Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BACK TO NATURE, September 30, 2001
This review is from: The Years of the Forest (Fesler-Lampert Minnesota Heritage) (Paperback)
This is the last book in the nature series by Helen Hoover chronicling her and her husband's sixteen years in a small cabin in the Northern Minnesota wilderness. With fine pen and ink illustrations by Ade Hoover, the book is a modern day "Walden" as Helen and Ade cope with the ways of the wilderness after leaving prestigious jobs in the Chicago steel industry for a life that affords none of the comforts of modern living. High-brow readers and scientific minds will cringe with suppressed delight as The Hoovers study the natural world by feeding it, comforting it, and befriending any wayward creature that happens through their cabin door. If you like nature writing with a tinge of sentiment or if you ever imagined getting away from it all and living in a cabin in the woods, you will find this book and the entire series essential and delightful reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Book, December 2, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Years of the Forest (Fesler-Lampert Minnesota Heritage) (Paperback)
I borrowed this book from the library when I was 12 (I am 39 now). This is the one of the books I have borrowed over and over again. Now...I have bought it so other ppl can get it at the library. I have also ordered all of Helen's books. I can't wait to enjoy more of Helen's writing. She makes me long for a cabin in the woods and a simpler life. If you love nature this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bittersweet followup, February 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Years of the Forest (Fesler-Lampert Minnesota Heritage) (Paperback)
"Years of the Forest" is a companion book of Hoover's engaging tale, "A Place in the Woods", and covers approx. 13 years of the Hoover's life in the Minnesota wilderness during the 1950's-60's as Helen and Ade continue their study of the wildlife that populate their small slice of Eden.

Each chapter features a task that the couple completed on their property along with studied observations of the animals that come to see the Hoovers' as a non-threatening source of sustanance. In return, the various deer, chipmunks, red squirrels, groundhogs, bobcats, linxs, frogs, etc. provide much needed inspiration and humor for the couple as they write about (Helen) and draw (Ade) the animals in their habitat for articles (and later these very books). The Hoover's approach to life is simple and spartan and harkens back to a pioneer spirit and rugged individualism that most of us today can only faintly imagine. Their brand of conservation is more distilled and daily applied then most environmentalists today could ever handle. They truely "walked the walk".

Helen and Ade were often let down by mankind, especially as increased development in the MN wilderness and careless poachers needlessly destroyed some of the Hoover's animal friends. The final 1/4th of the book covering the late 1960's and early 1970's was really sad to read, as the Hoovers watched their little Eden slowly being covered over in asphalt roads, trailer homes, and a mindset that didn't honor the interdependance of nature. In the final chapter, Helen, while disappointed in the changes wrought by her fellow humans, also realizes that through her and Ade's small efforts, they were able to bring about a change of their own. One that was positive and that would live on in the woods and creatures they called home and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living in nature and on the land is hard, but rewarding to the Hoovers, February 4, 2012
This review is from: Years of the Forest (Hardcover)
This is the third book I have recently finished written by Helen Hoover. Mrs Hoover was a wonderful environmental writer, and in my opinion one of the best. Her love and enjoyment of the animals, plants, flowers and trees plus the lake, sunsets and sunrise shine out in her writing. Her enjoyment of life in general is great. The hardships of living in nature and on the land is well told,but she and Ade never wanted to go back to the softer life of the city.

The book begins in 1956, ends in 1967 with a prologue in 1971. Mrs. Hoover writes of how she loved her place in the world and how she saw a deer she had loved, protected and been a friend to. Peter. Peter was dead but she saw his youngest son who looked so much like his father that she was startled at the resemblence.

Mrs Hoover was always a champion of animals. She fed them during long, cold winters when food was short. She kept much corn around, bought it from the small store, plus got it from friends and neighbors who knew how she loved and protected these wild creatures. She was against hunting,a sport she detested. Too many of her animal friends were killed by hunters.

The deep woods was changing. People were moving into these areas, loving the beauty, tall trees, quiet, then bringing in civilization to make where they had moved to just like where they had left. People were building vacation homes. Helen didn't care for these changes. She missed the quiet and felt the ways of nature should be respected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, December 31, 2010
This review is from: The Years of the Forest (Fesler-Lampert Minnesota Heritage) (Paperback)
I love all of the Helen Hoover series of books! I'm sadly reading my last one. If you love nature, you will love reading Helen Hoover's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my favorite author, April 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Years of the Forest (Fesler-Lampert Minnesota Heritage) (Paperback)
Helen Hoover and her husband went to live deep in the forest in northern minnesota. They were intimately acquainted with the land and the critters in it. She writes about their experiences in great detail, that you feel as though you are living in the woods yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have for Lovers of Nature and the North Woods, November 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Years of the Forest (Fesler-Lampert Minnesota Heritage) (Paperback)
This is a wonderful part of Helen Hoover's books about the life she and her husband Ade lived in the woods. It's illustrated with Ade's beautiful artwork. Beautiful, lyrical writing. I highly recommend it, especially to anyone who loves the North Woods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helen Hoover, February 8, 2008
By 
Karla Dinger "Snow White" (Deerwood, Mn United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Years of the Forest (Fesler-Lampert Minnesota Heritage) (Paperback)
Wonderful books. Wish she had written more. Didn't want this book to end. I loved every one of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Condition, January 30, 2013
This review is from: Years of the Forest (Hardcover)
the book was used, but in very good condition, it was purchased for a friend who treasures these books but the history of the book itself I found facinating....this book has been around for many years but was in excellent condition and was pleased that I was able to find it...thanks again for the great service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helen Hoover fan, October 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love all of the books written by Helen Hoover! I just discovered them recently but will re-read them again and again. Helen and her husband were rugged individualists and a one of a kind couple. I love the way she writes and she makes simple, everyday activities so interesting. I could never live the way they did but certainly enjoyed reading about the years they spent in the forest and especially the deer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Years of the Forest (Fesler-Lampert Minnesota Heritage)
The Years of the Forest (Fesler-Lampert Minnesota Heritage) by Helen Hoover (Paperback - April 1, 1999)
$16.95 $11.36
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.