Customer Reviews


374 Reviews
5 star:
 (232)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


266 of 300 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an undisputed masterpiece
Breaking the tradition of a five-year gap between albums, Trent Reznor has released the new Nine Inch Nails album "Year Zero" (2007) a mere two years after "With Teeth" (2005). Reznor attributes the long periods between albums in the past on alcohol and drug excess that comes from touring. Sober now for the last several years, focused and confident, Reznor's "Year Zero"...
Published on April 8, 2007 by Daniel Ferguson-Maltzman

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good effort, but just lacking... something.
i've listened to this album many times now and i think my evalution for the most part is an objective one. i was not impressed with Year Zero upon first listen, but it grew on me a bit after a few more. it borrows a lot from previous NIN material, but it's not enough for it to sound like a complete rehash. there are plenty of great things going on musically, and...
Published on August 26, 2007 by nom allay


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

266 of 300 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an undisputed masterpiece, April 8, 2007
By 
This review is from: Year Zero (Audio CD)
Breaking the tradition of a five-year gap between albums, Trent Reznor has released the new Nine Inch Nails album "Year Zero" (2007) a mere two years after "With Teeth" (2005). Reznor attributes the long periods between albums in the past on alcohol and drug excess that comes from touring. Sober now for the last several years, focused and confident, Reznor's "Year Zero" is perhaps the best album of his career.

"Highly conceptual. Quite noisy. F@!#ing cool" is how Reznor describes "Year Zero," which I think, really hits the (pardon the pun) nail on the head. Stepping outside himself and eschewing NIN's usual self-involved angry and depressive themes, "Year Zero" portrays a bleak picture of (presumably) American society sometime in the not too distant future. Conflict abounds, militarily and between classes, which is the major theme of the album. Different songs offer different perspectives of this futuristic world--from soldiers ("the good solider,") to greedy industrialists ("capital G") to extra-terrestrials; the listener sees this corrupt society from different vantage points.

While Reznor took a more rock oriented, organic, almost live sounding approach with "With Teeth," "Year Zero" sounds more like old-school NIN in that it is more "industrial" sounding, with less live drumming. And whereas when listening to most past NIN albums, one gets a sense of what the singles will be, with "Year Zero," this is not so obvious. While some of the songs have an infectious hook, it's hard to imagine most of these songs as radio-staples, as the album is kind of "out there." And while with many albums one can listen to individual tracks and enjoy the songs, separate from the album they are part of, "Year Zero" definitely sounds best when listened to in its entirety--as the listener can appreciate the songs more fully when the album is heard as a unit. Like any NIN of course, there are a lot of textures, often with a lot of instrumentals and effects going on at once; so while this album sounds good with just one listen, it just gets better and better with repeated plays. And while "Year Zero" is "quite noisy," the album doesn't hit you over the head the way "The Downward Spiral" does. "Year Zero," while at times chaotic, is more restrained, but no less powerful.

The short chaotic instrumental "Hyperpower," in its urgency, sets the pace of the album. "The Beginning of the End," with lyrics like "watch what you say they can read your mind," paints the future in Orwellian terms. Tuneful and straightforward, "The Beginning of the End" is somewhat similar to the styling of "With Teeth" era NIN. The rocking "Survivalism," already a radio hit, while not terribly challenging or one of the album's strongest songs, is effective and good enough. The somewhat subdued "The Good Solider," is taken from the perspective of a soldier, who is seriously questioning why he is fighting. The chimes towards the end of the song are especially effective. The bizarre, totally off-beat "Vessel," sounds "big" but also spacey. When I listen to it I visualize a Tyrannosaurus Rex romping through some prehistoric jungle. I interpret the song to be about some kind of drug/mind control devise. The meaning behind the eerie, sluggish "Me, I'm Not" is ambiguous. A cool song, this one needs to grow on you. The industrial anthem "capital G" is perhaps one of the strongest songs on the album. From the perspective of "the machine," the shakers and the movers behind business interests and the military-industrial-complex, "capital G" depicts the ruthlessness of those who hold the real power. "My Violent Heart," which goes back-and-forth between a restrained verse and loud, frenzied chorus, is quite captivating. The meaning of the song is somewhat vague--with the clear message that actions have consequences, as Reznor proclaims:

"you have set something in motion

much greater than you've ever known

standing there in all your grand naivety

about to reap what you have sown"

Another very off-beat but cool song, "The Warning," describes the world from the perspective of some kind of alien life-form, perhaps "the presence," the four fingered being that appears on the cover of the album. The religiously themed "God Given" has a real danceable beat to it, and could probably get a few spins in the clubs. "Meet Your Master," both thematically and musically, sounds like a cross between "Head Like a Hole" and "Burn," but is more three-dimensional and intricate. The instrumental "The Greater Good," a medley of several different instruments is very low-key, creepy, and effective. The melodic and dark "The Great Destroyer" moves the album along nicely. One of Reznor's finest instrumental compositions, "Another Version of the Truth" is hauntingly beautiful and melancholy in its' understated elegance. The low-key "In this Twilight," describing one's emotions on the eve of Armageddon, is stunning. The submissive finale "Year Zero," is the perfect closer, leaving a lasting impression that sums up many of the albums themes:

"shame on us

doomed from the start

may god have mercy

on our dirty little hearts

shame on us

for all we've done

and all we ever were

just zeros and ones"

While I loved "With Teeth," there is no doubt in my mind that this is a superior album. Even though I'm a huge NIN fan and tried my best to be objective while reviewing this album, there really isn't a negative thing I can say about it. "Year Zero" is a total triumph, musically and thematically. With the state of the world the way it is, living in George W. Bush's America, an album like "Year Zero" needed to be made. Not offering any simplistic solutions and without preaching, Reznor has made the definitive album of this decade--an album encompassing the feelings of anxiety and despair one feels living in the `00s, while taking NIN's music to new heights. Reznor's "Year Zero" is an undisputed masterpiece that is essential listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Start to finish it is electronically delicious, April 23, 2007
This review is from: Year Zero (Audio CD)
I'm speechless when it comes to this album. I wasn't expecting much but omg, With Teeth was a piss stain, this album is the real deal. Don't get me wrong With Teeth was good but I couldn't listen to it from start to finish, it didn't have that weight but Year Zero, I find myself listening back to back. It starts on a good note and ends on a satisfying one. It wasn't until the album ended that I thought I gotta play it again and again.

All 16 tracks stitch this masterpiece together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, March 27, 2007
This review is from: Year Zero (Audio CD)
I'm not one of those guys who says that the newest work from an artist is their best. Did I like "With Teeth"? Of course. Was it better than "The Fragile"? Not really. Ignoring personal taste, I think it's fair to say that "The Downward Spiral" is the music-changing masterpiece of Nine Inch Nails. It was a fusion of the electronica of "Pretty Hate Machine" and the raw guitar of "Broken" and Reznor has done nothing like it since (unless you want to count the track "Burn" which came out shortly after "TDS"). "Year Zero" picks up sonically where "TDS" left off and politically where "With Teeth" left off. All of which is to say that I think this may be the best thing he's ever done. Again, this is my personal taste of preferring a lot of electronic noise (I always wanted a whole album of material like "The Becoming" and boy, did I get it!), but the bigger proof may come from the fact that Reznor has never recorded or written anything as quickly as he has "Year Zero." Anyone who understands a creative mind will understand that if it spews out of you and you don't mess with it, that's your subconscious working, which is where genius lives. It's loud, it's angry, and the future's not bright. I can't wait to hear what Part Two is like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In this twilight....., April 5, 2007
This review is from: Year Zero (Audio CD)
Don't be fooled, "Year Zero" sounds nothing like previous Nine Inch Nails releases. Perhaps its because the whole album was constructed on a lap top music making program. Perhaps because Trent Reznor has evolved as a human being. Perhaps its because "Year Zero" is part of a bigger picture, a concept album that depicts a story set in a dystopian future where the government oversteps its boundries in a post apocalyptical cyberpunk world. Perhaps because the planets and stars were aligned at the perfect moment.

Whatver the case may be, "Year Zero" sounds worlds apart from all of the previous Nine Inch Nails outings, and for the better. Yes, it sounds much different from "With Teeth", a less than stellar, yet enjoyable album. "Year Zero" sounds nothing like "The Downward Spiral", even though a select few are comparing them. And it certainly sounds nothing like "The Fragile", NIN's most versatile and complete recording.

One thing that you must remember is that all previous Nine Inch Nails albums convey a vary dark world and very self-depricating lyrics, bi-polar depression rantings, sickness and healing.

Unlike all of his previous albums, "Year Zero" features lyrics that have nothing to do with Trent Reznor's problems. It is a concept album, and an awesome one at that.

Maybe its because I am in love with anything cyberpunk, to which this album directly relates, in both sound and lyrics, that I find awesome. Or maybe its because Trent is evolving as an artist and as a human, shedding the depressing and darkness allowing for a more cohesive vision to protrude through. I don't know.

That is not to say that "The Downward Spiral" and "The Fragile" are not amazing projects, because they are. Personally I feel that "The Fragile" is the best album Nine Inch Nails has released, with "The Downward Spiral" coming in second. But there is something about "Year Zero" and its concept that is most intriguing.

Evolution.

Yes, the most amazing thing about this album is that Trent is not regurgitating the same ol' thing again. "With Teeth" was the same ol' stuff we have heard him sing a thousand times. That is why its not really all that amazing, we have heard it before.

No, "Year Zero" features lyrics depicting a particular event or narration from a particular persons viewpoint within this grand story that Trent has created. And that makes "Year Zero" the best.

People are going to draw major conclusions, stating that "Year Zero" is a direct relation to the present state of our world, with President Bush and the Patriot Act, the war....on and on.

While I agree, the present state of anything is going to affect anyone creating art, it only served as a catalyst. Distopian cyberpunk stories have been around since the early 80's, maybe even before that.

I have always had a vision that Trent Reznor could conjure up a great story, and here it is. Well part of it. Rumor is, that this is part one, and there is possibly a movie too. I can only hope!

Another thing that makes this album so monumentous, and it IS monumentous, is the lengths Trent went to hype this album up. The flash drives with leaked material and pure noise containing messages, secret messages on tour t-shirts, the web sites with all the little tidbits and back stories. Its a very clever marketing scheme, and a fun way to involve all of the fans in a little game of discovery, which it did. The internet was all buzzing over the sites and flash drives and hidden messages.

OK, enough of all that, onto the album...

"Year Zero" features music entirely displaced in the Nine Inch Nails catalogue. But at the same time it fits perfectly. The reason I say that it is displaced is that there are barely any guitars or screaming involved. Much more emphasis is placed on regular singing, and the music is comprised of Trip-Hop/electronic/noise. Break beats are melded with semi-industrial beats to form an awesome and original sound.

Yes, I said Break Beats! There is a small tinge of influence from Hip-Hop/Trip Hop going on in the beats, along with Trent's passion for Industrial drums.

Ambient and other electronic sounds pervade each track. The best way I can describe it is that this is PURE lap top music in all its glory and greatness. What I would consider "futuristic" music.

There are no definable "sadness" parts or "depressing" melodies to be found on "Year Zero", a nice change. I cannot express how happy I am that Trent has decided to try something different. On the same note, Trent's signature instrument, the piano, doesn't come in until "Another Version of the Truth" (beautiful piano by the way, just beautiful), the third to the last track on the album!

It is awesome to hear a Nine Inch Nails album that doesn't overkill with guitars and screaming.

Evolution, baby.

Oh, "The Great Destroyer" probably features the most guitar work on the album. But compared to albums like "The Downward Spiral" and "The Fragile", the guitar work is tamer than a Sonny and Cher song.

By the way, "The Great Destroyer" features one of the finest "noise" freak outs I have ever heard.

Like I said earlier, the whole album was comprised on a lap top computer program, and you can certainly tell. Well, at least I can, being that I make music on lap top program as well, and I can spot out the sound. Igf you are familiar with computer music programs, then you will be able to discern the different sounds in each song and the type of effect and manipulation Trent used to achieve that particular effect.

Trent even stated himself that most of the songs were created out of doodling on said computer program, and all of the songs were crafted in little time.

If anyting, the great amount of noise featured on "Year Zero" takes place of the massive distorted guitars of previous albums, and it sounds perfect. The whole musical atmosphere of "Year Zero" perfectly depicts a dystopian, cyberpunk world. There are some guitars featured, but they are sparse, and they never overwhelm the album. Overall, behind the break beats, there is a deep ambient mood pervading this album, and lots of layers to peel away. Random blips and bloops, dissonance and noise creep around each corner, but they always fit within what is going on.

On to Trent's lyrics...

Very political. Very very political. But that is the essence of the story, not necessarily reflecting present day world issues, but at the same time, is.

One thing that is of note, the song "Meet Your Master" sounds like it wouldn't be out of place on an earlier Nine Inch Nails album, however it still fits within the mythos of the concept.

I haven't quite put together the whole story featured on the album yet, it seems that the album most likely takes place in America, where the government is getting out of control. Control is the word, trying to control thoughts, actions, everything. The government has put a chemical in the water that controls everyone. Basically, everything is falling apart. Themes of war play a big part as well.

There are seeds of dissent as well, groups that are trying to fight the government.

There is a mysterious being called the Presence, featured on the cover of the album, however I don't know much about this being.

I haven't been able to delve too deep into the lyrics yet to grasp the story, but from what I have heard, I am very pleased.

Just the fact that this album isn't another depressing outing is good enough for me.

As far as structure wise, everything falls within a linear fashion, save the crazy noise orgasms that frequent this album. Verse, chorus, verse, aside from short instrumental passages, of which "Another Version of the Truth" is one of these. Each song has little moments that make each track stand out. There is no song that is forgettable, or skippable, not yet at least.

The last song on the album, "Zero-Sum" I(which I think is the only other song to feature piano, besides "Another Version of the Truth") is kind of funny, because it has the whole "moral" thing to it, the NIN way of course. Just listen to the chorus. Its tongue-in cheek

I was very disappointed in "With Teeth", and I thought that the end was around the corner for Nine Inch Nails. I figured "washed-up", "has been" applied. And then Trent does something that totally redeems himself!

That is not to say that critics won't bash this album. Oh, yes this album will be the target of haters galore. Why? Because the general concept of the story has been done before. Because people with write this off as Trent Reznor's attempt at a politically charged album. I also know that many will attack this album on the basis that it was totally created on a computer. Many people consider music made on a computer NOT music. There is actually a lot of hatred toward non-traditional music( by tradtional I mean music made with guitars, bass, drums..etc..).

Do yourself a favor, don't pass this album up. Give it a few good listens, it is well worth it. The beats alone are "tight", in a way that Nine Inch Nails beats have never been before. The production is very "tight" as well.

Trent totally satisfied exactly what I wanted to hear from him, a wonderful concept album with heavy futuristic overtones.

All in all, "Year Zero" is a great album, that may not break the boundries of amazing musicianship, but does exactly what it is supposed to. It conveys a story. And a darn good one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dystopian Idol, April 17, 2007
By 
This review is from: Year Zero (Audio CD)
("Year Zero" by Nine Inch Nails)

I'm sure that by now you've been reading about the elaborate "viral marketing" scheme Trent Reznor has concocted for his new concept album, "Year Zero." Numerous mysterious web sites with names like IAmTryingToBelieve and AnotherVersionOfTheTruth help tell the hyperlinked story of a future America (2022, now reset to just 0000) in which a Christian theocracy has seized power, setup a Draconian Department of Morality, keeping the nation in a perpetual state of war and fear, and is dumping mind control drugs into the water, etc. etc. ad nauseum. This is all very appealing if, say, you're still crushed by "The X-Files" no longer being in production or obsessively haunt "Lost" related sites searching for clues. However, if you're just a plain old music fan, you'll tend to ignore the crypto-hype and just ask if this is an actual album worth losing part of your hearing to. Well, friends and neighbors, I'm happy to report that not only is this a great album, but it's also NIN's best music since The Downward Spiral way back in 1994.

Don't get me wrong, I liked The Fragile and With Teeth, but "Year Zero" returns Reznor's work to the more experimental edginesss that gave "Spiral" such a spark of brilliance. Ignoring current trends in music, YZ often goes full throttle into left-field electronica. After an opening salvo of noisy rock (and BTW, most of the album is pretty noisy) with a heavy but raw drum sound, songs like "Vessel" and "Me, I'm Not" are a successful mashup of punk and Autechre-style glitch, while "Capital G" seems to be Reznor's angry version of the U.K. grime scene. "Survivalism," the first single, is in many ways classic NIN: gritty electro/metal/punk along the lines of older songs like "Mr. Self Destruct," only with a more dingy, lo-fi element that makes it hurt that much better. The closing track, "zero-Sum," is particularly amazing, a subdued anthem cut through with all manner of clicks, hiss and pops--think maybe of Tom Waits gone digital and you're halfway there. The overall effect of the album is often jarring, but if you're into the noisy likes of, say, Chrome, "Year Zero" is like taking a comforting acid bath.

Oh yeah, and that whole concept album thing. The "story," such as it is, never intrudes upon the music like rock operas of the past. There are no overtures or between-song skits. While there are definitely some moments of piano-laced beauty, the album is mostly straight ahead (but bleeding edge) electro rock. Reznor's lyrical inspiration isn't hard to decipher, even if he never utters the word "Bush." Actually, it's amazing that for such a horrible president, Dubya has inspired any number of strong political statements, bot direct (Green Day's American Idiot) and indirect (My Chemical Romance's The Black Parade). Trent Reznor in particular might want to thank the man perssonally for inspiring the most vital and relevant album of his career. And they say irony is dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new high for NIN, April 6, 2007
By 
J. Prendergast (Chicago, IL, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Year Zero (Audio CD)
I am a huge fan of almost everything that Reznor has done. From 'Pretty Hate Machine' through 'With Teeth', it seems to always be that kind of music that speaks to you and that you can find an easy connection to. This newest release is by far one of his greatest accomplishments. From beginning to end 'Year Zero' grabs you and does not let go until it finally falls to silence. Through all the noise and Reznor's trademark voice is a concept of a not-too-distant future vision of the world. This is a world that has been destroyed by war, mind control, over-powered politicians and the like. The album takes this concept and tells the "story" from several viewpoints. Some songs are told in more of an objective form such as "The Beginning of the End" and "God Given". Some, however, are told from a very personal point of view that can be seen as very obvious comparisons to the world we live in today (albeit taken to a slightly higher extreme). The album never trully breaks form and is able to provide several layers of meaning to the listener, making it much much more than just a concept album. There are no throw-away tracks either. Almost every track is single worthy.

Do not expect what you've heard in the past. No two albums of Reznor's are quite the same. This is no exception. Those who were disappointed by 'With Teeth' will be pleasantly surprised at this newest outing. Even if you have never heard Nine Inch Nails before, this is as good a starting point as any. There is something for everyone here and it is truly one of the "must-buys" of the 21st century in western culture music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bring on the NOISE!, April 18, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Year Zero (Audio CD)
Thank you for not taking so damn long to put out another album since you last one. And thank you for a "return to form" (clichéd perhaps, but true in my estimation) albeit in a new direction. Not since The Downward Spiral have I enjoyed one of your albums so much. I have to admit that though I like With Teeth, I don't love it, and it has not gotten a lot of play in my CD player. Well baby, that has change with Year Zero. Political and Social issues aside, it is a great concept for an album and a great sound. I actually like Capital G, contrary to another reviewers take, and it is the most "poppy" of the songs on this expansive album. I really love the sound textures that are explored, and the music itself really engages me. I would rank it up there with Downward Spiral and Pretty Hate Machine, my two favorite NIN albums, though it has a more "Broken" feel to it in places. It edges out The Fragile for my 3rd favorite, and it well ahead of With Teeth (sorry Trent).

All in all, I like this new direction stylistically and musically. The lyrics are an improvement over With Teeth as well. Keep experimenting, you seem to find your muse that way. Superbly engineered, excellent audio quality. Bring on the sound collages and I look forward to hearing what follows. But for now, my ears are feasting...

4 1/2 Stars ...I'm hoping the best is yet to come.

EDIT: Okay, I've been listening to YZ for over a week now and it is still a rewarding experience. Some may say it does not have the depth of former albums but to you I say, keep listening. I am finding new things to hear on every spin, and the songs are growing on me even more -- getting under my skin. Truly a complete work, I journey through it then want to hit repeat to take the journey again. YZ also got me to throw With Teeth back in my CD player and I have to say that I am appreciating it more than I used to.

While I found Year Zero almost immediately accessible, that by no means makes it simple and I am do discover new things with every listen. Don't compare it to previous works and enjoy it for what it is.

UPDATE (013108): I've had this album for a while now and it just keeps getting better with repeat listens. I discover something new in each song, some subtle variations that are revealed only after many spins. A good sound system helps too. This is far from being just noise -- it is an expertly crafted sonic landscape. I am really looking forward to YZ Pt.2. Until then, if you like this, then check out Y34RZ3R0R3MIX3D / [CD/DVD Combo]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "And all we ever were, just zeros and ones...", April 22, 2007
By 
Michael Crane (Orland Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Year Zero (Audio CD)
Although I hadn't followed the extremely elaborate and horrifyingly creative marketing behind this album, when I heard that Trent was going to put out a new album in such a short amount of time after the release of "With Teeth" (well, short by NIN standards), I immediately got excited. I've been a huge fan of Nine Inch Nails for a long time and Reznor had never disappointed me. Even though I didn't think "With Teeth" was his best effort, I had a feeling it was leading up to something even bigger than the fans and even Reznor could have ever imagined. And that is this supreme entity that is "Year Zero." I cannot tell you how many times I've listened to this entire album, as I have lost count. Trust me, I'm sure it's in the hundreds somewhere.

"Year Zero" being a conceptual album tells the story of a very bleak and ultimately hopeless America in the future where power and greed has overtaken the country, the government is in control of everyone and everything, and not only that, a sort of "presence" from another world, another universe has given us a stern warning to change our ways or face our terrible annihilation. While the album does tell a story, gives us different perspectives and such, it still works as a full length album that's enjoyable to listen to all the way through even if you don't pick up on all of that from the start.

It's really hard to put in words what an impression this album has left on me, but I'll do my best. After hearing this album, it now becomes clear and it seems like all the other past albums were leading up to this moment. I think Trent knew all along he would make this album, it was just a question of time. The music and the lyrics are hypnotically stunning and Reznor's still got it as far as vocals are concerned. There are verses and choruses that will stay with you and refuse to get out of your head, especially the last haunting chorus in "zero-sum."

This is really an album that you want to listen to all the way through every single time. Sure, there are songs that are my favorites, but the experience comes from listening to the entire thing. It's rare when I want to do that, and also listen to it in the exact order that it's presented. My favorites are "the beginning of the end," "survivalism," "the good soldier," "capital g," "the warning," "in this twilight," and "zero-sum." Again, I love the entire album, but those are my favorites.

Just keep this in mind, if you're expecting another "Downward Spiral," you will be disappointed. Know why? Because "Year Zero" sounds like "Year Zero." It's a different entity from the other past efforts. Also, this is one that requires multiple listens as you'll pick up something new each time. So, make sure you listen to it a bunch of times all the way through before you make your decision. It's not meant to be an instant hit, although it was for me. Instant hits get forgotten quickly. "Year Zero" will go down as one of those classic albums that everybody talks about, and I truly believe in that. Mellow, loud, noisy, quiet and shockingly deep, Reznor has put out a superb masterpiece, and after many listens I can safely say that "Year Zero" is by far my favorite Nine Inch Nails album. -Michael Crane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most important music made in a very very long time!, April 7, 2007
By 
Joshua J. Wolfanger (Travelers Rest, SC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Year Zero (Audio CD)
I have been a NIN fan since day one. Since the first time I heard Pretty Hate Machine. I have never been disappointed with any single recording Trent Reznor has ever put forth into the musical stratosphere. Having said that, I will admit that With Teeth did seem like a step back in the progression of his genius. Not to say that I don't absolutely love With Teeth, it was just very hard for me to accept into the Halo family. It took me about 5-6 listens before I got it. I am one of the very few faithful NIN fans that will defend that album to no end. I was extremely concerned when I heard that Year Zero was coming out so quickly. Mr. Reznor is not one to be rushed, he makes no artistic compromises to his vision no matter the circumstances. Year Zero has effectively blown me away. I am very proud that I have been singing NIN praises for years. This album has it all. I am excited. I want every one I know to hear this recording, because if there were ever a NIN album that displayed the pure and utter genius of NIN, it is Year Zero. This is the new The Downward Spiral. There is not a week track on the album, and each one is intricately sewn together with the next. This is what a concept album should be. And I am only touching the surface of the brilliance of this album. Every artist in music no matter what their genre need to take note of this album. This is what music is supposed to be. This is a very exciting time for NIN fans. I would be very surprized if this album doesn't win every award and accolade it truly deserves. Thank you so much Trent and everyone that had a hand in this album. You have truly created a masterpeice. I cannot wait for what is to follow. I know I will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, some nice change ups., April 20, 2007
By 
Wiseguy 945 (Cedar Rapids, IA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Year Zero (Audio CD)
Trent reznor is on the ball these last couple of years, releasing with teeth and now Year Zero, both solid works. It continues much of the same progression and style of music he has had recently, with some good change ups from a harder sound/rock driven music to a more toned down, lyrically driven music as well. I am starting to warm up to his newer material, but Still find myself going back to the classics, Pretty hate machine, Broken, and the downward spiral. Worth picking up, some solid material that really is a blend of all of his years work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Year Zero
Year Zero by Nine Inch Nails (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.