Customer Reviews


978 Reviews
5 star:
 (511)
4 star:
 (224)
3 star:
 (112)
2 star:
 (68)
1 star:
 (63)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars X-Men Origins: Wolverine.......
I've been wanting to see a Wolverine movie that lives up to how the man is the comics. Too many times in the movies, characters are watered down to make them more appealing to those who aren't into comics so much and, because of this, comic book fans(like me) feel like we've been cheated. Thankfully, X-Men Origins: Wolverine etches that much closer to what Wolverine is in...
Published on November 14, 2011 by blackaciddevil

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars X-Men Origins: Wolverine Review
X-MEN ORIGINS: WOLVERINE

STARRING: Hugh Jackman, Liev Schreiber, Danny Huston, Will I Am, Taylor Kitsch, Lynn Collins and Ryan Reynolds

WRITTEN BY: David Benioff and Skip Woods

DIRECTED BY: Gavin Hood

Rated: PG-13
Genre: Science Fiction / Action
Release Date: 01 May 2009

I'm not going to get into how far...
Published on December 10, 2009 by Craig Whittle


‹ Previous | 1 298 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars X-Men Origins: Wolverine......., November 14, 2011
By 
blackaciddevil (in the USA somewhere.....) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine (Single-Disc Edition) (DVD)
I've been wanting to see a Wolverine movie that lives up to how the man is the comics. Too many times in the movies, characters are watered down to make them more appealing to those who aren't into comics so much and, because of this, comic book fans(like me) feel like we've been cheated. Thankfully, X-Men Origins: Wolverine etches that much closer to what Wolverine is in the comics and that makes this movie worthwhile in my books.

X-Men Origins: Wolverine tells the tales of how Wolverine came to be, with the story beginning in 1845. Young James Howlett sees his father killed by their groundskeeper Thomas Logan. This trauma brings about James mutation with bones protruding from his hands. He then proceeds to kill Thomas Logan. Before he does, however, Logan tells James that he is his father. He flees with Thomas' son, Victor Creed, who is his half-brother. That's where the movie begins. The conclusion is pretty epic, I assure you, but to find out- you'll have to watch the movie.

In my opinion,this has to be Hugh Jackman's best performance as Wolverine. In what little time he's been Wolverine, he's taken the character and encompassed what he truly is. I know many were disappointed with this movie, in general, but I felt that it was a good(if not great) movie in the X-Men series(definitely better than X-Men First Class, even though this one came out long beforehand).

I've read a sequel is in the works to this movie, simply called:The Wolverine. I've also read that the sequel might sport an R-rating. I'd really love to see that happen so that Wolverine fans can really see their beloved character 'cut loose'. I've only seen one other movie to ever really show a Marvel character for what it was and that was Punisher: War Journal(one I also recommend). Here's hoping we see it happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray: Enjoyed the film, enjoyed the PQ and AQ and the special features as well!, September 25, 2009
With the X-Men films becoming too expensive to feature all its stars, it has become more logical to focus on the storyline of each of the main characters. And what best than to feature one of the more popular characters in the Marvel and X-Men universe, Wolverine.

Taking the helm as director is actor, Gavin Hood ("Thug", "The Storekeeper" and "Stas and Nel Adventures"), with a screenplay by David Bennioff ("The Kite Runner", "Troy") and Skip Woods ("Hitman" and "Swordfish"). Joining the men is composer Harry Gregson-Williams ("Deja Vu", "Shrek the Third" and "Gone Baby Gone") and cinematographer Donald McAlpine ("The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe", "Peter Pan", "Anger Management" and "Moulin Rouge!").

"X-Men Origins: Wolverine", the Blu-ray Ultimate 2-Disc Edition comes with two discs. The main disc is the Blu-ray, while the second disc is a digital copy.

VIDEO & AUDIO:

"X-Men Origins: Wolverine" is presented in 1080p High Definition with an AVC @ 22MBPS. The picture quality is quite solid with the skin pores of both Hugh Jackman and Liev Schrieber coming quite nicely on the HD transfer. The grittiness, the sweat, the grime, the vibrancy is also well-captured in the film. Blacks are nice and deep and with the film being shot outdoors, the areas that Logan visit are quite detailed. I didn't see any compression artifacts or major scratches or dust on the video transfer.

The audio is presented in English 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio (also English, Spanish and Portuguese 5.1 Dolby Digital and French 5.1 DTS). The lossless audio track is absolutely awesome. From Zero's gunfire, Logan's adamantium claws making the "snickt" sound, Wade's swords as it deflects the bullets and Victor's attacks and his growls, it's all captured and sounds incredible. Also, there are plenty of action-scenes that really showcase the surround channels and a good amount of LFE is utilized. From the explosions to the gunfire, home theater owners should be happy with the Blu-ray lossless soundtrack as some scenes sound quite immersive.

As expected, Twentieth Century Fox has done a great job with the video and audio transfer for "X-Men Origins: Wolverine". Subtitles are presented in English SDH, Spanish, Cantonese, Mandarin and Portuguese.

SPECIAL FEATURES

"X-Men Origins: Wolverine" comes with the following special features:

* Commentary by Gavin Hood - Audio Commentary by the director Gavin Hood. For the most part, Hood does a great job in providing the details to the film. A very informative audio commentary.
* Commentary by Producers Laura Schuler Donner and Ralph Winter - There are some interesting details about certain scenes and what went on to create those scenes via the producers perspective. The only problem is that Donner and Winter have too many silent moments in where they are not talking. So, it can be a bit distracting.
* The Roots of Wolverine: A Conversation with Stan Lee and Len Wien - (16:16) Both Stan Lee and Len Wien discuss the X-Men, Wolverine as a character, Hugh Jackman as Wolverine and the history of the character. An informative featurette in regards to the comic books. For some reason, I felt that Stan Lee was not his jovial self.
* Wolverine Unleashed: The Complete Origins - (12:02) Interviews with the director, producers, Hugh Jackman in regards to shooting the film, origins of Wolverine, training, making his claws and the set.
* Weapon X Files - This segment features each talent in character talking about themselves and then we hear from the director/producer about what they wanted to accomplish with their character and special effects that went into the making of that character. Probably my favorite was the featurette on Kevin Durand's Blob and what went into making the fat suit.

- Victor Creed/Sabretooth (7:25)

- William Stryker (4:25)

- John Wraith (4:15)

- Kayla Silverfox (3:26)

- Fred Dukes/Blob (7:18)

- Bradley (3:18)

- Remy Lebeau/Gambit (9:08)

- Agent Zero (3:45)

- Wade Wilson/Deadpool (7:10)

- Emma (Kayla's Sister) (3:25)

* The Thrill of the Chase: The Helicopter Sequence - (5:53) The making of the helicopter sequence.
* Ultimate X-Mode - While watching the film, viewers can watch the director, producers and cast talking about the film via picture-in-picture.
* Deleted & Alternate Scenes - (9:30) With optional commentary by director Gavin Hood, Hood introduces four deleted and alternate scenes which include: Young Storm, Victor at the boxing ring, Alternate Memory Erase Sequence and a Japanese Bar Scene.
* Fox Movie Channel Presents: World Premiere - (6:20) The "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" debut in Tempe, Arizona (The contest winners of where the red carpet premiere took place).
* X-Men on Blu-ray: Trailers for X-Men Trilogy and "Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian".
* BD-Live Lookup - With a BD-Live enabled Blu-ray player, viewers can access up-to-date information on actor filmographies, information related to "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" on imdb (The Internet Movie Database).

JUDGMENT CALL:

I literally grew up with the "X-Men" and "Wolverine" comic books when I was younger. During the 80's, you had your American superheroes but Wolverine represented a character that was just exciting, deadly and literally kickass.

Since the release of the three X-Men films, I have no doubt in my mind that Hugh Jackman was the best casting decision made for the character. He embodies the character completely and the amount of discipline he puts in working out and being Logan is just incredible and it shows in "X-Men Origins: Wolverine".

For the most part, the film is full of action and full of characters. The excitement is there, the killer instinct of both Logan and Victor are there and of course, we have pre-Deadpool Wade Wilson in the film as well, along with many other characters that makes this film fun and exciting. And to feature a storyline that revolves around Logan's origin is not easy. After all, having followed the comic books for so long, I think even writers had their challenge of how the Weapon X program would be and even today, just seeing how things have evolved with the program is just staggering. So, before watching the film, I did have my reservations of how muddled the plot could be.

Fortunately, the filmmakers took a different approach and created their own storyline with some aspects of the comic book still part of the storyline. Keeping things simple and for the most part, for those who are not familiar with the comic books, at least exciting enough to understand where Logan came from and why he and Victor have had this dysfunctional relationship.

For the most part, Jackman is just great as Logan/Wolverine and Liev Schreiber can always play the definitive bad ass. Danny Huston as Stryker was quite effective and Lynn Collins as Kayla Silverfox did a great job as well. As for Taylor Kitsch ("Friday Night Lights") as Remy Lebeau/Gambit, that was quite interesting but for the most part, I felt that Kitsch did a good job albeit the thick French accent that Gambit exhibits in the comic books and people are so used to hearing from the X-Men animated series. The others have small roles such as "LOST" and "Lord of the Rings" actor Dominic Monaghan as Bradley and Black Eyed Peas member Will.i.am also ventures to the acting world, appearing onscreen (instead of voice as he did in "Madagascar 2'). But one of the exciting parts of this film was seeing the Blob (Kevin Durand) and of course, Wade Wilson (Ryan Reynolds). It was great to see on the Blu-ray of how they came up with the Blob's outfit and of course, having Wade Wilson in the film. It's important to note that if you are a fan of Wade Wilson, make sure you watch through the ending credits.

With all my gushing about how much I enjoy this film, one must wonder if I have any negatives. Well, what I didn't like about the film was the overuse of CG, in which some scenes looked a bit too unrealistic. Also, the tweaking of the Wade Wilson character was a bit too much for my taste. I can understand some hardcore fans who may have a problem with the comic book continuity and how the film has quite a few differences but personally, many super hero films has its differences from its comic book counterpart that its not surprising anymore. As long as the soul of the characters are intact and the storyline is well-presented, it's good enough for me.

As for the Blu-ray release, the film definitely gets a wonderful HD transfer as picture and audio quality is solid. A good number of special features are included, as well as a slipcase and a digital copy of the film.

With that being said, "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" is a good superhero film with a lot of action. Was it as deep and entertaining like "The Dark Knight Returns", my answer is no. But I definitely enjoyed it more than the third X-Men film and even the "Hulk" related films. I felt that the storyline focused on Logan/Wolverine, his rivalry with Victor Creed quite well. If anything, it's the CG that tends to be overdone at times that bothered me a bit but for the most part, I did enjoy watching the film.

But after watching the awesome Blu-ray version and seeing the film in High Definition and watching the special features, that actually enhanced my perspective towards the film. A lot went into the making of this film and to see that Hugh Jackman did most of his own stunts, that is incredible.

Overall, if you are a fan of Wolverine and the previous X-Men films, definitely give "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" a try. Definitely worth recommending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The mystery behind Wolverine's past....unveiled!, August 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine (Single-Disc Edition) (DVD)
Those who have followed the X-men trilogy know that Wolverine has some mysterious history, but lacks memory of any of it. This movie explores his history, which is much deeper than anyone could have possibly expected. We know that he has experienced a process by which adamantium was bonded to his bones, but what we didn't know is that, even before he underwent those experiments, he was....different.
We meet Wolverine as a child, along with his differently-abled brother, and watch them grow up, always on the move to prevent local people from catching on.
As in the other X-men films there is something of a formula, by now well honed: bursts of action/chase/fighting separated by longer periods of story and dialog establishing the convictions of the characters. As the movie progresses, the action becomes more frequent and intense, until a huge showdown conclusion, with a brief epilog looking toward the future.
I appreciated seeing how Wolverine's character and personality were shaped by the experiences which he had undergone as he grew up, and how, strangely, his brother had shared many of those same experiences, yet chosen a different path. This seemed very insightful to me, and very reflective of true life.
X-men Origins also features a few characters from some of the other X-men films, at a younger stage in their lives, plus introduces a few new characters.
Although I hadn't read X-men comic books in decades, I've enjoyed all the movies in the series, this one as much as any of them. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUN WATCH, August 4, 2011
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine (Single-Disc Edition) (DVD)
The film starts in 1845 and by the time the credits is over, it is up to date. Wolverine and his brother are recruited to fight in a special mutant force. The mutants are never introduced. There is an assumption you know these characters from previous movies or comics. I would not recommend this film as an introduction to X-Men.

The special forces are more brutal than what Wolverine wants to be. "This isn't what we signed up for, " he says as he walks out. He becomes a Canadian and lives quietly like as a lumber jack. His brother is on a rampage...and Wolverine's life becomes disrupted. He must once again fight, only this time he is stronger and is more of a killer.

The movie ties in nicely with the other 4 X-Men movies, which should be viewed to get an overall picture, which is difficult to obtain in this film alone. The acting was sufficient. Good CG, super action and fighting. It has plot twists, so pay attention. The movie sprinkles in the right amount of humor, drama, and truisms into the dialouge to make it a fun watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Witness the Unleashing of the Animal Within..., October 24, 2009
Over the course of the "X-Men" trilogy there has been one constant story thread that has been touched upon, yet it's never been fully explored. For those of you that have watched the series, then you most likely know exactly what I'm referring to... the origin of the most popular mutant of all, Logan/Wolverine. Finally, after three highly successful films chronicling the adventures of the X-Men team, 20th Century Fox has chosen to spin-off Wolverine into his own movie and potential franchise by providing his official origin story with "X-Men Origins: Wolverine".

"X-Men Origins: Wolverine" presents many key events in Wolverine's (Hugh Jackman) life prior to his fateful arrival at the X-Mansion in the original "X-Men" film. Beginning with his initial discovery as a youth that he possessed the ability to unsheathe claws from beneath his skin, to his complicated friendship and eventual hatred of his former best friend Victor Creed (Liev Schreiber), his time spent working for the government as part of an elite team of mutant trackers, and all of this culminating in a senses-shattering showdown that will leave no one unscathed.

The mystery behind Wolverine's origin has been a long-standing plotline, not just in the film trilogy, but in the various comic books in which the character has appeared. In 2001, Marvel Comics began a six-issue limited series aptly titled "Origin" that would establish the official backstory for the berserker mutant once and for all. Obviously, so long as interest in the onscreen version of the character remained alive, it would only be a matter of time before his origin, or at least some semblance of it, made it to the big screen as well.

Many times with spin-offs, the story tends to be weaker than those utilized for the main franchise; however, this film appears to be one of those very rare exceptions where the quality actually remains intact. Written by David Benioff ("Troy") and Skip Woods ("Swordfish"), with some elements loosely based upon the mini-series "Origin", the story focuses upon some of the various influences, circumstances, and powerful outside forces that shaped Logan into becoming one of the most dangerous mutants on the face of the Earth.

The story spends ample time showcasing the extremely visceral nature of the film's two primary characters, Wolverine and Sabretooth, and how they deal with their inner beasts in drastically different ways. Along with this complicated relationship, the film delves into the almost constant, yet subtle, manipulation that eventually led to Logan's decision to participate in the excruciatingly painful Weapon X program, which bonded liquid Adamantium to his bones. It's during these moments of manipulation, mostly at the hands of William Stryker (Danny Huston), that the film's story really shines.

Another strong aspect of the film is the sharply written, and often times witty, dialogue. The interactions between the characters felt believable and completely natural within the scenes. Some spin-offs suffer from an over-abundance of clichés or merely recycled lines and moments from the original franchise on which they are based; however, "Wolverine" easily side-steps these issues in every respect. In the hands of less capable writers that didn't feel some responsibility to keep the quality of the franchise intact, the dialogue, and the rest of the story for that matter, could have potentially gone the way of so many other spin-offs and failed miserably, thus hurting the main franchise in the process. As a fan of the series, I am very pleased by the fact that even though this is the fourth film in the franchise, the creative minds behind the series continually try to surpass what has come before.

For all you action fans out there do not worry. This series hasn't lost sight of one of its key elements. Throughout the film's story the action scenes never take a backseat to the drama unfolding within the characters' lives. The fights are much more violent and at times graphic in comparison to the previous three films of the "X-Men" franchise; not to mention, even more up close and personal due to fewer mutants with projectile-like abilities. The decision to make the fights even more brutal worked very well alongside the animalistic overtones of the story; although it may have resulted in some parents not wishing their children to see the film, despite the fact that they may have seen the other three in the series.

Of course, what would a comic book movie be without the use of visual effects? Well, obviously it would be quite boring, but that almost goes without saying. For the most part, the CGI-intensive sequences were well executed; however, there were some surprising scenes in which the effects looked a bit shoddy. Oddly, enough these scenes involved the use of Wolverine's claws, which by this point should have been mastered and no longer a cause for concern. I'm not sure what caused the problem, if it was a lack of texture on the CGI claws or what, but something was definitely off about them during a couple of scenes. Please note, that these are not pivotal scenes and that the problem was not all that detrimental to the end result of the movie, it's just something that I found frustrating and thought honestly shouldn't have occurred within the film. Otherwise, like I said, the visual effects were very good, and at times numerous sequences were truly awesome to watch and easily overshadowed any of the weaker moments in this area.

Lastly, the acting for the film, just as it was in the original three movies, remains consistently high throughout. Despite having played the role of Wolverine three times already, Hugh Jackman is still able to bring a fresh new approach to the character that is crucial to the continued success of the series. No doubt the ability for Jackman to convey such enthusiasm for the role was assisted by the fact that he was so passionate about finally getting to tell the official origin for this beloved comic book icon. Another neat aspect of the character that was explored a little further in this film than in the previous movies was Wolverine's famed "Berserker Rage" (comic book fans know what I'm talking about). Although, we don't necessarily get to see an all-out fully realized rage, we are given a much closer look at what he would be like if he succumbed to his unbridled fury, and it was obvious that Hugh enjoyed this new side to the character being explored.

Supporting Hugh are some extremely talented actors beginning with Liev Schreiber ("The Sum of All Fears"). Liev takes a role that was relatively wordless in the original film, and was tasked with creating a character that was dramatically rich, incredibly feral, and ultimately could become the nemesis to Wolverine we saw in the first movie. Not necessarily an easy job, but Liev pulled it off perfectly. He delivered a multi-layered villain that was a prime example of what Wolverine could have become if given a couple of different choices along the way, and Liev is clearly relishing every evil moment he gets onscreen. Next is actor Danny Huston ("30 Days of Night") taking over the role of William Stryker from Brian Cox ("X2: X-Men United"). Danny played Stryker with the perfect blend of subtle manipulation and malice. At times he would be fatherly, especially towards Logan (albeit only to further his own agenda), but then he would snap and show his true colors by unveiling an obviously twisted, sadistic, and potentially unstable man who wanted nothing more than unlimited power to quell the surging mutant problem.

Rounding out the supporting cast is actor Ryan Reynolds ("The Proposal") and singer turned actor Will.i.am ("Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa"). I've become a fan of Ryan's work over the last few years, and I enjoy his unfettered sarcasm that he seems to imbue into almost every single character he portrays, but never in a way that feels unnatural or tired within in the role, mind you. In this film, Ryan isn't given all that much screen time, but what he does get he definitely makes the most of by making his character of Wade Wilson (comic book fans know him as the Merc with the Mouth, Deadpool) an enjoyable addition to the group of rogues that Stryker has assembled. Sadly, his role was intended as an introduction to the character in hopes of getting an eventual spin-off for him as well, a tactic that most likely worked given the film's success; however, I for one wish there could have been a little more of the character in this story, not to mention fewer major tweaks to the character's origin that don't line-up with the comic books. But, I digress. Last, but not least, is Will.i.am as John Wraith, a mutant teleporter. Will shows that he definitely has potential, displaying some good comedic timing in a few scenes, and a natural charisma that makes for a more interesting character than I believe he would have been if played by another actor.

Directed by Gavin Hood ("Rendition"), "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" is an incredibly fast-paced action film that delivers on all counts. Granted there are some gripes with the movie, but overall it's a very solid addition to a terrific franchise. This is a must-see for fans of the original trilogy and a perfect jumping on point for newcomers to the series.

"X-Men Origins: Wolverine" is rated PG-13 for violence, language, and brief nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars X-Men Origins: Wolverine Review, December 10, 2009
By 
X-MEN ORIGINS: WOLVERINE

STARRING: Hugh Jackman, Liev Schreiber, Danny Huston, Will I Am, Taylor Kitsch, Lynn Collins and Ryan Reynolds

WRITTEN BY: David Benioff and Skip Woods

DIRECTED BY: Gavin Hood

Rated: PG-13
Genre: Science Fiction / Action
Release Date: 01 May 2009

I'm not going to get into how far this film was from the comic books for two reasons. One is the review would never end and the second is, I don't really care because to me it's a prequel to the three X-Men films; not a comic book. From what I understand, fans of the comic found it to be devastatingly far from the true origin of Wolverine.

The film opens with two young boys: James and Victor, growing up in Canada with super powers. Certain events happen and the boys leave home. Then at I guess whatever age the actors are in real life, (Hugh Jackman as James and Liev Schreiber as Victor), they stop aging; for whatever reason, this is never explained. And don't tell me it's disclosed in the comics, because this is not a comic book. It may be a comic-book-movie, but it's a movie nonetheless. And in a movie certain things need to be revealed. A sequel or prequel shouldn't rely on its previous installment alone, to fill in loose holes. Any film should be able to stand on its own.

We know that they have stopped aging because as the opening credits roll, we see them fighting in several wars and we end the credit sequence at well over a hundred years from where we began. I guess they were tired of being Canadian because they eventually start fighting in American wars. Maybe they had dual citizenship?

They are both in trouble with the military until a man named Stryker (Danny Huston) asks them if they want to join a special team. They join and the team is comprised of way too many super-mutant characters to keep track of.

Next for no reason at all, Stryker starts calling James, Logan. I understand this was Wolverine's original name but it is never exposed to us why he is suddenly called Logan. The team becomes corrupt and Logan walks away. Victor isn't pleased.

We fast forward six years to learn that Victor is apparently now bad and is murdering off the members of the team. I've seen the film twice now and with the exception of sheer boredom, I can't tell you why he does this.

We learn why Logan is going to be called Wolverine and then Victor kills his girlfriend. Having nothing else to live for, Logan agrees to allow Stryker to spend "half a billion dollars making him indestructible" by injecting him with a special metal. Evidently, for a reason that is again not explained to us, Wolverine is the only one that can handle this painful operation. Then they get mad at each other and Stryker tries to have him killed, just minutes later. I guess the government doesn't audit this guy's allowance.

The problem with this being a prequel is that we already know from seeing the first X-Men that at some point Wolverine is going to have to lose his memory. This takes a lot of the suspense out of the film and you won't believe how lame the idea is that they use to justify his memory loss.

The thing that bothered me the most in the film was the horrible CGI (Computer Graphic Imagery). I am not generally a fan of CGI anyway. His claws looked like something out of a Looney Tunes cartoon; particularly in the scene of him checking himself out in the bathroom mirror. Last time I checked, technology has improved since the first three films, so what was the problem? The satire-filled commercials with Charles Barkley sprouting Wolverine like claws looked more realistic.

There's even a CGI shot of Wolverine driving a motorcycle by the Las Vegas sign. Did they need this shot? If they did then why didn't they just have some no-name stunt guy ride by? The camera was so far away, we wouldn't have known if it was really Jackman or not anyway.

There was also a shot of an elderly couple driving and the entire background was CGI. Why? These were two unknown actors. Why couldn't they have shot this sequence on location with any two actors? They clearly had Jackman there, running through the fields. And the elderly couple was only driving down their driveway for crying out loud; it wasn't dangerous!

Nearly all of the action sequences looked fake. Wolverine flying through the air and landing on a helicopter looked like something out of a videogame instead of one of the most highly anticipated summer blockbusters.

They even used CGI for dust in the motorcycle chase scene and when Wolverine was running through the woods with the helicopter shooting at him. Why? This is one of the most basic tricks in Hollywood, used for years; you set explosives in the ground, then you detonate them and it makes the dirt fly in the air, looking like bullets hitting the ground near the character. The exception would be the final action scene; it wasn't half bad.

One of the things in the film that I did like was Hugh Jackman's portrayal as Wolverine. He was clearly born to play this part. He takes it very seriously and does a tremendous job; as he did in the other three films. Watch him in an interview and you will see that this character could not be any farther from the real Hugh Jackman.

I also loved Liev Schreiber as the villain. He really got into character here. He is a tremendous actor and I have had my eye on him for years. He should be able to taste an Oscar because he's due one any time.

Ryan Reynolds was great as always, but only in the film for a few minutes. And at last they put Gambit (Taylor Kitsch) in an X-Men film. I'm not sure if Kitsch was the ultimate choice for the role or not but he was descent. I would have liked to have seen more scenes with him and Wolverine together; but of course they tried to cram all of these other characters into the film who were boring. This movie did not have enough of Wolverine in it.

I suspect the film was horribly written. The plot was weak and had too many holes. I don't know how they got these great actors to sign on for this film. Not to directly blame this on the writers, but I was so upset to see my favorite line from the trailer by Wolverine tarnished. It played great on the trailer but in the actual film they add a strong and un-needed swear word. I know Wolverine swears but the line was stronger without it.

I obviously wasn't very impressed with the directing of the film either. I feel like the director (Gavin Hood) didn't take this project seriously. I have no idea how he landed this job. According to [...], the only major film he had ever directed was Rendition. How does one go from directing a mediocre film like Rendition, to directing a movie as huge as this? Sadly, Rendition is probably a bit better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honestly, it is not that bad as long as you can cut its revisionism some slack, May 2, 2009
There is a certain kind of potential viewer for this movie that simply shouldn't: the comic book or fantasy fundamentalist. The most extreme example are those silly people who wouldn't see LORD OF THE RINGS because of the removal of Tom Bombadil or WATCHMEN because there was no squid (though in the case of the latter the fact that it was one of the least cinema films ever made is more to the point). WOLVERINE or as it is officially known X-MEN ORIGINS: WOLVERINE engages in a great deal of revisionism. Comic fans (of which I count myself) need to chill out. We've seen so many revisions of various comic characters and there are so many incompatibilities between various incarnations that if they do the same thing in the movies, how can we sanely complain? We can have debates about whether the changes are any good, but that things have changed from various versions in the comics is absolutely not a legitimate criticism. WATCHMEN proved that for all time. No film has been so slavishly faithful to a source before, and no film has ever suffered so much as a result.

Frankly, this isn't a bad movie. Neither is it a great one. I can name a long string of superhero movies that are better. Heck, I can name four in 2008 that were infinitely better: IRON MAN, HELL BOY II, HULK, and THE DARK KNIGHT (and I rank them in that order), and we are likely to see better Marvel Studios films in the future. But that doesn't mean that this is bad. Did I like every change? Nope. I was especially bothered by the apparent nerfing of Emma Frost, seemingly eliminating her very powerful psychic powers and emphasizing exclusively her secondary mutation of turning into diamond (which is interesting primarily because when she is in that form she loses her emotions and abilities, hence her sometimes nickname The Ice Queen). But overwhelmingly, Emma Frost is psychic, and that is rather too large of a thing in my opinion to leave out. (Though I did find it interesting that in multiple shots they paired Emma Frost and Scott Sommers. Foreshadowing? In the most recent reimaginings of the X-Men Emma and Scott have enjoyed an extremely complex relationship before Jean Grey's death; after her death they are a full-fledged couple.) But I found the creation of a much, much deeper background between Logan and his traditional nemesis Sabertooth to be a lot of fun and fairly compelling.

Another group of comic book fundamentalists are going to be upset because the timeline doesn't work, especially with the timeline of the three X-Men movies. But I agree with Emerson that a foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds. And of course there is the complication that we had a completely different Sabertooth in the first X-Men film. But none of this really bothers me. Liev Schreiber is just outstanding as Victor/Sabertooth. He has for many years been one of the least utilized great actors in Hollywood and hopefully after this he will be in more high profile films.

The one person I was most interested in seeing in this was Taylor Kitsch, who plays Gambit. A lot of newspapers and magazines and critics, whenever lists are make of "upcoming stars," Kitsch persistently makes an appearance. He has been one of the most exciting young actors on television as Tim Riggins on FRIDAY NIGHT LIGHTS, where he not only has displayed lots of acting ability, but has put on display physical charms that make three of my closest female friends declare that he is the most attractive male in the world. But for those who are not watchers of FNL, this could be their introduction to Kitsch. And I have to say that he manages to put on display as Gambit a lot of the same charm that he flashes on FNL. That is one consistent element in Gambit in all of his X-Men appearances, a roguish charm. and Taylor Kitsch has that in spades (no pun intended, given Gambit's skill at cards). It has been interesting seeing how they handle various X-Men in the movies. Some are almost impossibly nerfed, most horribly Rogue, who went from being one of the most dominant X-Men to being one of the lamest, with them stripping her of just about all of her powers. I mentioned above Emma Frost having her greater powers removed. But the strange thing with Gambit is that he is made, if anything, more powerful than usual. My greatest disappointment was, however, with one of the most powerful of all the Marvel Universe entities, Weapon XI, Deadpool. As presented he was simply not very interesting.

All in all, however, I found this pretty entertaining. It won't go down as one of the greatest superhero movies. I did enjoy it as much as the three X-Men movies. I think in all four Hugh Jackman has been excellent as Wolverine. The really odd thing about that is that he is utterly wrong for the role. He pulls the hair and facial expressions off, but like Peter O'Toole in LAWRENCE OF ARABIA (where the 6'3 O'Toole played the 5'3 T. E. Lawrence), he is far too tall for the role. In the official Marvel description, Logan is 5'3. He is supposed to be stocky and squat and thick, like a wolverine. Still, apart from that he has made this role his own. Unless you are a comic book fundamentalist, you should find plenty in this film to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Claws are sexy!, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hugh Jackman and Liev Schreiber tore up the screen in this movie. It was exciting to see the relationship between the brothers evolve and the evolution of Wolverine. It was action packed with historical war scenes, x-men battles and brother on brother fighting.
The movie explained just enough of how Wolverine became the man he is and left enough room for additional movies to fill in more gaps. It teased me and left me wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So much potential, all wasted., December 1, 2013
By 
Jakob Noone (Cincinnati, OH United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a terrible movie. Wolverine busts out of a tank of water where he basically died a few minutes ago, then in the next scene his hair is perfectly coiffed and blow-dryed. That's the kind of storytelling and movimaking care in evidence through most of the film. Characters pop up then disappear, no one has any emotional depth outside of Wolverine and Sabretooth and even this is given short shrift in favor of annoying cameos by Deadpool and Gambit. Then nothing solid is done with either so they are there... why?

Stunts are "Oh, this' ll be cool" rather than flowing from the story, the kid playing young Wolverine is not fantastic. And the one part of the film where something new with emotional depth occurs (Wolverine's retreat into the Canadian wilderness with a beautiful, seemingly caring woman, from what little we see of her) is rushed over in order to get to some more cliché "superhero movie" writing (i.e. think the derivative Daredevil, not Dark Knight), etc.

I give this 2 stars because Hugh Jackman is awesome, as always, as is Liev Schrieber as Sabretooth. So much potential here for a great film, almost all completely wasted. What a shame. Fortunately, this movie is so bad the studio was forced to make The Wolverine very true to the source material and handed us a great film. Buy that one! Buy this if you can get it for $3 as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful movie, February 6, 2010
By 
M "Delicious Strawberry" (I wait behind the wall, gnawing away at your reality) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine (Single-Disc Edition) (DVD)
At a solid 4.5/5 stars, Wolverine is one of the best movies of 2009 that I have seen.

While this movie might not be entirely faithful to the comic book canon (what movie ever follows their printed version 100% anyway?) I enjoyed it immensely. It served as a great prequel to the trilogy of X-Men movies, and had a rather engaging story and plot. I do wish a bit more could have been given to the back story, but I gotta say, the sequence with the brothers moving from war to war (Civil through Vietnam) was pretty fricking sweet. I can't help but wonder what Victor was doing all these years aside fighting in wars and what made him the way he was, but overall the setup was pretty good.

Some people might not like how this movie was done - I wasn't a big fan of all the changes, but again, it's just a movie (and a enjoyable one at that) Personally, I wasn't much for Deadpool, even his makeup was just... garish and overdone. But it makes for a fun prequel, with quite a few familiar faces (including a young and teen-aged Scott Summers) The visuals were impressive.

If you really want to enjoy this movie, don't compare it to the comic books so you can nitpick. Just sit back and relax, and let the story and special effects take you away. Hugh Jackman is AWESOME in this movie, he makes a rocking (and very sexy!) Wolverine. I was also delighted to see the introduction of Gambit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 298 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

X-Men Origins: Wolverine (Single-Disc Edition)
$19.98 $11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.