Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple to use pretty easy to install
It took a little time trying to get the lock into the slot correctly but once I did, it works like a champ. I like that they give you 3 keys and key sign-up form if you ever lose them. Good product. Would recommend.
Published on January 16, 2009 by sleepy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Provides a thin veneer of security
These installed easy enough, but after examining how the locking mechanism works, I am pretty sure I could still force the latch on the support tower open without any tools. The locks work by engaging a metal clip behind a plastic tab on the back of the outer cover on the support tower. The engagement is only about 1/8" and the plastic is not very thick. If someone...
Published 15 months ago by Fzumrk


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple to use pretty easy to install, January 16, 2009
It took a little time trying to get the lock into the slot correctly but once I did, it works like a champ. I like that they give you 3 keys and key sign-up form if you ever lose them. Good product. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yakima SKS Locks, March 11, 2008
Locks were perfect for my rack. Extremely easy to install in about a minute for each one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Provides a thin veneer of security, July 9, 2013
By 
Fzumrk (Indianapolis, IN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These installed easy enough, but after examining how the locking mechanism works, I am pretty sure I could still force the latch on the support tower open without any tools. The locks work by engaging a metal clip behind a plastic tab on the back of the outer cover on the support tower. The engagement is only about 1/8" and the plastic is not very thick. If someone wants to steal your rack or its contents, this will barely slow them down.

For what these roof racks cost, the manufacturer needs to include a more secure locking mechanism. This would probably require making the outer cover on the support towers out of metal instead of plastic, or re-thinking how the locking mechanism works entirely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Locks work as advertised., August 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These were purchased for the Yakima Frontloader Rooftop Bike Carrier. The rack should already come with them, but I understand the added profit by selling the separately. They are easy to install and they work. Pretty easy and they do what they're supposed to. Make it so a thief has to completely remove the cross members off the car to steal my bike and rack. It's a win-win for a would-be criminal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The mechanism is too basic and feel like anyone can open this, July 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So expensive for what they are. The mechanism is too basic and feel like anyone can open this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, May 13, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These guys do just what they are supposed to. Easy to install. They work very well to make sure the latch stays closed on my bike carrier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to install, provides peace of mind, April 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After years of not locking our roof rack, a friend pointed out that someone with a pickup could easily remove the entire rack, with all its contents (ski rack, cargo box), in a few minutes. For the extra peace of mind, we spent the modest amount to get these locks. They installed in a snap (literally).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much needed if you buy a Bike Rack, April 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Easy to install into your Yakima Product, just wish they already came along with mounts instead of having to spend more money buying them separate, but overall love the quality of product, have yet to see any signs of rust. Would recommend them if you buy any Yakima Rack, because as I mentioned, you have no choice than to buy these if you want your bikes secure.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expensive but nice security, March 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like the sense of security but it sucks that Yakima kind of rips you off for that sense of security when its pretty easy to break the plastic covers ans steal your stuff anyway.

Nice product though, good interchangeability. Its convenient to only have one key for all the locks.

Go for at least 8-pack if looking to expand with future attachments. Not too much more expensive than the 4 pack...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A deterrent at best; not sure I'd order them again, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very cheap quality. I'm not confident they prevent anyone from stealing anything. A deterrent at best; not sure I'd order them again...snug the roof rack onto the rails properly and it takes a fair bit of time to get them off, regardless of the locks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Yakima SKS Lock Cores for Yakima Rooftop Car Racks
$95.00 $29.89 - $175.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.