Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 16, 2013
My husband is enthralled that I found all these YES DVD s for him! He is in hog heaven!,,,,Great live concerts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2009
Im a big "Yes" fan and I thought this DVD was GREAT!! Early "Yes" footage is awesome with great sound
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2003
This is a great movie. I can remember seeing this many years ago, more than once. Starship Trooper is not in its entirety, only get small pieces, tastes at the end. Obviously an editing issue. I would guess that even in 1973 they had to cut "something", had to keep it commercial for the low attention span masses and their money. Other than that I have zero criticisms because it is very true to the performance. The camera work is fine, the amoebaes and fly-traps are fine, the capes are fine, and And You And I is great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 11, 2001
"Yessongs" is basically a very poor film of a great band in a good concert. If you are a Yes fan, you will probably want to view "Yessongs," especially if you never saw the band live. I saw the band live about 5 years after this concert was filmed, and not much had changed. More of a light show, more keyboards for Wakeman, more great tunes, but basically the show was unchanged.
"Yessongs" opens up with (a somewhat slower version than the studio version of) "I've Seen All Good People." It's a good start to the concert, featuring the skills of all of the members. Jon Anderson's unique voice, although not captured as well here as on any of their albums, comes through as well as the sound quality will allow. Chris Squire's bass work and vocals show why he was an integral part of the group. Wakeman has a few good moments, but mostly is hidden behind his huge sequined cape. The show really belongs to Steve Howe and his incredible guitar work. Especially during the first half of the concert, Howe is the primary focus. Here we see one of the most talented and overlooked guitarists of the 1970's. Most of the music itself is very good, except for the "Wives of Henry VIII" which is all Wakeman. Part of what made Yes great was the uniqueness of their sound, the feeling that they were playing music from another world. The sounds were great, but they were ahead of where the video/audio technology was at that time. In the year 2001, we are used to well-produced video, great effects, and digital audio. Unfortunately, none of these elements are present in "Yessongs." I would really like to find out if the band was filmed in their later years with a better video/audio set-up. Until then, the best way to experience Yes is to put on one of their CD's, sit back, and close your eyes...
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2016
great for the period, lots of energy, filmed ok for the time period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2000
Forget about your state-of-the-art DVD & speakers, let the magic of these guys take you somewhere else. This is REALLY classic songs by a classic band. The effect certainly will reduce the poor video & sound quality of this 1972 concert. So, let your hair grown, sit down on the ground, and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 1999
Everything in this video is perfect: the songs, the performance of the musicians, the sweet voice of Jon Anderson. If I had the chance to take a trip around the universe to not come back anymore, certainly I'd take Yessongs to listen in my spaceship everyday. A real gem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2015
Great!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 1999
For those of us who weren't around to see the band in their prime, this is definitely worth it. The quality isn't the best, but I'd rather watch this than most of the cr*p that's out there today.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2016
Have always loved this and the CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.