Customer Reviews


357 Reviews
5 star:
 (270)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The X-Men Trilogy
This is a great DVD set for anyone who are fans of the films. These are three great films with memorable charecters, fantastic special effects and action sequences as well as some very witty humor. They are also a great social commentary on todays society.

here is what this set contains

DISC 1- X-Men

-2.35:1 Anamorphic Widescreen...
Published on November 19, 2006 by Brian

versus
35 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where are the extras?
X-Men 1.5, The X-Men Collection, and X-Men The Last Stand (Collector's Edition) are all packed with DVD extras. The X-men Trilogy is missing most of "fun" stuff collector's are looking for. If you just want to watch the movies this is a great buy. If you like all that nifty bonus material (ex. Wolverine/Deathstrike Fight Rehearsal an In-Depth Behind-the-Scenes...
Published on January 17, 2007 by Joseph Coe


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The X-Men Trilogy, November 19, 2006
By 
This is a great DVD set for anyone who are fans of the films. These are three great films with memorable charecters, fantastic special effects and action sequences as well as some very witty humor. They are also a great social commentary on todays society.

here is what this set contains

DISC 1- X-Men

-2.35:1 Anamorphic Widescreen presentation

-Deleted Scenes

-Charlie Rose Interview

-Mutant Watch featurette

-Hugh Jackman Screen Test

-Storyboards

-Art Gallery

-Animatics

-Trailer

DISC 2- X2: X-Men United

-2.35:1 Anamorphic Widescreen presentation

-Commentary by Director and Cinematographer

-Commentary by Producers and Writers

DISC 3- X-Men: The Last Stand

-2.35:1 Anamorphic Widescreen presentation

-Commentary by Director and Writers

-Commentary by Producers

-Deleted Scenes with optional Director Commentary

-Alternate Endings with optional Director Commentary

BUY THIS DVD SET!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blessed Blu-ray Treatment, June 29, 2009
By 
Tyler S. "Super-Review" (Brentwood, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: X-Men Trilogy (X-Men / X2: X-Men United / X-Men: The Last Stand) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I got to hand it to Fox, they really mastered this blu-ray trilogy. I was unimpressed by the lack of the Spider-man trilogy's special features. I think anything being re-released onto blu-ray should have something new besides video and sound quality. This box set is almost overloaded with features that kept me watching for hours and hours.

I found some of the features to repeat themselves, but for the most part they were worthwhile. My absolute favorite was the one-hour special on the history of X-men comics found on the X3 special features disc. I felt that alone gave me the ultimate satisfaction for purchasing this set. I had the previous dvd copies, and this was a huge step in the right direction. Thank you Fox!

Your blu-ray quality is about what you would expect for the series. The first movie was in 2000 so I was most interested in that transfer. X-men had the most apparent positive transfer. The other films have your standard blu-ray quality. I wouldn't necessarily rate the films individually because you have all seen them by this point. It is a great trilogy, with a rough third part. I enjoyed the Singer movies a lot more than Brett Ratner's take.

If you're looking for a feature-packed blu-ray boxed-set this is a must have. Don't buy in to those empty box trilogies they put out with nothing on them. They will release a better version in time and it will aggravate you that you didn't wait. I give my example on the Spider-man trilogy. Will all these movies being such great hits, I can comparitively say that 20th Century Fox really did us justice on this release, and I hope more distribution companies recognize the bar that they have set. Remember for those of you who dislike the features in the first place, it makes everyone happy to have an abundance of them. The regular movie watchers can watch the film occasionally and be done. Then the nerds like me can watch all the features and get our moneys' worth. Putting out these box sets with nothing on them only satisfies a certain audience. The X-men Trilogy has paved a path for future franchise blu-rays to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Review, June 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: X-Men Trilogy (X-Men / X2: X-Men United / X-Men: The Last Stand) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Well, you know how good the movies are, so the big question is 'is the transfer worth the added expense of buying blu-ray?'. The answer is yes.
The transfers are crisp and clear and wonderful in their visual detail. The sound is revelatory. The packaged price saves you money. That should be all you need to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great adaptation of classic heroes., September 29, 2006
By 
trashcanman (Hanford, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
While it'd be impossible for any films to do justice to Marvel's legendary team of super-powered mutants, I really feel that these films are almost as good an adaptation as we could have hoped for. The casting was strong, the action was solid, most of the characters were portrayed memorably, and the stories largely stayed true to the spirit of the X-men. The first film felt a little rushed due to the sheer number of characters introduced, but all things considered it was a very enjoyable film for both the uninitiated and old-school X-fans. Hugh Jackman was spot-on as Wolverine, the most iconic X-man and arguably the hardest to cast and Famke Jansen was a fantastic Jean Grey for at least the first two films. Patrick Stewart (Professor X), Ian McKellan (Magneto), and Rebecca Romjin-Stamos (Mystique) also delivered outstanding performances playing their respective comic icons. The story was a nice update of the comics and followed Rogue's induction into Professor X's school for mutants and Magneto's first big terrorist attack on mankind. All-in-all, a satisfying start to the series. The second film really kicked the series into gear and introduced more of our favorite X-men, including Nightcrawler (whose opening sequence was the highlight of the film), Pyro, and Iceman. The story involves Wolverine's past and the government's attempts to control the ever-growing mutant population. The result was one of the greatest comic book films ever made that firmly cemented the developing series as one to watch. For some ridiculous reason, at this point the powers that be decided that the third film would be the last. This was a bad choice that made no kind of sense, upset the films' fans, and severly hurt the quality of the third film. Ah, the third film; a mixed bag to say the least. The plot deals with two classic storylines involving a cure for mutants and the legendary Dark Phoenix. My personal list of complaints is a long one, but I'll just hit a few in this review. "X-men: The Last Stand" tries to cram two movies' worth of material into one film that is too short to begin with. The introduction of the Phoenix was obviously forced and no care was taken in this storyline which is one of the all-time classics in comic history, and the result is several pointless character deaths and gaps in logic, like why an all-powerful entity is content to hang out at an aging terrorist's side and just look menacing for most of the story. The series' former darling, Rogue, is reduced to a brooding plot-nuisance, has no real influence on the story, plus she never gains the fantastic powers she obtained in the comics that made her such a powerhouse of a character and a personal favorite of mine. On the other hand, more classic characters are given parts such as fan-favorite Kitty Pride and Collossus (both of which had cameos in X2), Angel, Multiple Man, Beast (played nicely by Kelsey Grammer), and the almighty Juggernaut (whose battle with Kitty was as awesome as it was unexpected). But as many characters as there were that made it into the three films, there were so many great ones that were reduced to either tiny, unnamed cameos in the series, or forgotten altogether. No Gambit, Emma Frost, Sinister, Apocalypse, Scarlet Witch, or Havok to name just a few. Furthermore, the final film's resolution in extremely unsatisfying and leaves little doubt that this franchise as we know it is dead, though they do leave us a glimmer of hope. There are talks of Wolverine and Magneto spin-offs and possibly a New Mutants project; promising ideas, but hardly a substitute for the ensemble we know and love. Still, in the end, I really did enjoy X3 as a film as it did have several great stand-up-and-cheer moments; it just upset me as a fan of the comics and as a fan of the the movies because there wss so much more that could have and should have been done with this series. In the end, whether you're a fan of the comics, the cartoons, or just a fan of sci-fi or fun movies in general, you really shouldn't miss out on these three movies. The series is full of memorable characters, fantastic battles, sly humor, references for hard-core fans, and, of course, the classic X-men social commentaries about discrimination and the importance of both individuality and cohesiveness. There doesn't appear to be much in the way of special features from the first two films on this edition; but for about $10 a flick, I'll let it slide since it is still a hell of a bargain. Highly recommended set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it., April 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: X-Men Trilogy (X-Men / X2: X-Men United / X-Men: The Last Stand) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Finally the X-Men moves made their transfer to hi-def and they look great. Nothing like seeing Wolverine go crazy on some baddies. The first of the films has the lowest ratio at 2.35:1 and looks a little less crisp than the other 2 films but still has good color and the black levels look great.

For those complaining that Fox is double dipping because they already released the 3rd film on Blu-ray. Well your in luck. You can buy the other discs separately. The new copy of the last stand is an even better transfer visually then the first version. So for those HD lovers out there it looks better.

If you already own the Last Stand on blu-ray this box set is still worth the price as it also includes digital copies of all 3 films.
Make mine Marvel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where are the extras?, January 17, 2007
X-Men 1.5, The X-Men Collection, and X-Men The Last Stand (Collector's Edition) are all packed with DVD extras. The X-men Trilogy is missing most of "fun" stuff collector's are looking for. If you just want to watch the movies this is a great buy. If you like all that nifty bonus material (ex. Wolverine/Deathstrike Fight Rehearsal an In-Depth Behind-the-Scenes Exploration) stick with other separate releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 9-Disc X-Men Trilogy, September 26, 2013
This review is from: X-Men Trilogy (X-Men / X2: X-Men United / X-Men: The Last Stand) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
X-Men fans will find half of their films included in this collection. Overall, the picture and audio quality are terrific. It has more bonus content than the X-Men: The Adamantium Collection (Limited Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] sold separately (which includes 3 more films but less extras). Each film gets 2 BDs (one containing the film and the other contains bonus content) plus a DVD copy for each film in the trilogy. There is over 9 hours of total bonus content for the three films (181 minutes + 121 minutes + 257 minutes).

Comparison Shopping: X-Men: The Adamantium Collection (Limited Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] 2 Stars
The Adamantium Collection includes all six X-Men films on Blu-ray in a 7-disc set spanning 2000-2013 (X-Men, X2, X-Men: The Last Stand, X-Men Origins: Wolverine, X-Men: First Class, The Wolverine). The Adamantium collection includes a cool claw and a bonus disc (with roughly an hour of supplements). There is also an open slot for X-Men: Days of Future Past to complete your X-Men collection. The films have not been remastered for the Adamantium Collection. Admittedly, they still look and sound great but the exclusive content for fans really comes down to the claw and Legacy X bonus disc (55-minutes). My main concern is that it's missing some bonus discs from previous releases so not all the extras have been ported over and The Wolverine is not in 3D. I rate the films 4 stars but this Collector's Edition only 2 stars. If you don't own these films yet it could be a worthwhile purchase. Some fans may prefer to wait for a more deluxe collection loaded with supplements (not to mention Days of Future Past) before upgrading. Hang onto your old bonus discs if you buy the Adamantium Collection.

Buy the X-Men Trilogy on Blu-ray. This release has held its value but it is expected to decline as new X-Men Collections become available on Blu-ray with additional films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World War X, October 5, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In X1 there was the attempt by Magneto (played superbly by Ian McKellan) to convert humans to mutants. In X2 it was a plot by a corrupt Fed to kill all the mutants using Xavier (Patrick Stewart). In X3 a "cure" is found that makes all mutants human.

Cure indeed. Who said the mutants were sick? Such is the view of the mutant self-proclaimed leader Magneto. In the final chapter, Magneto fears that the "cure" will be forced upon the mutant population and wages war against the source of the cure with the aim to destroy it and anything that gets in his and his loyal followers way.

All three movies are suspenseful and exciting. No bathroom break urges in these films. New mutants are hatched in each film and some of our favorite mutants are dispatched (quite early on in X3). Special effects are 5-stars.

If you've not seen any of the movies (or all of the movies) in the trilogy, this 3-pack is a great opportunity to see a classic tale in chronological order and own a classic 3-part tale in the genre that belongs in any sci-fi fan's collection.

Hugh Jackman is excellent in the tough-guy roll as Wolverine (we like you better as a tough guy, Hugh); Halle Berry (Storm), Anna Paquin (Rogue), James Marsden (Cyclops) and Rebecca Romijn (Mystique) are all spot-on too. And Famke Janssen is Phoenix whose character is key to the trilogy.

Beast is in X3 too, actually played by (to my surprise in the rolling credits)...Kelsey Grammer! Now there's a real mutation!

All in all a very entertaining 6 hours of movies here. X fans won't miss these, and you shouldn't either if you're into the action, sci-fi or fantasy genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Feature-packed blu ray set, November 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: X-Men Trilogy (X-Men / X2: X-Men United / X-Men: The Last Stand) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Most of the technical details have been reviewed elsewhere about this set, hence I won't go in those details. All I will say is this set has GREAT value for money. It has-
1. Three movie discs
2. Three special features discs (Both in blu ray format)
and
3. Three Digital copy discs!
Quality is really good for all of them. What more do you want at this price? (I got it in 30 bucks!). Its a steal for the fans. Just get it before april 2011 as the digital copy code expires then. After that, all you will get is 6 discs for the same price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice Blu-ray upgrade for the "X-Men Trilogy" not a lot of new extras, April 26, 2009
This review is from: X-Men Trilogy (X-Men / X2: X-Men United / X-Men: The Last Stand) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
"X-Men Trilogy" ports over all the extras for all three films from DVD. Almost all of them are presented in standard definition. The only things I haven't been able to find just yet are the Easter Eggs from the previously issued versions on DVD. The third one does have some new extras on a second disc and also ports over the previously released extras. All three films have two commentary tracks that were on the original DVDs. I suspect that the high def transfer used for the box set two years ago were probably used here as well.

The first two films are the best of the lot--it's a pity that Bryan Singer chose to do "Superman Returns" rather than "X-Men: The Last Stand" (or whatever his version of the early script was called)while Brett Ratner does an OK job with the material he's given, Singer had an innate sense of what worked best for the X-Men saga. Add in the fact that the original script conception was going to be much closer to the Dark Phoenix saga portrayed in the comic books and we have a missed opportunity with "X3"

All three films look from very good to exceptional and have a natural film look to them. Nice detail, a sharp looking presentation and a strong color scheme are highlights for all three with the last of the three looking the best of the bunch. That's not to suggest that the first two look less than optimal--they look terrific.

Audio sounds terrific with strong 5.1 DTS lossless presentations that nicely capture the original theatrical presentations of the film.

All three films come with digital copies of the movies as well (something I don't have much use for but others might). Early editions of this also have a digital ticket that can be used for "Wolverine: X-Men Origins", "Ice Age 3" and "A Night At The Museum 2" you'll need to go on line and print up the actual ticket however. This is a very nice set.

You can also access an exclusive sneak peak of "Wolverine: X-Men Origins" using the Blu-ray Live special feature.

"X-Men"-4 stars for the movie, 3 stars for the SD DVD extras
"X-Men: United" 5 stars for the movie for the SD DVD extras
"X-Men: The Last Stand" 2 stars for the movie, 4 stars for the high def transfer and 3 stars for the SD DVD extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

X-Men Trilogy (X-Men / X2: X-Men United / X-Men: The Last Stand) [Blu-ray]
$59.99 $24.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.