Customer Reviews


697 Reviews
5 star:
 (522)
4 star:
 (76)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


120 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only must-have accessory for the Xbox One
Though your Xbox One controller runs on AA batteries and includes one pair of them, it's so much nicer to have the Play and Charge Kit rather than burning through costly AA batteries. Even rechargeable AA batteries aren't as good, they don't last quite as long per discharge, and you have to remove them to recharge them. It's much easier to just plug in the charging cable...
Published 15 months ago by Vdub

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Must charge constantly
I've had this battery pack for about three weeks. I let it discharge completely and I don't keep it plugged in too long after it's done charging; yet, it only lasts for about five hours. Granted the games I'm playing use the vibrations more than average, but it still seems way to short of a battery life.
Published 11 months ago by Megan Arnold


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

120 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only must-have accessory for the Xbox One, November 22, 2013
This review is from: Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Video Game)
Though your Xbox One controller runs on AA batteries and includes one pair of them, it's so much nicer to have the Play and Charge Kit rather than burning through costly AA batteries. Even rechargeable AA batteries aren't as good, they don't last quite as long per discharge, and you have to remove them to recharge them. It's much easier to just plug in the charging cable when your juice is low.

These rechargeable batteries seem a little smaller than the Xbox 360 ones, but worked great all through my Xbox One's launch night. The only very minor downside is it takes a few seconds longer to swap these batteries out than it did to swap out an Xbox 360 battery, but I like the tradeoff of having the Xbox One controller be slimmer and sleeker since there isn't a big battery jutting out the back. The swap time doesn't really matter anyway since you use the cable to recharge it, where on the 360 I usually swapped one out of my Quick Charge kit (Microsoft hasn't yet released a similar product for the Xbox One yet).

The charging cable is sufficiently long to play from my couch (8 feet away from my TV). Took an hour or so for the initial charging to finish from whatever capacity percentage these come from the factory. Don't bother with the third-party junk batteries. While the cable is just a basic micro USB and interchangeable, off-brand rechargeable batteries are rarely worth bothering with for the small difference in price. The cable itself seems pretty high quality too though, it snaps in and has a very solid connection, which I like.

My only complaint isn't about this product, but about the Xbox One design. The single USB port is on the console's left side instead of how the Xbox 360 has two ports on the front. This makes it not reach quite as far, and is also more risky in the event of someone tripping over the cable. Instead of it just yanking out, it might tug the cord in a bad way and damage the cable or the USB port.

I recommend buying the bundle with the controller for a $10 discount though ($75 instead of $60+$25=$85), unless you only ever plan on having one controller I suppose. Amazon is sold out of those at the time of this review, but my local Best Buy and Walmart still had stacks of them, so you may want to try a local store.

Update 2013.11.24: I've gotten at least about 20 hours of on-time without the battery dying since I got my Xbox One. I didn't go until it died before plugging in the cable, but it seems to have about as much life in it as the old Xbox 360 rechargeables. Maybe even a little bit more since all my 360 ones are aging and gradually losing their charge, though this one will probably do the same over time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lithium Ion battery pack makes this the only charge kit worth buying so far., November 28, 2013
By 
John E. Pombrio (Manchester, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Video Game)
I would recommend these over the charging kits and stands only for one reason, the battery pack is a lithium ion pack rather than a NiMH battery pack. Yes, having to plug in the cable to recharge is a pain and there is no way to recharge outside of the controller. I will accept all that becuase I have found Lithium-Ion batteries in my power tools so much superior than the old NiMH batteries. the "shelf life" ( how long they can sit and still hold a charge) is amazing with L-I batteries and they last much longer in use.
I have now drained the pack enough to recharge the controller and it has been used close to 20 hours.
One star off for not having a charge station (yet) where you could plug in and charge the controllers by using the charging station rather than having to plug in each controller individually to a USB cable. The 360 controller battery pack charging station is a terrific idea and ZI would like to see one for the One also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the 360's rechargable bat, November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Video Game)
Lightweight and durable. This charges fast and i havent had to charge it all weekend long. Easy to install GAME ON!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Of course it's great, May 4, 2014
By 
Brian H. (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Video Game)
Why are you reading reviews of this? It's a re-chargeable battery and cable for your controller. Of course it works, and you need it. It lights up orange when charging, and white when fully charged.

And, if you keep your controller plugged in to your Xbox One, and you've got a headset connected through the adapter, you get constant sound through headphones.

I say you should buy it. But who am I? That's a question we all struggle with daily. But, with the play and charge kit, you can focus on the topic of self-realization even more, since you're not worried about the battery level of your controller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't fumble with batteries., May 12, 2014
By 
Harry B (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Video Game)
The play and charge kit is a must. Comes with a rechargeable battery and usb cord. The usb can be plugged into the xbox unit so it'll charge while playing. You can also use a USB adapter (any will do, even the ones you get with an iPad), and charge it directly from an outlet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't seem to want to Die...., November 25, 2013
This review is from: Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Video Game)
I have played maybe 25 or so hours on my xbox one with this battery straight out of the box and it still hasn't died. I am impressed considering the last recharable batteries didn't seem to last long at all. The thing isn't heavy at all and the cord used to charge that attaches to the controller is pretty long. I plan on getting at least one more of these batteries...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a play and charge kit, November 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Video Game)
Packaging was not as expected. Done away with the plastic box you need to cut, now its a small cardboard box. Compact battery, great length of cable with a charging indicator on it to tell when full.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For battery kits choose quality over expense, November 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Video Game)
Its a tad pricey compared to other 3rd party batteries and cables, but the quality of the kit is worth it. 3rd party kits are notorious for using cheap alternatives and have shorter life spans making this product a no brainer to pick over alternatives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cord has good length that reaches across the room, November 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Video Game)
Battery hold solid-charge and works well even with the duress of a pair of stereo headphones plugged in via the chat adapter. Cord has good length that reaches across the room. My only complaint is that the end that plugs into the controller can be a bit difficult to remove from the controller because it lacks any grip and is in there pretty snugly. Microsoft opted for an an aesthetic design opposed to a practical one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Own for XBOX One, November 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Video Game)
A perfect accompaniment to the XBOX One. Charge while you play, and save yourself the cost of batteries. On my old XBOX 360, the charger I bought have to be charged on an outside device, the put back into the controller. But the XBOX One just acts as the actual battery that can be put right in the slot and charged directly from the console. The wire is huge, plenty long to play with and charge. Hopefully one day XBOX will just make this the standard part of the console and include it, but until then this is basically a must purchase, unless you want to spend hundreds of dollars in batteries, and possibly thousands over the years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Xbox One Play and Charge Kit
Xbox One Play and Charge Kit by Microsoft Software (Xbox One)
$24.99 $24.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.