Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Xbox LIVE 1200 Microsoft Points [Online Game Code]
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Thank you Scientist Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Subscription Length: 1200 Points|Format: Online Game Code|Change
Price:$39.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 15, 2006
First off, I'm an otherwise very happy Xbox Live Gold member. Instead of buying a points card from a retailer, I made the mistake of buying the points online from Microsoft through the Xbox. I used my gamer tag account and entered my credit card on the TV and I bought 500 points. I got the email confirmation that I bought the points. I then used the points. So far so good.

Over the next two days, four other Xbox charges totaling $30 mysteriously appeared on my credit card. Someone bought more points and a game subscription using my credit card info. I called Xbox Live support- their answer was "we don't give refunds." I explained that it's not a REFUND if my account is used fradulently. They still said no.

Note that clearly the security leak was with them, as no other fraudulent charges appeared on my credit card...just Xbox charges.

I then asked them to delete my credit card info from my Xbox Live account. They said they could not do this. I could not believe this! Given that someone had access to my credit card and they were unwilling to remove my credit card info, I had no choice but to cancel my credit card.

My advice- buy the points from a trusted source like Amazon. Don't ever give Microsoft direct access to your credit card info. I hope this helps.
111111 comments| 1,593 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2009
This is a lot better than doing it through your xbox. For one, no tax. The other reason, for me at least, is that if you put your credit card into xbox live, you cant remove it. You can change it, but it will always have a credit card on file. Buying these points through xbox live would have cost me $54.12. I would rather save that $4.12, thank you.
2525 comments| 421 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2009
I've lived overseas in Europe for the past 8 years working with the military. The thing about Xbox live is that they dont accept APO address's for the credit card (Armed Forces Overseas address). Now i can order the code in 5 seconds instead of having to buy a card and have it shipped to me. Thankyou sooooo much Amazon.
55 comments| 173 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2013
I purchased the Microsoft 1600 ponts card for $60.00 on Dec. 18. I thought I was buying my son a deal, because it gave him 1600 points. It's only worth $20.00. Xbox does not go buy points anymore. They now offer gift cards you purchase. I should have purchased a $60.00 gift card instead. Now he's advertising it for $32.00. When I contacted the seller, He did offer me a refund for what he's selling it for,now. He said he's got no complaints on the card.I find that hared to believe. Who would purchase a card for $60.00 to get only $20.00 worth of credit on? I guess I did. I'm sorry for being the only unhappy customer that this seller seems to say. He said he needs to make a profit. Why would anyone even pay $32.00 for a card worth $20.00. Doesnt make sence to me. I guess a lot of people dnt mind throwing they're money away. I could have bought him a game for $60.00. I'm glad I educated myself on the new xbox cards. Just don't want some other parent spending they're hard earned money on something they only believed was a good deal in good faith. It really makes me sad that this seller is profiting at the expence of the consumer. Taking advantage of the consumer. My advice, go the store and puchase a $60.00 card or $20.00 card. You get what you pay for. No shipping and handling cost. NO HEADACHES.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2006
These reviews show up on the list for all four options, the one, three, and twelve month subscriptions, as well as the marketplace points. Carefully choose the "Size" above, which is where you choose between live "gold" months and marketplace points. Amazon just put all of these different products onto the same page, calling them different sizes.

There is of course a difference between months and points, as you can spend points without a gold subscription (just use the free included "silver" subscription with every XBOX 360), and you can certainly buy gold months without having to get any extra points. So one is not required for the other. The points get you extra content downloads, and the months get you online play time.
22 comments| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2007
This is a great denomination to release Microsoft points in. Since most games on Xbox Live Arcade are purchased in 400 point ($5) increments this card give you the ability to download ten 400 point games or five 800 point games or some other combination (you get the idea). $50 is also a much more acceptable amount than the $62.50 for 5000 points. Since this is on a card it makes this possible to give as a gift or buy without using a credit card. This would be a worthwhile purchase for anyone with an Xbox 360 and Xbox Live.
44 comments| 114 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 2, 2007
I bought one of these cards while it was slightly on-sale, making it a bit cheaper than buying points directly through Microsoft.

It's just a plain, plastic card with a portion that you scratch off to reveal a long key code that you enter into your XBL account.

A word of caution though. Don't scratch it too hard because you can actually scratch off the key code lettering, which is what happened to me. Luckily, I was still able to figure out what my code was and the card didn't go to waste.

With free shipping through my Amazon Prime account, this was easy enough and I saved a tiny bit of money.
22 comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2009
The service is good. You can get the code instantly by email. The main problem is that you can NOT use Amazon gift cards to buy the code. It requires you to have a credit card. It's a shame that Amazon Digital does not accept Amazon Gift Cards.
66 comments| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2009
This is an awesome service that amazon is providing to those of us who cant purchase the cards through our xbox. Those of us who are serving our country from out of the country (IE Europe) can not use our credit cards with APO bank acct's. So Thank you amazon this is awesome!
11 comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2008
If you need points to buy games, gamer pics, themes, or movies through marketplace, you will need Microsoft points.

This card for 1600 points is $20.00 worth of points, so you save a penny!

Most people buy their points online through the marketplace, but these make great gifts for the Xbox 360 Game fan who you are not quite sure what to buy them.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.