Industrial-Sized Deals Shop all Back to School Shop Men's Hightops Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Iron Maiden $5 Off Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Shop Popular Services hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Shop Now Deal of the Day

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on November 25, 2009
This game is really fun to play, but it was very short. If you already have a guitar and drums just get the game because it is a waste of money to buy the whole band kit because it is too short. Most of the songs on the game were the famous ones, so i knew most of the songs. I like how all the people look real and have the kind of things they would wear in real life. It was a pretty good game overall but it was way too short.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on September 11, 2009
This is going to be a slightly strange review since the obvious idea with this game is to either introduce you to the Beatles or it's a full-blown tribute to what you can't argue is one of the most influential bands ever. And yet, I'm only a small fan, not this massive worshipper that can sing all their songs and there's some songs that to be honest, I don't care for. But while there's still a couple of those, I find the more I was playing through the story, the more a lot of the music opened up but for those of you wondering, this is strictly a Beatles release, unlike the band-centered Guitar Hero games, Beatle and only Beatle music are on this so nothing as far as solo careers and the like (too bad, no "Imagine" or anything from Wings) with further album DLC's on the way but if you are a massive Beatle fan, this will instantly attract you to it.

Story: Well there is a "story mode" but essentially it starts with the band playing at the Cavern Club and from there they move onto the Ed Sullivan Show, Shea Stadium and finally end at their rooftop appearance on the Apple Corp. building. In the middle of these is their psychedelic period where they were messing around in studio, only the song has been given the visual treat of a "Dreamscape" which is unique to each song, some are pure 60's LSD kaleidoscope-influenced whereas others you get some very simple-yet-beautiful hilltops and flower gardens.

Graphics: What makes Beatles Rock Band work is its extraordinary attention to detail and I'm not just talking about band members looking like their real-life counterparts but also their specific appearances at certain times such as Paul's beard and John's hair on the Apple Corp building (though the beard looks odd and John's hair looks more like dreadlocks than long hair). The dreamscapes in all their variety look stunning and there can be some really trippy stuff but also there's some fashion on the crowds and fans that match up and the intro to the Ed Sullivan show appearances have passerbys watching the show on store window televisions. It's certainly better than the realistic meeting the cartoonish avatars in Guitar Hero 5 anyway.

Sound/Music: Now obviously this is going to be the biggest portion of the game and to real let the sound spectrum go nuts, listen to the psychedelic stuff since some of that stuff can get...bizarre. But the music is the star here and everything from the straightforward "Ticket to Ride" (my favorite) to the indescribable "I Am the Walrus", a lot has been included here. Also added are some audio clips of the band either in the studio or just clips of them in concert (even the closing credits of the story is one long take of the band chatting in studio). What made disappoint and it certainly does for me is not what was in but rather what's not in as far as song choices. I love "We Can Work it Out", it's not here. "Across the Universe", "Blackbird", "Penny Lane", "Strawberry Fields Forever", "I've Just Seen a Face", "Hey Jude", "Happiness is a Warm Gun" and I'm sure several others are missing in action and while I hope they're DLC eventually, with the announced album DLC's of Sgt Peppers, Rubber Soul and Abbey Road, those songs might still be a long way off.

Gameplay: Pretty much the same as any Rock Band or Guitar Hero release. Notes will appear on a highway and you're to strum and hold the correct colored fret to advance, and if your a drummer, this includes using the foot pedal and the 4-pad drum kit. Songs range in difficulty from easy to expert and I'll admit, some songs on expert can be kind of surprising. Riff's perfectly fine, easy enough to handle than it's like whoosh! big solo with tons of hammer-on's. It's not like playing say Metallica songs where you know your fingers are going to get a workout soon, there's songs here that I didn't even know were to go crazy. Also, some songs barely feature the guitar so you might even find yourself strumming the parts from a Rhodes piano or the string section. People might lament the fact that barring a few tricky sections, the game is relatively easy, especially if you're a Guitar Hero nut (or even a Dragonforce fan...for some reason) but that also makes the game really easy to get into. And with the no-fail option from Rock Band 2 available, it's very easy to get a party going and not berating your aunt cause she can't get the riff to "Day Tripper" on easy right.

For the collector in you, we have photos of the band that are unlocked when you meet certain requirements (those being 3-star a song, 5-star a song, complete a venue in story mode or collect a certain amount of photos which nets you a cool little prize). What's nice about these is that they're not tied to a specific instrument or difficulty so you might go through the story mode changing from guitar to bass like I did but you'll still get your photos rather than "sorry, you started as guitar, you finish guitar if you want these photos"). A benefit to these for Beatle fans is that checking them out gets you some info about the photo with factchecker Paul McCartney himself verifying it. And like I said, there's some studio chatter and live recordings of the band during the song loading and when the song's finished so you're practically surrounded by all sides of Beatle stuff.

One thing I have to mention though: this game's tracks can NOT be transferred to Rock Band 1 or 2 thanks to the dreamscapes of the songs but also the new 3-part harmony tracks for the vocals so they're pulling an Activision here and not allowing cross-combatibility but whereas Activision just did it for the cash (I'm sure GH Metallica and Aerosmith and even Smash Hits could be DLC), it makes sense for the Beatles Rock Band game but be warned that for those you want a massive setlist on one game that combines all DLC from RB1/2 and this are out of luck. Obviously the benefit is that the instruments from the games will work on this so whereas you can't take new DLC track "All You Need is Love" into Rock Band 2, at least the instruments for it will work.

Like I said, I'm not this massive fan of the band but there's a lot of songs that I do like so I don't know how this game will work on new people (if there is any left anyway) but for Beatle fans, this is obviously a purchase and you've probably already bought it already along with the remastered CD's (available in both remastered and original box sets too) and while the story mode is short with the achievement for beating the story mode in 24 hours is a joke....4 hours maybe, if that and there's only 45 songs with of course the omissions I mentioned but at least the music that is here is timeless.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on September 10, 2009
I bought this in spite of the reservations I had. I got sucked in by all the reviews.

Don't get me wrong--I love Rock Band. And this is a loving, high-effort tribute. Still, for full retail it's a little on the short side. Not being a huge Beatles-catalog fan, there were a good many of the songs I did not recognize.

The game picked up speed when you get back to Abbey Road--and get to play some of their trippy songs with the great visuals.

The whole experience is more 'muted' than you've come to expect--but I think that's fitting and a stylistic choice.

I played all the way through it in one day on Expert, and didn't fail a song--and I'm not that good. So the difficulty, at least on guitar, is way below that of the GH/RB series. But again, that's not the point.

It truly is a superb "beatles experience." I'm just not sure how good of a GAME it is for the casual Beatles fan. And I certainly had no desire to go back and play any of the songs.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on November 15, 2009
Playing through this game (medium - expert) on drums was a lot of fun. However, I am disappointed that it takes such work to get all of the photographs and videos unlocked (don't feel like going down difficulty levels and repeating chapters to get all five stars) when 4 stars should get a bit more credit.

Other than that, it was beautifully done and really awesome to see the Fab Four recreated. This disc is much cheaper online than at chain stores like Target, where it's selling at retail value for $60 plus tax.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on September 23, 2009
To think that a game with such potential can so sorely suffer at the hands of ego. I can feel the dastardly hands of Yoko in this one. First complaint... no boos. Apparently failing at a Beatles song is not worthy of getting you booed off stage. I can almost hear the lawyers talking this one over, and in their eagerness to get the rights to Beatles songs, true game mechanics were tossed away like the cores of apples. Can't you just hear Yoko saying "under no condition are you permitted to simulate crowds being dis-satisfied with a song by the Beatles."

More frustrating is the second game mechanic that got tossed by the road side... no wrong note sounds. Playing through a song and missing 40% of the notes sounds exactly the same as playing through the song and hitting every note. Sorry if the creators of this game were too terrified to actually negotiate for their game's integrity, but bowing to the demand that "under no conditions will you distort or allow a player to distort or mangle a Beatles song." Perhaps I'm alone in this judgement, but audio feedback in a music based game is necessary. You get a constant reward for playing a song well by hearing the song as it was intended. Play a wrong note, and you should hear it. It makes you try harder to get the song perfect! I nead more than just visual cues to improve my play, and I'm very annoyed at how much of the actual game mechanics were sacrificed to secure the Beatles titles.

Next complaint... No 50% speed... Ok... I know the early master tapes are mono, but couldn't the programmers do something here? Practicing the guitar part, I should be able to focus on the guitar at slower speeds the way I can with other songs. I shouldn't be forced to start out at 70% speed just so that the main track can be played with vocals in place, and no wrong notes can still be heard even in practice mode...

Frustrating is the best word I have for this title.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 22, 2010
Music games have come so far since the original Guitar Hero hit the PS2. Four years ago, we tolerated questionable covers of some of our favorite songs, and even as more music labels started lending their talent to the plastic instrument titans, a handful of classic bands remained unattainable. We had the Stones and Dylan, but there was no way we'd ever see Zeppelin, Pink Floyd or the Beatles, right? Well, still no luck on those first two, but after some cajoling and (likely) a proverbial dump truck full of money, Harmonix somehow booked the Fab Four for their first video game tour in The Beatles Rock Band.

Of course, The Beatles Rock Band is not the first band-centric music game in recent years. Metallica, Aerosmith and Van Halen have all received star treatment from competitor Guitar Hero, while Harmonix did release a pricy AC/DC disc last year as a Wal-Mart exclusive. But for The Beatles --arguably the most popular band in modern history - the developer suggested that a major overhaul was in order. And while the results may no necessarily live up to that initial announcement, baby-boomer Beatles devotees and hardcore plastic rockers should both be thrilled with the game.

If you've seen screenshots or that surreal Abbey Road commercial, you know by now that the core game doesn't deviate much from the scrolling tracks layout established previously in the genre. And though The Beatles Rock Band does encourage the (much ballyhooed) harmonies, my family, friends and I were often too tone-deaf to really put this feature to use. But while the controls remain tried-and-true, it's the presentation that truly makes this collaboration a success.

While the first two Rock Band games were always stylistically more dynamic than Guitar Hero thanks to numerous visual filters, this Beatles edition's attention to detail and psychedelic backgrounds raise the bar even higher. Shea Stadium and the Ed Sullivan set have been recreated beautifully, while the Abbey Road sojourns offer trippy music videos for the studio songs never performed live. Many of the latter transport the band outside of the studio completely. (You'll ride aboard the titular vehicle for "Yellow Submarine," for instance.)

This visual fidelity means that the customization options had to be sacrificed. This is a worthy tradeoff, as it allows Harmonix to show how the band's costumes and style evolved along with their music. Seeing them get from their early 60s mop-top/suit getup to the bearded rooftop veterans just prior to their split is truly remarkable. And assuming that you're playing the 45 songs in the order recommended for the story mode, you'll see plenty of supplementary photos and archival video snippets to back up the artistic direction.

As for the actual track list, many reviewers have already expressed frustration at the small song list. I, too, wish that "Strawberry Fields," "Norwegian Wood" and several others hadn't been omitted, but at least 44 of the songs are truly wonderful, with the early cover of "Boys" as the only oddity. Tracks like "Within You Without You" and the downloadable "All You Need is Love" show that sitars and string orchestras can be adapted to the plastic instruments as well, so songs like "Eleanor Rigby" are possible in the future.

For many of you, the opposite may be true - you're so sick of band games that even The Beatles aren't enough to lure you back. If you fall into this camp, I'd urge you to still give this Rock Band a shot. The music is so joyous, the presentation so impeccable, that you may find yourself hooked all over again.

--Reviewed by Justin Hemenway
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 5, 2009
i just wanted to say that if the idea was to recreate the beatles experience,they should have included more instruments.the beatles werent just some run of the mill rock band,they were the greatest band in history.im just saying a harmonica would be cool for hits like "love me do".george harrisons sitar would be nice for songs like "norwegian wood".also,the beatles used violins a lot."elanoar rigby" is a fine example.and lets not forget the piano on timeless classics like "let it be","the long and winding road" and "hey jude".

now that would rock!
but this game rocks anyway.the songs were loved songs and so i made it through the vocal part with little trouble.i thought that on some of the later songs[1966-on] that the vocal parts were too particular.i mean how can you mess up "yellow submarine"?it was written for children!
then there is the chronological order.it is way out of whack!im no 1960's burn out.im a fan who fell in love with thier songs and bought all thier albums and read countless books.the chronology is all screwed up.the order of the songs is innaccurate.like on the first set,the songs were all from thier debut album,"please please me",but backwards in order.and after a few songs,you move to a new era in thier careers.but,like in 65' it is already showing pics of "sgt pepper" which didnt show up until 67.i can live with that though.i just thought that the programmers would have been on thier game more.
i recieved this game and "rock band 2" as gifts at the same time.this game is far less complicated.on rock band i felt like my hands were full with the guitar.it is far more relaxed here.
some of the lyrics are messed up too.i read a book called "beatles songs".it had every beatles song with its lyrics and actual quotes by the beatles as to what they were about.in this game,at the beginning of "come together" the lyrics on this game say "shoot me" over and over.all john says is "cha" a bunch of times.john lennon was actualy shot and killed as im sure you know.is this supposed to be ironic?it comes off more like a sick joke!another place is at the end of "i am the walrus".there is a low voice in the back chanting about drugs.on the game,they babble nonsense.
the drum playing is erratic.it feels like the programmers threw together the timing without actualy paying attention to wether or not it would feel like rythmic drumming or repetitive untimed sporadic rapping.
the graphics are astonishing but i cant see them because im playing the game.it seems like someone went through a lot of trouble to make this game beautiful for someone who wasnt looking.

a LOT of really good songs were left out.if i had made this game, i definately would have included more songs that everybody should hear like "in my life" "yesterday" and "let it be".plus i noticed that of thier 27 number ones,quite a few were missing there too like "all you need is love".
now after all i have mentioned,you are left with a very easy,relaxing,fun music video game.the songs are ,of course,timeless.the experience is great.its a great distraction from your hectic life and all those other video games that hurt your head from making you think too much.
i LOVE this game.i like rock band 2 as well,but this easily the superior choice.its easier.you dont have to gain fans because they already adore you when you get to america.its less like loud ,screechy,screaming,incoherent forgotten stuff from the rock band game and more like everything every musician and music game ever aspired to be.
in closing i would like to say,i have a list that would rock for a sequel
"ps i love you"
"misery"
"till there was you"
"and i love her"
"yesterday"
"act naturaly"
"michelle" its so pretty.

"elanoar rigby" would be tricky to sing and play.its also very pretty.

"in my life".its a song that is uplifting to everyone
"im only sleeping"
"when im 64"
"a day in the life".the musical changes would be a new challenge.
"strawberry fields forever".this was johns self proclaimed masterpiece before he did "imagine"
"piggies"
"the continuing story of bungalow bill"
"all you need is love".they did this song for one of,if not the,biggest radio broadcasts in history at that time.they said they needed a message that everyone should hear.
"blackbird" for its excellent slide guitar.
"happiness is a warm gun" for its ever changing vocals.
"sexy sadie"
"good night" because its beautiful.
"here there and everywhere" as is this one.
and then the medley from "abbey road " as the finisher
and "let it be" and "the long and winding road" as bonus songs.and at the very very end.it should be the last thing john says from thier last album "let it be"."on behalf of the group and myself,i hope we passed the audition"
this is the greatest rock band game ever.i hope bob dylan,the cure,black sabbath/ozzy osbourne,jimi hendrix,janis joplin and kiss all make one soon.this game is great for everyone even if you grew up in the 20s with jazz or in the 902 with grunge rock.and for anybody who doesnt like the beatles i say you shouldnt call yourself a lover of music,because you are clueless on the subject.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 20, 2009
Forget about other band-specific music games, folks--this is the only one that matters. Throw your Aerosmith and Metallica games out the window, and don't bother with Van Halen. None of them can touch the golden excellence achieved by Harmonix's loving tribute to one of--if not *the*--greatest pop-rock groups of all time: The Beatles. Yes folks, The Beatles: Rock Band is really that good.

Harmonix really outdid themselves with this one. Sure, the core game is essentially the same as Rock Band 2. Players pick up plastic guitars, bang on fake drums, or sing their lungs out on a mic (which is, for all intents and purposes, quite real), following lyrics and note charts for big points. Harmonix didn't exactly change anything or shake things up, and that's probably for the best. After all, Rock Band and its sequel are very simple to pick and up play, and a game bearing the name and likenesses of The Beatles deserves to be enjoyed by anyone and everyone. Complicated technology would get in the way of that enjoyment, so thank goodness Harmonix stuck to the basics.

So the tech is easy to use; what about the music? That is the point of playing a game like this, so it's a good thing the music is some of the best ever written. But it's also the game's only serious flaw: if you don't like The Beatles, this game probably won't change your mind. There aren't any tracks from other artists like in the aforementioned Guitar Hero band-specific games, so you'll get naught but Beatles here. But what a great collection of Beatles tracks it is, ranging from early hits like "Twist and Shout" to the aptly titled "The End." These songs are much easier than your typical Rock Band tracks, which goes a long way to opening the game up to casual players, and of course they're a great deal of fun to play.

I think that's the primary element that separates The Beatles: Rock Band from similar music game experiences: fun. There's an air of excitement from the moment the game's intro movie begins, carrying through each tune, every unlocked extra (lots of photos and movies to be earned), to each era of The Beatles' career. Sure, the game completely ignores the rough patches (no Yoko Ono mucking up the works in this game), but perhaps that is for the best. A scene with Paul and John arguing might hurt an otherwise positive experience for most players.

The complete track list is shorter than the usual music game--just 45 on the disc, with one DLC song available at the time of this writing ("All You Need Is Love")--but they're all great choices. Still, there are a few glaring omissions, such as (my personal favorite) "Hey Jude." What is available is presented through the venues in which The Beatles originally (and famously) performed, such as the Ed Sullivan Show and Shea Stadium. After their final stage show, songs begin in a studio, progressing into "Dreamscapes" that are trippy, beautiful, and wonderful to behold. Also, you can't import these tracks into other Rock Band releases, but that would probably ruin the experience anyway. The Beatles: Rock Band is about experiencing The Beatles' music as authentically and fun as possible; and in that regard, this game excels brilliantly.

So is The Beatles: Rock Band right for you? If you're a Beatles fan, the answer is an enthusiastic "yes," but you probably bought the game on Day One. Casual fans and curious parties should still pick this one up--you won't be disappointed. But as I said before, this game likely won't change your mind if you can't stand the band's music. This is all-Beatles, all the time, so steer clear if that's not your thing. For everyone else, have fun--preferably with a little help from your friends.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 5, 2009
I love the Beatles. I love Rock Band. So when my brother brought the game one day I thought woo-hoo!

First off the stadiums and the boys themselves through out it all were masterfully done. Each set had them in the outfits and looks for that album/location. My brother and I were impressed with Abbey Road and the psychadelic transformations through the songs into their wild 60's outfits and scenes we all think of with Sgt. Pepper. Of all of them, my brother and I agree that 'Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band/ With a Little Help From my Friends' was the absolute best of the game both in song and in video.

(ahem, there was no octopus in Octopus' Garden and they were underwater... what's up with that?)

The only cons for us was the ending and the ending songs. After Abbey Road they took us to the Apple Corps rooftop and we suffered through some of the least favorite songs we've ever heard, albeit we both found we love 'I Me Mine', to end the entire (and short) game out with some undesirable songs we went back and ended it with our favorite song (see above).

My brother plays on the hard setting and said it was too easy, there was only one song that gave him a challenge and he still five star'd it.

It was excellently done. But it gets four stars on both fun and overall because they needed it to be a little longer (I mean, the Beatles had what, like 10 albums?) and they needed to put in the better known songs. If they had put in another location for the encore and did a selection of five or six really good songs you could just get into and have the wild psychadelic stuff back for a blow out end, it would have gotten five stars from both for us.

I do admit... I've been singing Beatles songs for three days now...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
I'll get strait to the point...

The Beatles: Rockband is an awesome way to experience the music of the Beatles for the first time or the ten-thousandth time. The game takes you and your friends (up to 6 can play) on a smooth cruise through the Beatles career as you visit episodes of their career spanning from Liverpool club basements in 1963 to the Apple Record's rooftop! Great FUN, great Music! This edition of Rockband soars where others have consistently faltered, the mucial experience is 100% quality all the way through. You just should not quibble over the fact that once in a while you are strumming a guitar controller yet the game is actually playing a Cello or other instrument. Your playing a playstic quitar for petesake!! The music is good, you many of the songs even if you are only 13, and overall it just flows well.

(the following 4 paragraphs are meant to be read aloud, while leave you breathless in a vain attempt to keep up with the lack of breaks in the paragraph structures...the lack of punctuation it is intentional, and quite fun!)

One of the strong points of this game is that it is the first Rockband title that is nearly as enjoyable to play as it is to just watch. Instead of being bored to tears while others play (because either A)it is not your turn to play, or B) you lack the intestinal fortitude to have fun in the face of acute personal embarrassment), you will still have a great time with this title because, lets face it...the Beatles rock! Additionally, as you watch others having fun without you (as it is most likely the case that your friends are not acknowledging your presence or even your existence while you stand on the sidelines and they rock out), you will have the distinct pleasure of watching some great Beatles inspired visuals and previously unseen historical elements put together by the designers at Harmonix and George Harrison's son that the players cannot see; so you get to have a great bit of personal satisfaction as you tell those greedy plastic guitar bogartin' players about the things they didn't get to see while the hogged all the controllers!

This point gives me pause...but only for a moment. I think that someone out here needs to point out the one of the tragedies of this entire genre of games, you really can't watch the fantastic scenes while your are playing! You the player have no clue what is going on as you mind-numbingly strum the plastic flippers of your favorite 'guitar'. You'll only occasionally acknowledge the overly brightly colored splashes of garbage that could have been drawn by a five year-old child armed with an arsenal of half-melted crayons for all you care! Yes, those great images are there, but you cant see them as they'll lay in the periphery of your vision because you dare not avert your narrowly focused eyesight away from the colored thingys flying towards you at a frenzied rate on something that resembles never ending one-lane road of color impregnated finger-twisting hell, but is actually called a 'fretboard'! But I digress, because I am not here to slam the games that take our everyday non-guitar-playing mortal existence of mediocrity into the stratospherically overblown heights of becoming a non-guitar-playing, colored-button-mashing, GOD of mediocrity for the entire time that we chose to escape our contented mediocre non-guitar-playing lives! ;-)

This brings me to the best part of the game! While playing this game, we get nothing but pure unadulterated Beatles!!! We are missing a 'few' and by that I really mean A LOT of the key Beatles songs like Hey Jude, Elenore Rigby, or We Can Work It Out or any of the other great Beatles songs released to the public, but lets face it, these games are marketed to drive not only the purchase of the game, but the DLC (down-loadable content) as well, and if Harmonix has a plan it certainly includes the release of these fine songs for a healthy price...CHA-CHING. Thankfully the Beatles library of songs is so darned good that we do not have to endure the typical marketing established by all the previous plastic guitar game creators since it is not possible for the devs to slip obscure crap-songs into this game. It is a well known fact that deep-down in our hearts we all loathe the previous Guitar "X" and Rockband iterations, and yet we still go wallowing back to our favorite 'instrument' (using that term VERY liberally), for more abuse that is certain to generate early-onset arthritis in half the game playing population aged 10 to 35. It is a known point that very time we let one of these games into our library, the developers entice us a string of hit songs in the beginning of the game, then place our befuddle brains and fingers on a slipper-slope of less than stellar to over-played mediocre songs through the remainder of the first half of the game, at which point our dulled senses willingly allow the developers to force a bowel movement of obscure content upon us for next 45% of the game, only to give us great hits during the last %5 which make us feel as though our bodies have been magically cleansed, enabling us to forget that we really only like the game 25-35% of the time we are playing it.

Truly the only REAL downside to this game and it's content is that The Beatles: Rockband is a standalone product, and Beatles songs are NOT PLAYABLE on other versions of Rockband. You won't be able to used your saved bands, from RB/RB2, nor will you be able to play any content from those titles while your Beatles: RB disc resides in your X-Box 360...and the pain goes BOTH WAYS! So, if you had hopes of buying some great Beatles DLC while you remain tight-fisted with your hard earned money and avoid buying the whole game, you can forget it; because game merchandising doesn't work that way, and the world isn't one giant Burger King allowing you to have it your wayyyyyyyyyy. If you like that kinda thing it looks like you'll need to go get a hamburger instead of playing The Beatles: Rockband.

BTW- my review is inspired by Ben "Yahtzee" Croshaw, a fine reviewer of video games notorious for his penchant of using adult language and as little punctuational as possible in his animated video driven column aptly titled, "Zero Punctuation". Check out Yhatzee's work for the real-mccoy at the escapistmagazine website...And, should you fail to laugh out load or spew your drink at the monitor or simultaneously do both in the very shocking brutally stated truth of his sentiments, then quite a few high-minded filthy-mouthed people would likely say you have no real sense of humor at all...and you should probably crawl back under your rock, and ignore him and those other people altogether. I think he is funny as hell! ;-)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Rock Band 3 - Xbox 360 (Game)
Rock Band 3 - Xbox 360 (Game) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
$25.99

Band Hero featuring Taylor Swift
Band Hero featuring Taylor Swift by Activision Inc. (Xbox 360)
$14.00
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.