Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Price:$12.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 27, 2013
Just received and watched the X-Ray/Schizoid BluRay/DVD combo yesterday. Shout did a fantastic job on the resolution on both films. It was like watching the films for the first time. X-Ray has an interview with Boaz Davidson and Schizoid has an interview with Donna Wilkes (what a treat!) and a trailer. My only qualms is that I wish they had audio commentary for both films and a trailer for X-Ray. Other than that, I recommend everyone purchasing these great films.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2013
This is two hard to find movies plus you get Barbie Benton in the nude. Really fun flicks from the 1980's when horror was not PG 13.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2013
Hey horror fiends and lovers. Just wanted to say that the transfer of X Ray is not super dark anymore like the vhs transfer was. You can see what is going on in the darker scenes in the hospital. The transfer is super great now and so is Schizoid. Both movies are above average slashers. The description for both is stated by amazon above so I won't go into detail. I got this off of ebay a month early and the only flaw is a hole punch in the UPC. I also pre-ordered off of here and giving the other copy to a friend. So anyway, Klaus Kinski and Donna Wilkes. Great father daughter combination in Schizoid. The only special feature for that movie is an interview with the Donna. X Ray has an interview with the director Boaz Davidson (I think I'm close with the last name - too lazy to check - Ha!). The best part of X Ray is seeing the three killer kids from Bloody Birthday making a cameo in this movie. Some brilliant producer must have decided to use these kids in one or the other (BB or X Ray) movie first and use them in whichever came later because they have great chemistry. God bless child actor extroardinarre Billy Jacoby (now Jayne) for his awesomeness in BB, Cujo, X-Ray and Superstition and some others maybe. Jacoby/Jaynes did quite a bit of horror as child actors. Anyway, I know I'm all over the place with this review but I just wanted to have a horror moment over the well-lighted scenes of X Ray (aka Hospital Massacre) now and make others aware. Just like they lightened up Humongous. Now for the love of Satan please release Edge of the Axe on BD/DVD.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2013
DVD transfer of X-Ray is fantastic, much better than vhs copy I've got when it was called Hospital Massacre. I collect bad movies & this gem is king of the bunch!! It takes all the time-honoured slasher elements and ramps them up to unbelievable heights of stupidity and goriness - kind of hospital a normal person would've steered clear of in the first place, heroine who's so stupid & badly acted (Barbi seems most comfortable when she's undressed, otherwise she's only got two switches - bitchy or slightly annoyed) you're rooting for the killer, at times very inventive goriness, with medical instruments galore why not, an overacting killer - you swear he's going to inhale that face mask. The famous examination scene is hysterical though it goes on interminably, we get it - she's got big fake boobs that don't ever move no matter what. The ex-husband and his orange - you have to see it to understand it. Nurses that belong in one of those Linda Blair nudie prison flicks. The music played while murders are going on is so odd it drains whatever tension there could be and you wind up laughing. I've watched X-Ray five times so far and it keeps getting better with each viewing - this is the Holy Grail of Bad Slasher Films. The other flick, Schizoid, is pretty decent - the woefully underrated Craig Wasson is best thing in it, Klaus Kinski does his bug-eyed weirdo routine, Marianna Hill is the overly nervous Nellie heroine, the whole Donna Wilkes subplot gets tedious though it gets the flick where it's going - movie's not the incredible gem X-Ray is, but it's an agreeable time filler. All in all, great price for one must-have and one not bad movie.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
If you're a fan of 1980's slasher movies this is a fun double feature of two from Cannon Pictures that had never been released on DVD. Neither is a classic or especially gory but both are quite fun in their own ways. X-Ray is a far better hospital slasher pic than Halloween 2 and features Barbi Benton who is trapped in a hospital after a mysterious stalker switches out her routine test results. Doctors won't tell her what is supposed to be wrong with her and also won't let her leave until further tests are performed. The killer systematically knocks off anyone who might figure out that the scary test results are bogus, working his way up to Ms. Benton. X-Ray cleverly plays off of people's sense of vulnerability when they're in the hospital and offers up some completely unnecessary nudity and cheap thrills along the way. Shizoid is probably the classier of the two films in that the stars include Klaus Kinski (Nosferatu; Fitzcarraldo), Christopher Lloyd (Back to the Future; Taxi) and Craig Wasson (Body Double). It's a mystery where an advice columnist finds that members of her therapy group are being murdered off one by one. Could the murderer be the perverted and unethical psychiatrist played by Kinski or his deeply troubled teenage daughter? Or a member of the group? Or the heroine's ex, who also happens to be her boss at the newspaper (Wasson)? Schizoid isn't particularly stylish or bloody but if you like this type of thing it definitely gets the job done. Both films look nice and, considering that the only existing home video versions were VHS copies, the Blu-ray is obviously a huge improvement over what was previously available.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2015
Now, I'm a huge fan of 80's horror movies but even I have my standards. In short, both movies feel like cheap cash ins on the slasher boom started by the original Halloween film (X-Ray even takes place in a hospital like Halloween II). As for the movies themselves, X-Ray is a hospital based slasher about a guy in doctor scrubs killing patients with surgical equipment but the real reason the movie was made appears to be the overlong nude scenes featuring the main actress. If you are looking for a decent hospital based horror movie, I do recommend the under rated Visiting Hours also released by Shout Factory. As for Schizoid, other than the fact that Body Heat star Greg Wasson and Back to the Future's Doc Brown himself Christopher Lloyd give decent performances, at the end of the day this is just another masked killer chasing people around flick but adds elements of psychology to try to make itself appear smarter. German film legend Klaus Kinski is the main star but appears to be sleepwalking.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2013
I just received this in the mail yesterday. I bought the set for X-ray aka Hospital Massacre. I haven't seem Schizoid as of yet. The transfer of x-ray is really good, and you can actually see what's going on in the dark scenes at the end of the movie now. X-ray is a good horror movie which stars Barbi Benton. This is the longer version of the film which is 1 hr 29 minutes, not the edited down version of the film, which is a plus. The only negative thing I can say about this set is there are no subtitles for the hearing impaired. Including that would have made the set perfect. I would highly recommend this set for fans of this film. Sell your VHS version and buy this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2015
I had seen X-RAY before under the title "Hospital Massacre" and remember really liking it. This time I didn't like it as much. Didn't remember the characters being so dumb and/or unlikable. It is a fun Slasher flick though and it looks good on Blu Ray.

SCHIZOID was a first time watch for me, wasn't sure what to expect. I thought it started pretty good with a chase/stalking scene then it got kinda slowwww. The cast was good, but I feel it needed something more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2016
I bought this for Hospital Massacre only. I don't know why they call it X-Ray. Anyway, this old slasher is awesome! It's pure cheese. It's filled with so many red herrings it's laughable but you gotta love it. Every guy in the movie looks at Barbi like they're potentially the killer. And her nude scene! Sadly, after this she only did deathstalker. Buy this for Barbie and I guess the other movie is a bonus!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2013
Both fun movies to watch for the avid collector of "the golden age" of Horror, but both are quite mediocre films. They both have their moments and are pretty good, but neither is great. Quite a few logic flaws and plot holes in each, but definitely a good combo and worth owning.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse