Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They do their job...
This item gives one the ability to have a bit more peace-of-mind amidst a society where-in most people are very good, but a few individuals don't mind ruining your day and leaving you in a tight spot; minus some equipment.
The Lock housing installed quickly and worked perfectly. My only gripe is the practice Yakima has of selling items that are vulnerable to theft...
Published on September 25, 2010 by Daniel O. Harrang

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Necessary accessory
If you have the Yakima Highroller, this is a necessary accessory, which just adds to the total price of the rack. It works well as a deterrent, but I have no faith in that it will keep my rack on the car under the duress of a determined criminal. It keeps honest people honest. Wish Yakima would include it with the Highroller.
Published on January 25, 2013 by fuel98rider


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They do their job..., September 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yakima Accessory Lock Housing (Sports)
This item gives one the ability to have a bit more peace-of-mind amidst a society where-in most people are very good, but a few individuals don't mind ruining your day and leaving you in a tight spot; minus some equipment.
The Lock housing installed quickly and worked perfectly. My only gripe is the practice Yakima has of selling items that are vulnerable to theft and then marketing other, {expensive} items so we can secure them... it seems to be a succesful racket; or extortion in reverse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ingenious and essential...but pricey, July 29, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These little buggers are wonderfully designed, although hardly bullet-proof. I think a thief could defeat them. Still, it's the only game in town and a must-have if that town includes at least one opportunist with sticky fingers.

Without them, you can, at a minimum, lose some rather pricey racks. Or worse, rather pricey racks with rather pricey equipment attached to them. At $9 a pop, consider it cheap insurance. Oh yeah, you need the $8 a pop lock inserts, too. Yakima gets you coming and going. Cha-ching. (Does anybody know that I invented "cha-ching" thirty-five years ago when I was in junior high? I should get royalties.)

Easy to install with Yakima's always concise instructions and illustrations. I've got a primo rack system atop my '05 Sienna, courtesy of all their high quality components. See my other reviews for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent deterrent, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yakima Accessory Lock Housing (Sports)
Gave this product 5 stars because in the 10 years that we have used our Yakima roof rack with various accessories and components, nothing has ever been taken, although attempts have been made as evidenced by the screw driver marks on car window frame and gouge marks on locking towers....these locks are a bit overpriced, but they do work well and have weathered exposure to the environment, snow, rain, heat, etc. If you want peace of mind, theyre worth it, in fact, we leave the rack on all year long without worry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Necessary accessory, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yakima Accessory Lock Housing (Sports)
If you have the Yakima Highroller, this is a necessary accessory, which just adds to the total price of the rack. It works well as a deterrent, but I have no faith in that it will keep my rack on the car under the duress of a determined criminal. It keeps honest people honest. Wish Yakima would include it with the Highroller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, easy to use, great for keeping my bike racks secure, July 19, 2007
These accessory housings (along with the SKS lock cores which I already owned) are exactly what I needed to keep my yakima bike racks secure to my vehicle. They were packaged nicely and shipped quickly. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was the wrong lock for the side rails and bike rack, September 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yakima Accessory Lock Housing (Sports)
Was the wrong lock for the side rails and bike rack. Yakima does a poor job of describing what parts go with what racks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, February 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yakima Accessory Lock Housing (Sports)
This is a great solution to lock your accessory to your roof rack. Yes one could go the route of a nyloc nut or some more permanent fastener, buy then they don't get the sweet cam-action lift when you lock one of these bad-boys up. The housing is hand tightened on the end of the bolt after threading on a normal hex nut. Then, when you insert a SKS lock core (sold separately) and turn, the housing lifts up over the hex nut and denies tool access to said nut.

Good product - would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good lock housing, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yakima Accessory Lock Housing (Sports)
Lock housing works well, it serves the purpose as a deterrent, pricey because you need to add in a lock core.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars feel more secure, it is a solid, good design, July 22, 2013
By 
Leanne Every (S. Deerfield, Massachusetts United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yakima Accessory Lock Housing (Sports)
I like the product but didn't realize it did not come with a lock core so I don't have enough cores with the same key and have to order more. More information on the product before purchase would have helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect security, June 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yakima Accessory Lock Housing (Sports)
These work great on Mighty Mounts universal for Yakima. I use them to secure a Raptor rack on a universal crossbar. They work great, best to contact yakima first if using on a non Yakima rack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Yakima Accessory Lock Housing
$17.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.