Customer Reviews
X&Y


1,366 Reviews
5 star:
 (698)
4 star:
 (219)
3 star:
 (146)
2 star:
 (138)
1 star:
 (165)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


451 of 531 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coldplay - X&Y
It's hard to believe but it's been three years since Coldplay released A Rush of Blood to the Head. Now they are back with their third record X&Y. All of Coldplay's releases share one thing in common; they take some time getting into. When I first listened to Parachutes in the fall of 2000 I was not impressed. After a week it was the only thing I listened to for a six...
Published on June 7, 2005 by Michael Henshaw

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars decent music; incredibly banal lyrics
The recipe for Coldplay's massive commercial success with their "X&Y" album is simple--first, have some incredibly banal, faux-uplifting, lowest common denominator lyrics on hand; start the tune off with an atmospheric, drumless intro; then steadily build up to a 'big', 'anthemic', densely-produced chorus; end the song with a little outro to ease the listener out of the...
Published on March 27, 2006 by Missing Person


‹ Previous | 1131 132 133137 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Coldplay's X and Y= ZZZZ, June 26, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
I am not the world's biggest Coldplay fan, but I very much enjoy there brit pop album. This and the new White Stripes album both came out on June 7. I looked forward to both. Both were dissapointing. But "X and Y" is worse. Songs such as " Fix You" and "What If" have absurd lyrics and lack the energy of Coldplay's previous albums. "Twisted Logic" tries to hard for the emo angle, when in fact, it just doesn't work. The only songs that are good on the album are Speed of Sound and A Message. Don't buy the album. Go on Itunes and buy those two tracks, cuz overall, X and Y is a mixture of material with potential that, together, just doesn't work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars just ok, July 5, 2011
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
There are a few good songs. Otherwise its melancholy background music to fall asleep to. God, FIX YOU has to have the most irritating contrived manipulative lyrics in a song. "Tears stream down your face, when you lose something you cannot replace." haha. laughable. "lights will guide you home, & ignite your bones." "i will fix you." c'mon, this is why coldplay is so popular, peddling this crap to the masses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the other two, June 7, 2005
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
This album is pretty good but not nearly as good as their other two. Nothing on this album really stands out to me as being too impressive. Don't get me wrong, I still enjoyed it, but this is nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Same As It Ever WasSame As It Ever WasSame As It Ever Was, June 12, 2005
By 
anthonious "anthonious" (Rancho Cordova, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
Ahhhh, a world has waited for a new voice, for a band to keep every one from running to U2 and to bury the memory of Radiohead. X&Y is as easy as 1,2,3- This was supposed to be Coldplay's "Rock" album... The opening single is catchy and well over produced and sounds like a hidden track that should be found on "How to Dismatle an Atomic Bomb". I hoped for a bit too much. I think it is simple... Coldplay follows in music... They are a talented Pearl Jam living in the shadow of their own Nirvana... Radiohead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album Ever, June 26, 2005
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
This may possibly be the best album ever recorded. It absolutely blows away the dying U2 and self-absorbed Radiohead schlock that we've had to endure the past few years. Maybe Bono should focus on his music instead of enriching Nigerian despots.

Square One: 9/10

What If: 10/10

White Shadows: 10/10

Fix You: 10/10

Talk: 10/10

X&Y: 10/10

Speed of Sound: 9/10

A Message: 8/10

Low: 8/10

The Hardest Part: 8/10

Swallowed in the Sea: 10/10

Twisted Logic: 10/10

Till Kingdom Come: 10/10

The detractors are nothing but a bunch of jealous losers -- save your spite for your miserable little lives. Go back and listen to Parachutes and AROBTTH. Yup, they're not as good. Think of the albums that you can listen to without skipping ONE song.

Pearl Jam: Vitalogy

Peter Gabriel: So

U2: Joshua Tree

Pink Floyd: The Wall

Fleetwood Mac: Rumours

Add the following:

Coldplay: X&Y
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic Bono and Thom York poser's most trite work, June 25, 2005
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
The pathetic lead singer of this group causes me to give this horrid review. He is nothing but a pale imitator of the pop style of Bono from U2 and the vocal technique of Thom Yorke from Radiohead. People compare his vocals of to the stratospheric Jeff Buckley but he is merely a sissy Thom Yorke impostor. The first album at least had credible power guitar hooks on tracks like "Yellow" and "Shiver" that at least gave these commercial mass market music perveyors masquerading as artists the facade of being a rock band. "Speed of Sound" is simply a reworked version of their previous single "Clocks". The only bearable song of this guy is "In my Place" but Thom Yorke has more intensity in one of the flaxen hairs of his scrotum than this flaccid banal pop star has in his whole body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars X and WHY, June 7, 2005
By 
BB09 (philadelphia, pa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
It pains me to write that this album is overhyped, overvalued, and overdone. This will not be the last Coldplay album and this will def never be considered the best Coldplay album. With such a strong debut and powerful second record, it just seemed inevitable that these guys would continue to release gems. They just didnt quite pull it off this time, unfortunately. However, people will continue to buy their music, they will continue to tour, and they will hopefully continue to make music. Hopefully this wont be their best effort from here on in. I would like to hear all the material they supposedly scrapped in the 3 years between Rush and X and Y.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Somebody pass this guy some testosterone pills!, September 9, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
The first time I ever heard "Speed of Sound", I thought that dude on the radio must have his b@lls caught in a vice. Now about a year later I realize I was mistaken. Chris Martin didn't have his b@lls caught in a vice...the man simply has a horrible, unmusical voice. That grating falsetto caterwaul grates on the ears worse than scratching a fork across a chalkboard...he simply can't sing! What could possibly make this guy's voice so incredibly irratating? Has he been taking estrogen supplements? If I wanted to hear a man moan and groan over a bunch of elevator music as if he's just suffered a blow to the groin, I'd just go sit in an elevator and kick MYSELF in that area! It wouldn't cost $24.99 for a cd, and it would be a considerably more pleasent experience than listening to a Coldplay cd! I think the Americans should just call off the war in Iraq and resort to the most effective weapon of all--the horrible music of Coldplay. Just force all the Iraqis to listen to a Coldplay cd, and they'd surrender immediately! Wait no, that's too cruel! Listening to an entire Coldplay is a fate worse than death! Coldplay is the worst band EVER!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars X&Y Gets a "C" (for c*ap), June 7, 2005
By 
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
We waited three years for this? In my opinion, X&Y is overproduced and extremely uneventful. The edge and emotion is gone, and the few and far between guitar riffs get drowned out (or should I say Swallowed in the Sea) by melancholy synthesizers. This is the sound of the fat-n-happy vs. the up-and-coming. Save your money (if it's not too late) and buy Parachutes and/or Rush of Blood if you don't already have them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Help me!Stop the torture!, July 24, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
I dont own this album,and never will but whys there so much hype about it?Really Coldplay dont know how to have fun,all they sing about is being depressed and not being optomistic.I heard the samples to see what all the hype was about and I fell asleep,its so slow and boring!Even other slow albums have at least 1 fast and upbeat song!Noone I know owns this album and in my form,noone has it at all (Everyone likes Hip Hop,RnB or Rock)If I saw Coldplay write an upbeat song,I'd eat my PS2!Avoid and dont belive the hype!Get an album by talented artists who write upbeat songs unlike Coldplay like Ludacris!Well done to Crazy Frog for beating Coldplay to number 1!!F**k Coldplay

Jonesy

P.S I think on their album front cover,they made a printing error!they put in pl instead of g so it spells Coldplay instead of Coldgay which is their real name and anyone who likes this has a depressing life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1131 132 133137 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

X&Y
X&Y by Coldplay (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.