Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


127 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great book
This is the first book on this subject. I am a serious yoga practicioner and so far have never seen anything like this: so well connecting Ayurveda medicine knowledge with especially Hatha and Kundalini yoga. You can see that the auther is an adept, informing us about the working of prana in the subtle body. The book...
Published on June 27, 2000 by Alex Ikilikian

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, and nothing deep in this book
The problem I have with Ayurveda is that based on the body type descriptions I don't fit into any of the categories. Until one can diagnose which body type one is, the rest of the information is not very useful. All the treatments are type specific.

In the 1980's I read a lot of Depak Chopra and that was the problem I had with his books as well. If you teach...
Published on July 6, 2011 by Ms Muffintop


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

127 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great book, June 27, 2000
This review is from: Yoga & Ayurveda: Self-Healing and Self-Realization (Paperback)
This is the first book on this subject. I am a serious yoga practicioner and so far have never seen anything like this: so well connecting Ayurveda medicine knowledge with especially Hatha and Kundalini yoga. You can see that the auther is an adept, informing us about the working of prana in the subtle body. The book contains to my knowledge the most clear and complete explanation for a serious practitioner the inner alchemy of yogic transformation. This is not a book for a beginner! It explains everything about prana, ojas and tejas, vital information on pranayama, pratyahara, chakras and kundalini and all in connection with Ayurveda. This is the first book of the kind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for the intermediate-advanced practitioner, April 1, 2008
This review is from: Yoga & Ayurveda: Self-Healing and Self-Realization (Paperback)
This book is perfect for those who already have some understanding of ayurveda/yoga/holistic health. It addresses the core principles and practices with a beautiful blend of spiritual lineage and academic rigor. This is definitely not an introductory-level book; it is a wonderful reference for those ready to move more deeply into these practices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yoga and Ayurveda, October 23, 2007
By 
The kind of books I like are the ones that are tagged, underlined,and worn. That indicates that it is not just another book for another books sake. This is one of those books. Teaching or practicing yoga without knowledge of ayurveda is like teaching with some knowledge of life missing. It links us to the macrocosm aswell as understanding our constitution beyond the physical body and is a must buy and study. It helps us to understand what we have to re-wire on an individual level to make progress on the spiritual path. Camella Nair - Author of Aqua Kriya Yoga
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a guide for awakened souls.., June 13, 2009
This review is from: Yoga & Ayurveda: Self-Healing and Self-Realization (Paperback)
words fall short when it comes to write a review on Dr. David Frawley's work. simply the best. No one has better understanding on the subject than him. I have been following ayurveda and yoga in bits and pieces. this whole book consolidated my knowledge and taught me the right sequence of things. for example, doing pranayama when your ojas is low, is killing yourself..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yoga & Ayurveda, January 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yoga & Ayurveda: Self-Healing and Self-Realization (Paperback)
I wanted an introduction to the Psychology of Yoga. This book delivered. It's simple and easy to digest. Yet it covers a lot of ground. It's also written by a Westerner for a Western audience. For those intereseted in the mental health benefits of yoga, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars informative, interesting and not too new agey, April 25, 2004
This review is from: Yoga & Ayurveda: Self-Healing and Self-Realization (Paperback)
i've got this book after a recomendation of my yoga instractor and just like she said - it helps put the yoga i take at the gym, which is mainly asanas (postures) in a larger context of both spiritual guidness and preseption as well as other live guiding filds, like breathing, eating, and over all living.
though it deals with a lot of topics who were new to me, and a lot of sanskrit turms, the book's very well arange and repeat to explain certion parts more then once so that i was sure to understand, it's very methodic and though it doesn't creat or recoment a spasific practice to live, like some, mostly more shallow book does, it give you certion guidlines and directions to find yourself withing the path of yoga and ayurveda.
the book approach the 3 dosha (type) help you realize what type you belong to (air, fire or water) and what are the best approachs for you concerning breathing, eating, asana practice, meditation and other filds of life. on top of that it gives a very whole phylosofical approach that i liked.
frewley is a very good teacher, he phrases things very clearly and arranged a lot of half known turms while filling a lot of the gaps for me, i enjoyed this book a lot and it had direct influence on my yoga practic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yoga & Ayurveda, July 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yoga & Ayurveda: Self-Healing and Self-Realization (Paperback)
The topic of Ayurveda has been mentioned on my blog a few times, but this is the first book I've read + reviewed with a major focus on the topic - exciting! I'm glad to say that David Frawley's book doesn't disappoint.

As you can gleam from the title, this book isn't purely about the medical science of Ayurveda, but specifically Ayurveda's relation + inherent connection to yoga.

Ayurveda is the Vedic science of healing for both body and mind. Yoga is the Vedic science of Self-realization that depends upon a well-functioning body and mind ... Yoga and Ayurveda are sister sciences that developed together and repeatedly influenced each other throughout history.

Frawley does a wonderful job of introducing the true purposes of Yoga and Ayurveda, as well as how they work in-tandem at all times. He does a great job of introducing Sanskrit terminology without it being overwhelming. The first few chapters may seem like a huge cascade of information + it can take some time to absorb how it all links together, but Frawley is quick to reference other sections of the book that are helpful.

As someone who has studied/read about/practiced both Yoga and a bit of Ayurveda for over a decade, Frawley's book is a highly appreciated addition to my bookshelf - the type of book I'll happily read + reference again + again.

If this was the first book I'd ever read about Yoga, I'd probably be a bit confused and overwhelmed, but if you know a little bit about Yoga (or Ayurveda) + would like to learn a bit more about Ayurveda (or Yoga), this is the book to start with.

Note: I highly appreciate Frawley's emphasis on all aspects of Yoga, not just asana (which is the most popular aspect in Western culture) - thank you, David. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yoga & Ayurveda Great book for Subtle Anataomy etc., January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yoga & Ayurveda: Self-Healing and Self-Realization (Paperback)
Yoga & Ayurveda has great depth and insight. The explanations of subtle anatomy and the difference between a yogic diet vs. an ayurvedic diet are invaluable. This book is NOT a "how to" of Asanas. The companion Asana manual was disappointing so I don't recommend it. "Yoga & Ayurveda" I highly recommend. It is well-written with clear explanations. I am not a "beginner" by any means, have read numerous books, and am enrolled in Ayurvedic college program. I recommend this book to serious students as well as beginners. It is loaded with good material and vey clearly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, November 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yoga & Ayurveda: Self-Healing and Self-Realization (Paperback)
Really great book on Ayurveda and yoga. Probably one of my favorite books on the subject. It isn;t overly technical yet provides a lot of information about herbs, diet, asana, pranayama, meditation, gunas, doshas, and yogic philosophy. above all Frawley presents the information in a very entertaining and fun way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, and nothing deep in this book, July 6, 2011
By 
Ms Muffintop (Mile High Frazier Park, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yoga & Ayurveda: Self-Healing and Self-Realization (Paperback)
The problem I have with Ayurveda is that based on the body type descriptions I don't fit into any of the categories. Until one can diagnose which body type one is, the rest of the information is not very useful. All the treatments are type specific.

In the 1980's I read a lot of Depak Chopra and that was the problem I had with his books as well. If you teach yoga this book will give you enough background info to field basic questions about Ayurveda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Yoga & Ayurveda: Self-Healing and Self-Realization
Yoga & Ayurveda: Self-Healing and Self-Realization by David Frawley (Paperback - July 13, 1999)
$19.95 $15.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.