Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Second Yii Book
I actually really liked this book. It is a cookbook - it is task based - and while on some subjects I disregard these types of books - this time it really works.

I will skip the summation of this book in deference to the other reviews and provide my list of good/bad points to consider:

The Good Parts
- The information builds on prior Yii...
Published on March 17, 2012 by Ronald G. Ifferte

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Yii Development Guilde
The Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook is the latest printed publication for aspiring Yii Framework developers. The book takes on a rich set of topics and demonstrates how to exploit the Yii Framework to increase development speed, reduce errors, improve security, and improve the feature set of web applications. The book covers underused core features, data...
Published on September 19, 2011 by Trench


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Yii Development Guilde, September 19, 2011
This review is from: Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook (Paperback)
The Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook is the latest printed publication for aspiring Yii Framework developers. The book takes on a rich set of topics and demonstrates how to exploit the Yii Framework to increase development speed, reduce errors, improve security, and improve the feature set of web applications. The book covers underused core features, data integration, URL routing, AJAX, web forms, security, performance, UI widgets, testing models, extending the framework, and much more.

This book fills a critical gap in the learning cycle for the Yii Framework. It compliments the excellent online Yii class documentation and user guide with a lot of code examples that help the framework come alive. There is some good syntax and logic gems found throughout the examples that are helpful in fully leveraging Yii classes and conventions. I certainly learned a lot and will refer back to it often.

While the book is rich with information, the content organization is not ideal for a cookbook and makes it harder to use than necessary. This seems to be more of an intermediate Yii developers guide organized around core topics as opposed to a full inventory of functional recipes. I was hoping for something like the streamlined technology cookbooks that succinctly outline a problem, a solution, and an explanation. I find this book's content far too verbose, highly repetitive (e.g. instructions for creating a new "webapp" for every example), and not very consistent in language, completeness or code syntax. I found enough errors that it appears to have been rushed by the editors. I also don't understand the organization of topics. The topics are not methodically laid out in complexity or frequency-of-use order so it feels like we are taken on a wild ride of good learning without knowing if we missed something or fully understand where we've been.

Despite the structural problems, this is a good book if you are looking for Yii code examples to accelerate your learning. I recommend it for your development library because you will learn a lot, but don't expect a vast list of code recipes succinctly tailored to the task. This book did help our company leverage the framework for higher performance, security, and faster time to market for our web features. No doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Second Yii Book, March 17, 2012
By 
Ronald G. Ifferte (Coram, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook (Paperback)
I actually really liked this book. It is a cookbook - it is task based - and while on some subjects I disregard these types of books - this time it really works.

I will skip the summation of this book in deference to the other reviews and provide my list of good/bad points to consider:

The Good Parts
- The information builds on prior Yii documentation. It doesn't bother rehashing easily found info, but either presents a deeper insight or something else not documented well.
- It's a great partner to the other Yii book by Packt. While the other book is more theory, this is more rooted in practice.
- All examples bring you from start to finish and are clearly described.
- It shows how to actually use the framework rather than merely exhaling the API.
- It also explores some of the subtleties of the framework (ie console apps, things in PHP that are useful to a Yii developer).
- I loved the emphasis on testing (both unit and functional testing).
- It's written by a core contributor to Yii.

The Bad Parts
- The editing is poor at times, and can be distracting.
- It's not to be read cover to cover. I would familiarize yourself with the outline, and have it ready for a quick review when something specific comes up.

Summary
It's a great addition to your Yii library, but it should not be your first Yii book. You will need some experience with the framework to fully leverage the material in the book. If you are doing any Yii development, you owe it to yourself to read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for those who know the basics, May 16, 2012
This review is from: Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook (Paperback)
First off don't get this book is you don't already know anything about Yii. For this book to be useful you need to understand the basics of Yii, MVC and object orientated PHP.

However, if you can only afford to get one book buy this one over the Yii agile development book which is only about as good as the online documentation.

The writing isn't great but to be fair the book is very code orientated. The author is an active member of the Yii community and the book has been peer reviewed by the core developers.

After a few weeks with Yii you'll inevitably be asking yourself if you're doing things the 'right' way. That's when you need to buy and read this book.

Happy developing with Yii.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book for experienced PHP developer with gems of Yii, March 2, 2012
This review is from: Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook (Paperback)
When I start programming in PHP from pure HTML and pure PHP script, and later on with some frameworks in a year, I still do many redundant (and boring) things to solve similar problems in web programming. Then I get in touch with Yii through following the definitive guide, blog tutorial and the first Yii book. Then this book is the precious reference which not only calls out many problems that I faced before, even those problems I do not really realize (I solved them by just ad-hoc solution but still unsatisfied and the problems come back all the time), but also brings out the gems of Yii through thousands of "magic" code snippets. The author must have revised and improved these snippets and their associated explanations to end up with such high quality examples.

If you has gone through Yii for a while, and has some PHP experience before, this book is suitable for you (and the author also says that). I would like to say thanks to the author for his well-written book. Other readers who intend to buy this book should not pay their attention on the review commenting on the book's Russian author (who must be a PHP expert) and Yii's talented Chinese founder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good choice for putting together a solid web app, November 7, 2011
By 
This review is from: Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook (Paperback)
I was recently doing some research on what were some of the best PHP frameworks available and came across Yii. I have some limited experience with another PHP framework called CodeIgniter. I am looking at rewriting a major website that I initially created without a framework back in 2003. Naturally considering how long these websites live, I wanted to get a framework that was robust with a moderate learning curve considering my very limited free time.

My perspective is one of a software developer with a strong PHP and Java background with experience using multiple web UI technologies. I am currently working on creating high traffic, enterprise mobile websites and was looking at Yii for all its features and best of all, for its performance, an area many frameworks don't emphasize. I am also interested in this framework from an architecture point of view as well. I read through this book noting examples of Best Practices from what I consider a top quality framework.

I purchased "Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook " by Alexander Makarov from Packt Publishing ([...]) and I wanted to give my review of this book.

This book uses its 13 chapters to cover all of the Yii topics that define a good framework such as: Ajax and jQuery, Working with Forms, Testing your Application, Database, Active Record, Error Handling, Security, Performance Tuning, Extending Yii, and using External Code. Each chapter stands on its own because it uses a "yiic" app generator command to create a fresh copy of a Yii application. I love this part of the framework because this app generator creates login page and a basic home page and if you've ever tried to start a new application the login page with one of the most important pieces of an app yet one of the most boring pieces to work on. Thank you Yii for making this part as easy as a 1 line command.

Since this book is a "Cookbook" style approach to using Yii to build wep apps, you'll find each chapter full of examples and each example uses the following sections to round out each example: Getting Ready (example setup), How to do it (main content of the example), How it works (content explanation) , There's more (where to go to learn more) , and See also (reference to related sections).

I was particularly impressed with how well jQuery was integrated in Yii. It was nice to see that a framework was created with client-side coding as a core feature not an after thought. The Ajax and jQuery chapter covers not only using the jQuery core JavaScript library but also how to register any JavaScript library including your own custom libraries. The examples are well designed and thoroughly walk you through how to implement each MVC component, creating the data model, the controller and the view components. Each chapter's examples use this approach and follow up with some helpful reference links for further reading as well as some sub-chapter references that point to related material for the example and are useful to add more clarity. The tasks that the examples are trying to solve are well thought out to cover multiple scenarios in detail. If needed, you'll have another section called "How it works" after each example to fully explain how the logic flow of the example.

Each chapter fully defines the subject matter with useful examples illustrating how Yii uses the "Configuration by Convention" model to build web application components. You won't find re-used examples from the API documentation, but rather real examples that you'll need to not only make top quality applications but also you'll fully understand how Yii works when you consider the reference material provided to augment the examples.

There were some areas that gave me some trouble in reading through this book. It seems this book does assume some level of knowledge of Yii because this book didn't explain Gii on its first mention. This will mean you will have to reference the Yii documentation to fill in any gaps if you are a pure newbie to Yii as I am, but it may be best if you start off with a starter book such as "Agile with Yii 1.1 and PHP5" by Jeffery Winesett to get a good foundation on Yii before learning some of these advanced topics that this cookbook covers.

Overall, I would recommend this book because if the excellent examples in each chapter, the complexity of the tasks that make up the examples and the complete coverage of the topics in all the chapters. I could get by with just this "cookbook" but I'd feel like I am missing something by not starting with a beginners book to learn the full breadth of Yii. In a pinch, this book can get you past your needed tasks.

If you are interested in viewing a sample chapter of this ebook one is available at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yii 1.1 App Development Cookbook is a must have!, October 26, 2011
This review is from: Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook (Paperback)
Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook by Alexander Makarov (Packt Publishing) is a must have book for PHP 5 or Yii developers interested in:
1. Learning what Yii has to offer as a PHP framework:
2. Understanding commonly used techniques by the industry and how to implement them in Yii.
3. Gaining firsthand insight of Yii directly from one of it's Core Developers.

There are 13 chapters covering a broad range of topics. Each offering numerous recipes, all pertaining to modern issues facing web developers. I found the number of useful recipes impressive.

The book is targeted towards experienced developers. Of course, it takes advanced knowledge to install some of the technologies required for some recipes. However, I say the book is necessary for those seeking to learn Yii methodologies or to advanced their skill to a higher level. The book is not exhaustive though and my only criticism is that I would have enjoyed more commentary from Alexander especially regarding recipe introductions or explanations (Perhaps in the next book?).

The formula used for each recipe was easy to follow and apply. Each starts with an introductory paragraph describing a scenario which will be solved. Next, the "Getting Ready" section specifies requirements necessary to complete the exercise such as creating a database table, installing a sample database or installing external software such as PHPUnit or the GD PHP extension.

"How to do it" is where code is given and tested by running it in a browser. "How it works" provides the key to the whole recipe as Alexander explains everything step by step revealing many insights as to how the recipe works. Finally, each recipe ends with "There's More" and "See Also" sections providing links to further enhance understanding of issues relating to each topic. I found this format worked particularly well for me!

I recommend downloading the code, just as a fallback to re-typing it. All of the recipes I tried worked perfectly. I've bought many books where the author's code failed, was incomplete, or provided only a partial solution which I find to be embarrassing and discrediting to the author. However, Alexander did a great job of ensuring the code's accuracy and structure. As with any book, there were a few minor mistakes. I recommend looking at the books "Errata" page for corrections)

You can delve right into any section you need at random without having to read the whole book in sequence. I was very surprised to be building web pages connecting to multiple databases (MySQL and Oracle in my case), doing file uploads, creating forms with CAPTCHA's, highlighting code in color as well as using Jquery, Ajax and JSON applications without much effort. I especially appreciated the Chapters on Performance tuning, Security and Deployment.

Overall, I thought the book was fantastic: well written, very informative and full of gems. It's a necessary addition to my library. I was able to directly apply techniques immediately to 2 current projects and cut my development time as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, Yii got its cookbook, September 3, 2011
This review is from: Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook (Paperback)
Alexander Makarov not only is an active member of Yii's core development team but also a vivid contributor to its community and put a lot of experience into this excellent book. I am using Yii for quite a while now and thought I knew some tricks but this book really helps you getting a deep understanding of the framework's functionalities. It's not written for beginners but a very inspiring reference for intermediate Yii developers and presents a lot of solutions for everyday scenarios that aren't explained in much detail in the framework's wiki: Advanced profiling to find bottlenecks, customized logging functionalities, deployment using different environments (development and production versions), using customized folder structures, preventing XSS and CSRF attacks, using external code libraries (Zend, Kohana, PEAR) and getting the best out of existing Zii components (grid views, list views and data providers). One of the nice things about this book is that the topics are always accompanied by useful real world examples which - from a developer's point of view - makes them really easy to understand. If you are new to Yii I would recommend starting with Jeffrey Winesett's "Agile Web Application Development with Yii1.1 and PHP5" first, but if you got the basics this book will help you become a Yii expert in no time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very instructive, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook (Paperback)
It's very simple, easy to read, and show detailed technics programing with the most powerfull PHP's framework of actuality.I hope new books about language and framework.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good cookbook, October 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook (Paperback)
Good book. Full review of Yii framework v.1.1 with tips and tricks, with usefull examples.
Describing of specific topic about Tests, DB, Security and other important things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE FOR EVERY YII DEVELOPER, September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Alex does a great job walking us through various scenarios and samples . In my view you will not regret getting this book if you have to develop serious apps in Yii
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook
Yii 1.1 Application Development Cookbook by Alexander Makarov (Paperback - September 25, 2011)
$44.99 $40.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.