Customer Reviews


299 Reviews
5 star:
 (228)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily turns 4gb Xbox into 320gb model
I bought this to improve a sale priced 4gb 360. I still saved money doing it this way at the time compared to what the 320gb 360 packages were selling for.

The 320gb hard drive came with a code to download LEGO Star Wars and the 250gb does not at the time of this review.

There is a grill door on the side of the 360 where you simply insert the drive,...
Published on January 9, 2012 by Curshellas

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fake Hard disk
This hard disk was advertised as original and what I got was a fake chinese generic product. It worked for a couple of months and the after each Xbox live update all the information got deleted. Had to remove it from my Xbox because every time I switched the xbox on, it took almost 15 minutes getting to the dashboard. so final review. Unusable.
Published 5 months ago by oscar eduardo cala


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily turns 4gb Xbox into 320gb model, January 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xbox 360 320GB Hard Drive (Electronics)
I bought this to improve a sale priced 4gb 360. I still saved money doing it this way at the time compared to what the 320gb 360 packages were selling for.

The 320gb hard drive came with a code to download LEGO Star Wars and the 250gb does not at the time of this review.

There is a grill door on the side of the 360 where you simply insert the drive, and like magic, your 4gb slim 360 is now a 320gb model that can store games, movies, music, etc. This hard drive works with the newer slim 360's and not the older models I believe.

With this drive, I can now upload the entire contents of the game disc for improved play and performance. To be honest, I cannot really tell the difference. You still need to have the disc inserted to play the game anyway...I wish that was not the case.

I really only bought this so that Battlefield 3 can be played with the high definition graphics, as the standard 4gb on the 360 I have is only flash memory, and won't support that feature without a hard drive.

Overall, it works and it was easy to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


155 of 180 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 293 GB explained, February 24, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xbox 360 320GB Hard Drive (Electronics)
The reason this product says 293 GB on the data screen is this.
Sizes go as follows from large to small
Gigabyte, Megabyte, Kilobyte, Bytes
1 GB = 1000 MB
1 MB = 1000 KB
1 KB = 1000 Bytes
But computers can't divide by 1000 because they have to use the binary system. This means they have to divide by 1024 for every division, so here goes the math.
5 GB are taken out of every hard drive for system use.
315 Are now left over
315 GB x 1000 = 315,000 MB
315,000 MB x 1000 = 315,000,000 KB
315,000,000 KB x 1000 = 315,000,000,000 Bytes
Now Let's divide these by 1024 instead of 1000
315,000,000,000 Bytes / 1024 = 307617187.5 KB
307617187.5 KB / 1024 = 300407.40966796875 MB
300407.40966796875 MB / 1024 = 293.366611003875732421875 GB
Rounded to the nearest whole number, 293.366611003875732421875= 293 GB

Hope this review can help some people breathe a little easier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Great, October 21, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xbox 360 320GB Hard Drive (Electronics)
I purchased this drive as an upgrade to my previous 250gb slim drive. It IS the official Microsoft 320gb slim hard drive and it comes with a full copy of Lego Star Wars III. Not sure what the previous review about it not being Microsoft was talking about. Not much else to say. More space, works great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's expensive but it works, October 22, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xbox 360 320GB Hard Drive (Electronics)
Just recieved in the mail... it may be expensive but its an official MS product... There another guy on here named joseph martin or whatever his name is, claiming its a third party that doesn't work...

I can tell you his review is missleading, bottom line its an official ms product and it works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Price!, January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xbox 360 320GB Hard Drive (Electronics)
The $120 dollar price tag was almost enough to make me walk away. I'm glad i didn't when i realized the off brand drives are not backwards compatible. This drive also comes with a free game. If you have orignal xbox games then this drive is for you. If not then i would go with a cheaper off brand drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battlefield 3, October 28, 2011
By 
Matt D (Mountain View) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xbox 360 320GB Hard Drive (Electronics)
Bought this specifically to install and play Battlefield 3 since my Black 4GB slim wasn't big enough. Shipped next day, installed and I can finally play my game! No problems, nice knowing I have lots of extra space!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard drive for Xbox 360, February 4, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xbox 360 320GB Hard Drive (Electronics)
It came in very good shape and was very easy to insert and now there is much more space to play games for a longer life of the Xbox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's do a little math..., January 18, 2012
By 
K. Olsen (Salt Lake City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Xbox 360 320GB Hard Drive (Electronics)
I find it extremely hilarious that people are claiming to be computer literate, but complaining that the hard drive only shows 293 gigabytes (GB) after installed. So let's have a lesson. Hard drive manufacturers advertise 1 GB as 1,000,000,000 bytes. All manufacturers do this, and this is correct. Computer operating systems (OS), including the OS running on the Xbox 360, see a GB in terms of binary (2^30 bytes, or 1,073,741,824 bytes). This is also correct.

1,000,000,000 bytes = 1 GB reported by the manufacturer
1,073,741,824 bytes = 1 GB formatted by the OS

The OS sees 320,000,000,000 bytes on the hard drive (the manufacturer didn't lie), and reports it in terms of binary GB. The math is as follows: (320,000,000,000 bytes)/(1,073,741,824 bytes PER OS formatted GB). The result is approximately 298 OS formatted GB. Microsoft has firmware, OS, games, and other info on the hard drive built in, which takes up about 5 GB. This is why the Xbox reports a new drive as 293 GB.

The drive works, and works well. It is a snap to install, and there are no initialization steps to take. It just works. Don't rate something low because you're not intelligent enough to know how operating systems report GB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great!, January 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xbox 360 320GB Hard Drive (Electronics)
Works exactly as promised, install was easy and painless! While I hate paying a premium for Microsoft branded hardware, it is nice to have the piece of mind that comes with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works Great, But Generally Overpriced!, June 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xbox 360 320GB Hard Drive (Electronics)
I bought this for my new Xbox 360 Slim Special Edition (4GB - Skylanders Bundle) and it seems to work pretty well. With Microsoft giving away free games to Xbox Live Gold members and frequent game sales, its pretty much a requirement to get a big hard drive. Keep in mind that this particular unit is for the Xbox 360 S ("Slim model") or the Xbox 360 E only. Its NOT designed for the original Xbox 360 models, so be sure you have the right console before ordering! Also note this is the LARGEST original Microsoft hard drive you can buy. The packaging comes with the hard drive and download codes for Need For Speed - Hot Pursuit, Ms. Splosionman, and Pinball FX 2.

INSTALLATION

Installation is pretty easy! There's a removable panel on the Xbox 360 Slim which gives you access to the hard drive slot. Just line up the drive, insert it into the slot, and listen for an audible click. If you have an older hard drive, you can transfer the content to this drive with USB memory sticks (32GB and below) or use Microsoft's hard drive transfer cable (both sold separately). IMPORTANT NOTE: If you have a console with the 4GB memory unit installed, do yourself a favor and install all system updates before installing this hard drive. If you don't, you will have the 4GB memory show up as "unformatted" every time you start the console. Very annoying!

VALUE

If I had to do this over again, I would have purchased a non-OEM drive over the Microsoft unit. That's because you can buy a 500GB hard drive (non-OEM) on Amazon for less than $55.00! The only difference besides price is backwards compatibility. If you have the Microsoft drive, you can play a portion of the original Xbox library (see the Xbox website for specific titles). A non-OEM drive doesn't have that ability, unless you make some modifications to it. But, since I own three original Xboxes, I really don't need backwards compatibility on my Xbox 360. Plus, the compatibility is for a limited amount of titles and the game emulation is not perfect. In hindsight, I would prefer having the extra hard drive space of a non-OEM drive than the backwards compatibility of the Microsoft drive. As far as the bundled games are concerned, you could buy a non-OEM hard drive and the games for less money than Microsoft's drive. Anyway, you be the judge!

Pros

* Easy installation
* Good performance
* Bundled games

Cons

* Overpriced
* No OEM drives larger than 320GB

CONCLUSION

This hard drive retails for about $129, so I would buy a larger non-OEM hard drive and spend the savings on games. This unit gets FOUR STARS, as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Xbox 360 320GB Hard Drive
Xbox 360 320GB Hard Drive by Microsoft Software (Xbox 360)
$129.99 $99.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.