Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great card for modern gaming
Just played 3 hours of StarCraft 2 on high settings with not a stutter in sight. Installation went smooth. I didn't use the driver cd, just downloaded the latest drivers from AMD. After that I ran benchmarks on far cry 2 and just cause 2 on high settings, the lowest the frames dropped was in the mid 30's. I even ran metro 2033 in dx11 and the framerate counter never...
Published on August 31, 2011 by Joshua J. McEntire

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Loud, high temperatures
A lot of reviews that this card is loud, but for $130 after rebate, I overlooked the reviews and pulled the trigger on this card. Turns out they weren't kidding, it is very loud. The temperatures could not be kept low, even when idle. Under load, this card alone made my computer sound like a refrigerator. My computer case has 8 fans, plus a water pump for liquid CPU...
Published on April 18, 2012 by John


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great card for modern gaming, August 31, 2011
By 
Joshua J. McEntire (Phoenix, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XFX AMD Radeon HD 6870 3D-Ready Graphics Card (HD-687A-ZHFC) (Personal Computers)
Just played 3 hours of StarCraft 2 on high settings with not a stutter in sight. Installation went smooth. I didn't use the driver cd, just downloaded the latest drivers from AMD. After that I ran benchmarks on far cry 2 and just cause 2 on high settings, the lowest the frames dropped was in the mid 30's. I even ran metro 2033 in dx11 and the framerate counter never dipped below 40fps. Bought this card to upgrade from a hd5750. After a night of testing I am very satisfied. My system is running a core 2 quad with 4gb ram and windows 7 64bit, not state of the art, but enough for most games on the market. The only complain I had is no cables or adapters in the box, but I had some left over from previous cards so I wasn't stuck. Fan seems quiet under load, but sounded like an aircraft carrier until drivers were installed. Bad company 2 even ran smooth in dx11 mode on high. I'll update this review if I notice anything bad, but as of right now I'd say this card is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Compact Card, December 17, 2011
By 
This review is from: XFX AMD Radeon HD 6870 3D-Ready Graphics Card (HD-687A-ZHFC) (Personal Computers)
I purchased this card to upgrade my Dell XPS 8300. The power supply on the 8300 is somewhat restrictive at less than 500W. I could tell from their website specs that this card is likely their "high end" option. Amazon's price is MUCH better than Dell's upgrade cost and installation is a breeze.

The card requires two power connectors but the 8300 has them. Also, the 8300 case is a bit narrow and this version of the card fits with a little room to spare. It's a bit noisy but that's pretty common for a card with these specs in this price range.

Overall, you won't be disappointed and for those of you wondering if this is compatible with Dell's XPS 8300 - it is. Save yourself some cash by upgrading yourself.

FYI: another great upgrade for the XPS8300 is Corsair XMS3 16GB (4x 4GB) PC3-10666 1333MHz DDR3 Memory Kit for AMD and Intel Dual Channel Processors CMX16GX3M4A1333C9 RAM. Again - you'll be upgrading to great RAM for a fraction of Dell's price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not so loud, looks GREAT!, December 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XFX AMD Radeon HD 6870 3D-Ready Graphics Card (HD-687A-ZHFC) (Personal Computers)
This is a short card. Many newer cards are running 11+ inches, this one is 8-9 inches so should fit in most cases. Dropped it in, Win7 automatically detected and ran on generic drivers on boot, then after boot completed automatically downloaded the Vision Control software from AMD. Scores a 7.8 on WEI. Getting 60+ fps outdoors on BF3 and Skyrim on high default settings, with anti-aliasing and anisotropic filtering ON (8x) at 1600x900 on a 22" WS. This card will fit in almost any case for upgrading, but it IS a dual slot so will need room below. I ordered 2 of these, one for my rig and one for my girlfriend (the 2gb for me, the 1gb for her, but otherwise identical) in anticipation of the Star Wars: The Old Republic mmo release and we couldnt be happier.

My setup:

Biostar A87u3 AM3 Mobo
Phenom II x2 B555 unlocked to quad core and a mild OC, from 3.2 to 3.8
16g G.Skills 1600mhz ddr3
Raidmax Hybrid 730w semi-modular PSU
WD Black 1TB HDD 7200 rpm w/64mb buffer
XFX HD6870 2gb

Hers:
Older MSI mobo
Athlon x2 5400 CPU @2.81g
4gb OCZ 800mhz ddr2
Rocketfish 500w modular PSU
Seagata 500gb HDD 7200 rpm 32mb buffer
xfx hd6870 1gb

Note her inexpensive 500w PSU has no problem pushing this card, although it takes 2 connectors so be aware if you plan on X-firing these you will need a total of 4 PCIe 6 pin connectors, 2 per card.
As far as the noise mentioned by some others, I can hear it when I intentionally listen but it isn't loud enough for me to notice if I am not actively listening for it. Not as loud as My CPU cooler when it ramps up under load. Any enthusiast or gaming setup that has multiple case fans, etc, this will not really do much to your noise level but for a HTPC it might be a bit louder than before. If you are trying to upgrade a store-bought PC with no cooling installed other than the processor, you will notice some noise; however, remember this is a HUGE upgrade over any onboard video, and any good card you put in will have fan noise. It's a good thing. If it's too noisy, turn up your speakers.
I would definitely recommend this card to anyone looking for a good upgrade to the onboard video or older card, especially in a smaller case! This is also a good way to breathe some life into an aging system that is sitting at the edge of being obsolete (see her specs above).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Loud, high temperatures, April 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XFX AMD Radeon HD 6870 3D-Ready Graphics Card (HD-687A-ZHFC) (Personal Computers)
A lot of reviews that this card is loud, but for $130 after rebate, I overlooked the reviews and pulled the trigger on this card. Turns out they weren't kidding, it is very loud. The temperatures could not be kept low, even when idle. Under load, this card alone made my computer sound like a refrigerator. My computer case has 8 fans, plus a water pump for liquid CPU cooling, but it was relatively silent compared to this single XFX 6870 card.

I was able to manually control video card fan speed, and set it at a minimum of 20%. However, this causes the video card to reach high temperatures and you'll notice throttling. As an aerospace engineer, I looked into why this card cannot maintain a low temperature despite other brand's ability to (Sapphire in particular). It seems like the video card's case was poorly designed. Airflow appears to be stagnant at many points on the heat sink. Furthermore, the heat sink has a spiral shape that also stagnates air flow at the edges along the card's length. Designs by other manufacturers seem to address this by designing simply horizontal heat sinks that lead air to the card's exhaust ends.

For the 7850 and 7870 series, XFX seems to have fixed this issue by redesigning both the case and heat sink. However, for the 7xxx series, they also have abandoned their commitment to double lifetime warranty.

XFX cards will generally be less expensive for the 6850 and 6870. I would recommend paying a bit more for another card if you want a 6850 or 6870, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice! Real Nice!, March 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XFX AMD Radeon HD 6870 3D-Ready Graphics Card (HD-687A-ZHFC) (Personal Computers)
Ok, I almost didn't get this card because people said it was loud. Well all I can say is they must have received a bad one because this thing is smooth and quiet. Sure it get's a little bit louder when in extreme game play, but that's a good thing! When gaming I can't hear it over the game. Some people must be holding their ear to the case. The fan on my old ATI card was louder than this, trust me you won't think it's loud. As far as my graphics all I can say is WOW. I have Crysis and Skyrim on high settings and no problems. COD MW3 looks awesome! With the money I saved on this card I'm getting a 27 inch Samsung to complete the package. Couldn't be happier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works with Dell xps 8300, January 7, 2012
By 
Ken L. (Potomac, MD United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XFX AMD Radeon HD 6870 3D-Ready Graphics Card (HD-687A-ZHFC) (Personal Computers)
The XFX 6870 works pefectly with dell system. I wanted to upgrade the graphics card on the dell xps 8300 which came with the radeon HD 6450. I first bought the ASUS Radeon 6770 from amazon but it wouldn't work on my system. It kept crashing the computer after I installed the card. I then thought that it might be the power supply even though the Dell's 460W PSU should have been enough. So I upgraded the PSU to 550W Cooler Master. Unfortunately, that didn't work either. So, I figured either the card was bad or the ASUS card may be incompatible with my system for some reason. I returned the HD6770 and ordered the 6870 from a different manufacturer. I ordered the XFX because it was shorter than other cards with 6870 since the XPS8300 doesn't have that much space. The first card was 10cm long which fit and the XFX6870 is only 8.7cm which is even shorter. I don't notice the noise of the fan at all since it seems to be quieter than the power supply fan.

Installation was a breeze with windows 7 automatically downloading the correct driver. Just remember to uninstall the driver for the previous graphics card prior to installing the new card.

I am very happy with the performance so far. I have it set up with two monitors and working fine. My windows experience score went upto 7.8 for graphics although the total score remains at 5.9 because of the hard drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works on Mac Pro 1,1 (important info before and after buying!), September 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XFX AMD Radeon HD 6870 3D-Ready Graphics Card (HD-687A-ZHFC) (Personal Computers)
Works well on a Mac Pro 1,1 (earliest model), low price, great graphics, but the following information is almost essential to know (because the card--while compatible with the Mac Pro desktop--is not specifically built for Macs like other Mac graphics cards are):

--You need TWO PCI-e slots free, the video card takes up vertical space.

--You need TWO(2) PCIe PCI-e Power Cables for it to work, available here.
PCIe PCI-e Power Cable for Mac G5 nVidia ATI Video Card - High Quality

When it arrived I found I needed power cables to connect the video card to the motherboard, it DOES NOT come with the video card. It's easiest to remove the front hard drives to connect the cables from the card to the motherboard.

--No boot screen.

There will be no Apple Logo appearing, but it will load either to your log in screen or your desktop, so no worries.

--Issues: loud fan, not all games work (Steam in my case), but fixable

This is fixable through installing drivers (pre 10.7 Lion) or a .kext (10.7 Lion + ), from groths.org, on the page titled "ATI Radeon 6870 package."

Installing this (for me) fixed the fan, and allows gaming. HOWEVER, IT ONLY WORKS WITH SINGLE DISPLAY. So, if you plan to do dual display, you should not install it.

--Issues (no solution I've found): running some games causes occasional "glitches" in the display, like a subliminal frame of the desktop will blip. This is ONLY when doing major gaming and does not interfere with gameplay at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Loud, hot, and random pixelation on the first card, August 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XFX AMD Radeon HD 6870 3D-Ready Graphics Card (HD-687A-ZHFC) (Personal Computers)
I do not usually write low reviews based on a single aspect of a product, but this video card is an exception.

I installed this card in my new build and fired up the original Crysis. Within a few seconds the card went from an acceptable noise level to one that was completely intolerable. This was only running at 62%. After about 15 minutes the card ramped up to 80% and I had to turn the volume up considerably to be able to hear my game.

After a few days my computer would refuse to load games properly and would eventually hang until restarted.

During a visit to a local retailer, I found an identical card which I purchased and later returned due to the same heat and fan problems. In fairness, the second card never caused any pixelation or hanging. The first card is on it's way back to Amazon.

The hunt for its replacement begins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Card, but Fans a shame.., July 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XFX AMD Radeon HD 6870 3D-Ready Graphics Card (HD-687A-ZHFC) (Personal Computers)
Bought this card for my new pc build, where I do a bit of gaming, and this card worked Nicely, wasn't loud and could run all my games on max settings and only started to kick in some sleight noise when high load, but thats normal. This continued on for about two months or so, until the fan began what I believe having problems with the fan bearings, and now it constantly makes a loud buzzing/scrapping noise, opting for a replacement.

Edit: Now the card's bearings seems to have all failed and the temperature probe isn't responding with the right temperatures (-30'), causing the card to rise above 100 degrees for no reason. and the support from the XFX website will be useless, since they always direct you back to the reseller instead...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dell XPS8300 - GPU Upgrade, October 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XFX AMD Radeon HD 6870 3D-Ready Graphics Card (HD-687A-ZHFC) (Personal Computers)
I recently bought a Dell XPS 8300 (scratch & dent) from Dell's Outlet after a $150 Dell tweet discount. The video card it came with was the AMD Radeon HD6450 which isn't powerful enough for some of the latest games. I wanted to upgrade the video with a budget of under $200. After some considerable research, I determined the XFX Radeon HD6870 900Mhz was the best deal for the money, not to mention it came recommended on Tom's Hardware Best Graphics Cards Sept 2011 list. There was some concern regarding the space of the XPS case as well as the power supply requirements. The XPS8300 comes with a 460W PSU, while the minimum requirement on the HD6870 (according to AMD) is 500W.

I am pleased to report the XFX Radeon HD6870 Graphics card paired perfectly with the XPS 8300 without issue. The case offers plenty of space for this card, while the PSU seems to be providing plenty of juice. So far, I am supporting two 20" LCDs, but am planning on adding a 3rd. The bonus is a free download of Dirt 3, compliments of AMD! They do require verification via .jpg or .pdf of the free game offer...details on their website.)

I have yet to test the full potential of this video card, as I'm waiting for Battlefield 3 and Elder Scrolls Skyrim to be released.

Dell XPS 8300
CPU: i7 - 2600
PSU: 460W
RAM: 12GB DDR3 1333MHz
SSD: Crucial 128GB m4 Sata III
HDD: WD Blue 1TB Sata II 7200rpm
Video: XFX Radeon HD6870 900Mhz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.