Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Yellow Submarine
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$12.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 10, 2009
As to avoid any confusion, this review is specifically for the remastered version of "Yellow Submarine" since many past reviews are appearing here.

I began my quest to obtain all of the Beatles' remastered CD's with this one per my son's request; he loves the movie as well the music, so this one was an obvious choice for him!

With all of the hype surrounding the release of the remasters, I went into it with a lot of expectations, & after hearing the opening of the title track, my wife & I were believers immediately; our collective "WOW!" reaction was all it took!

The difference between this & the original 1990 CD issue is literally like night & day; the sound is greatly improved & the clarity is incredible. Of course, the technology to achieve this was not there in 1990, so for what it was, it was good; but this is astounding!

If the band tracks are not enough to convince you, listen to George Martin's orchestral score beginning with "Pepperland"; in short, it will take your breath away! Lush strings, horns & percussion all come to the forefront like never before; the sound is so beautiful & crystal clear that you feel as if you're there in the studio with them.

Do not hesitate to buy all of the remasters...I certainly won't!
1414 comments|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2005
Makes me laugh when I read bad reviews about any Beatles album.

Although the original Soundtrack to "Yellow Submarine" may not rank at the top of my fave Beatles albums list, it is more representative of the original movie than the more recent re-release that came out with the DVD release.

True, the title track and "All You Need Is Love" WERE previously available on other albums. But the four new tracks were fantastic additions to The Beatles' catalog.... with the exception of MAYBE Paul's silly "Altogether Now". But, as the official review stated, "Beatles throw-aways are any other band's greatest hits!" (paraphrased).

George gets to shine on the Yellow Sub soundtrack. "Only A Northern Song" has a similar melody line and structure as his song from two years prior, "If I Needed Someone", but with a much more psychadelic flavor. "It's All Too Much" is one of Harrison's best tracks ever - with The Beatles or solo. On this track, you can detect the influence his buddy Eric Clapton was having on him by 1968.

John's "Hey, Bulldog" is another one of those Lennon masterpieces that somehow got over-looked, much like "Across The Universe" has always been. It contains one of the most recognizable and iconic guitar/piano/bass licks ever recorded. It also features some of Paul McCartney's best bass work.

"Altogether Now" is a fun song. Not the best Beatles track, but one that is such a part of the whole "Yellow Sub" vibe that it's shortfalls are more than forgiven. As a some-time songwriter myself, I'd have been proud to be able to say that I wrote it!

The instrumentals are just that - instrumentals used as background music for the movie. They are classic George Martin and, just as he worked so well with The Beatles, they work well along side The Beatles' songs.

No Beatles record collection is complete without "Yellow Submarine".
0Comment|57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2010
The 1999 Yellow Submarine Songtrack is not the 1969, 1990, 2009 Yellow Submarine Soundtrack. Names are similar and confusing. The 1999 reissue is a totally different alternate Yellow Submarine album. It lacks the George Martin Orchestral tracks but adds in a number of then popular Beatles songs, some associated with the film, to make a sort of greatest hits album. Remember the "Yellow Submarine (1969)" film story is also "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (1967)" too and is "continued" series of songs from that album. The 1999 track listing is virtually totally different from the 1990 or 2009 CDs or 1969 LP. Only sharing about 6 songs. Amazon has the reviews all jumbled up and mixed up. I have not compared the actual sound of the CDs yet. Though since 1999 is between 1990 and 2009, the sound might be an intermediate improvement over the ancient LP (at least for the 6 songs. It like most reissues is surely remixed to some extent. Sure, the regular Yellow Submarine Film Soundtrack albums are short on actual Beatles songs (should be priced as an "CD-EP"), but there are some good ones. Can't rate any Beatles (official album) less than 4 or 5. Buy both albums.
77 comments|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2005
This album, released in 1969, may have the least original material. However, it is a good buy.

Two songs are rereleases, the two being All You Need Is Love, and the title track. Seven tracks are instrumentals from the film, by George Martin.

The four orignal Beatles tracks alone, however, are splendid.

The First is Only A Northern Song. Penned by Harrison, it was intened for Sgt. Pepper.

The Second is All Togther Now. A cheesy song by Paul, it is sung to the beat of a jump rope tune. It was used in a verizon commercial.

Hey Bulldog is third. THis track was the last REAL lennon/mccartney song. It is a good rocker, with John in good voice.

Last is It's All Too Much. A real roch anthem by George, it is one of the longest Beatles' songs, at over 6 minutes.

All in all, it a great package. Not for beginners, but for everyone else.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2016
I love Yellow Submarine. I first listened to it when I was 12 years old when I borrowed a tape of it from the library and listened to it on my way home on the bus. Imagine hearing this through the ears of a 12 year old boy who was just discovering The Beatles and the world. It blew me away. Each and every song. As for the orchestral songs, I always considered them as an integral part of the Beatles discography. They are meticulously orchestrated gorgeous pieces of music.

I recently read a bit about Yellow Submarine. It seems people aren't fond of this album. But I can understand their view. I mean 2 of the songs had already been released and so there's only 4 new songs and the rest is made up of orchestral compositions composed by George Martin. George Martin is as much of the Beatles and so anything by Martin is very welcome on a Beatles album. The orchestral pieces are wonderful music.

The albums that I'm not fond of are Help, Abbey Road and Let It Be. Yellow Submarine is in the albums that I cherish.

It's All Too Much is worth the price of admission alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2009
It is stretching things a little bit to describe this as a Beatles album, since half of the album is taken up with George Martin's orchestral score for the movie. Many of these tunes are pleasant enough, and it's certainly of interest to Martin fans, but the reality is they are not Beatles songs.

So only half of the album (six songs) are Beatles' efforts. And only four of them are new. And only two of those are worth shelling out for. Are two songs worth the cost of a whole album?

Die-hard fans will no doubt answer "yes", but I'm not sure what they'll make of this. 'Yellow Submarine' and 'All You Need is Love' are Beatle classics and certainly worthy of another listen, but the fact is that these are not new songs. Of the four songs that actually are new, 'All Together Now' is a throwaway, and the self-consciously ironic 'Only A Northern Song' is not much more. In contrast, 'Hey Bulldog' is a great song; with a catchy stomping riff, a good performance from Lennon on vocals, and a singalong chorus. And Harrison's epic 'It's All Too Much' is clearly the best of the lot; like many Harrison-penned Beatle songs of the late 60's, it seems to point the way forward to 'All Things Must Pass'.

So two outstanding songs from the mid 60's, a couple of good new songs, some filler, and half an album's worth of orchestral noodling. Even allowing for the old "Beatle throwaways are better than most band's best music" theory, this is a very underwhleming release, and not really a proper Beatles album at all. It's definitely not the place to start for casual fans. Recommended for the ultra-dedicated Beatle fan only, and even then solely for completeness' sake.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2008
What if the Beatles had released this album without the movie. And if they themselves had written the orchestral music on the B-side. And released this as an epic semi-progressive rock tale about a Yellow Submarine. Then this might have been a real classic album in the progressive rock genre, almost a year before King Crimson appeared.
But when we know that these songs were just thrown together, 2 of them previously released, 2 of them from the archives being Sgt Pepper-rejects, and the orchestral score of course being written by George Martin for a film, then it's considered a disappointment. Even if the music in both cases sounds exactly the same. Isn't that an interesting thought?
My advise is this: take YELLOW SUBMARINE with a grain of salt and find that it's an interesting mix between whacky psychedelic rock and lovely classical sounding music. And all in a good spirit. The result is actually not too far from TALES OF MYSTERY AND IMAGINATION by Alan Parsons Project.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
I purchased this LP back in 1966. And it was in perfect condition the quailty of the pressings from that time period in my opinion was much better then today. Then my grand child got his hands on my collection and this album was part of his dance steps so I will have to begin purchasing a few albums .
I was impressed with the quailty . Not disappointed at all. The only down side is that was the original this is a new pressing from this time period
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
(all music links are to LPs)

Of the three compilations released in America while the Beatles were actively recording, ("Yesterday & Today," "Yellow Submarine" and "The Beatles Again - Hey Jude"), YELLOW SUBMARINE was and is the most universally dismissed. Yet, this record truly deserves a fair shake, for it has more than its share of quality rock and orchestral music.

Side One of the album is absolutely solid. Yes, the title cut and "All You Need Is Love" are retreads-- but they're GOOD ones! "Hey Bulldog" stands among the unit's best recordings, as an expression of joy and a work of solidarity. "All Together Now," with its odd noises and pure enthusiasm never fails to bring a smile. "It's All Too Much" can be hypnotic and you strain to hear everything as it slowly fades away ("MUCH too MUCH too MUCH too MUCH...TOO much TOO much TOO much...").

This leaves the record's masterpiece, George Harrison's brilliant exploration into compression and out-of-phase stereo sound, "Only A Northern Song." Originally intended for SGT. PEPPER'S LONELY HEARTS CLUB BAND, this swirling, disorienting track has to be heard through quality headphones ("cans") to be fully appreciated. (PS-- don't let anyone convince you that the "remastered" CD version which stripped away all this song's special effects is the superior-- it ain't!)

Now, on to the LP's (dreaded) second side-- George Martin's moment in the sun, as it were. The instrumentals themselves vividly call to mind moments from the animated YELLOW SUBMARINE (1968) feature they were extracted from. "Pepperland" stands on its own as a superb recording, whiile the meandering "Sea of Time" and "Sea of Holes" are gently psychedelic-- 4 am music, perhaps. "Sea of Monsters" is indeed an aural nightmare. "March of the Meanies" has an effectively sinister air and "Pepperland Laid Waste" draws forth mental images of that magical place in ruins. The set ends with the martial "Yellow Submarine in Pepperland," a recapitulation of the title track and a celebration of good Beatles over bad Meanies!

Also recommended:
The American LP of MAGICAL MYSTERY TOUR is a superb mix of singles and atmospheric pieces like "Blue Jay Way" and "Flying." Also included within the gatefold cover is a 12"×12" booklet of stills from the "Mystery Tour" BBC TV special.

SIDE ONE
[2:38] Yellow Submarine
[3:27] Only a Northern Song
[2:10] All Together Now
[3:14] Hey Bulldog
[6:28] It's All Too Much
[3:47] All You Need Is Love

SIDE TWO
[2:24] Pepperland
[3:00] Sea of Time
[2:21] Sea of Holes
[3:40] Sea of Monsters
[2:22] March of the Meanies
[2:15] Pepperland Laid Waste
[2:11] Yellow Submarine in Pepperland

TOTAL TIME: 39:57
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
(all music links are to LPs)

Of the three compilations released in America while the Beatles were actively recording, ("Yesterday & Today," "Yellow Submarine" and "The Beatles Again - Hey Jude"), YELLOW SUBMARINE was and is the most universally dismissed. Yet, this record truly deserves a fair shake, for it has more than its share of quality rock and orchestral music.

Side One of the album is absolutely solid. Yes, the title cut and "All You Need Is Love" are retreads-- but they're GOOD ones! "Hey Bulldog" stands among the unit's best recordings, as an expression of joy and a work of solidarity. "All Together Now," with its odd noises and pure enthusiasm never fails to bring a smile. "It's All Too Much" can be hypnotic and you strain to hear everything as it slowly fades away ("MUCH too MUCH too MUCH too MUCH...TOO much TOO much TOO much...").

This leaves the record's masterpiece, George Harrison's brilliant exploration into compression and out-of-phase stereo sound, "Only A Northern Song." Originally intended for SGT. PEPPER'S LONELY HEARTS CLUB BAND, this swirling, disorienting track has to be heard through quality headphones ("cans") to be fully appreciated. (PS-- don't let anyone convince you that the "remastered" CD version which stripped away all this song's special effects is the superior-- it ain't!)

Now, on to the LP's (dreaded) second side-- George Martin's moment in the sun, as it were. The instrumentals themselves vividly call to mind moments from the animated YELLOW SUBMARINE (1968) feature they were extracted from. "Pepperland" stands on its own as a superb recording, whiile the meandering "Sea of Time" and "Sea of Holes" are gently psychedelic-- 4 am music, perhaps. "Sea of Monsters" is indeed an aural nightmare. "March of the Meanies" has an effectively sinister air and "Pepperland Laid Waste" draws forth mental images of that magical place in ruins. The set ends with the martial "Yellow Submarine in Pepperland," a recapitulation of the title track and a celebration of good Beatles over bad Meanies!
.

Also recommended:
The American LP of MAGICAL MYSTERY TOUR is a superb mix of singles and atmospheric pieces like "Blue Jay Way" and "Flying." Also included within the gatefold cover is a 12"×12" booklet of stills from the "Mystery Tour" BBC TV special.

.
SIDE ONE:
[2:38] Yellow Submarine
[3:27] Only a Northern Song
[2:10] All Together Now
[3:14] Hey Bulldog
[6:28] It's All Too Much
[3:47] All You Need Is Love

SIDE TWO:
[2:24] Pepperland
[3:00] Sea of Time
[2:21] Sea of Holes
[3:40] Sea of Monsters
[2:22] March of the Meanies
[2:15] Pepperland Laid Waste
[2:11] Yellow Submarine in Pepperland
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.