Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 19, 2006
This is a great DVD set for anyone who are fans of the films. These are three great films with memorable charecters, fantastic special effects and action sequences as well as some very witty humor. They are also a great social commentary on todays society.

here is what this set contains

DISC 1- X-Men

-2.35:1 Anamorphic Widescreen presentation

-Deleted Scenes

-Charlie Rose Interview

-Mutant Watch featurette

-Hugh Jackman Screen Test

-Storyboards

-Art Gallery

-Animatics

-Trailer

DISC 2- X2: X-Men United

-2.35:1 Anamorphic Widescreen presentation

-Commentary by Director and Cinematographer

-Commentary by Producers and Writers

DISC 3- X-Men: The Last Stand

-2.35:1 Anamorphic Widescreen presentation

-Commentary by Director and Writers

-Commentary by Producers

-Deleted Scenes with optional Director Commentary

-Alternate Endings with optional Director Commentary

BUY THIS DVD SET!
11 comment|98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2009
I got to hand it to Fox, they really mastered this blu-ray trilogy. I was unimpressed by the lack of the Spider-man trilogy's special features. I think anything being re-released onto blu-ray should have something new besides video and sound quality. This box set is almost overloaded with features that kept me watching for hours and hours.

I found some of the features to repeat themselves, but for the most part they were worthwhile. My absolute favorite was the one-hour special on the history of X-men comics found on the X3 special features disc. I felt that alone gave me the ultimate satisfaction for purchasing this set. I had the previous dvd copies, and this was a huge step in the right direction. Thank you Fox!

Your blu-ray quality is about what you would expect for the series. The first movie was in 2000 so I was most interested in that transfer. X-men had the most apparent positive transfer. The other films have your standard blu-ray quality. I wouldn't necessarily rate the films individually because you have all seen them by this point. It is a great trilogy, with a rough third part. I enjoyed the Singer movies a lot more than Brett Ratner's take.

If you're looking for a feature-packed blu-ray boxed-set this is a must have. Don't buy in to those empty box trilogies they put out with nothing on them. They will release a better version in time and it will aggravate you that you didn't wait. I give my example on the Spider-man trilogy. Will all these movies being such great hits, I can comparitively say that 20th Century Fox really did us justice on this release, and I hope more distribution companies recognize the bar that they have set. Remember for those of you who dislike the features in the first place, it makes everyone happy to have an abundance of them. The regular movie watchers can watch the film occasionally and be done. Then the nerds like me can watch all the features and get our moneys' worth. Putting out these box sets with nothing on them only satisfies a certain audience. The X-men Trilogy has paved a path for future franchise blu-rays to follow.
11 comment|80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Well, you know how good the movies are, so the big question is 'is the transfer worth the added expense of buying blu-ray?'. The answer is yes.
The transfers are crisp and clear and wonderful in their visual detail. The sound is revelatory. The packaged price saves you money. That should be all you need to know.
11 comment|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 29, 2006
While it'd be impossible for any films to do justice to Marvel's legendary team of super-powered mutants, I really feel that these films are almost as good an adaptation as we could have hoped for. The casting was strong, the action was solid, most of the characters were portrayed memorably, and the stories largely stayed true to the spirit of the X-men. The first film felt a little rushed due to the sheer number of characters introduced, but all things considered it was a very enjoyable film for both the uninitiated and old-school X-fans. Hugh Jackman was spot-on as Wolverine, the most iconic X-man and arguably the hardest to cast and Famke Jansen was a fantastic Jean Grey for at least the first two films. Patrick Stewart (Professor X), Ian McKellan (Magneto), and Rebecca Romjin-Stamos (Mystique) also delivered outstanding performances playing their respective comic icons. The story was a nice update of the comics and followed Rogue's induction into Professor X's school for mutants and Magneto's first big terrorist attack on mankind. All-in-all, a satisfying start to the series. The second film really kicked the series into gear and introduced more of our favorite X-men, including Nightcrawler (whose opening sequence was the highlight of the film), Pyro, and Iceman. The story involves Wolverine's past and the government's attempts to control the ever-growing mutant population. The result was one of the greatest comic book films ever made that firmly cemented the developing series as one to watch. For some ridiculous reason, at this point the powers that be decided that the third film would be the last. This was a bad choice that made no kind of sense, upset the films' fans, and severly hurt the quality of the third film. Ah, the third film; a mixed bag to say the least. The plot deals with two classic storylines involving a cure for mutants and the legendary Dark Phoenix. My personal list of complaints is a long one, but I'll just hit a few in this review. "X-men: The Last Stand" tries to cram two movies' worth of material into one film that is too short to begin with. The introduction of the Phoenix was obviously forced and no care was taken in this storyline which is one of the all-time classics in comic history, and the result is several pointless character deaths and gaps in logic, like why an all-powerful entity is content to hang out at an aging terrorist's side and just look menacing for most of the story. The series' former darling, Rogue, is reduced to a brooding plot-nuisance, has no real influence on the story, plus she never gains the fantastic powers she obtained in the comics that made her such a powerhouse of a character and a personal favorite of mine. On the other hand, more classic characters are given parts such as fan-favorite Kitty Pride and Collossus (both of which had cameos in X2), Angel, Multiple Man, Beast (played nicely by Kelsey Grammer), and the almighty Juggernaut (whose battle with Kitty was as awesome as it was unexpected). But as many characters as there were that made it into the three films, there were so many great ones that were reduced to either tiny, unnamed cameos in the series, or forgotten altogether. No Gambit, Emma Frost, Sinister, Apocalypse, Scarlet Witch, or Havok to name just a few. Furthermore, the final film's resolution in extremely unsatisfying and leaves little doubt that this franchise as we know it is dead, though they do leave us a glimmer of hope. There are talks of Wolverine and Magneto spin-offs and possibly a New Mutants project; promising ideas, but hardly a substitute for the ensemble we know and love. Still, in the end, I really did enjoy X3 as a film as it did have several great stand-up-and-cheer moments; it just upset me as a fan of the comics and as a fan of the the movies because there wss so much more that could have and should have been done with this series. In the end, whether you're a fan of the comics, the cartoons, or just a fan of sci-fi or fun movies in general, you really shouldn't miss out on these three movies. The series is full of memorable characters, fantastic battles, sly humor, references for hard-core fans, and, of course, the classic X-men social commentaries about discrimination and the importance of both individuality and cohesiveness. There doesn't appear to be much in the way of special features from the first two films on this edition; but for about $10 a flick, I'll let it slide since it is still a hell of a bargain. Highly recommended set.
77 comments|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2009
Finally the X-Men moves made their transfer to hi-def and they look great. Nothing like seeing Wolverine go crazy on some baddies. The first of the films has the lowest ratio at 2.35:1 and looks a little less crisp than the other 2 films but still has good color and the black levels look great.

For those complaining that Fox is double dipping because they already released the 3rd film on Blu-ray. Well your in luck. You can buy the other discs separately. The new copy of the last stand is an even better transfer visually then the first version. So for those HD lovers out there it looks better.

If you already own the Last Stand on blu-ray this box set is still worth the price as it also includes digital copies of all 3 films.
Make mine Marvel
44 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2013
X-Men fans will find half of their films included in this collection. Overall, the picture and audio quality are terrific. It has more bonus content than the X-Men: The Adamantium Collection (Limited Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] sold separately (which includes 3 more films but less extras). Each film gets 2 BDs (one containing the film and the other contains bonus content) plus a DVD copy for each film in the trilogy. There is over 9 hours of total bonus content for the three films (181 minutes + 121 minutes + 257 minutes).

Comparison Shopping: X-Men: The Adamantium Collection (Limited Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] 2 Stars
The Adamantium Collection includes all six X-Men films on Blu-ray in a 7-disc set spanning 2000-2013 (X-Men, X2, X-Men: The Last Stand, X-Men Origins: Wolverine, X-Men: First Class, The Wolverine). The Adamantium collection includes a cool claw and a bonus disc (with roughly an hour of supplements). There is also an open slot for X-Men: Days of Future Past to complete your X-Men collection. The films have not been remastered for the Adamantium Collection. Admittedly, they still look and sound great but the exclusive content for fans really comes down to the claw and Legacy X bonus disc (55-minutes). My main concern is that it's missing some bonus discs from previous releases so not all the extras have been ported over and The Wolverine is not in 3D. I rate the films 4 stars but this Collector's Edition only 2 stars. If you don't own these films yet it could be a worthwhile purchase. Some fans may prefer to wait for a more deluxe collection loaded with supplements (not to mention Days of Future Past) before upgrading. Hang onto your old bonus discs if you buy the Adamantium Collection.

Buy the X-Men Trilogy on Blu-ray. This release has held its value but it is expected to decline as new X-Men Collections become available on Blu-ray with additional films.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2015
this just has the 3 movies in individual blu-ray cases. it is not a specialty pack, just a cardboard box around the three individual blu-ray cases. Still a good deal for $20.00, but not exactly what I was expecting.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2015
It was a great price for X1 and X2. I'm not a big fan of X3 (I consider it the weakest of all 7 X-Movies that existed at the time of this review). The docked star is for X-3, which almost totally ruined what would have been an epic trilogy/mythos. Luckily, the terrible events of X-3 were later "fixed", though I won't say how as it kind of falls into spoiler territory.

For a comparison, X1 and X2 are like Sam Raimi's Spider-Man 1 and 2. X3 is like Raimi's Spider-Man 3. Ugh.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2015
great box set for the price. the quality is def. better than DVD. X2 is the best by far but I collect so I it was a great way to knock out the original 3.
blu ray quality
video 9/10
audio 8/10
extras 8/10
if your a comic book fan and movie collector its a must have.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2014
Well, unfortunately you're stuck with the third film in this set, but the features are there for all three, the transfers look great and the first two are well-worth the price of admission. This series went down for a bit but has picked up since X-Men First Class and is on its way to being a GREAT comic adaptation series. See how it all started!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse