Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yellow Rock-A Review
Solid writing and acting. A very enjoyable [independent] Western, unlike a similar film recently released, "Legend of Hell's Gate". Lenore Andriel did a great job with the writing and producing, especially with it being her first Western ever. She also delivered a pretty solid performance as Dr. Sarah. Michael Biehn and James Russo delivered equally solid performances...
Published 23 months ago by AravisKenobi

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars KILLING A RAVEN IS A BAD OMEN
The film opens with a poorly scripted, worse read narrative about the plight of the Native Americans. Max Dietrich (James Russo) an apparently bad guy comes into Yellow Rock to hire Tom Hanner (Michael Biehn) to take him through Black Paw territory so he can locate his missing brother and nephew. His party of men end up with Dr. Sarah Taylor, an interpreter respected by...
Published 19 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A ho hum movie cliche about a fictional tribe that never existed, February 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yellow Rock (DVD)
Too bad good actors were wasted on a bullspit fantasy script. While the press touts this as being about the "Black Paw" tribe of California, NO such tribe ever existed, and IF this is supposed to be in California, why are the "Indians" dressed in northern plains (Lakota) style...???

This movie is NOT fact based, so view it in that context...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars KILLING A RAVEN IS A BAD OMEN, December 10, 2012
This review is from: Yellow Rock (DVD)
The film opens with a poorly scripted, worse read narrative about the plight of the Native Americans. Max Dietrich (James Russo) an apparently bad guy comes into Yellow Rock to hire Tom Hanner (Michael Biehn) to take him through Black Paw territory so he can locate his missing brother and nephew. His party of men end up with Dr. Sarah Taylor, an interpreter respected by the Black Paw and a member of the tribe (Michael Spears) to make sure they don't pass through the sacred burial grounds which would curse them. Of course they pass through the daylight medieval misty burial grounds and the film takes the anticipated twist.

The acting was over done to the point of being bad. Lenore Andriel, who also wrote and produced this film was perhaps the worse of the lot reminding me of a laughable Angelique Pettyjohn. I understand shooting a film on a budget, but if you are going to use a modern Presidential coin to be a $20 gold piece, don't show a close-up of the coin. C'mon Nick, at least look at the final edited version of the film.

The film ends, likewise as it begins with a narrative that should have remained on the cutting room floor.

*Winner Best Picture - 2011 Red Nation Film Festival
*Winner Best Director - Nick Vallelonga - 2011 Red Nation Film Festival
*Winner Best Actor - Michael Spears - 2011 Red Nation Film Festival

It did win these awards with 3 nominations in each category. i.e. it was judged better than 2 other films "Breaking Dawn" and "Every Emotion Costs."

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Some minor adult language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible Horrible waste of viewing time..., December 4, 2012
This review is from: Yellow Rock (DVD)
You get your typical band of "differently dressed" people in a posse', and of course, a token female, who is as believable as any other B-western. Acting was horrible, I cant see where above reviews would say otherwise. It appears that the main actor was attempting his best Clint Eastwood, but it didnt take, plus the fact that he is around 4ft tall doesnt impress.
Typical "music during endless horseback ride".
Typical "horrible acting"
Typical nonsensical approach to a story line.

I rented it from redbox, and didnt even finish watching it. It was that bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst movie I've seen in years, December 7, 2012
This review is from: Yellow Rock (DVD)
I know the actors tried hard but I kept feeling the director must have been stoned. The plot was scattered and confusing. It just didn't draw me into the story at all. I'm glad it was a free redbox rental or I would've felt cheated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yellow Rock-A Review, August 8, 2012
This review is from: Yellow Rock (DVD)
Solid writing and acting. A very enjoyable [independent] Western, unlike a similar film recently released, "Legend of Hell's Gate". Lenore Andriel did a great job with the writing and producing, especially with it being her first Western ever. She also delivered a pretty solid performance as Dr. Sarah. Michael Biehn and James Russo delivered equally solid performances in their respective roles, and let's not forget Michael Spears! I really only saw the film for Michael and Eddie Spears and Zahn McClarnon (wasn't disappointed, let me assure you!), but I came out of the movie really enjoying it and liking it. the MPAA did rate the film as "R", but in reality, the violence is less than that of "Hell on Wheels" or other modern Westerns. Yes, it is kind of slow in the beginning, but once they move to the wolf sequence, it gets really interesting really quickly. Worth seeing, even as a "B-rated" Western!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wheezy Western limps to the finishing post, March 22, 2013
This review is from: Yellow Rock (DVD)
Westerns have had a satisfying Renaissance over the last decade or two, making me more open minded to the lower budgeted end of the market. So seeing Michael Biehn in the lead role, I was tempted to watch Yellow Rock, a tale of a tracker being asked by a group of men to help them through Indian (Blackpaw) territory to find some relatives who have gone missing... of course, all is not as it seems to be. Alas, despite some apparently deliberate box-ticking when it came to plot points and features, this effort doesn't so much belie it's low budget as do everything possible to point it out. The photography is ok.. but there is little of interest being photographed, with `been there, seen that' locations, with nary a panoramic shot in sight. The story is hackneyed and the screenplay requires the actors to deliver some pretty awful lines. Maybe that's why no-one's heart seems to be in it. It ticks boxes in terms of its sympathy for the Indians and their culture, elements of style and wardrobe very obviously borrowed from other greater Westerns, themes of greed and loyalty.. and yet it draws the line from one to the other in such a contrived way you are left constantly reminded of the fact it is a movie. Instead of thinking `what will happen next - who will survive', you're thinking `why did the screenwriter think that was a believable line - I wonder where they hid the smoke machines in that scene..'. The scenes themselves don't always tie together, with some odd jarring editing making you wonder if the original idea has been meddled with post filming.
It's a shame, I love a good Western, and have a soft spot for Biehn as an actor..I wanted to like this. However, it's just sloppily made, a tired effort that wheezes its way to a perfunctory climax that wasn't worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plot Holes A Plenty In the Old West, March 11, 2013
This review is from: Yellow Rock (DVD)
This Is one of those films that falls into the `must try harder' category. It is about a group of men who ride into a small, nowheresville town wanting to meet Tom Hanner, played by Michael Biehn (`Terminator', `Aliens' and more recently `The Divide'). He is an old tracker but has turned to the bottle after the premature death of his young son. They are led by Max Dietrich (James Russo `Django Unchained' and `Public Enemies'). He says his closest two relatives have gone missing whilst hunting at some place in the mountains. Problem is it is in Black Paw territory and these are ferocious Native Americans who everyone cacks their pants at the moment they see them.

But Tom is the sort of man that can negotiate safe passage, so after an exchange of coin off they go. Things don't go down hill straight away but the budget limitations become very obvious when we get to the Black Paw camp there are about seven teepees and some kids playing with sticks. We also have a white doctor who lives in a nice log cabin and treats the tribe, she too gets involved with the search and they all head off for high jinx and adventure. The actual warriors don't make it to double figures either but on reflection I would make a tactical retreat if they came after me.

So where does it go wrong? Well lovers of 1950's cliché schlock will say nowhere as some of the dialogue almost makes your eyes water. Some continuity and plot holes which is not an imprisonment infraction but a bit annoying and some of the acting is truly yawn inducing, but the wolves are all good. Also the editor must have phoned in his services as some of the decisions are questionable, with some scenes ending so abruptly I thought the DVD had skipped. The plot itself was also a bit of a stretch and I did say `what were they thinking?' at one point involving a burial ground.

I love westerns and I love the recent resurgence but we have all seen a bad effort and so there was no need to make a new one of that ilk. It is a passable watch though and by far from being as bad as some reviews I have read (IMDB there is a 1 star review out of ten) but this is really just OK and my rating is generous, I was going for a two but I am sure there is an audience for this, so if in doubt go down the rental route.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not one original thought in this script., February 6, 2013
This review is from: Yellow Rock (DVD)
I was hoping for better, but this film embodies all that is bad in a western. It's a Pseudo message film telling the audience that the peaceful Native American was badly treated by the greedy, dirty, and vicious white Americans. Gee, never see that one before. Lenore Andriel's script was filled with characters and lines from other, much better, westerns of the past 20-years. The script was also filled with inept lines like; "Then we don't have any time to lose!" and tired formula plot lines such as; the good guy down on his luck; the ever-abused Native Americans, the search for lost gold; the desecration of Indian burial grounds as in "Jeremiah Johnson", and Sioux speaking Native Americans discussing in their Teepee what to do with these "white people" as in "Dances With Wolves." The use of a wannabe's as Lenore Andriel's version of "Dr. Quinn - Medicine Woman" in the character of "Dr. Sarah and Christopher Backus' "Doc Holiday" character right out of the movie "Tombstone" (who's accent couldn't decide if it was from Virginia or Southern California, but did managed to get some gun spinning worked in visa vi Val Kilmer's "Doc Holiday.") Michael Biehn reprising his "Johnny Ringo/ Tombstone" line "I want your blood" but with less than half the intensity (I think even Biehn thought it was cheesy). A robbery/revenge attempt by "Road Agents" which is completely out of context. Multiple "I stab you, then I get shot, but I survive, then he gets beaten and dragged behind a horse, then he gets revenge, and on and on, scenes. Michael Biehn, Peter Sherayko (both in "Tombstone") and James Russo (seemingly reprising his "Sheriff Pike" character from "Open Range") are all respected in the industry, but once you've done it, its done, and Ms. Andriel should have know that before she put pen to paper writing this script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, January 26, 2013
This review is from: Yellow Rock (DVD)
I give this movie 3 stars, and I do so generously. I wanted to like this movie because westerns are my favorite, and lately, the only movies that I have been watching. I didn't like the story for the most part, although I liked some of the acting/actors. One of my favorite things about this genre that I like is the scenery, and surprisingly, this movie did not offer very much in the way of scenery that was of interest. I don't have much more to write about this movie other than how
disappointed I was when the Black Paw territory wasn't as dangerous as the sleeve of the dvd would have you believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars liked, January 17, 2013
By 
lynn (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yellow Rock (DVD)
Totally bias on this for one I love Westerns, and I love Michael Biehn. If you enjoy watching westerns you'll enjoy this, good story and not long drawn out on unnecessary bits in the story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Yellow Rock
Yellow Rock by Nick Vallelonga (DVD - 2012)
$14.98 $8.65
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.