Customer Reviews
XX


216 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite Debut of 2009 So Far
The xx have been all over blogs for a while now, and I first caught a track from them when their demos were leaked online. It was "Crystalised" and I was totally in love. When XX was released last week, I immediately bought it, and it has been playing through my headphones and speakers ever since.

The opening track, "Intro," is amazing on its own...
Published on August 25, 2009 by S. Barr

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On the verge
Heres hoping that xx stick around, make it through the inevitable indie backlash and sophomore slump, and are still making music in a decade. This isn't a great album, but it shows that they have something special, they just haven't realized it yet.
Published on June 8, 2010 by Jeff


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated... Still, March 27, 2010
This review is from: XX (Audio CD)
This is one of the best new sounds over the past year. I got the same chills that I had when I first listened to Interpol's Turn On The Bright Lights. With repeat listens, it continues to grow.

It is minimalistic and elegant. If you enjoy melancholic beautiful female vocalists, you have got to purchase this disc. The duo balance each other well, and the round performed in Crystalised is gripping. My personal favorite track is Infinity. Also, the XX remix of Florence + The Machine's You've Got THe Love is an outstanding track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars... mesmorizing debut album, November 11, 2009
This review is from: XX (Audio CD)
Uk indie quartet (all of them in their early 20s) The XX seemingly came out of nowhere with their early 2009 UK debut single "Crystalized" and immediately created a huge buzz in the indie-cummunity. Now comes the debut album. For those wondering, it is quite hard to describe the sound of the band, as they bring a mix of pop/indie/post-punk.

"XX" (11 tracks; 39 min.) kicks off with the instrumental opener "Intro", a gorgeous 2 min. blast of dreamy sounds. "VCR" is the first song where we hear co-vocalists Romy Madley Croft and Oliver Sim, and immediately you feel the chemistry. That UK single "Crystalized" follows, and it's easy to see why it created that buzz. Similarly "Heart Skips a Beat" (my fave track on here) perfectly synthesizes the band's sound. Great tracks follow one after another. "Fantasy" is a hauntingly slow and abstract track, just fantastic. "Shelter" is a showpiece for Romy. "Basic Space" highlights yet again the great interplay between the 2 main singers, and another highlight on this album. The 5 min. "Infinity" track, by far the longest on the album is another slowburner, awash in immaculate instrumentation, wow. But truth be told, this album is a mood piece, and if you get into it, there isn't a single weak track on here.

In all, this is quite the mesmorizing album. At 39 min., it clips by in no time, and you just want to play this again and again, and again. I really hope the XX will come stateside in support of this album (are you reading this Coachella organizers?). Meanwhile, if you wonder where you can hear this band, check out WOXY (BAM! The Future of Rock and Roll), the internet-only station that brings the best indie-music in the country, bar none, and where I found out about these guys. This album remains in high rotation there for many months now. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a return to dream pop, August 20, 2012
This review is from: XX (Audio CD)
this is a great cd to chill out to. hushed vocals that seem to drift off in a cloud. the miture of electronics and acoustics reminds me of the era of underlooked bands from the late ninteys. if you love this check out 4ads the insides or johannas house of glamours dark flower. music that takes your mind away. very nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Give it up - I can't give it up", February 2, 2011
By 
This review is from: XX (Audio CD)
I try to refrain from giving an album a five star review, especially a debut album. The coveted five star review suggests a classic or one for the ages, so luckily, The xx's debut falls slightly short and rightfully so. Now that doesn't mean the album is without it's charms. There's plenty of it as a matter of fact. Yet, it's also not without a few flaws. With that said, xx is one intoxicating and sensual album that evokes an all at once sweltering hot and steely cold mood and tone that's very addicting.
"Intro" is without a doubt one of the best, if not THE best, introductions to an album I've ever heard. It's 2 minutes, 7 seconds of moody and brooding beauty soundscape that's definitely worth the price of the album purchase alone. The rest of the album is a unique blend of duet drenched love songs that tread heavily on both pain and joy. The vocals are precisely downbeat. Some may call the vocals deeply sustained or monotonous. However, I find the vocals quite appropriate, and they accompany the music brilliantly. To classify this album into a specific genre may prove to be difficult. If it were up to me, I would classify The xx as electro-pop, post-rock, and contemporary r&b. A lot of listeners take offense to the latter. I suppose there's a stigma attached to the genre of r&b. One may think of Beyonce or Mary J. Blige, but don't forget that r&b does stand for rhythm and blues, something The xx has plenty of. My favorite song on the album has got to be very carnal "Infinity," an homage to Chris Isaak's "Wicked Game." It's fantastic! Though the flaws on xx are minor they still keep it from being the classic many hipsters are clinging to. All of the songs, aside from a few, sound the same. It's one thing for an album to be consistent as a whole, but perhaps the xx mistook consistency for repetitiveness. Though the album certainly does work as a whole, there's really no distinction between individual songs. I found myself mistaking one song for another after pressing the shuffle button in my car. Make no mistake, this fact has no bearings on the quality of the songs. It simply just means they cannot act or play independently. Also, after a short while, perhaps a few months or so, the album may become slightly dreary. It doesn't quite stand the test of time it should if it were a five star album. Alas, all is not lost. The xx album is still far more interesting than most albums released by bands who've been around much longer. As far as debuts go, this is one is quite impressive. It absolutely deserves a listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for rainy days while reading books, October 15, 2009
This review is from: XX (Audio CD)
Perfect for that occasion. Super talented kids, but I hope they put out something with a bit of energy in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising Debut, May 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: xx (MP3 Music)
The XX's selftitled debut is surprisingly good. At times seductive, at times haunting, the quiet and hushed moods that The XX create are worth taking time to listen to. The music here is reminiscent of 80's new wave and current electronic-influenced indie-rock. Headlined by a male and female vocalists, many of these songs are duets. The two singers harmonize so well together in their own sleepy ways.

The instrumentation and vocals are sure-handed; it's all so confident that it feels as if this band has been making music together for years. Much of the production is minimalist: a guitar (not really playing chords), scant bass, electronic-sounding mid-tempo drums. With this bare production, the craftsmanship of the of the songwriting is upfront; these lyrics and melodies are really great.

Fans of Spoon (Girls Can Tell), The Dandy Warhols (Welcome To The Monkey House), or Silversun Pickups (Carnavas) will find a lot to enjoy in this album. Recommended highlights for sampling: the lead single "Crystalised," "VCR," "Shelter," and the opening instrumental "Intro."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, good, raw music., June 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XX (Audio CD)
The CD has a great sound quality, and yes while the music itself is a bit of an acquired taste, it's very raw and very addictive. I highly recommend the album.

Usually I'm pretty cautious when actually buying a CD, because I'm not going to drop more money on an album that only has two or three good songs. However, the XX was consistently good and the album itself had a nice flow. Some of the songs take a while to get started, but when they do they are great to listen to. Definitely give the entire album a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mood music, March 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XX (Audio CD)
I was pleasantly surprised by this album. I'd heard one or two tracks on the radio or on TV shows, but it's not often that an album like that can keep you interested from start to finish. It's very well produced and the songs flow seamlessly from one to the next. Perfect background music for a small dinner party, curling up on the couch with a good book, or taking a nice leisurely bath. The girl has a gorgeous voice and there are some great instruments used. Very impressive for a 1st album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awestruck, September 28, 2012
By 
Nyu (Washington) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: xx (MP3 Music)
I've only known about this band for a few months now, and every minute I spend listening to them is euphoric. I thoroughly enjoy this album along with their new album, Coexist. The xx tosses something else into the predetermined mixture, per se. They add something more than most bands nowadays, they add a new kind of conviction.

I would definitely recommend The xx to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secks, February 23, 2011
By 
TrinaNP (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: XX (Audio CD)
This is one of my all time favorite CDs period. For most CDs, I usually would have to skip every other song or so but not this one. I love and enjoy every single track on it. I play this on some B&W speakers, and it just takes me to another dimension. I've recommended this to a few people and they all love it as well. I even got my dad hooked on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

XX
XX by The xx (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.