Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine Documentary
Similar in format but much less comprehensive then "Hoop Dreams," the filmmakers follow the senior football year of Miami high school football star Taurean Charles. The story unfolds in a rather predictable manner: As a football player, Charles is a fine natural athlete, reaching local celebrity status but severely lacking in discipline. As a student, however, he is...
Published on December 17, 2005 by political idiot

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Year of the Darters
In 2001 the Apopka Blue Darters defeated the Miami Northwestern Bulls in the Florida High School State Championship 6A game. It was supposed to be "The Year of the Bull" but it became "The Year of the Darters". Taurean Charles learned a very valuable lesson: one man does not a team make.
Watch closely and you'll see discipline and natural talent on display. The...
Published on November 2, 2009 by Little Miss Can't Be Wrong


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine Documentary, December 17, 2005
This review is from: Year of the Bull (DVD)
Similar in format but much less comprehensive then "Hoop Dreams," the filmmakers follow the senior football year of Miami high school football star Taurean Charles. The story unfolds in a rather predictable manner: As a football player, Charles is a fine natural athlete, reaching local celebrity status but severely lacking in discipline. As a student, however, he is less then competent. Coming from a fatherless home hasn't helped, but the so-called educators at his high school are really embarrassing. Almost everyone the young Charles comes in contact with on a daily basis are stunningly stupid people (there is actually a dry cleaning class at the high school!). Still the college scholarship is the focus of the young defensive end. Not surprisingly Charles sees college not for the educational opportunity, but as a way to the big show of the NFL. He has mild delusions, but he knows his limitations because he is reminded of them every day.

The filmmakers do a nice job profiling the athlete machine that is high school and college sports. This machine consumes, chews, and spits out kids not capable of understanding what is really going on. Charles is involved with some teen age mischief and appears to have little understanding of the true consequences of such actions, since after all, he still gets to play football. He does show a violent side off the field a few games in, still no penalty. Nice job coach. These are some of the worst coaches I have ever seen. Grown men who never made it, cussing at and beating up little kids. Unreal! Clearly, Northwestern has a winning record DESPITE the coaching staff. Charles has an injury mid way through the season, but he recovers quickly and he is back on the grid iron in time for the playoffs. Just when things are looking to improve, those darn SATs get in the way again. Shooting for a pathetic 820, he scores in the low 600's several times. Making it to the state finals, the team arrives four days early in the state capitol for preparation. In reality all they do is gamble and play video games the whole time. No shock, they lose to a much better coached team. Finally passing the SAT on his fifth try with a, ahummm, 930, Charles accepts a scholarship to The University of Florida Gators, a school well known for their division I football program.

The real story here is not the mundane path of a youth from the ghetto trying to break out vis-à-vis sports; it is the abysmal state of education at Northwestern High School. I will go on a limb and suggest that Northwestern is not the only school with this condition. I think those coaches should be jailed. I love the game of football, but this film is really a sad statement on the game. High school and college is about education first, athletics second but somewhere along the way we have allowed the reciprocal condition to become the norm and this film is a scary window to that reality.

Post Script: The film was released in 2003. Taurean Charles was suspended by the University of Florida early in the 2004 football season for an off campus fight that resulted in a misdemeanor conviction. In March 2005 he was dismissed. Such an incredible opportunity flushed away. So sad.

UPDATE: April 28, 2007 --News excerpts taken from BRENT WORONOFF, Daytona Beach News-Journal:

"While NFL teams have shown interest in three Wildcat seniors -- linebacker Taurean Charles, slot back Eric Weems and defensive tackle Ramon McCollough -- none of them are likely to be selected in the draft. NFL teams have had off-the-field concerns with Charles, who was released from his scholarship at the University of Florida in 2005 because of legal problems."

Thinking back to the film I felt compelled to update this review. I never excuse an individual's choices in life, but the scary stupid people "coaching" at his high school promoted a violent atmosphere in lieu of proper discipline. Those coaches can be held to some level of accountability for the results of a player with great natural talent who the NFL won't touch with a ten foot pole. We can only hope his educational options improved at Bethune-Cookman.

UPDATE: June 6, 2008 -- Such a sad story and all too common I suppose. Taurean Charles was brushed off by the NFL in 2007 and now in 2008 he is yet another nobody, washed up before he ever could be. Couldn't even pull off an arena football gig!! Such great raw talent wasted because of his environment. I sure hope those coaches at his Miami high school are proud of themselves now. There are no winners in this story I am sad to say. Taurean Charles' future seems all too obvious to me now...tragic...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars T-Diddy's Tracks, March 4, 2007
This review is from: Year of the Bull (DVD)
"Year Of The Bull," which came out in 2003-2004, basically chronicles the senior season of football for all-star Taurean Charles, a linebacker for the Miami Northwestern Bulls. The high school is located in Liberty City, a tough inner city where most people try to escape by playing sports, particularly football. It would have been nice if we got to see a bit more footage of some of the hardships that occur in the city. I mean, we see the graffiti, the kids in messy clothes playing in the street, some of the run-down houses and messy yards. That's cool, but give us a little more. Make us the viewers realize the intense need to get out of such a city. However, I think they give us enough to get the point across.

I don't own many documentaries, but this one doesn't disappoint, although I would have liked to see more of the sacks and tackles made by Taurean during the season. Granted though, we get to see some rather outstanding plays by the young linebacker including a fumble return for a touchdown. The guy is everywhere on the field and is involved in virtually every play. It's obvious that this kid was a leader and made several key plays during the season to help the team enter the championship. He's tall, muscular, strong, confidant and dedicated to his game. He's in the weight room pumping iron, he's cracking players in practice and on the field, he's pumping up the adrenaline of his teammates, he's making his own shirts bearing the words "T-Diddy" on them and he's got a host of fans in the student body who cry when he goes down injured. Yes, Taurean Charles is their golden boy. We get excellent footage of all this. The sport is obviously important to him. He's devoted to his family and wants to make sure they are cared for (his dad passed away when he was 12). His ultimate goal though is to get a football scholarship to a top college. From there, he dreams of making the money playing football at a professional level to help his family.

Three letters stand in Taurean's way: SAT. In order to be eligible for a scholarship, he must make the grade on the SAT. But T-Diddy realizes quickly how hard it is to balance high school football with studying in order to play at a higher level of football. During most of the season, he's pumped up, somewhat cocky. But then the reality sets in during the post season games, and suddenly he must come to face what is REALLY most important to him.Then there's all the staying out of trouble. We get a glimpse of the chewing-out he gets after an incident at Pizza Hut. Then there is the rather physical confrontation on the field between he and one of his coaches. But you know there could have been a lot worse things. I mean the kid didn't do drugs, he didn't smoke or drink to my knowledge; he was just doing mischief that many young guys do.

The documentary also offers lots of comedy and tons of emotion throughout the family and fans of the Bulls and "T-Diddy." And there are a few extras on the DVD including the trailer, some commentary not included in the film, and also flaring tempers of Bulls fans and squirly comedy from the players. It's a pretty good documentary; a good chronicle. It leaves you feeling like the Bulls are your team and that Taurean is your golden boy of whom you want to see succeed. Watching this film made me curious as to what he's up to now actually. Is he still playing football? Will he go pro? The film also includes the original soundtrack which I think is a great touch. The soundtrack is pretty cool; hip-hop mostly. It fits the whole atmosphere of the film. Why don't more movies include the soundtracks to go with?

Anyway, buy "Year Of The Bull" and literally get into the game. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!! I inspire more kids thats my age to look at this movie i think they will really enjoy it!, January 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Year of the Bull (DVD)
I love this movie because this guys Taurean Charles me and him go to the same barbershop. He inspires me very much and i look up to be as good as him but also i want to go off to a division 1 college and then enter the NFL. But it all starts in school work. I loved this movie and infact i watch this movie every day of the week because i looked at how he had to struggle and look at how fortunate i am to have nice things and everything. Hes a great player and i hope one day when he doesent feel like playing the game anymore he can teach the youth the game and how to play it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shipped quickly, December 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Year of the Bull (DVD)
product as described and shipped quickly. Good documentary, gives an interesting look into the style of coaching that the Miami Northwestern staff uses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into Big time High School football, June 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Year of the Bull (DVD)
Year of the Bull
This documentary is a raw look into inner city high school football, and the undue pressures and outside influences facing teenagers trying to play up to the hype. Even at the high school level there are a lot of people benifitting and/or making money (e.g. schools, coaches, gamblers, agents, etc.) off these star athletes, yet we hold the kids to an impossible standard. Although not discussed in the movie, unfortunately in this case, no one prepared the star athlete for life, when he got kicked off the team at Univ. of Florida.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Outstanding Insight!, January 18, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Year of the Bull (DVD)
I just saw this movie on SHOWTIME. I thought it was an outstanding insight into highschool athletes and everything that surrounds them. The guts, the glory, the worshipping, the shortcomings and all the hurdles they overcome. This documentary even brought me back to my highschool sports days. I thought that the lead player was a perfect pick for this. Awesome must see for any highschool football fan young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Year of the Darters, November 2, 2009
This review is from: Year of the Bull (DVD)
In 2001 the Apopka Blue Darters defeated the Miami Northwestern Bulls in the Florida High School State Championship 6A game. It was supposed to be "The Year of the Bull" but it became "The Year of the Darters". Taurean Charles learned a very valuable lesson: one man does not a team make.
Watch closely and you'll see discipline and natural talent on display. The real story was Apopka's coaches' leadership, community support and the team's talent, heart and soul. These led to college scholarships, lifelong friendships and NFL dreams. Many of the Apopka kids came from poverty and disentigrating families but the program gave them stability because it came with expectations. School work, respect for self and others and on game day, dress shirts and ties.
Coach Darlington says, "Football only lasts for a little while...we try to give them a little love and a little discipline....maybe they'll be better husbands and fathers". And thanks to Apopka alum Warren Sapp those kids have a state championship ring to remember "The Year of the Darters" for the rest of their lives. It seems like a fairy tale, but it was real and it should have been the story. Instead we see the dysfunctional mess that is public education and many high school sports programs in America.
Rest in Peace T.M.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The movie was honesty at it's best BUT.............., January 26, 2005
By 
Noelle (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Year of the Bull (DVD)
I have to say I totally disagreed how the coaches verbally abused those "boys" to get them to win a game. They made them feel like they were losers in the game of life if they couldn't succeed in football. He plays a violent sport, brought up by violent coaches and people catering to his needs because he was so good in high school. He was accepted into college but is then charged with assaulting a female his soph year. I'm not surprised at all and who knows what else he's gotten away with. He has a whole of of growing up to do. Give them nothing and they will expect nothing, give them more and they want more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Film is on the money !!!! Take it from a Native of Miami, September 5, 2006
This review is from: Year of the Bull (DVD)
I find it very disgusting that people actually took the time to make negative comments about this film. I am from Miami and I know the real truth behind football. People complain about the verbal abuse from the coaches, but think slavery was okay. Go figure !!! Well anyway, some people can't relate to this movie because they have lived the perfect little privileged life...so what !!! It's okay for those serial killers to use a defense of having a bad childhood, huh??? Get off of Taurean's back !!! And for all the pessimists...Taurean Charles is now a highly scouted senior at A Historically Black College. I watched him play on, Saturday, September 2, 2006. Don't feel sorry for him...because he'll be laughing all the way to the bank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Year of the Bull
Year of the Bull by Todd Lubin (DVD - 2005)
$14.99 $4.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.