcome surprise. Overall, it's a pretty skimpy DVD that will probably be released in a double disc "Ultimate Edition" format in the future to further capitalize on the X-Franchise....."X-Men: The Second To Last Stand" anyone?

For those who don't know the plot it's basically three challenges for the X-Men to deal with in their latest adventure: the creation of a "cure" drug that can supress the mutant gene permanently, the aggressive response to the drug by Magneto and his new Brotherhood, and Jean Grey comes back from the dead in the guise of her malevolent alter ego Phoenix. The movie is a step above the typical summer blockbuster yet it lacks the sleek, sci-fi flavored, "less is more" style used in the first two films. The story also suffers from plot-overload. The Phoenix, Magneto's Brotherhood and The Cure are just too much for one movie and it shows. So, for action and blockbuster fans this is definitely a must have. And X-Fans will get a nice buzz from seeing some of their requests fulfilled such as an airborne Storm, Beast as a major character, and a Danger Room sequence.

Though I highly doubt this will be the last X-Men film it is an ambitious finale to a unique and memorable trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 126 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Collector's Edition!!!!!, October 9, 2006
This review is from: X-Men - The Last Stand (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
The Collector's Edition was a let down to say the least. All they did was take a regular widescreen X-MEN THE LAST STAND in the regular DVD CASE and put it in some nicer packaging and throw in a COMIC BOOK and charge you about $10.00 DOLLARS MORE. You are better off just getting the regular version and save yourself about $10.00 DOLLARS. I would think if you are putting out a COLLECTOR'S EDITION you would think it would be a 2 DISC SET , especially for the price. I was not Impressed at all!!!!! 1 STAR for a BAD COLLECTOR'S EDITION , 3.5 STARS FOR THE MOVIE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 4 Stars for the movie--1 star for this DVD edition, September 26, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: X-Men - The Last Stand (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
I couldn't figure out why this so called "Collector's Edition" only had one disc. Special editions usually have two discs, right? Was it a typo? No.

The ONLY difference between this edition and the regular edition (that is $8 cheaper!) is that there will be a reprinted comic and a special "collectible" comic included. So collectible that it will be included in the hundreds of thousands of these DVDs produced. No extra features, no additional content beyong what is in the regular DVD. The studio is obviously saving all that for another special edition to be released in 6 months (like X-Men 1.5).

Unless you're a huge fan of comics, get the regular release and save the money for Superman Returns on November 28th.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Liked It; Not Great, But Good, And Much Better Than Some Are Saying, May 27, 2006
By 
Andrew "Radaar" (Chicago, IL, USA) - See all my reviews
At long last, we have the third, and possibly final, installment of Fox's X-Men movie franchise, and it's been no easy road getting here. There were a lot of behind-the-scenes troubles that plagued the film which led to many online fansites predicting the worst. After seeing it, I can say that despite the backstage drama, this ended up being a pretty good movie. It's no classic, but it's good for what it is. And while it's not the best superhero film ever (that honor either goes to Batman Begins or Spider-Man 2), or even the best of the series (X2: X-Men United), it's nowhere near bad.
After Jean Grey's (Famke Janssen) death at the end of the last film, the atomosphere at the X-Mansion hasn't been the same. Everyone misses her, but no one as much as Scott Summers/Cyclops (James Mardsen), her husband, who can barely pull himself together. Professor Xavier (Patrick Stewart) has even resorted to having Logan/Wolverine (Hugh Jackman) substitute teach for him. Meanwhile, Magneto (Ian McKellan) is still at large along with Pyro (Aaron Stanford), his new lieutenant and Mystique (Rebecca Romijn), who has recently been incarcerated. The new president (Josef Sommer) is much more tolerant of mutants, going so far as to appoint Hank McCoy/Beast (Kelsey Grammer) as Secretary of Mutant Affairs, but he can't ignore the threat Magneto poses, and when a drug company develops a "cure" for mutation, he sees it as an answer to Magneto's terrorism.
Unfortunately, shortly after the X-Men learn of the cure, which completely catches them off-guard, Prof. X receives a psychic disturbance from Alkali Lake, the place where Jean died saving the rest of the team. As it would appear, Jean was able to save herself, but in doing so, she unleashed a part of her subconscious mind that Xavier worked very hard to suppress. Jean is a Level 5 mutant, meaning that she is off-the-charts powerful, and Xavier recognized that if he didn't find a way to keep some of her more "animal" emotions in check, she could very likely destroy everyone on Earth. When Xavier and the X-Men try to bring Jean back to the mansion with them, Magneto shows up with some of his new recruits, including Juggernaut (Vinnie Jones), who is an unstoppable brute and Callisto (Dania Ramirez), a speedy girl who can also sense other mutants. After a huge struggle against the nearly omnipotent Jean, now known as the Phoenix, Magneto's Brotherhood acquires Phoenix in order to use her against the humans in their campaign to "exterminate" mutantkind.
Now, the X-Men have to deal with the Phoenix, the Brotherhood, and the lure of the cure. While many mutants are appalled at the idea that they are a "disease", there are some who want to give up their gifts, either because they see them as a curse, or to end their persecution at the hands of humans. Rogue (Anna Paquin), for one, wants nothing more than to lose her powers. She can't ever touch another human without harming them; her touch sucks the lifeforce out of others. If the other person is a mutant, she temporarily acquires their powers, while she puts humans into comas. Fearing that her boyfriend Bobby Drake/Iceman (Shawn Ashmore) may be straying from her to be with Kitty Pryde/Shadowcat (Ellen Page), who he can actually kiss, she begins to wonder what life would be like as a human.
Eventually, the movie culminates in a huge battle on Alcatraz Island, which is definitely the most epic sequence in the entire series. While it is very good, there are a few times when I had to roll my eyes (though there were moments like that throughout the film). The ending of the movie seemed to wrap up most of the events and themes of the series, making an effective trilogy (though I can't urge you enough to wait until the end of the credits to see a scene that reopens the franchise for a fourth film, which many insiders say is a possibility should The Last Stand do well in theaters).
This film is directed by Brett Ratner as opposed to Bryan Singer who directed the first two. This was the source of all the controversy. Due to some complications between Fox and Singer, he left the project to direct Superman Returns for Warner Brothers. Fox then forced Ratner (who was not the first replacement) to get this film into theaters before Superman as a kind of "screw you" to Singer and Warner Brothers. This, along with a few pre-release photos of Grammer as Beast and Jones as Juggernaut caused a lot of fans to be skeptical of what the final project could be. Fortunately, in my opinion, the movie turned out well for everything that was standing in its way. It had problems (as I said, there was some dialogue that merited some eye rolls) including a somewhat poor explanation for the Phoenix. Cyclops is underused, but that is no different from Signer's installments. Unfortunately, he has always been glossed over, which is sad, seeing as how he is a really great character in the comics. Finally, there are just way too many characters. Many of them get very little to do, and this goes for both new and returning charactesr. Warren Worthington III/Angel (Ben Foster) does very little, Rogue doesn't even participate in the final fight, and many of the new Brotherhood mutants have one moment to shine then are forgotten. But all in all, the movie worked pretty well. The one thing I never understood is that Joss Whedon, the man who wrote the cure storyline in the comics and expressed a lot of interest for writing, and after Singer left, directing, was never even consdiered by Fox. Oh well, everything turned out well in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Non-comic book readers seem to enjoy, September 25, 2006
This review is from: X-Men - The Last Stand (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
As with (almost) all movies that are not solely movies (such as movies made from books/comics), die-hard fans will rarely enjoy what Hollywood puts into these things. From the perspective of a X-men movie fan who has not read the comics and would occasionally watch the cartoons about a decade ago, I thought it was a great movie.

The movie had more pace than the first two. There were a lot of surprises or things you would not otherwise expect in a movie (which some may not like, but I thought made the plot more interesting). There were some points where I was like "What? Did that actually just happen? I must have missed something." Nope, they were very bold with this plot. So if you expect one specific plot in this movie, let go of that and see it or maybe skip this one.

Anyways, it sounds like people are either hot or cold to the movie. I enjoyed it enough that I would say the risk of seeing it (and not liking it) is worth it. If you don't like it, forget about it and just watch the first couple again and again. But if you are like me and aren't tied to any specific plot or storyline, you will want to watch this over and over again. This is my favorite of the three with the second close behind.

!Slight spoiler alert! If you are extremely attached to all the characters and are unwilling to see some go (die), then you may not enjoy this movie. Not all of the main characters make it through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The good, the bad, and the ugly, July 31, 2008
First of all, I think this is a movie you have to watch two or three times to actually appreciate, since a lot of your experience the first time you watch it is "BANG! BOOM! CRASH!" In other words, this is an ACTION movie first and foremost, which means there isn't a lot of character development to speak of. Well, except for two specific characters. But I'll get to that in a minute.

Now for what I LIKED about X3:
-As screwed up as this version of Phoenix is, the Phoenix is my favorite X-Men villain, and I like the way it's been turned into an alternate personality of Jean's - it works, for the film. My personal favorite parts were seeing her pupils dilate so much that her eyes were completely black (just an AWESOME touch, as far as I'm concerned) and the way you could kind of see a firey outline around her hair when she was backlit - it's probably an accident, but I like the subtle touch that only a diehard geek would get.
-I really enjoy Shadowcat's character. In my first viewing I had no idea who she was, but then I found out more about her and now she's one of my favorite characters. Ellen Page played this version of her with a great mix of snarkiness and sensitivity.
-Angel and Beast. Just seeing them onscreen, even with virtually no backstory, is cool.
-Iceman iced up, an iconic moment. Let's hope in any future X-Men movies he'll do it again.
-The Pyro vs. Iceman fight is a great bit, particularly since Iceman wins. (I've never been a big fan of Pyro, especially movie-Pyro, although I'll concede Aaron Stanford did a great job with the character.)
-The big battle at the end is really great, visually.
-FASTBALL SPECIAL. Even though it didn't look quite right since Hugh Jackman is too tall. But still, `nuff said.
-The Danger Room is just cool-looking. And I loved the wink-wink-nudge-nudge reference to the Days of Future Past storyline.
-About the only part that I liked of the Scott-Jean scene was when Jean held back Scott's optic blasts with her telekinesis. Another iconic moment from the comics, though naturally twisted to suit movie purposes.

And what I DIDN'T like:
-Storm's hair. I really don't get what they thought they were doing there. I mean, Storm doesn't have SHORT hair. She had a mohawk back in the 80's, but it's not the same thing.
-I don't appreciate Kitty being shoved aside to be used mostly as the third part of a stupid love triangle that was basically pointless.
-Colossus kind of didn't do anything except punch people and lug a big-screen TV around. He had more lines in X2, for crying out loud!
-The Logan/Jean "romance" is played up WAY too much. I speak as a fan who hates that particular pairing, since I'm more of a traditionalist (IE Scott/Jean), but honestly. Watching them suck face in the medical ward is just awkward.
-Mystique, who's never been my favorite but is a fascinating character, got depowered. Honestly, what was wrong with the screenwriters? They've just lost the appeal of half their male audience!
...being serious now, I think they'll have a hard time doing X4 and beyond without Mystique in Magneto's group. And I was nursing a secret hope they'd do a reveal to Nightcrawler about who his mother REALLY is...
-Lack of character development. Essentially, all we know about Beast is that he's blue and a government official. Not a good start, if you ask me. Angel is a little better, with the opening scene showing him as a young child trying to remove his wings before his disapproving father discovers them, but still lacking in dimension. And there's NO hint of Shadowcat's genius-level intelligence, other than a short conversation she has with Professor Xavier in the classroom early on, and you wouldn't pick that up unless you were looking for it.

And what I absolutely HATED:
-Jean's killing Scott. Why is this necessary? IT ISN'T. Now, I speak as a biased fan of Cyclops, even movie-Cyclops, who is less than stellar as far as his role goes. But this 15-minute role just makes me very angry. I understand James Marsden had little time to devote to this movie on account of filming Superman Returns simultaneously, but honestly, killing off the supposed leader of the X-Men in the first half-hour is just not something you do. I wish, at least, they'd had some sort of memorial for him, even a small MENTION of him during the Professor's funeral. But no. He just disappears from everyone's minds. This is an example of bad storytelling, children. I mean, what did the Phoenix do, EAT him??
-Jean's killing the Professor. Now, I know he's not *really* dead, but I thought it was almost as stupid as killing off Scott. Honestly, in this movie THREE of the original X-Men characters, from the original team, are killed off. THREE. This, in my opinion, is inexcusable. And I don't just say that because the funeral makes me bawl like a baby every time I watch this movie either.
-Rogue's dismissal from the script. No, seriously, they gave her about 15 lines, I think. Being the character who interested me in these stories in the first place, I'm extremely irritated that she got so little screentime. And THEN she got depowered. This angers me so much that I refuse to watch the original ending, where she returns depowered, and instead opt for the deleted scene where she still has her power. I understand where the writers and director were coming from with their decision to have her take the Cure - after all, she's essentially isolated from all physical contact - but I think it was one of the stupidest moves they could have made. How will they justify her staying at the Institute in future movies if she's powerless? Or will they just have the Cure stop working, like it appeared to with Magneto in the end, which will render her choice meaningless? Or will they just kick her out and have her leave, making it less likely that some fans will go see the movies because she's not in them? (I admit, I'll be one of those fans.) There is a very simple, temporary solution to Rogue's powers: LEECH. One of the producers talks about a scene that possibly would've been included in the movie had they chosen to have Rogue keep her powers, in which we see Rogue return and kiss Bobby, and then reveal Leech sitting outside the door with a Gameboy. I think this would've been a much better way of solving Rogue's problem while still keeping her powers for combat situations. But, no, apparently a depowered Rogue is a good Rogue.
-The explanation for the lack of character development: this became "The Wolverine and Jean Show" (as opposed to "The Wolverine and Rogue Show" that was the first two movies). Roughly 85% of the screentime was devoted to Wolverine, and Jean, or Wolverine AND Jean, which annoyed me. The title is X-MEN, not LOGAN AND JEAN. Meaning the movies are supposed to be about a GROUP. But, no, they decided to focus on those two instead and move everybody else to the backburner.

Overall, I watch this movie for the excellent special effects and action sequences, but I can't recommend it to a diehard fan of the comics on basis of the deaths of three pivotal characters (as well as two others being depowered) and lack of character development. But it's a great wiz-bang action flick, if you like that sort of thing. I really think they should've just filmed Chris Claremont's novelization of X3 instead, because it would've been about 10 times better.

One more thing: Stick around for the end of the credits. You might see something important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A vast sense of emptiness..., October 4, 2006
By 
David G. Montgomery (Chester, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men - The Last Stand (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
I am an advid fan of both the x-men comic books and the movies. I have been a fan of Marvel Comics for over twenty years. I feel that the characters depths were reached in the first two movies but were not carried on to the third, yet they seemed to add many more to the mix, and the special features were a travisty. These things lead to my actual review being closer to 2.5 stars.

I feel that the addition of new characters enhanced the movie and hindered it at the same time. Beast, played by Kelsey Grammar was very well done, to the point of him saying "Oh my stars and garters." The Kitty Pryde character seemed one dimensional with no depth at all. She is shown to be a bit intelligent in the class room discussing Plato's view of ethics, but then used as a third wheel of a love triangle dissolves the hope of any furhter depth. Colossus's use of the "fastball special", at the beginning the movie, was awesome to the point of ingenious, but that is where his character loses his appeal. He has next to no lines and begins to blend into the background in many scenes.

The plot is based very losely on the story arc "The Dark Pheonix Saga" and when I say losely, I truly mean losely. The comic story involved a much greater deal of internal conflict within Jean, in which Jean solves by comitting suicide. In this movie, her death only comes by the hand, or claws of, yup you guessed it, Wolverine. The depths of emotional conflict in Jean is never brought to the screen, except for her saying thank you to Wolverine at the end of her life. I felt no pythos or pain, that her life needed to be forfeited. I was unimpressed and unmoved by the representation of the pheonix/Jean saga.

Extras/Special features? These were all things picked up off of the floor of the editing room and pasted, any way they could, back into the movie.
3 Alternate endings that have no rationale behind them or connection to the movie. The world of Marvel, this section is a cheap way for Marvel to exploit the viewer into purchasing some of the lesser quality superhero movies. They show the trailers for Daredevil, Electra and FF. Ther is no in depth look into the world of Marvel Comics at all. For those who really want to be cheated out of their hard earned cash, buy the colectors edition of the DVD, it has different packaging and a comic that stars San Lee. Yeah!!!

The whole presentation from the coverr of the actual DVD to the Special Features seem as thrown together as the actual Movie. I as a viewer feel a bit let down by the conclusion of the trilogy. Marvel, does not seem to shy away from the open handed, gimmie your money approach to commerece, just look at the Civil War Strory in stores now, so I would have to say wait a few months and you will probally see a new release of the DVD that does not seem so thrown together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trilogy Trauma, October 11, 2006
Well I have been told this follows the comic book storyline. To bad. It is worth seeing but it lacks any of the fun that I saw in the first two movies. There is no lighthearted times in this movie. Usually in a trilogy the second movie is dark and the third movie starts that way but has a happy ending. There is no happy ending here, just a feeling of emptiness and loss. Is the action, effects, and story good? Yes they are in fact. So as I said before if you have caught the previous ones you will want to see it. However; this is not a standalone movie and won't make much sense without seeing the previous movies. Fans of the first two movies may be disappointed in the deaths of three key characters. If they had not killed off these characters and had a happier ending I think I know I would have enjoyed it more. And by the way the alternate endings are a joke. They are minor scene changes that were deleted, not a change to the ending itself. I was extremely disappointed that the alternate endings as they call them didn't have different outcomes. Preferably one that didn't kill off the characters. My guess is they had so many people disppointed in the movie they felt the only way to sell the DVD was to make people think they had alternate endings. I repeat there are no alternate endings on this DVD. It is just a ploy. So if you saw this at the theater and were disappointed, do not buy the DVD. It doesn't get any better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great special effects, weak story., May 28, 2006
Ok, they had 40 years of comic lore to draw from and this is what they come up with?

First the good: The movie looks great, but great special effects are not uncommon these days. And the acting is pretty good overall.

Now the bad: The story is weak. That love triangle between Cyclops, Jean Grey and Wolverine in the first two movies? Wisked away. The new love triangle with Shadowcat, Iceman and Rogue? Underdeveloped to a point that you just don't care. And hey, they finally got Angel in the movies! ...and did nothing with him! Angel was one of the first X-Men in the comics, did he even have three lines in the movie?

And what of Magneto? He's so dedicated to his cause that he'll send wave after wave of his loyal mutants to their doom. Um Mr. Magneto... if you kill off all of your followers, who will you lead when you take over the world? Doesn't matter! Attack!

There are a few nice moments. Kelsy Grammer was a pleasant surprise. He did more than just let his makeup act for him. Wolverine got his claws dirty a couple of times. And Juggernaut filled in nicely for the all brawn, no brains role left vacant by Sabretooth in X1.

Everyone else was pretty much interchangeable. How do we know he's a mutant? He's green. Ok, what does he do? Not important. This guy is a porcupine. Ok, what's his name? Not important. Magneto refered to them as pawns. Evidentially, so did the screenwriters.

I was entertained, but I wasn't moved. The first two X-Men films had emotion, a sense of adventure and loss. X3 had a sense of obligation. They setup a coming war in the first two movies, and they hinted at Jean's resurrection, so here it is! If only they followed the Dark Phoenix saga from the comics, it could have been fantastic. Instead, it's all action, no heart. A forgetable effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 278 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

X-Men - The Last Stand (Collector's Edition)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.