Customer Reviews

179
2.7 out of 5 stars
Xbox 360 Turbo Fire 2 Wireless Controller with Rumble
Price:$19.99 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on March 14, 2012
Verified Purchase
This has been about the most surprising product I have bought. After reading feed back some 1 star with a lot of complications to 5 stars which did not gave much info, I saw that the average was 2.5 stars overall due to problems with compatibility and issues with third party products.

I am sure you will read up on them all as I did but well I bought this due to price and the (wireless, turbo features) and yes it does both and does them with excellence.

3 things that almost made me cancel the purchase were:

1. no support for headsets or at least known issues with turtle beach products
2. feels cheap and uncomfortable
3. the software to program the controller does not work

After I got it, first thing I did was pull it out and found it seemed like those old age neo geo controllers, yes it does seem cheap and feels like a cheap toy, so point 2 is accurate except the part about the uncomfortable, I did not feel this.

The software product?? codejunkies did an awesome job the software is superb and yes ti works well with windows 7 both 32 and 64 version, no problem whatsoever the features are awesome and you can configure the controller to work as you want.

And the compatibility with headsets? none I did what was instructed, press back, select and home and then plug my turtle beach in and it work flawlessly, I get some bzzz sound when I turn on the "less recoil" feature but that's about it, nothing to discredit the product.

I played 3 games with it, ME3, BF3 and Borderlands, all work great, I used the features I needed and yes I was so surprised to think this product was not good due to the reviews and everything that was said. The wireless was a bit complicated to make it sync but after 3 attempts it works and now its working perfectly, the turbo and other features, yes they work like a charm, does it look and feel a bit cheap? yes it does lol specially with the lights, the horrible home button and other things but are you going to buy it for the looks? if not then I recommend it, it does the job and does it well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on December 17, 2010
Verified Purchase
I've tried many third party controllers and I keep coming back to the original Microsoft controller. Why? Because they're all lacking in quality in some way.

Out of all the third party controllers, the Turbo Fire 2 is probably the best due to the Control Customizer software but that's not saying much. It's like being the tallest dwarf.

The D-Pad on this controller is absolute garbage and the analog sticks are incapable of giving you precision movement in first person shooters like Call of Duty Black Ops or Modern Warfare. Even adjusting the stick speed through the software can't make up for the fact that there is a significant dead spot. The movement of the stick either results in very slow increments of movement or very fast and wide movements. There's no in between and there's no precision. I tried the special "sniper mode" and adjusted the sensitivity of the sticks through the software and I still can't get the precision of the original XBox 360 controller.

Do yourself a favor, just spend a few extra bucks and stick to the original controllers. Microsoft got that one right.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on October 8, 2010
Verified Purchase
Recommended additional accessory: We strongly recommend also picking up the, Grip-iT Analog Stick Covers by Total Control, available on amazon for about $5. You can find them here: Grip-iT Analog Stick Covers ' Xbox 360/PS3. The reason being is because of the dome shape of the Analog Sticks can cause you to lose your grip. These little silicone covers work wonders at correcting this issue, and you get two sets for $5. They are also universal so if you have the PS3 version of this controller, they'll work just as well. They are also Made in America, always a good thing.

UPDATE: #12: November 2011. While I no longer have this controller I have found out that Datel updated the Customizer software to version 1.6 in November 2011. I don't know if they added any NEW Features or any new games to the Combos but apparently this update is also for the controller's firmware to allow the use of a Gaming headset (Turtle Beach, Tritton, Astros, etc) to be able to hear as well as communicate with people on Xbox LIVE. Prior to this fix, you weren't able to hear anyone on Xbox LIVE using a gaming headset without having the voice audio set to output on the speakers. Once you have updated the controller it should automatically detect that you are using a gaming headset. If it doesn't you can manually set the controller to detect it using the following steps:

Please note if the automatic headset detection does not work follow the instructions below
1.Firmly insert the headset.
2.Press and hold the BACK, START and HOME buttons together for approximately 2 seconds.
3.Release the buttons.

After following the above procedure, to remove the headset connection repeat the instructions or remove the battery pack to return the controller to the original operation.

UPDATE #11: Datel hasn't released any updates to the Turbofire 2 (Wildfire 2) Customizer program or any Firmware updates to the controller itself since February 2011. With the release of their EVO Controller I don't believe they'll be adding any NEW updates to this older model. I'd recommend checking out the EVO for it's added features and improvements over the Turbofire 2 (Wildifre 2).

UPDATE #10: September 21, 2011. Ended up purchasing another Datel Turbo Fire 2 wireless controller since our first one started having an issue where this strange noise would keep ringing whenever a microphone was plugged into the controller. Anyway, Datel has updated the controller's look slightly by making the Analog Sticks grey instead of the blue sticks that were used when the controller was originally released. It's nice as the sticks now match the rest of the controller. Ultimately it was never an issue as we use the Grip-iT Analog Stick Covers ' Xbox 360/PS3 to give us better a better grip on the sticks during gameplay as referenced elsewhere in our review.

UPDATE #9: September 11, 2011. There hasn't been any updates to the Customizer program since early 2011. :( We'll contact DATEL and see if they have anything planned. Still wish the Soundboard option was expanded to match the features and functions of the TrashTalk. Datel NOW sells this controller in a WHITE or RED finish rather than the black. Everything else is the same color, such as the grey faceplate and grips. PLEASE NOTE: You can ONLY use the Customizer program on the WIRELESS models of the Turbofire 2. You cannot use the Customizer program on the WIRED version of the controller, this is confirmed in the Customizer's Software Manual.

UPDATE #8: We purchased a 2nd Turbofire2 controller from amazon.com mid-March 2011 and DATEL has made a few changes. Firstly, the controller is out of the box updated to firmware version 1.73 (current as of this posting). The Feature 1 button has been automatically pre-programmed to the Turbo feature that has the various 8 speed settings (read manual or rest of review on how to adjust). Feature button 1 hasn't been programmed to anything. In addtion, the packaging has been simplified from the overlly annoying clamshell they used previously. It comes in a simple plastic box with a cardboard covering and would easily be classied as part of Amazon's "Frustration Free Packaging" as you don't need any scissors or anything else to remove the controller or it's contents. Which is REALLY nice, good job Datel! You still also get the USB cable (for connecting to PC) and the Instruction Manual.

UPDATE #7: February 2011, The lastest update to the Customizer software includes additional preset macros for various Xbox 360 video games. You still cannot progrm your own macros.

The full preset macro game list as of the latest software update released mid Feb 2011 is:

Afro Samurai
Blazing Angels
Call of Duty: Black Ops
Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter
GTA IV
GTA IV: TBoGT
GTA IV: TLAD
NBA JAM
Star Wars: Force unleashed
Star Wars: Force Unleashed II
Super Street Fighter IV
LEGO Batman: The Videogame
Mortal Kombat VS DC Universe

UPDATE #6: Datel has updated the Customizer Software to include Preset Macros for several Xbox 360 video games including, Blazing Angels, NBA Jam, Super Street Fighter IV, and LEGO Batman: The Video Game. You are still NOT able to create your own Macros, only use the preset ones made available within the Customizer software.

UPDATE #5: Added a link to a PDF of the User Guide for the Customizer Software to the Customizer "Discussion Thread" found at the bottom of the product page.

UDPATE #4: We recently got the Turtle Beach X41 Ear Force X41 (XBOX LIVE Chat + Wireless Digital RF Game Audio with Dolby Headphone 7.1 Surround Sound) wireless gaming headset and the microphone included with this headset is incompatible with this controller. The Xbox 360 acts as if there is no microphone connected to the controller. This has also been confirmed to be an issue on several other models of Turtle Beach headsets. This may be isolated to just the Turtle Beach brand, but may also affect other gaming headsets where you get the in game sound coming through the headset as opposed to a tv or surround system. This controller is compatible with OEM and 3rd party Xbox Live headsets used for Xbox Live voice communication.

UPDATE #3: Check out the upcoming macro function in action at "TheFNGspot" on Youtube. They are apparently going to offer game specific macros that enable cheats and complex button tasks at the push of a button. Pretty cool!

UPDATE #2: With the release of Call of Duty: Black Ops, Datels has updated the Customizer software to include a Turbo setting specifically designed for the game's zombie Mode. The 2nd to highest setting on that works well. They also include a Halo Reach controller setting remapping for Black Ops that lets you use the controller layout from Halo Reach. Since it's a full program update, you can download the latest version straight off of Datel's web site.

UPDATE #1: The Customizer Software has been updated to include the Full Custom Remapping option as well as Trigger and Analog Stick sensitivity options. Firmware version 1.73 released October 15, 2010. Update your software and the controllers firmware to take advantage of these additional features.

So DATEL went back to the drawing board after the fallout of Microsoft's lawsuit against them for the design of the original Turbofire (Wildfire). Obviously, the design and color scheme of the Turbofire2 (Wildfire2) is a result of Datel's resolution with Microsoft regarding the likeness of their original design to that of an OEM Xbox 360 controller. If you've used the previous Datel Turbofire (Wildfire) controllers then you should be very familiar with this newest model. Although there are several added features as well as some improvements.

Most notably, they have fixed the audio static (feedback) problem present on both the wired and wireless models of the original Turbofire (Wildfire). We haven't had any complaints about any buzzing, echoing, or any other audio issues when using our wired headset with the Turbofire2 (Wildfire2). We also tested this out ourself by recording and playing back a voice message over Xbox Live. As expected, all we heard was our voice. This is definitely a worthwhile improvement over the original models.

The controller feels good in the hands and doesn't have a learning curve. Although we are use to using a varity of different controllers from different manufacturers (Microsoft, Madcatz, Pelican, Datel, and Hori) so you may need a little bit to get use to the controller depending on your own experience. The buttons and layour are nearly identical to the previous Turbofire (Wildfire) model with the exception of the design of the guide, start and back button wihch are irregularlly shaped, but that doesn't affect gameplay.

The top of the Analog Sticks are now domed shaped rather than concave as they were on the previous model and most other Xbox 360 controllers. This is most likely yet another change to comply with Microsoft. Your thumbs might slip around a bit if they are sweaty, but you should always wipe you hands every now and then regardless of the controller's design. If it's a problem for you, the "Grip-It" or "KontrolFreek" accessories work well with the sticks on this controller, as should other similar accessories designed to improve your grip with an Xbox 360 controller.

As with the previous model, the triggers and bumpers are about twice the size giving you amble coverage for your fingers. With the battery pack installed the controller is comparable in weight to an OEM Microsoft wireless Xbox 360 controller. The D-pad should be fine with most games.

One issue with have with this controller is the placement of the sync button on the back of the controller adjacent to the battery pack cover. Our left index finger has a tendency to hit this button causing the controller to go out of sync with the Xbox 360 console. Thus requiring us to hit the sync button on the Xbox 360 console. This can become a problem during gameplay as you will be temporarily unable to use the controller until it resyncs to the Xbox 360 console. This can be avoided by keeping your index finger on the battery pack and may not even be an issue depending on the size of your hands.

The controller is powered by two AA batteries (not included) and comes with a empty battery pack case, for the AA batteries. The battery pack attaches to the controller much like any other Xbox 360 wireless controller. A microUSB cable is included that allows the controller to be connected to a PC for use with the Customizer software program. This software is not included with the controller and can be downloaded from Datel's codejunkies web site via the Support section. You will get prompted for a firmware update upon use of the software when you have connected your controller. We had no issues installing and using this software with our controller on a Windows 7 64 bit computer. If you do, then you might want to try running as Administrater and/or adjusting the Compatibility settings. Otherwise, try reinstalling the controller by removing it from the installed devices in "Device Manager". Once again, Windows identified and properlly installed the controller when we connected it to our computer.

PLEASE NOTE: Use of the Customizer software removes the original settings of the controller, including the Mode 1-3 turbo speeds. However, you can assign the "Turbo On/Off" feature in the software to either of the two "Feature" buttons on the controller to regain the turbo ability. However, it doesn't work the same way, as it's not setup like it is out of the packaging. You no longer have three modes, but rather one setting that can be adjusted by pressing the "Feature" button that is connected to the "Turbo On/Off" and then moving the "Right Analog Stick" up or down to increase or decrease the speed of the turbo. There appears to be eight separate speeds indicated by the flashing of the LEDs on the controller so it is an improvement over the original three speeds. Datel doesn't release the actual per minute speeds of their turbo controllers but the higher speeds are comparable to that of other turbo controllers that we have used for the Xbox 360. Depending on what game you are playing, one of the eight speeds may be preferred and/or functional. We have found that the second to highest speed works well in most games.

We really like the Customizer Software, and we are hopeful that the "Sound Player" functionality will be expanded so we can use our own sounds just like we do with Datel's "Trash Talk" accessory. Currently, you only get several beeps of various tones which can be pretty funny to use in a game to make people flip out over the noise or make them think something is wrong with their headset. You press down the "Feature" button and then press "A, B, X, Y, LB, or RB" to activate a sound.

The Customzer software has an interesting remapping feature that can automatically switch the control layout of the controller from Halo: Reach to Call of Duty and vice versa. We really don't use this but for those who prefer one over the other, this might be helpful so that you don't have to remember each specific controller layout from game to game. The remapping features can be used in any game. As of firmware version 1.73, you can now fully customize your controller by remapping everything to just about anything else. This should be good for those looking to make their own setup for use on whatever particular Xbox 360 games they have in mind.

As of yet, the "Macro Combo Button" feature, as referenced in Datel's Street Fighter clip in their promotional video for this controller, has not yet been implemented. We can only assume that this as well as other options will be added at a later date via the Software/Firmware Update feature built into the Customizer program.

Here is a list of what the Customizer software can currently do, as of this latest UPDATED posting:
(The software includes a text section on how to activate and adjust each of these settings on the controller)

Trigger and Stick Sensitivity: Increase/Descrease the sensitivity of the Triggers (LT / RT) as well as either Analog Stick.
No Function: Disable the turbo feature altogether.
Turbo On/Off: Allows you to use the turbo with up to eight speeds indicated by the blue LEDs.
Sniper Mode: Increase/Decrease the speed of the Analog Sticks.
Low Recoil: Increase/Decrease the controller's Vibration feature.
Sound Player: Automatically assign a different "beep" to each of the A, B, X Y, and bumper buttons.
Preset Button Macros: Several preset macros for various Xbox 360 video games. You are unable to create your own macros.
C.O.D. Remap for Halo Reach: Remaps the controller to use the Call of Duty layout for use in Halo Reach.
Halo Reach Remap for C.O.D.: Remaps the controllers to use the Halo Reach layout for use in Call of Duty games.
Controller Remapping: Remap just about everything to anything else on the controller.

The Customizer Software is NOT included with the controller and can be downloaded from Datel's web site in the Support "Xbox 360" section. Use the dropdown box to find the page.

We added a link to where you can download the Customizer software direct from DATEL's web site in a disccusion thread at the bottom of the product page.

Final Thoughts:

We've tried to be as thorough as possible to help you in your decision regarding this product. We highly recommend this controller, especially over the previous model. The additional features provided by the Custimzer software are a nice touch. This is a good all around turbo controller that works well and we are glad they fixed the voice communications issues in this version.

If you just want a Turbo Controller with a really good D-pad then go with the MadCatz Fightpad, but you'll be limited in the fact that is doesn't include either Analog Sticks (unless you remap the D-pad to one of the sticks). There is also the Hori Turbo Pad Ex 2, which lets you program just about everything on the controller and includes a MACRO (Turbo Hold) function. Although there have been complaints of that controller sometimes has a ghosting effect with the analog sticks that may or may not show up at all. We've noticed this as well, but our latest one has yet to experience this problem. Hori is aware of the issue and you should contact them if your controller experiences this issue.

Hopefully this helps you in making a decision.
review image review image
1313 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase
This controller did not work out of the box. It required an upgrade to the firmware. I found that out the hard way. Once it was upgraded, the controller analog sticks had dead spots in movement. It either moved very fast or painfully slow. Either way, it was detrimental when playing FPS games like Battlefield 3. The one nice feature it had was the turbofire feature. It allowed your sidearm to shoot very fast. Problem is, it made your auto fire weapons sputter and shoot unreliably. I had bought the controller due to the low price. Not worth the savings. I returned it and bought the standard 360 controller.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on August 7, 2013
Verified Purchase
the controller doesn't work. i won't order from them again. paid 20 dollars and got junk. if i could i'd tell everyone not to buy them.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on July 6, 2013
Verified Purchase
the controller won't stay on even with fresh batteries so i have no clue how well it works or how fun it is to play with
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on October 5, 2010
Verified Purchase
I've tested two Windows 7 64 bit machines and "No Datel TurboFire Device Detected" is displayed on the TurboFire 2 Customizer program. Program will not recognize controller and so you cannot update the controller firmware or assign features to the two function buttons. On a Windows XP 32 bit machine I had no trouble connecting the controller and I was able to update the firmware immediately. However, there was not a way to assign macro functions or custom configurations via the Customizer software. I've contacted Datel and so far no response. I will update once I hear back.

UPDATE: John (another Turbo Fire 2 owner) informed me that he had no problems installing. So, I went back and double checked everything. What I discovered that not every USB port works with the Turbo Fire 2. So, if you have any problems... re-install the program as Administrator. Then run the program as Administrator. Then check every single USB port you have and see if the program recognizes the controller.

On the plus side, the controller is very well made and has a good weight. Ergonomics are comfortable and the bumpers and triggers are wider and thicker making them a little easier to use. Wireless sync works perfectly and the turbo function works well and can be adjusted in speed. The d-pad is good, but it isn't quite as nice as the Nintendo d-pad. Overall a good controller, but it doesn't deliver on all of it's promises just yet. As it stands, the controller is good for turbo, but not for macros.

UPDATE 2: The TurboFire 2 Customizer software has been updated to include customized buttons, adjustable sensitivity for analog triggers & sticks. My hope is that we get Macro-functions, but for me this is not a deal breaker.
99 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 14, 2014
**this Controller should not be sold anymore as xbox 360 no longer supports it as of June 12, 2012**

this **was** an awesome Controller
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase
I was very dissatisfied it didn't even work, I had a very disappointed 12 year, I feel they rip me off!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 28, 2013
Verified Purchase
Would not work at all! Apparently the software on xbox was updated so that some brands no longer work. Can't believe I was ripped off like is. This info was known before it was sold. Amazon, shame on you!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.