Customer Reviews


206 Reviews
5 star:
 (147)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stones Rock The Garden Circa 1969
"Does everything seem to be ready is everybody ready, ladies and gentlemen the greatest rock and roll band in the world, the Rolling Stones". And with that introduction, the Stones were about to unleash a live performance that could be hailed as one of the best live recordings ever made. This album was made when the Stones were arguably the greatest rock...
Published on March 3, 2000 by bob

versus
393 of 415 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Disapponting Ripoff
I've loved this album since I bought it on vinyl at a used record store in 1983. The Stones have put out a ton of live material, but I've always considered this their very best. The heart-pounding, fists-clenched version of Midnight Rambler is probably the best live track the Rolling Stones ever produced. Bluesy yet energetic renditions of lesser Stones classics like...
Published on November 7, 2009 by Palsgraf


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

393 of 415 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Disapponting Ripoff, November 7, 2009
By 
Palsgraf (Arlington, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! The Rolling Stones In Concert [40th Anniversary Deluxe Box Set] [3 CDs + 1 DVD] (Audio CD)
I've loved this album since I bought it on vinyl at a used record store in 1983. The Stones have put out a ton of live material, but I've always considered this their very best. The heart-pounding, fists-clenched version of Midnight Rambler is probably the best live track the Rolling Stones ever produced. Bluesy yet energetic renditions of lesser Stones classics like Live With Me and Stray Cat Blues stand out too. A couple of Chuck Berry chestnuts are lovingly rendered, retaining the original fun while adding depth and texture. Mick's iconic banter with the audience ("I've just busted a button on my trousers...") is a lot of fun, too. I could go on, but anyone considering buying this thing already knows and loves this collection.

When I first heard about a new version, with unreleased tracks and even some video, I bought it without hesitation. I should have hesitated. The new edition is nothing if not well-packaged, coming in a thick box that's just a bit too tall to fit onto most CD shelves. Inside, there's a hardcover book with lots of pictures and some bland text by the usual bunch of self-important Rolling Stone (the mag, not the band) writers and critics. And then there are the discs. Disc 1 is the original album, supposedly remastered, but I didn't hear a difference. To be fair, when I ripped disc 1 into iTunes using Apple Lossless Encoding, it did register a slightly higher bitrate than the original CD, which I purchased in the late 1980s. So...there's that. Disc 2 has the unreleased tracks. Oh boy! Now we're getting somewhere. After 40 years, some new material from that amazing performance. So I popped it into my CD player and heard a very nice version of Prodigal Son, followed by 4 undistinguished tracks AND THAT'S IT. Five tracks count 'em FIVE. I was pretty disappointed, but there were 2 more discs, so I soldiered on.

Disc 3 contains highlights from the other performers who played with (maybe "warmed up for" is too harsh) the Stones. There's some ok stuff here from B.B. King and Ike and Tina Turner, but both artists put out better material on their own.

disc 4 was the "Bonus DVD" with live footage from these legendary shows. I was amped again, despite the disappointment of disc 2. Again, I was disappointed. Yes, there is some nice footage of Mick and Keith doing that same version of Prodigal Son, and snippets of some other stuff, and there is some nearly-wordless footage of Keith talking to Jimi Hendrix. Then there is some pointlessly lengthy footage of Mick trying to direct the album cover photo shoot on a highway that was closed down while the Stones dithered and complained about the cold. I think the whole DVD was about 20 minutes long.

This could have been an effective release if they had ditched the fancy package and hardcover book, added the unreleased tracks to disc one, jettisoned discs 3 and 4 altogether, and put it out as a augmented and remastered version of Get Yer Ya Yas Out. Then again, they couldn't charge $42 for that, which is what I paid for it, let alone the $60 suggested retail price. Hopefully, some of you will read this and avoid making the same mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


191 of 209 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Really 3 Discs Worth of Music - one short 67 minute disc was broken into two even shorter discs, November 3, 2009
This review is from: Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! The Rolling Stones In Concert [40th Anniversary Deluxe Box Set] [3 CDs + 1 DVD] (Audio CD)
It "appears" you are getting a lot of music when they market this as a 3 DISC + DVD Collection. The average joe will think 60 bucks for 3 CDs and a DVD is a good price. The average joe doesn't realize right away that one short CD was broken into two even shorter discs in order to raise the box set price. This price for 2 discs and a DVD doesn't sound like a good deal, so they made it 3 discs, which "appears" better.

The original 48 minutes of Stones Ya-Ya's tracks are on one disc.
Disc two has the five extra unreleased Stones tracks lasting only 19 minutes.

These two discs add up to just 67 minutes of music but one CD can hold 80 minutes of music. There is no reason to have two separate discs for the Stones tracks when both fit on one 80 minute disc with plenty of time left over. They only split these 67 minutes of music into a 48 minute disc and a 19 minute disc to charge 20 bucks more per box set.

The original Ya-Ya's release was limited to 48 minutes due to the limitations of vinyl forty years ago. There is no reason to carry the time limitations of vinyl over to CD in this box set. There is other Ya-Ya's material that could have been included in this set. For example, the song Sympathy for the Devil is still only in its shortened-for-LP version and not in it's full 4-verse glory (internet bootlegs of this are easy to find).

The Rolling Stones do not have any rights to these recordings. ABKCO and Universal has full creative control on how to release this box set. Unlike the recent Beatles remasters, this Ya-Ya box was done with no input by the band or band's estate. The record company doesn't have to be concerned with the overall legacy of the band. For the recent Beatles reissues, they worked years to release high quality music at a great value to their fans because it was their own name and reputation on the line. The band input that makes a great release is missing from this Ya-Ya's box set.

Thankfully record companies no longer use force to take control of recordings away from artists like the Stones. But sadly they once were able to, and this low value release is a product of those days. If the Stones had full control over any version of Ya-Ya's it would have been done much differently. And better.

40 years later the Stones versus Beatles competition continues, with the Beatles winning by releasing their superior Mono and Stereo Box Sets with better packaging and fair pricing. That's too bad, cause I always liked the Stones better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stones Rock The Garden Circa 1969, March 3, 2000
This review is from: Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! (Audio CD)
"Does everything seem to be ready is everybody ready, ladies and gentlemen the greatest rock and roll band in the world, the Rolling Stones". And with that introduction, the Stones were about to unleash a live performance that could be hailed as one of the best live recordings ever made. This album was made when the Stones were arguably the greatest rock and roll band in the world and this album proves it. After the introduction, the Stones break into a scorching version of "Jumpin' Jack Flash", pay tribute to Chuck Berry with 2 fine versions of "Carol" and "Little Queenie", giving a nod to their past while strutting their new material with a vengeance. The guitar solo in "Sympathy For The Devil" is simply flawless and as Mick tells the crowd prior to "Honky Tonk Women", "Charlie's good tonight isn't he." Well they were all good that night as this record shows. The Stones were in the midst of a phenomenal creative period in their careers, just prior to the release of this record the Stones had released two albums that were to become classic performances (Beggar's Banquet and Let It Bleed). This album shows the Stones in the midst of that creative juggernaut and in fine form. (Sticky Fingers and Exile On Main Street were the next albums to be released). This album deserves five stars because it shows the Stones at the height of their performing power as well as just about reaching their creative peak. If this one is not in your collection, then get yer wallets out. This is not only the best Stones live album by far, but one of the best live recordings ever made by a rock and roll band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get Yer Ya Yas Out Again!, November 3, 2009
By 
This review is from: Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! The Rolling Stones In Concert [40th Anniversary Deluxe Box Set] [3 CDs + 1 DVD] (Audio CD)
As a long time Rolling Stones fan, I am delighted that Abkco has re-released Ya Yas as a 40th anniversary box set. The 1969 tour brought the return of the Rolling Stones to America after a three year absence. This was Mick Jagger's break-out tour and one that would solidify the Stones reputation as the "greatest rock and roll band in the world." With their new guitarist (and replacement for Brian Jones in tow), the Stones rocked and socked halls all over America playing their new classics like Midnight Rambler & Sympathy for the Devil to very satisfied customers.

Ya Yas is a snapshot in time of the Stones performing over two nights at Madison Square Garden in November 1969. What you hear on this recording (and see on the DVD disc) are the Stones at the peak of their collective powers- both on a musical and performance level. It is no surprise that many critics over the years have included Get Yer Ya Yas Out on their lists of the best live rock albums of all time.

Sooooo...as a long time fan like me, you've bought and worn out the original album, you've purchased the CD, and later bought the re-master from 2002...You ask yourself- is it worth shelling out even more money for this pricey box set??? The answer is: ABSOLUTELY! In addition to the original 10 songs as featured on disc 1, included is a bonus disc of great tunes such as the acoustic Prodigal Son, the medley of Under My Thumb-I'm free and a blistering version of Satisfaction that were left off the original disc. The third disc features great music by the opening acts B.B. King and Tina Turner. The Stones originally conceived of Ya Yas as a two album set with the opening acts represented, but this idea was subsequently scrapped. Finally, you get a 4th DVD disc of some (not a lot) great concert footage (be forewarned that some of this is duplicated material featured on the Criterion Gimme Shelter DVD), along with backstage access to round out the box set (along with a nice hardcover booklet featuring Ethan Russell photographs from the 69 tour). Sound quality overall is excellent.

The only real criticisms that I can make regarding this box set is that it could have been offered at a more affordable price by eliminating the second disc altogether and putting the five bonus tracks at the end of disc one. Also, adding more concert footage and including a COMPLETE performace from Madison Square Garden on the DVD disc would have elevated this release to stellar status. However, those points aside, if you are a hard core Stones fan like me (and appreciate the music produced during the Mick Taylor years), overall, this box set is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stones On Stage in '69, October 6, 2000
This review is from: Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! (Audio CD)
The Rolling Stones tour of America in 1969 has become one of the most infamous and legendary of all time. It of course concluded with the Altamont concert and was documented in the film Gimme Shelter. Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out provides us with a live document of the tour from a Madison Square Garden show. What makes this such a great live record is that is does what so few live albums do, it makes us we feel as if we're actually at the show. From the opening introduction of the "Greatest Band Of All Time" to the closing chords of the militant "Street Fighting Man", we get the vibe of what it must have been like to have been there. While the performances, from a technical point of view, may not be the best of their career, that's beside the point. The Stones have always been more about emotion than anything else and the performances of "Sympathy For The Devil", "Midnight Rambler", "Love In Vain" & "Stray Cat Blues" perfectly capture and convey all their raw emotion and intensity. The Stones have made it a practice to release a live album after all their tours, but none are even close to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A complete disappointment..., August 14, 2010
This review is from: Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! The Rolling Stones In Concert [40th Anniversary Deluxe Box Set] [3 CDs + 1 DVD] (Audio CD)
I see the price for this disaster has already fallen by $20, and it's no surprise. GYYYO is my favorite Stones album after Beggars Banquet, so I was very anxious to get this as soon as it delivered. Only problem is, it didn't deliver. I already have the LP and CD versions of GYYYO, and this box includes just another copy of the CD I already have. There's another CD with no Stones on it; just boring filler that I couldn't even finish listening to. The "movie" is such a bummer, that as soon as I watched most of it, I put everything back in the box and sold it on Ebay. If you already have the remastered CD and a copy of the film, "Gimmie Shelter" (which includes the clip of "Prodigal Son") then you've already got the essential contents of this new release. I don't know who from the Stones organization authorized this mess - if they even did - but what SHOULD have been a real treat, ended up being a real POS. Save your bread, cats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BAAH HUMBUG!, December 21, 2009
This review is from: Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! The Rolling Stones In Concert [40th Anniversary Deluxe Box Set] [3 CDs + 1 DVD] (Audio CD)
When I saw the review of this item on the CBS Sunday Morning Show yesterday, I got all hot and bothered. In 2002 I purchased the redone version of this CD in the paper gatefold holder. When I heard that there were 3 CDs, I logically thought, one CD would be the Rolling Stones concert with all the extra songs included, and in correct running order. Then one whole CD of B.B. Kings set, and the last CD would be the whole Ike and Tina Review set. Then as for the DVD, (wishfully thinking), the whole Stones show captured on film, plus footage of B.B. and Ike and Tina also. After reading some reviews all I can say is, it would be better to pass on this item and purchase the documentary GIMMIE SHELTER on Criterion instead, or try and track down some boots(Brusells Affair 73****, or the DVD of LADIES AND GENTLEMAN THE ROLLING STONES from 72 tour****), or wait a while for the price to drop to about half. It`s kind of obvious that these guys don`t want to look backwards. We`ll probably never see any outtake sets or even any BBC material from this band, like the Beatles gave to their fans (both outtakes and BBC material). They will probably never release the 1972 US tour film called Ladies And Gentleman The Rolling Stones, with a soundtrack also, (in 72 and 73 shows Mick Taylor was pushing his playing much more than the 69 shows, especally on Gimmie Shelter, which for some reason or other is NOT included along with the extra tracks, I`m pretty sure they would not leave New York without playing it. They did play it on November 9 in Oakland, Ca.) If somebody was real smart they should get it together and release the King Biscut Flower Hour Shows recorded in Europe in 73. Its a shame that nobody in this band or on their payroll wants to sit down and go through their archives (especially the Mick Taylor years), the way Jimmy Page did and George Martin did. They make a lot more touring, and they have way more than any person can spend in a lifetime. Since for most ordinary people money is very tight right now, so I would say pass on this ripoff and stick to the single disc which I`m sure you all have already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blame Abkco, not Stones, and wait for "Ladies & Gentlemen...", January 9, 2010
This review is from: Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! The Rolling Stones In Concert [40th Anniversary Deluxe Box Set] [3 CDs + 1 DVD] (Audio CD)
The original album always had muddy sound and this is just an average
performance. No amount of remastering can change that. A far better
performance, and I think their best ever, is the film "Ladies and Gentlemen...
the Rolling Stones." The Houston, TX show from the '72/'73 tour.
Originally presented in quadraphonic sound, this film was shown
in L.A. and New York and soon vanished. You can find the bootleg dvd
of this on E-bay. Even though it has not been remastered, it looks and
sounds great. The band is tighter and faster. Richards and Taylor are
more in sync. The Stones don't control Abkco so don't blame them.
Wait for the official release of L & G or get the bootleg. I promise you
way more satisfaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Rock & Roll was serious and I don't mean serious business!, June 29, 2006
By 
This review is from: Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! (Audio CD)
I was fortunate enough to have seen The Stones on the 69 tour. Saw them @ The Inglewood Forum in LA. They were two hours late for the show but did they ever make up for it. Get Your Ya Ya's Out is a perfect history of the tour and of the era. The boys were definitely in great form and were playing like there was no tomorrow. The guitar solo in Sympathy For The Devil is one of the all time great solo's by anyone. Every time I get a new car, the first song I play is Sympathy from Get Your Ya Ya's out. I also have Liver Than You'll Ever Be and it is good. Especially Gimme Shelter (Waitin on you) and I'm Free. I only wish it was availabe on CD and cleaned up a little. The movie is great but not enough music. This is the album to have and to hold till death us do part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save your money, it's just not worth it..., May 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! The Rolling Stones In Concert [40th Anniversary Deluxe Box Set] [3 CDs + 1 DVD] (Audio CD)
Yep, I have to agree with several others who reviewed this; it is one of the greatest live releases of all-time, but this edition is a pure cash-grab. There is absolutely no reason why the 5 additional tracks (timing out at all of 18 minutes) could not have been added to the original disk. The BB King/Ike & Tina shows are very good, but not spectacular, and the DVD is utterly self-indulgent and pointless to the extent of being virtually unwatchable, even for a die-hard Stones fan. The packaging is nice, but this should have been a 2-disk set for less then $20...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.