Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Narnia than Aslan
"A Year with Aslan" features 365 selections from the Narnian series, designed to be read as a daily devotional. Enclosed in beautiful hardback binding, each section contains quotes from Aslan or some story that exhibits Aslan's character. And in line with most devotionals, each section concludes with some reflection questions to help with meditation.

Aslan has...
Published on November 6, 2010 by Brandon Vogt

versus
31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Year with Aslan
This is a sweet book that after presenting quotes from Narnia, asks leading questions about how you handle qualities such as integrity, loyalty, bravery, imagination, friendship. FYI, do not get this book if you are looking for a Christian/allegorical context. It is not included. If you are seeking a way to interpret Narnia's or Aslan's lessons in a non-religious way,...
Published on October 28, 2010 by Redhead


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Narnia than Aslan, November 6, 2010
This review is from: A Year with Aslan: Daily Reflections from The Chronicles of Narnia (Hardcover)
"A Year with Aslan" features 365 selections from the Narnian series, designed to be read as a daily devotional. Enclosed in beautiful hardback binding, each section contains quotes from Aslan or some story that exhibits Aslan's character. And in line with most devotionals, each section concludes with some reflection questions to help with meditation.

Aslan has long been one of my favorite literary characters. Lewis was able to do with Aslan what almost no other author in history was able to accomplish: create an alluring, fictional representative of Christ who generates both wonder and fear. "A Year with Aslan" wonderfully highlights these characteristics, drawing the reader close to Aslan and, therefore, closer to Jesus.

Before I opened the book, I wondered how the compilers could come up with 365 selections centered around Aslan; I didn't think Aslan was featured that many times in the Chronicles. Well, as it turns out, he wasn't.

Despite the book's title, a number of the selections don't feature Aslan at all, but instead highlight general stories from Lewis' series. This isn't necessarily a downside, just something to be aware of before purchasing a copy.

I recommend "A Year with Aslan" to Aslan-lovers who have already read through the original Chronicles, but would hold off for those who haven't already visited Narnia. Since some of the selections lack context, it would be helpful to understand the background for each character and story before reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Year with Aslan, October 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Year with Aslan: Daily Reflections from The Chronicles of Narnia (Hardcover)
This is a sweet book that after presenting quotes from Narnia, asks leading questions about how you handle qualities such as integrity, loyalty, bravery, imagination, friendship. FYI, do not get this book if you are looking for a Christian/allegorical context. It is not included. If you are seeking a way to interpret Narnia's or Aslan's lessons in a non-religious way, this may be what you're looking for. A Year with Aslan: Daily Reflections from The Chronicles of Narnia

It is difficult to imagine Lewis portraying it this way, since he specialized in myth and allegory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mediocre devotional., January 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Year with Aslan: Daily Reflections from The Chronicles of Narnia (Hardcover)
I bought this as a devotional to share with my husband, as we are both passionate fans of CS Lewis, especially the Chronicles of Narnia series. It's a beautiful design on the front and the print is easy to read, which is nice. The format consists of a half a page, sometimes more, of an excerpt from the Chronicles of Narnia (The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, The Silver Chair, The Horse and His Boy, The Magician's Nephew and The Last Battle). After the reading, it will ask a few leading questions. My problem is that these questions, while thought provoking, don't guide you in any particular direction. If you're looking for a religious deviotional, this isn't the right one. There are no bible verses or references to biblical figures. It could be loosely considered a spiritual reference to no particular religion. In Aslan, of course, you will find godly traits that you can then yourself meditate on, as well as the actions and attributes of Lucy, Susan, Edward and Peter.

For example, one of the early readings focused on Lucy finding the wardrobe and stepping inside to find Narnia. The questions were something like, "How do you think Lucy felt as she walked through the wardrobe?" It's rudimentary questions like this that sometimes have no real drive or purpose that bug me. In some of the questions you can connect the dots and find the spiritual meaning, but for the most part, this book lacks depth and guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Way to Reawaken Our Wondermet in Narnia, November 15, 2010
This review is from: A Year with Aslan: Daily Reflections from The Chronicles of Narnia (Hardcover)
Nearly half a century after his death, C.S. Lewis ranks with best-selling mystery writers and celebrity authors in popularity. The heart of his life's work is the Narnia series, described by some Lewis scholars as expressing the maturity of his spiritual wisdom. I agree and I've read the seven-book series multiple times over the years, including reading them aloud to my children. (Note: If you want a great set of the novels and a complete audio recording from a super-star cast of narrators, I strongly recommend: The Chronicles of Narnia 7-Book and Audio Box Set)

This "Year with Aslan" is designed for the countless people like me who enjoy Lewis and Narnia, but the books have become so familiar that we sometimes overlook the best spiritual moments within them. This book becomes a companion for a whole year, selecting 365 facets from the gems of the series. What about the person who has never read the Narnia series? That's harder to answer, because I've lived with these books for a lifetime, but I suspect the grandeur and creative imagery will quickly entice readers into the books themselves. This is a great gift for someone you love--and for yourself.

Finally, a word about the questions at the bottom of each page: Other reviewers have commented on the questions that accompany each day's reading and, yes, I agree that these questions may not be everyone's cup of tea. Think about the challenge facing the HarperOne editors: Adding meaning to the master storyteller's texts? However, keep in mind: Millions of readers enjoy daily devotional reading and that longstanding format usually includes questions. In my own use of the book, so far, I've found a few of the questions helpful; most I overlook; but generally I'm glad they're on the page as an additional thoughtful resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love the Lewis Blips, November 15, 2010
By 
This review is from: A Year with Aslan: Daily Reflections from The Chronicles of Narnia (Hardcover)
The editing is very well done on this daily reader. It's been well thought out. However, I find the questions following the readings geared to immature readers. And yes, I know that the Chronicles are essentially children's literature! I just find that the immature nature of the questions detracts from what Lewis has to say. The blips speak for themselves, again, a testimony to the great editing on this devotional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light and Entertaining Reading, November 13, 2010
This review is from: A Year with Aslan: Daily Reflections from The Chronicles of Narnia (Hardcover)
Any fan of The Chronicles of Narnia will enjoy this volume of daily insights taken from the pages of the C.S. Lewis books. Each of the 365 readings includes an excerpt from one of the books followed by thought-provoking questions on the theme.

For example, the October 3 excerpt from The Voyage of the Dawn Treader that finds Lucy tempted to try a spell for beauty from a book of magic, is followed by this: "What do the pictures reveal about Lucy's weaknesses? Even as she is tempted, Lucy has a strong feeling that she shouldn't say the spell. Where do you think that feeling comes from? What quality would tempt you as beauty tempts Lucy?"

I love the Chronicles of Narnia so I did enjoy the pages I've read so far as they took me back to the actual stories, but I think this book might be better suited to read with children, using the questions as an opportunity to discuss character and integrity, how they feel about certain situations, what they think motivated the character to respond as they did, etc. The book also would only make sense to those already familiar with the tales of Narnia.

This is not meant to be a Christian devotional and the questions do not take the reader there (such as presenting Aslan as a Christ figure). It is simply a book of entertaining excerpts that Narnia fans will recognize, followed by questions that don't require deep thought.

I would probably consider this book as a gift for a true Narnia fan, or parents of children who enjoy the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, April 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love the Chronicles of Narnia. To have a daily reading book based on quotes from those books is awesome. Makes me want to go back and re-read the originals. Good for all ages. Aides in character development. Without being Religious it speaks of morality in a way that most can relate no matter what faith they follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Truths, April 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a fan of C. s. Lewis - not just Narnia, but all of his writing. This Year of Reflections uses Lewis' writings to illustrate points that may otherwise go unnoticed. WELL WORTH THE PRICE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of Narnia than Aslan, but I will certainly read this again., January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Year with Aslan: Daily Reflections from The Chronicles of Narnia (Hardcover)
This was more like a year in Narnia than a year with Aslan, but then again, if Aslan created Narnia and is a part of it, there should be a part of him in everything to do with the books, including the parts he isn't physically in. I used this book as a daily journaling and reflection exercise and I found myself honestly looking within at times. There were also moments that created deep discussions between myself and others. I would say that this is a book for fans of Narnia, for fans of C. S. Lewis, for the young and the old alike. Reading it daily proved to be a very calming and relaxing experience, as well as an eye opening one that sent the creative juices flowing. I highly recommend it as a companion to your Narnia library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Love, October 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Year with Aslan: Daily Reflections from The Chronicles of Narnia (Hardcover)
As a fan of Narnia and a reader for many years (long before the movies) this book takes it even deeper. I have made it my devotional and ponder the deep questions all day long, a book that doesn't have to be only a year but one like the 7 books that can be reread and re-pondered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Year with Aslan: Daily Reflections from The Chronicles of Narnia
A Year with Aslan: Daily Reflections from The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis (Hardcover - October 5, 2010)
$22.99 $17.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.