Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


125 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small Book - With a Lot of Information
I have to admit that I am a big fan of Dr. Oz and Dr. Roizen. They have changed the way many Americans look at health and the major causes of diseases. While most of the medical community is focused on fixing existing problems with drugs and surgery, they are so much into prevention.

One of the underlying causes of so many problems is related to what we eat...
Published on May 31, 2011 by Bill Cashell

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't waste your money
don't waste your money. It doesn't tell you anything different from all the other diet books. If you know basics of losing weight, you know what is in this book. If you decide to buy it anyway, don't buy it on kindle cause of the tables in the back do not display correctly and are difficult if not impossible to read.
Published 14 months ago by Ronnie E. Holifield


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

125 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small Book - With a Lot of Information, May 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have to admit that I am a big fan of Dr. Oz and Dr. Roizen. They have changed the way many Americans look at health and the major causes of diseases. While most of the medical community is focused on fixing existing problems with drugs and surgery, they are so much into prevention.

One of the underlying causes of so many problems is related to what we eat (and how much). This is a condensed version of their previous book, "YOU: On a Diet". It is just over 100 pages and features 99 of their best ideas of keeping the weight off.

One of the great things about this book is that it covers almost every part of eating and weight issues, including lifestyle, exercise and the important role of your mind and eating.

If you have read their previous books, you may be tempted to skip this. Instead, you may find it to be a great reminder. I have gotten into the habit of reading one of the short tips every day and focus on making it a habit. I've found that reading a book once usually means I retain about 10% of the information.

Sections 47 - 63 actually consist of a 20 minute workout. There are recipes spread throughout the book as well, with a 14 day diet plan at the end.

If you skipped their other books because they were a bit big, this may be perfect for you. It is an easy to read book with straight-to-the-point information without the excess verbiage. Admittedly, some of the information is obvious, but we all need to be reminded. It would make a great companion to more feeling-oriented books.

Bottom Line: This is a concise book of usable information without all of the fluff. It is written by medical doctors, not writers. This style will probably not appeal to everyone. If you like basic information, you probably will like this. If you enjoy more feeling oriented books, you might want to check out Geneen Roth's books, or Marianne Williamson's "A Course in Weight Loss".

Bill Cashell - Author of "The Emotional Diet"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise Weight-loss Tips, May 31, 2011
This book won't give you the overall health and nutritional information like the excellent The Evolution Diet: All-Natural and Allergy Free or the You: On a Diet predecessor, but this quick read gives the reader tips for losing weight specifically. Most of the information is in the Oz and Mehmet's previous books, but this repackaging might be easier for those looking to just focus on dropping the pounds.

Included is a sample two-week eating plan with recipes (including a tasty breakfast smoothie recipe) and a fat-blasting exercise regimen.

The authors realize the goal is difficult: help people lose weight and they acknowledge that throughout the book: THIS IS NOT A GET-THIN QUICK BOOK! But it has good, sound nutritional tips, if you're new to the authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't waste your money, November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: YOU: Losing Weight: The Owner's Manual to Simple and Healthy Weight Loss (Kindle Edition)
don't waste your money. It doesn't tell you anything different from all the other diet books. If you know basics of losing weight, you know what is in this book. If you decide to buy it anyway, don't buy it on kindle cause of the tables in the back do not display correctly and are difficult if not impossible to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You: Losing Weight, September 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was so easy to read and understand, the recipes are also easy for those of us who do not cook very well. I am loving it.
Thanks very much!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 77 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dr.Oz book, June 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was very disappointed in the little paperback book by Dr.Oz, You Losing Weight. I have purchased other books of his and they have been very interesting and informative. One of his TV programs was about losing weight. During the TV show he talked about this book and also supplements that could be effective to help lose weight. I wanted more information about these supplements, expecting them to be written about in the book, but none of these are mentioned in the book. Disappointed with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the book to end all diet books, May 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been struggling for years with my weight. This book finally talks about emotional eating. It is a quick, right-to-the-point read. Only 100+ pages. I just received this yesterday. I have always been waiting for the magic answer and I found it in this book especially in the "MIND" section. Thank you DrOz and Dr Roizen. I am finally in control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, May 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Book is a nice help to aid in my weight loss quest. Well explained; laid out nicely. Oz knows his stuff.This is not your regular diet book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Losing Weight, June 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love,love this book. Easy and fast to read. Gets right to the heart of the matter of losing weight. Highly recommend this book to anyone in need of losing weight. I have already given one as a gift to a friend. Has 99 valuable quick tips on losing weight. Great Book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reminders to Stay on Track, September 5, 2011
I love everything these two outstanding doctors write--they are always so right on and helpful. This one is short, to-the-point, and great for a quick inspiration to keep yourself on track when cravings for the wrong foods hit. And isn't that when we need it most--powerful reminders to stop us now, before the damage is done. If you are serious about losing weight and taking control of your health, you will want to keep this one with you!

-Jacqueline Marcell, Author 'Elder Rage, or Take My Father... Please! How to Survive Caring for Aging Parents', International Speaker on Eldercare & Alzheimer's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Losing Weight, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: YOU: Losing Weight: The Owner's Manual to Simple and Healthy Weight Loss (Kindle Edition)
I love Dr. Oz and Dr. Roizen. They give really good, sound advice when it comes to taking care of yourself. This book wasn't quite as involved as I thought it would be, but it went straight to the point and gives good information on what to eat in order to get rid of the fat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.