Automotive Holiday Deals Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Black Friday Video Game Deals Shop Now DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
on December 5, 2013
I love Yahoo Mail and have used it every day for at least 15 years. So I thought an app for my Kindle Fire would be a great way to check my mail while I'm out. Sure you can access your e-mail account through this app, and see if anyone's sent you an e-mail. You can compose a new one, reply (although typing on the Kindle Fire isn't the best experience) but the app developers have forgotten the most important thing you need with an e-mail account. The ability to log out so your bank statements, share trade confirmations, passwords for other websites, personal correspondence, payslips and everything you get e-mailed isn't there for any thief who steals your Kindle Fire to just press the Yahoo Mail app icon and have your inbox appear on the screen without having to enter your username or password. Ridiculously that's exactly what they can do with this app. Even if you have turned off your Kindle, when you turn it back on you can still get straight back in, and even if you don't even touch the app, your notifications in your Kindle show whoever has taken it your e-mails anyway. Even pressing the Kindle's back arrow on the menu doesn't log you out like occurs with most apps.

Kindle Fires are portable small devices, much more chance of being stolen from your bag, locker at your workplace, while your travelling or wherever you take it than someone breaking into your house and stealing your PC, yet users are even less protected.
88 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
721 of 852 people found the following review helpful
on November 24, 2011
Several issues down a few more to go... Yahoo finally responded - after much delay - to customers and fixed the initial issue that limited users to viewing only one screen, and only 10 messages, at a time. The app now scrolls as it should. No more requirement to view email messages in landscape mode. There was then a persistent problem wrt loading on a Kindle Fire HD (we'd get a perpetual loop of the app interface asking for a login name & password, which never connected us to the Yahoo Mail service). Then the navigation capabilities on a Kindle Fire HD 7" failed and were not consistently visible (forcing users to open emails to view navigation tools or ending up in a loop of no access to mail folders if one got stuck in a folder with no emails to open). And, just to keep things interesting, in the phone rendition of the app notifications were/can be a disaster and do not always work.

The most recently updated interface design of the Yahoo Mail app was an improvement over the old interface aesthetically (it got rid of that gosh awful prior arrangement in which the ads took up over 1/3 of the app's 'real-estate' on a relatively small smart phone or 7" tablet display). The new design is elegant and clean. The folders run down the left vertical 1/3 of the display (tablet and smart phone - mine a Samsung Galaxy S III) with a viewing panel of messages showing in the right 2/3 of the screen. Very nice! Easy to scan. The button controls are now intuitive and boast symbols that are laid out such that they are easy to use and maneuver through.

[UPDATE - April 2013] Yahoo seems to have released an update (2.5) that now fixes the dangerous lack of navigation facilities for moving backwards to an email folder once it has been opened to view emails in that folder without having to open an email to move back up the folder hierarchy - at least it now works again on a Kindle Fire HD 7" tablet. A very welcome & needed fix. So thx to the developers. There is still a quirk though - that relates to the new STAR categories functionality. YMail added the ability to star vital messages to be able to scan down a list of emails and spot them quickly. They also added a top-level folder that is supposed to sort and present those starred messages. A terrific functionality. But, I can only speak to the Kindle Fire HD 7" tablet, there is a problem with the Star function and that top-level Star Folder - it only includes 5 starred messages. There should be no limit to the number of starred emails that should appear there! I only put stars next to 7 messages as a test of the new feature. Yet, no matter what I do, only 5 messages appear in the Star Folder. Developers, that needs a fix. I have re-upped my rating from 1-star to 4-stars because of the new aesthetic design and the fixed navigation issues on the Kindle Fire HD tablet. If the Star folder situation gets fixed on my Fire HD and all the crazy performance issues wrt notifications, email even working, etc. on all major smart phones (like the Galaxy S3) I'll move this rating up to 5-stars.

I don't see that Star functionality on my Samsung Galaxy S III at all. But then I haven't run the latest two updates due to 1-star reviews on the Play Store stating that those updates totally messed up other folks' Samsung Galaxy S III Y-Mail implementations and now they can't get any mail on their phones...

Hope their new CEO keeps on the developers' cases to get with the program (so to speak...) and make Yahoo apps work fluidly, intuitively, highly functionally on a consistent basis and in a user-centric and non-alienating manner no matter what the platform.
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
547 of 648 people found the following review helpful
on November 25, 2011
Great app. in order to see all the messages in your inbox all you need to do is to browse the kindle in landscape position.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on February 19, 2012
It works very well for me. I use Yahoo mail on the Pc and this works as good. great app
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on December 22, 2012
The older version worked much better. Hard to delete e-mail, hard to download e-mail. I have to go only to Yahoo and delete e-mail. Hard to understand how to respond to an e-mail. Not user friendly at all. I am using it because there is nothing else to use on my Kindle Fire.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
476 of 600 people found the following review helpful
on November 29, 2011
Well - this is a pretty worthless thing with the Yahoo Android App for Kindle Fire. Even the email App cant displa more than 10 emails. You cant even see the 11th email - ridiculuous. However I found a crude workaround - Login to directly from the browser (Yes - do NOT use the App for Yahoo, though it encourages you to use that crappy App) and the you will be able to see all ( however many you have)... Phew !! You have change page but atleast you can see more than 10... Whoever did the App for Kindle Fire should fix this ASAP.

Apart from this I have found Kindle Fire pretty neat - specially te MicroUSB interface( u need to buy a cable) is terrific. I uploaded 100 mpe music files instantly...
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on January 15, 2013
This app cannot recognize my user name or password. I was forced back to Yahoo classic. I will remove this from my device!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on May 11, 2012
I liked and heavily used the app until the recent update. The update has screwed it up by adding annoying adds. I am switching to the web interface. If that does not help, gmail is the way to go.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on September 2, 2013
Be very careful with Yahoo Mail. They sell your address and data to their "Partners" and eventually, their "Partners" sell it to others and within a few weeks or months, you belong to the Spammers and what's worse, the Hackers. Yahoo's customer service is non-existent, they run from, do not answer, disguise and will not cooperate with any attempt to get the Spamming and Hacking stopped. They are the source of the hacking and the source of the spamming.
If you use Yahoo! beware, you are risking having your email not only spammed by the porno industry, but actually having your bank accounts drained. I believe they are one of the WORST email providers you can choose. Oh and did I mention the unsolicited Ads?

My review of Yahoo! is simple, very dangerous, detrimental to you and your family, completely non existent for customer service and something that can and does get you spammed and/or hacked with no recourse afterwards. They should have a class action suit slapped on their sorry, greedy backsides. It's that simple.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on July 7, 2013
I've tried using other email apps on my Kindle Fire HD 8.9" for my Yahoo! account, but they lack in functionality in comparison to the "Real McCoy." One crucial function that trumps all other apps is its send/receive speed. When you're chatting with someone by email, time is of the essence. I have sound and display notifications set up for my Yahoo account, and when tested side by side with about five other email apps, Yahoo! always notifies me immediately of the email. Also, the ability to just swipe from the left and access the other folders (such as Sent) that are synced with my Yahoo! account is another time-saving feature. The only reason I'm not giving it a full five stars is because of the default small size print. I have not found a way within the app's settings to permanently set the print to a larger size. You can change the size every time you write an email, but I find that annoying. Also, I would like the ability to change the background to black with white text (a lot easier on the eyes). Lastly, when I hit the Return key after I've created my subject line (because the space is so small before the signature line) the app closes out to the Kindle Fire's homescreen. Otherwise, this app is the best I've found for ease of use with my Yahoo! account.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Facebook by Facebook

All Email Providers
All Email Providers by LondonNut Ltd

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.