Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ringo rock's 80's style.
Ringo Starr's new album "Y Not" is probably the most coherant album he has recorded since 1992's "Time Takes Time". This is simple rock and roll at it's best. Ringo's last few albums have been pop oriented but this one has more grit thanks to Joe Walsh's excellent guitar riffs. The first track "Fill In The Blanks" is the best track he has recorded in years. I'm a hardcore...
Published on January 12, 2010 by Landrew

versus
22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ringo keeps churning 'em out
While most of his contemporaries (many of whom are younger) haven't put out a record in years or are floundering around forever releasing live albums but only putting out a studio album once every five to ten years, Ringo Starr, in the year he turns 70 (!) churns out his fifth full studio album in twelve years (not including the Christmas album 'I wanna be Santa Claus')...
Published on January 12, 2010 by Tnahpellee


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ringo rock's 80's style., January 12, 2010
This review is from: Y Not (Audio CD)
Ringo Starr's new album "Y Not" is probably the most coherant album he has recorded since 1992's "Time Takes Time". This is simple rock and roll at it's best. Ringo's last few albums have been pop oriented but this one has more grit thanks to Joe Walsh's excellent guitar riffs. The first track "Fill In The Blanks" is the best track he has recorded in years. I'm a hardcore Ringo fan and I haven't been this excited about an Ex-Beatles album since the early 80's. Really. Ringo's vocals on tracks like "Mystery Of The Night" and "The Other Side Of Liverpool" actually soar. The entire album feels like it jumped out of 1988 and that's just fine because the sound is really awesome. "Peace Dream" with Paul McCartney is produced so well that you will not be able to get enough of it - not in an annoying way. Kind of like eating really good french fries and wanting more. Ringo has churned out some excellent music in the past ten odd years and this one tops them all. No kidding. I can be a harsh critic, even for my favourite Beatle. So run to your local record store and say "Gimme that record called Y NOT!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars irrepressibly good--Ringo can't do it wrong, January 12, 2010
By 
Matthew G. Sherwin (last seen screaming at Amazon customer service) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Y Not (Audio CD)
Ringo Starr's brand new release rocks! Ringo is in excellent form here; and his peers all contribute splendidly to the creation of a very well done album that will stand the test of time. The numbers are memorable with sophisticated musical arrangements and Ringo never sounded better, either! His skill as a songwriter remains superb as well. The quality of the sound on this album is excellent and I like that artwork.

The songs here are all so good that there's really not a single dud in the bunch; Ringo and his buddies have really impressed me! "Fill in the Blanks" has a great beat; and Ringo's excellent diction enhances his performance all the more. "Fill in the Blanks" has a catchy fell to it; once I heard it I kept playing it over and over again; the music fits perfectly with Ringo's vocals and it's all brilliantly done. Joe Walsh also does background vocals, guitar and even bass on "Fill in the Blanks!" "Peace Dream" has some mighty awesome guitar work that combines with percussion, drums and more to make "Peace Dream" shine! Of course, Paul McCartney on bass made this even more special--not that Ringo really needs help making good music; but it all works wonders anyway.

"The Other Side of Liverpool" has a fine rocking beat; Ringo sings this with panache and the key modulations sound great just as the different tempos add to the quality of this tune! "Walk with You" has Ringo front and center, too--which is quite all right by me! "Walk with You" gets a sensitive treatment from Ringo, Paul McCartney and the rest; I really like the way they turned out this song. "Time" also has a terrific sound that features Ringo singing squarely front and center--and that piano arrangement makes the music really wonderful.

"Everyone Wins" has a strong beat while Ringo sings this with heart and soul; this is a fine number and Ringo never lets go of a single superfluous note! "Mystery of the Night" is another rocking tune with a sensitive arrangement at the same time; I marvel at how well Ringo and the others make this music sound so good! "Can't Do It Wrong" has one of the best arrangements on the entire album; this is another major highlight. "Can't Do It Wrong" leaves nothing to be desired--this music is all THAT good! Listen also for Don Was playing upright bass on "Can't Do It Wrong."

"Y Not" is yet another magnificent number that showcases Ringo's superb talent; and the CD ends very well with Ringo, Joss Stone and their peers performing "Who's Your Daddy." "Who's Your Daddy" has so much energy that it can't be easily forgotten--and it also leaves me wanting more.

Ringo Starr possesses a genius that I rarely hear or enjoy; and albums like this one clearly prove he's still performing at the top of his game. Ringo should be touring this year; catch him in concert if you can! I highly recommend this for Ringo's fans; fans of the other artists on this album just might want to get this, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing Change for Ringo, January 12, 2010
By 
David Cooper (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Y Not (Audio CD)
To be honest, I didn't like Ringo's last 2 albums. He just seemed to be repeating the same tired formula over and over. On this album, he goes in a new direction and thankfully has stopped using the same tired formula of writing bridges on every song and using bad Beatle like backing vocals. Is this album great? No, but for the most part it is an enjoyable album with just a few clunkers.

Here is my analysis of the songs:

1) Fill in the Blanks - 6/10 - I didn't care for much for the opening song, which is a basic average rock song and quite forgetable.

2) Peace Dream - 7.5/10 - This is a much better song than the opener. It may grow on me more, but from one listen I can tell you it is positive, uplifting, sung well and the backing singers are a nice touch and not overdone. The chorus is just not as catchy as great peace songs like Imagine & Give Peace a Chance and the song is a bit repetitive. Mentioning John in the song is a nice tribute to him by Ringo.

3) Other Side Of Liverpool - 8/10 - This song is darker and grittier than anything I have heard from Ringo before and it is a refreshing change. And thankfully he resists his formula writing style and doesn't write a bridge, for the song doesn't need one. The backing singer is good.

4) Walk With You - 8.5/10 - Best song on the cd. The intro is simply gorgeous and Paul's vocals make it simply magic.

5) Time - 6.5/10 - Good guitar work, but the song is pretty average at best.

6) Everyone Wins - 7/10 The guitar work is very good and the song isn't bad, but I don't like the use of the hip hop beat in the beginning and throughout. Thankfully he employs this sound just once on this album.

7) Mystery of the Night - 8/10 - This is a very good song. It has a very catchy chorus and good lyrics. It is one of the highlights of the cd.

8) Can't Do Wrong - 5/10 - One of the weakest songs on the cd. This song just isn't very good and dressing it up with horns and guitar solos doesn't make it make better.

9) Y Not - 4/10 - This song is bad. Not interesting musically or lyrically and rates up there with some of his worst songs. The additional of the Indian music to me sounds out of place and just throw in for effect and really doesn't flow with the song in my view. Too bad he kept it, for he can do much better. Rather he kept the album title and dropped the song like Roger McGuinn did with Back to Rio.

10 Who's Your Daddy - 8/10 - To be honest I have never heard of Joss Stone before and didn't even know Joss was a woman. Someone said this song doesn't fit with the rest of the songs, but I strongly disagree. This song is very good because of Joss Stone. The woman can really sing and Ringo made a wise decision letting her losse. She does most of the vocals on it. The horns on it are a nice touch too.

I rate this 4 stars for despite 3 or 4 weak songs, most of it is enjoyable to hear and a much better effort than the sub par Liverpool 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ringo keeps churning 'em out, January 12, 2010
This review is from: Y Not (Audio CD)
While most of his contemporaries (many of whom are younger) haven't put out a record in years or are floundering around forever releasing live albums but only putting out a studio album once every five to ten years, Ringo Starr, in the year he turns 70 (!) churns out his fifth full studio album in twelve years (not including the Christmas album 'I wanna be Santa Claus') and somehow keeps his music energetic and of a high quality. IF you include "Santa Claus" that averages an album every two years!

After a falling out with long-time producer and song-writer Mark Hudson during the last album "Liverpool 8", Ringo decided to produce this one himself and every song features Ringo as one of two songwriters. Each song has a different co-writer. This album is also a return of the Starr-studded cast of his Seventies albums, rathar than just relying on the Roundheads.

So what's different? Well the ever-present Beatles-imitating backing vocals of the last few albums are towned down, and sometimes there are female backing vocals. Ringo varies the arrangements with more instruments being employed in the mix, for example violins and saxaphones, and Ringo's production to try and emphasise these instuments, rather than let them sit dormant in the background somewhere. In fact Ringo's producing is fine, which makes me wonder why he always employs other people to help him so much.

Despite the changes, this album is more or less a continuation of the theme of his most recent albums, like "Choose Love", with the same rock and pop oriented songs, with a sometimes folk edge, and up-beat lyrics that both look towards the future as well as reminisce on the past.

For the songs, 'Fill in the blanks' is a good solid rocker to open the album, 'The other side of Liverpool' seems like a negative angle on his roots so dearly spoken of on the title track of the last album. One track 'Everyone wins' feautres a modern, tehcno like beat showing Ringo is not afriad of modern music. The title track (Y Not) is my favourite track on the album, very catchy piece that features some incorporations of other styles, like Indian, to keep things fresh. I also like the slow country-rock shuffle Can't do it wrong. There's a really good ballad called 'Time' which fuses together a few styles, and features a good 'jam' at the end.

Overall, Y Not is a solid, enjoyable and diverse album with the same optimistic pop-rock sound that is associated with Ringo these days and is sure to be a pleasant listening experience for anyone who enjoys his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Starr record!, January 15, 2010
This review is from: Y Not (Audio CD)
Y Not
Ringo Starr
Hip-O/UMe Records

One of Yogi Berra's more infamous quotes was "You can observe alot just by watching." and fellow malaproprian Ringo Starr has certainly had a fortuitous vantage point over the past forty some odd years to draw inspiration from. On his latest solo effort, "Y Not" Ringo has decided not only to conjure creativity from past Beatlesque themes of peace and love but to have a go at the production reigns resulting in one of his best records to date.
Taking a cue from his own All Starr Band legacy the assembled musicians for "Y Not" reads like a who's who of popular music including among others, Joe Walsh, Dave Stewart, Glen Ballard, Richard Marx, Joss Stone, Don Was, Benmont Tench as well as an old friend, Paul McCartney. As a result of these various collaborations and influences a wonderfully eclectic mix of songs are born creating a very different kind of Ringo Starr record.
"The Other Side Of Liverpool" stands out as an autobiographical reflection of the darker times of his youth before fame's spotlight and includes a stomping backbeat that helps Starr retrace his steps back around the shadowy corners of his past. "Mystery Of The Night" is a surprising but most welcomed big ballad that's more reminiscent of an REO Speedwagon or Journey classic than anything from Ringo's previous catalog and it absolutely shines under his exuberant production.
There are several tips of the newsboy cap to former band mates George and John throughout the record but the highlight of this glorious homecoming has to be "Walk With You" Ringo's ardent and heartfelt duet with Paul McCartney. A song about days gone by and days ahead spent in the warmth, comfort and company of a time tested friend. "Who's Your Daddy" closes out the record with Joss Stone channeling Janis Joplin whilst confronting her two timing, penny pinching man and Ringo's deadpan yet cavalier delivery makes this an instant classic that should be played as a crowd fluffer at every N.Y. Yankee home game from now on.
Ringo Starr and his (all new) All Starr Band will be heading out on tour to support "Y Not" this summer so check his website for details and dates at [...]

"Y Not" is a fabulous return to form for Starr and with all the recent Beatles activity breaking even more sales records and gaining yet another generation of fans you could probably say "Its like Déjà Vu all over again"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of his finest moments, February 5, 2010
By 
Bill (Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Y Not (Audio CD)
The first thing you notice about Y Not is that it's short - under 37 minutes. This is an unequivocally good thing. Now don't be nasty and read that as meaning a short Ringo album is a good one. What I mean is that this album has been made the old fashioned way: two sides, ten songs, and if you're lucky, you can listen to it all in your lunch break because the artist hasn't felt obliged to fill up the disc just to show he can.

It starts out strongly with the Joe Walsh collaboration, Fill In the Blanks. At its heart, it's a basic, 12-bar blues rocker but delivered with a wit and energy that raises it above the sum of its parts. Then things take a nose dive with Peace Dream. This is Ringo in peaceandlove overdrive and while it's always a noble sentiment, he falls into the same old trap of trying to re-write existing songs, only in the way that a first-form English student might do it.
"Try to imagine / If we give peace a chance."
Oh dear!
A gorgeous instrumental middle-8 almost redeems the song.

Richie recovers brilliantly on The Other Side of Liverpool. Far from being Liverpool 8 part 2 as the title might suggest, this is Ringo setting the record straight. In just two verses and choruses, he explains why he isn't sentimental about the city, gives his bandmates who were always keen to trumpet their working-class roots a lesson in what it was really like ("The other side of Liverpool, you just had to laugh / We had to go to Steble Street just to take a bath") and delivers a put-down to all songwriters who try to romanticise the towns they worked so hard to get out of, with the sting at the end of the chorus, "You know it's true." This gutsy and slightly menacing track is undoubtedly one of the best things Ringo has ever done.

The sweet and lilting Walk With You, written with Van Dyke Parks, brings a change of pace. Paul McCartney sings on this track too and while one might expect him to show Ringo up a bit, Paul's vocal is frail and vulnerable (think From a Lover to a Friend) in a way the suits the longing of the song perfectly. The only problem is that Paul's vocal is pushed to the front of the mix which means that when the chorus comes in, it immediately sounds like Ringo is singing backup for Paul, not the other way around. The impression is accentuated by the fact that Ringo is singing on the beat and Paul is coming in behind it.

Things lighten up a bit with the swinging, reggae-tinged Time. Featuring a beautiful arrangement, it's a lovely way to round out what we used to call Side 1.

The second half is played traditionally, containing the songs that aren't strong enough to drive the album but are still satisfying in an undemanding way. That's not damning with faint praise - even the weakest songs on Y Not outshine the strongest songs on any of his previous three albums. Everyone Wins is a sweet, loop driven track, Can't Do it Wrong could easily have been lifted from Goodnight Vienna and the title track is a good, solid plod that mysteriously take a detour through Bollywood.

Of course, it wouldn't be a Ringo album if there wasn't a faux country song on there somewhere, and it comes in the form of Who's Your Daddy, the duet with Joss Stone, which closes the album. It's fine if you're into that kind of thing but again, it sounds more like Ringo guesting on a Joss Stone song. However, Ringo's generosity as a performer shows as he sings the role of the deadbeat boyfriend that Stone is dumping.

Crap spelling aside, Y Not is a really good album. Not just good for a Ringo album, but a really good album in its own right. Ringo has produced himself this time and there is an energy and vibrance to the album that we haven't heard in quite some time. Don't be embarrassed to tell your mates you're getting this album. Ringo should be proud of it and so should you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A True Nostaligia Trip by Ringo with Great Guests Collaborators (All Star Band), January 27, 2010
By 
This review is from: Y Not (Audio CD)
Ringo's latest album is a true nostalgia trip in sound, some rock n roll, and in particularly lyrics. The instrumentals are very strong with great musicians such as Edgar Winter, Joe Walsh, Ben Harper, Billy Squire, Benmont Tench, Dave Stewart, Richard Marx and Paul McCartney. Joining Starr on vocals are McCartney, Harper, Marx, Stewart, Walsh and a great bluesy lead by Jos Stone. Another outstanding addition is the addition of Ann Marie Calhoun on violin. The strength of the collaborators make this a great album to have and although some of the introductions to several tunes are a bit staid, many of the songs pick up steam in melody. In particular, the songs 'Peace Dream', 'Walk With You" and "Who's Your Daddy" stand out. 'Peace Dream' is a very pleasant dedication to band mate Lennon with references to Lennon's "Imagine" and his peace efforts such as the 'bed in' in Amsterdam. Oddly, although obvious, Ringo references Lennon's full name in the song where simply John may have been more appropriate but perhaps he is trying to reach a third generation of fans. In addition, on this song on his familiar bass is Paul McCartney. I found the duet with McCartney, a trailing vocal essentially, on 'Walk With You' worth the purchase of the album as Ringo and McCartney have a touching sound that sounds sincere in friendship and is quite beautiful. The two singing together reminds listeners, although very roughly, of the times when Lennon and McCartney would back each other on their classic Beatle songs. The energy song that really rocks with a great bluesy voice features is Joss Stone who is given full throttle control of the vocals on "Whose Your Daddy". This song not only has a great driving beat but is really fun with Ringo breaking in over Stone's complaining of her man with his matter of fact voice over lapping hers exclaiming 'Whose Your Daddy". This song represents a typical fun song that usually is included in Ringo's repertoire. Another interesting tune with fascinating lyrics is "The Other Side of Liverpool" that virtually gives a biographical sketch of Ringo's life from poverty, to his time as the drummer with "Rory Storm and the Hurricanes" before the Beatles and his great run with the Beatles. Not so strong in melody but a interesting eflection on those times. This album cannot be compared with his fantastic "Ringo" album with collaborations with George, Paul and John but with those key songs discussed above and the collaboration with McCartney with these great musicians, it is one to collect. In addition, the more times I play it, the better it sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Y Not, indeed!!, February 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Y Not (Audio CD)
Hats off to Ringo Starr! I'm happy to see he's not sitting around waiting for the moss to grow on him. No, instead he's doing what he enjoys doing and in the process giving us the chance to listen in and join him.

When I first got this CD and listened to it the first few times I thought "Well, it's nice. Good performances, very good production (Ringo's first in the producer's chair - two thumbs up!), great drumming and ok songs". Then a strange thing happened...when I wasn't listening to the CD I found myself humming to the songs as they kept playing back in my head! I actually found the tunes to be infectious and familiar, kind of like the Beatles were themselves (you remember then, don't you?).

It was nice of Paul to sit on and contribute. I only wish the camaraderie between the friends had returned at an earlier time, when we could have seen (and heard) all of the Fab Four playing and performing for us again. But that will never be so I, for one, will embrace what we still have.

Add "Y Not" to your music collection. Enjoy it. Peace and Love!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Effort, January 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Y Not (Audio CD)
I was never a big fan of Ringo's compositions when he was with the Beatles and, quite frankly, am not familiar with most of his other solo work. That said, I like this album quite a bit. It's a solid effort, very enjoyable to listen to. I can't say it breaks any new ground, but for an enjoyable listen, it ranks 5 stars imho. I can't say there's a clinker in the batch. I especially like "The Other Side of Liverpool," and "Who's Your Daddy" is a really Fun track. Ringo will never rank up there with Lennon and Harrison as composers, but he knows how to write and record music that's fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop playing this!, January 24, 2010
This review is from: Y Not (MP3 Music)
Since my purchase of this album, I truly cannot believe how much I am enjoying it. Every song on this disc is a winner. Every song is catchy and gets better and better with repeated listens.

Ringo clearly demonstrates he has learned a thing or two about producing as this is his best sounding album ever! The album features a bit more of a groove-oriented and funky sound than previous releases. As always Ringo's playing is right on the money. And his supporting cast featuring guys like Benmont Tench and Joe Walsh really deliver the goods. Great job by all involved!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Y Not
Y Not by Ringo Starr (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.