Customer Reviews


837 Reviews
5 star:
 (413)
4 star:
 (190)
3 star:
 (110)
2 star:
 (63)
1 star:
 (61)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars X-Men Origins: Wolverine.......
I've been wanting to see a Wolverine movie that lives up to how the man is the comics. Too many times in the movies, characters are watered down to make them more appealing to those who aren't into comics so much and, because of this, comic book fans(like me) feel like we've been cheated. Thankfully, X-Men Origins: Wolverine etches that much closer to what Wolverine is in...
Published on November 14, 2011 by blackaciddevil

versus
23 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So much potential, all wasted.
This is a terrible movie. Wolverine busts out of a tank of water where he basically died a few minutes ago, then in the next scene his hair is perfectly coiffed and blow-dryed. That's the kind of storytelling and movimaking care in evidence through most of the film. Characters pop up then disappear, no one has any emotional depth outside of Wolverine and Sabretooth and...
Published 9 months ago by Jakob Noone


‹ Previous | 1 284 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars X-Men Origins: Wolverine......., November 14, 2011
By 
blackaciddevil (in the USA somewhere.....) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine (Single-Disc Edition) (DVD)
I've been wanting to see a Wolverine movie that lives up to how the man is the comics. Too many times in the movies, characters are watered down to make them more appealing to those who aren't into comics so much and, because of this, comic book fans(like me) feel like we've been cheated. Thankfully, X-Men Origins: Wolverine etches that much closer to what Wolverine is in the comics and that makes this movie worthwhile in my books.

X-Men Origins: Wolverine tells the tales of how Wolverine came to be, with the story beginning in 1845. Young James Howlett sees his father killed by their groundskeeper Thomas Logan. This trauma brings about James mutation with bones protruding from his hands. He then proceeds to kill Thomas Logan. Before he does, however, Logan tells James that he is his father. He flees with Thomas' son, Victor Creed, who is his half-brother. That's where the movie begins. The conclusion is pretty epic, I assure you, but to find out- you'll have to watch the movie.

In my opinion,this has to be Hugh Jackman's best performance as Wolverine. In what little time he's been Wolverine, he's taken the character and encompassed what he truly is. I know many were disappointed with this movie, in general, but I felt that it was a good(if not great) movie in the X-Men series(definitely better than X-Men First Class, even though this one came out long beforehand).

I've read a sequel is in the works to this movie, simply called:The Wolverine. I've also read that the sequel might sport an R-rating. I'd really love to see that happen so that Wolverine fans can really see their beloved character 'cut loose'. I've only seen one other movie to ever really show a Marvel character for what it was and that was Punisher: War Journal(one I also recommend). Here's hoping we see it happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Claws are sexy!, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hugh Jackman and Liev Schreiber tore up the screen in this movie. It was exciting to see the relationship between the brothers evolve and the evolution of Wolverine. It was action packed with historical war scenes, x-men battles and brother on brother fighting.
The movie explained just enough of how Wolverine became the man he is and left enough room for additional movies to fill in more gaps. It teased me and left me wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So much potential, all wasted., December 1, 2013
By 
Jakob Noone (Cincinnati, OH United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a terrible movie. Wolverine busts out of a tank of water where he basically died a few minutes ago, then in the next scene his hair is perfectly coiffed and blow-dryed. That's the kind of storytelling and movimaking care in evidence through most of the film. Characters pop up then disappear, no one has any emotional depth outside of Wolverine and Sabretooth and even this is given short shrift in favor of annoying cameos by Deadpool and Gambit. Then nothing solid is done with either so they are there... why?

Stunts are "Oh, this' ll be cool" rather than flowing from the story, the kid playing young Wolverine is not fantastic. And the one part of the film where something new with emotional depth occurs (Wolverine's retreat into the Canadian wilderness with a beautiful, seemingly caring woman, from what little we see of her) is rushed over in order to get to some more cliché "superhero movie" writing (i.e. think the derivative Daredevil, not Dark Knight), etc.

I give this 2 stars because Hugh Jackman is awesome, as always, as is Liev Schrieber as Sabretooth. So much potential here for a great film, almost all completely wasted. What a shame. Fortunately, this movie is so bad the studio was forced to make The Wolverine very true to the source material and handed us a great film. Buy that one! Buy this if you can get it for $3 as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray: Enjoyed the film, enjoyed the PQ and AQ and the special features as well!, September 25, 2009
With the X-Men films becoming too expensive to feature all its stars, it has become more logical to focus on the storyline of each of the main characters. And what best than to feature one of the more popular characters in the Marvel and X-Men universe, Wolverine.

Taking the helm as director is actor, Gavin Hood ("Thug", "The Storekeeper" and "Stas and Nel Adventures"), with a screenplay by David Bennioff ("The Kite Runner", "Troy") and Skip Woods ("Hitman" and "Swordfish"). Joining the men is composer Harry Gregson-Williams ("Deja Vu", "Shrek the Third" and "Gone Baby Gone") and cinematographer Donald McAlpine ("The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe", "Peter Pan", "Anger Management" and "Moulin Rouge!").

"X-Men Origins: Wolverine", the Blu-ray Ultimate 2-Disc Edition comes with two discs. The main disc is the Blu-ray, while the second disc is a digital copy.

VIDEO & AUDIO:

"X-Men Origins: Wolverine" is presented in 1080p High Definition with an AVC @ 22MBPS. The picture quality is quite solid with the skin pores of both Hugh Jackman and Liev Schrieber coming quite nicely on the HD transfer. The grittiness, the sweat, the grime, the vibrancy is also well-captured in the film. Blacks are nice and deep and with the film being shot outdoors, the areas that Logan visit are quite detailed. I didn't see any compression artifacts or major scratches or dust on the video transfer.

The audio is presented in English 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio (also English, Spanish and Portuguese 5.1 Dolby Digital and French 5.1 DTS). The lossless audio track is absolutely awesome. From Zero's gunfire, Logan's adamantium claws making the "snickt" sound, Wade's swords as it deflects the bullets and Victor's attacks and his growls, it's all captured and sounds incredible. Also, there are plenty of action-scenes that really showcase the surround channels and a good amount of LFE is utilized. From the explosions to the gunfire, home theater owners should be happy with the Blu-ray lossless soundtrack as some scenes sound quite immersive.

As expected, Twentieth Century Fox has done a great job with the video and audio transfer for "X-Men Origins: Wolverine". Subtitles are presented in English SDH, Spanish, Cantonese, Mandarin and Portuguese.

SPECIAL FEATURES

"X-Men Origins: Wolverine" comes with the following special features:

* Commentary by Gavin Hood - Audio Commentary by the director Gavin Hood. For the most part, Hood does a great job in providing the details to the film. A very informative audio commentary.
* Commentary by Producers Laura Schuler Donner and Ralph Winter - There are some interesting details about certain scenes and what went on to create those scenes via the producers perspective. The only problem is that Donner and Winter have too many silent moments in where they are not talking. So, it can be a bit distracting.
* The Roots of Wolverine: A Conversation with Stan Lee and Len Wien - (16:16) Both Stan Lee and Len Wien discuss the X-Men, Wolverine as a character, Hugh Jackman as Wolverine and the history of the character. An informative featurette in regards to the comic books. For some reason, I felt that Stan Lee was not his jovial self.
* Wolverine Unleashed: The Complete Origins - (12:02) Interviews with the director, producers, Hugh Jackman in regards to shooting the film, origins of Wolverine, training, making his claws and the set.
* Weapon X Files - This segment features each talent in character talking about themselves and then we hear from the director/producer about what they wanted to accomplish with their character and special effects that went into the making of that character. Probably my favorite was the featurette on Kevin Durand's Blob and what went into making the fat suit.

- Victor Creed/Sabretooth (7:25)

- William Stryker (4:25)

- John Wraith (4:15)

- Kayla Silverfox (3:26)

- Fred Dukes/Blob (7:18)

- Bradley (3:18)

- Remy Lebeau/Gambit (9:08)

- Agent Zero (3:45)

- Wade Wilson/Deadpool (7:10)

- Emma (Kayla's Sister) (3:25)

* The Thrill of the Chase: The Helicopter Sequence - (5:53) The making of the helicopter sequence.
* Ultimate X-Mode - While watching the film, viewers can watch the director, producers and cast talking about the film via picture-in-picture.
* Deleted & Alternate Scenes - (9:30) With optional commentary by director Gavin Hood, Hood introduces four deleted and alternate scenes which include: Young Storm, Victor at the boxing ring, Alternate Memory Erase Sequence and a Japanese Bar Scene.
* Fox Movie Channel Presents: World Premiere - (6:20) The "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" debut in Tempe, Arizona (The contest winners of where the red carpet premiere took place).
* X-Men on Blu-ray: Trailers for X-Men Trilogy and "Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian".
* BD-Live Lookup - With a BD-Live enabled Blu-ray player, viewers can access up-to-date information on actor filmographies, information related to "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" on imdb (The Internet Movie Database).

JUDGMENT CALL:

I literally grew up with the "X-Men" and "Wolverine" comic books when I was younger. During the 80's, you had your American superheroes but Wolverine represented a character that was just exciting, deadly and literally kickass.

Since the release of the three X-Men films, I have no doubt in my mind that Hugh Jackman was the best casting decision made for the character. He embodies the character completely and the amount of discipline he puts in working out and being Logan is just incredible and it shows in "X-Men Origins: Wolverine".

For the most part, the film is full of action and full of characters. The excitement is there, the killer instinct of both Logan and Victor are there and of course, we have pre-Deadpool Wade Wilson in the film as well, along with many other characters that makes this film fun and exciting. And to feature a storyline that revolves around Logan's origin is not easy. After all, having followed the comic books for so long, I think even writers had their challenge of how the Weapon X program would be and even today, just seeing how things have evolved with the program is just staggering. So, before watching the film, I did have my reservations of how muddled the plot could be.

Fortunately, the filmmakers took a different approach and created their own storyline with some aspects of the comic book still part of the storyline. Keeping things simple and for the most part, for those who are not familiar with the comic books, at least exciting enough to understand where Logan came from and why he and Victor have had this dysfunctional relationship.

For the most part, Jackman is just great as Logan/Wolverine and Liev Schreiber can always play the definitive bad ass. Danny Huston as Stryker was quite effective and Lynn Collins as Kayla Silverfox did a great job as well. As for Taylor Kitsch ("Friday Night Lights") as Remy Lebeau/Gambit, that was quite interesting but for the most part, I felt that Kitsch did a good job albeit the thick French accent that Gambit exhibits in the comic books and people are so used to hearing from the X-Men animated series. The others have small roles such as "LOST" and "Lord of the Rings" actor Dominic Monaghan as Bradley and Black Eyed Peas member Will.i.am also ventures to the acting world, appearing onscreen (instead of voice as he did in "Madagascar 2'). But one of the exciting parts of this film was seeing the Blob (Kevin Durand) and of course, Wade Wilson (Ryan Reynolds). It was great to see on the Blu-ray of how they came up with the Blob's outfit and of course, having Wade Wilson in the film. It's important to note that if you are a fan of Wade Wilson, make sure you watch through the ending credits.

With all my gushing about how much I enjoy this film, one must wonder if I have any negatives. Well, what I didn't like about the film was the overuse of CG, in which some scenes looked a bit too unrealistic. Also, the tweaking of the Wade Wilson character was a bit too much for my taste. I can understand some hardcore fans who may have a problem with the comic book continuity and how the film has quite a few differences but personally, many super hero films has its differences from its comic book counterpart that its not surprising anymore. As long as the soul of the characters are intact and the storyline is well-presented, it's good enough for me.

As for the Blu-ray release, the film definitely gets a wonderful HD transfer as picture and audio quality is solid. A good number of special features are included, as well as a slipcase and a digital copy of the film.

With that being said, "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" is a good superhero film with a lot of action. Was it as deep and entertaining like "The Dark Knight Returns", my answer is no. But I definitely enjoyed it more than the third X-Men film and even the "Hulk" related films. I felt that the storyline focused on Logan/Wolverine, his rivalry with Victor Creed quite well. If anything, it's the CG that tends to be overdone at times that bothered me a bit but for the most part, I did enjoy watching the film.

But after watching the awesome Blu-ray version and seeing the film in High Definition and watching the special features, that actually enhanced my perspective towards the film. A lot went into the making of this film and to see that Hugh Jackman did most of his own stunts, that is incredible.

Overall, if you are a fan of Wolverine and the previous X-Men films, definitely give "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" a try. Definitely worth recommending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Does not Deserve 3 or Above Stars for Obvious Reasons!, May 28, 2014
By 
You have got to be kidding me with those 5 star ratings. Look, I've like some bad movies in my time, mostly 80s for nostalgic reasons. But this? Hell no! This movie is such a bitch slap to the face if you are a X-Men, Wolverine, or even a comic book fan. Whoever says they liked it that much to take the time to review it on Amazon and give it 3 or above stars, don't believe them at all.

The writing is bad, the CGI use (very obvious with Wolverine's claws) is terrible, the story is just...ugh. Everything is "okay" until you get to right after Wolverine recieves the adamantium. Then, everything just keeps going DOOOOOOOWWWWNNNN HILL from there. Ryan Reynolds was perfect choice for Deadpool, but then becomes just misused and completely off of the comic book source set piece. Seriously, how could anybody like what they did to Deadpool. It's $#%&ing atrocious.
The only thing this movie did, was just screw up the continuity more for the X-Men films. You thought X3: The Last Stand was bad (well it still is), then stay away from this thing. Play the video game instead. You just don't PG-13 Wolverine's origins.

Seriously...an adamantium bullet causes his memory loss? Not the extreme pain and trauma he recieved from the adamantium injection? This movie was so $#&^ing bad!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, November 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a good movie. If you like X-Men, this is a must see. Can't wait till Wolverine 2 comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fog Starting Clear Out, November 7, 2011
By 
Valhalla "Dan Cole" (Tucson, Arizona; USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine (Single-Disc Edition) (DVD)
I was lucky & got Woverine for a good price from someone else. It was a FANTASTIC, STUNNING & AN AWESOME movie. If you can't tell, I liked it.

You see his infancy. they don't tell you what happened at this birth, if his claws came later or any of that type of information. But from the very beginning it is a movie that grabs your attention & hold on to it to the end. Marvel is coming out with a lot of superheros & gods beginnings. so I'm pretty sure that they are planning for a spectacular epic for us using all the characters that inhabit the Marvel Universe. Because this movie here isn't just about Wolverine's origins but also of Sabertooth. You also see a lot of the other characters that inhabit Marvelverse.

If you are a Wolverine fan, you will need this film. If you like action movies, you will need this movie. If you like Marvel movies so far, get this one because I'm pretty sure you're going to need it.

I am pretty sure that Ladies will like this one, even if it isn't a (sorry) chick-flick. But you will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how to explain what happened, October 25, 2011
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine (Single-Disc Edition) (DVD)
this is a great movie. Of course when u have seen the Xmen you just want to have seen this one in the first place. So to my experience watch this one and then the three Xmen movies!!! Love it purely and simply even if it's not always easy to come back to the Origins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It answers all your questions about the blades..., October 21, 2011
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine (Single-Disc Edition) (DVD)
While the whole X Men franchise is a very entertaining collection of movies, I must say that until they took on the task of focusing on Wolverine's character I really wasn't in the true fan category.

I am a huge Hugh Jackman fan and I have always liked the Wolverine character back in the cartoon series at least - never had the comic books so this was a double 'gotta have a look' movie for me and I was delighted with what I found.

Not only was the story line well written and thought out, every character had their role and they played it well. I really liked Liev Schreiber's character as Logan/Wolverine's brother and the new nemesis created a al Frankenstein by the mad Colonel.

The scenery was breathtaking, especially that gorgeous old farm where Logan/Wolverine runs to, fully naked, after the transformation surgery. Utterly spectacular vistas!

The action was great without being over the top with a CGI glut. The main thrust of tihs whole movie was the death of Logan and the birth of Wolverine and how it all came into being.

It was a great action movie and I thoroughly enjoyed it as pure entertainment. An awesome movie for a rainy afternoon or a movie marathon weekend with family and friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Review of "X-Men Origins Wolverine" BD, September 13, 2011
"X-Men Origins Wolverine" is a cool movie. This movie depicts how Logan became Wolverine. This movie's action scenes are a lot better than the X-Men films. When people are fighting you feel like the cast and crew put a lot of work in it. When I watched the X-Men films I didn't feel that way. Continuing on the sound, acting, and other movie related things were good. The special features are interesting and cool to watch. There's also a digital copy disc. I give "X-Men Origins Wolverine" BD an A rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 284 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

X-Men Origins: Wolverine (Single-Disc Edition)
$19.98 $4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.