Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yogi's First Christmas
I am surprised none of the cartoon buffs have commmented on this cartoon.
Yogi's First Christmas has become one of the beloved Christmas specials since it aired.
It features all the characters created by Hanna-Barbera and has a pretty good story.
Story borrows a bit from the Grinch who stole Christmas.
Snively an evil character, and a character known...
Published on June 29, 2004 by GreatMovieCriticRobertfromUS

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little better than "OK"
No reason to waste any time on a description of the movie itself; the product description does a more-than-adequate job of that.

This was better than I had been expecting and better-written than most of the Hanna-Barbera classic Christmas cartoons that I've seen. While poor, the animation actually exceeds what I've seen of other cartoons of the period...
Published on November 24, 2012 by The Phantom


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yogi's First Christmas, June 29, 2004
I am surprised none of the cartoon buffs have commmented on this cartoon.
Yogi's First Christmas has become one of the beloved Christmas specials since it aired.
It features all the characters created by Hanna-Barbera and has a pretty good story.
Story borrows a bit from the Grinch who stole Christmas.
Snively an evil character, and a character known as Herman
Hermit are attempting to close down JellyStone National Park
and place the blame of it's failure on Yogi Bear.
Ranger Smith gives Yogi Bear the boot, but Yogi and
others plan a way to save Jellystone using the old
Christmas spirit.
This animated film is a classic.
Daws Butler as Yogi Bear will always be remembered
as a great actor who provided the voice for one
of the most cherished character of all time,
Yogi Bear.
Of course the special comes complete with all the Christmas songs one would expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yogi's first Chrismas - an all time hit, March 5, 2005
Every home should have a copy of Yogi Bear's first Christmas. I grew up watching this cartoon and it always brings back some lovely memories of Christmas time. The movie is all about Herman the Hermit and a naughty boy named Snively. Watch how they both team up and try to close down Jellystone park where Yogi lives. In a battle of good versus bad an entire star cast comprising Ranger Smith, Boo Boo, Huckleberry hound, Snagglepuss, Cindy Bear and many more are working harder to try and save the lodge. The fact that all this happens at Christmas time makes the cartoon so much more magical...Wonderful songs, tree trimming, Santa Claus, winter sports and so much more make a great story line. A must watch for the young and the young at heart - Yogi Bear's first Christmas !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What I've been waiting for..., December 5, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yogi's First Christmas (1980 TV Special) (DVD)
I feel in love with this Christmas special when I was little; I had it taped from TV and watched it every year, until the tape went missing. I've been waiting for this to come out on DVD for the longest time - and now it's here! I received it today, and have watched it over and over again. It's great quality - just like I remembered.

For those waiting for Yogi's First Christmas on DVD - this is what you've been looking for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Holiday Classic, November 27, 2006
By 
Bill Battaglia (Chico California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can't believe this cartoon is not available on DVD yet! It definately belongs on the shelf with Rudolph, Frosty and Santa Clause is Coming to Town. I enjoyed this cartoon growing up and my 2 year old is now asking to watch Yogi's Christmas. The story is great and it is awesome to see all Yogi's friends together in one movie. It definately brings back some fond memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE Yogi's First Christmas!, December 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yogi's First Christmas (1980 TV Special) (DVD)
Trust me in that I haven't been a 'kid' for many years, but I still love "Yogi's First Christmas"! There's nothing I'd rather have on while I'm doing holiday decorating or baking. Both copies I ordered (one for me, one for my daughter) arrived before the estimated arrival date and in PERFECT condition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Christmas show I grew up with!, October 21, 2011
This review is from: Yogi's First Christmas (1980 TV Special) (DVD)
Being a kid in the 1980's, each year at Christmas time there were a series of shows that would play on TV that kids got to see once a year. Every year I remember it being a BIG deal when they were finally on and everyone would call each other on the phone to tell them what channel to find it on.

While the years of seeing a program just once a Holiday are over, the nostalgia of this childhood memory still lives in this program. There were several shows each Holiday season. Peanuts (A Charlie Brown Christmas), Jetson's Christmas, Flintstone's Christmas, Frosty the Snowman and of course Rudolph were all shows we eagerly awaited, but Yogi's First Christmas was my all time favorite.

For years I didn't realise it was called Yogi's First Christmas. There were so many Hanna Barbera characters in it, that I wasn't sure the exact name. Finally after some searching last Christmas I found it.

This is the one where the Ranger, Yogi, Boo Boo, and all the other Hanna Barbera characters work at a lodge for Christmas to keep it open. Snively, the wealthy and spoiled nephew of the lodge owner visits for Christmas and almost spoils the Holiday. Yogi, usually well into hibernation at that time, tries his best to stay awake so he can see his very first Christmas day, and as usual saves the day.

When watching it, it really brings back memories of what cartoons were like back in the 1980's. The graphics are nothing like today's cartoons, but every time I watch it it's like being 6 years old and eagerly awaiting Santa all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little better than "OK", November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yogi's First Christmas (1980 TV Special) (DVD)
No reason to waste any time on a description of the movie itself; the product description does a more-than-adequate job of that.

This was better than I had been expecting and better-written than most of the Hanna-Barbera classic Christmas cartoons that I've seen. While poor, the animation actually exceeds what I've seen of other cartoons of the period (1980).

The run time is incredibly long--more than an hour and a half--and that was the big shocker of the whole deal. I actually would have been happier with this had it run maybe 15 or 20 minutes shorter.

Another thing missing from this presentation is DVD extras. There are absolutely none. What I love about A Flintstones Christmas Carol is that there are some great extras, including a Christmas episode of the series itself (not a special). Something like that packaged with this would have added a lot of value.

Overall, this is a solid offering and worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before the Warner Archive, owning most HB Xmas classics on DVD like Yogi's 1st Xmas used to be impossible., October 19, 2014
This review is from: Yogi's First Christmas (1980 TV Special) (DVD)
For years, my Daddy and sister complained off-and-on about the majority of Hanna-Barbera's Christmas classics not being on authorized DVDs, the only known exceptions until '07 were The Nutcracker Scoob, A Scooby Doo Christmas, the first triad of Tom and Jerry Tales shorts ever made, and The Night Before Christmas (starring Tom and Jerry, from MGM). Things looked up in '07 with A Flintstones Christmas Carol being on DVD with A Christmas Flintstone (alias How The Flintstones Saved Christmas, 1964) as a bonus program, along with Joe Barbera's last great achievement, Tom and Jerry's Nutcracker Tale. It still wasn't enough to make us all happy, but starting in 2009, the Warner Archive released Yogi's First Christmas and has delighted my family ever since. Even greater news kept coming; in 2010 was Yogi Bear's All-star Comedy Christmas Caper, in stores everywhere. Around that time, Christmas Comes to Pac-Land was in the season 2 set of the original Pac Man series from the Warner Archive. In 2011, 2 of the original 4 Smurfs' Christmas specials in stores everywhere (Baby's First Christmas and The Magic Sack of Mr. Nicholas remain not on DVD in the USA, as of 2014), A Flintstone Christmas (1977) and the Emmy-nominated special A Flinstone Family Christmas (1993) together on another Warner Archive DVD, and A Jetson Christmas Carol in the Jetsons' season 2 volume 2 set (a family tradition of ours since we had it on VHS). In 2012 came The Town Santa Forgot, Casper's First Christmas (crossed over with Yogi and his gang), and A Christmas Story (easily better by a longshot, in my opinion, than the live-action cult classic from 1983) together on 1 Warner Archive DVD, as well as Scooby Doo: Haunted Holidays in one of his 13 Spooky Tales sets (with The Nutcracker Scoob completely uncut), featuring Digimon actor Crispin Freeman as a seemingly-worried nephew of his seemingly-possessed uncle, who's the owner of the Menkle Toy Store. In 2013, the biblical classic The Little Troll Prince was paired with the Cabbage Patch Kids' First Christmas made by their sister company Ruby-Spears, thus making it a Hanna-Barbera Christmas classic, by the Warner Archive. Just this year (2014), Tom and Jerry have an all-new Christmas special called Santa's Little Helpers. As you can see, my folks have been quite pleased with my work and research, especially with the HB classics masterminded by Bill Hanna and Joe Barbera themselves. But what I'm reviewing is the longest Hanna-Barbera Christmas classic ever made; at 99 minutes uncut, Yogi's First Christmas is a treasure for anyone who appreciates classic animation, not just at Christmastime. Sure, some critics point out endless animation and soundtrack slip-ups here, but that was the norm of Hanna Barbera's work in the late 70's and early/mid 80's, as many of the staff were getting on in years, so don't let such small boo-boos (no pun intended) get in the way of your watching such classics. Ironically, Yogi's First Christmas came out just 1 year after Casper's First Christmas did, and in fact reuses and reworks songs from it, as the song Hope was twice-reused/reworked from A Christmas Story and A Flintstone Christmas, but with Boo Boo singing it! Reusing and/or reworking old footage and music was also the norm for Hanna-Barbera, and especially for one of its partners Filmation, even in their Christmas classics, so don't let that anger you. At any rate, Yogi and Boo Boo are woken up from their hibernation by their gang of friends, from below the Jellystone Lodge, just in time for their first Christmas, and later wake Cindy Bear out of her hibernation and into the festivities. Throughout the movie, Herman the Hermit tries to sabotage the winter carnival, like he did the previous year, and almost succeeds ruining the tree-trimming party on Christmas Eve with help from Mrs. Throckmorton's Grinchy nephew Snively. Luckily, Yogi unknowingly outfoxed their attempts at every turn, but not so much for Cindy's mistletoe escapades, and ends up proving to all of us that "comes Christmastime, bygones is bygones. It's what you call Christmas spirit." Alongside Disney and Rankin/Bass' animated Christmas classics, Hanna-Barbera's another popular name in Christmas classics, with help from the Warner Archive AND Amazon. If you yearn to see Hanna-Barbera's Christmas classics on DVD, especially if Boomerang ends up not showing them at all, Yogi's First Christmas is a great way to start your collection, for both young and old! There's still a bunch of Hanna-Barbera Christmas classics that haven't been on DVD yet, when I typed this, such as The Nativity, Silent Night Holy Night, Hanna-Barbera's Christmas Sing-A-Long, and the remaining 2 Smurfs' Christmas episodes, so let's keep telling the Warner Archive about 'em; hopefully they might listen to us again! "And to all of you out there, a merry Christmas to you, too. Ho-ho-ho." to quote Yogi as this movie concludes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cindy Bear finally gets a kiss from Yogi!, December 18, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yogi's First Christmas (1980 TV Special) (DVD)
One of the two Yogi Bear movies where Cindy Bear finally has Yogi acknowledging her love and returning it, at least a little. The movie is cute, about Yogi and Boo Boo waking up from hibernation in time to participate in Christmas events, with Yogi getting a job after accidentally rescuing the owner of a ski lodge, and then a series of promotions until eventually he's the manager(!) There's a lot of fun songs and some subtle humor for adults. Fans of older cartoons will be glad to see old friends like Huckleberry Hound ((oh, my darling Clementine...) Snagglepuss, Augie Doggie and Doggie Daddy and the Ranger of Jellystone Park. Cindy Bear eventually arrives and learns of the Christmas tradition of kissing under the mistletoe and decides to hang some all over the room so she can "catch" Yogi, and it's fun watching him do everything he can to get away--although Cindy does earn herself a sweet kiss in the end...

The other movie where the romance between Yogi and Cindy finally gets some attention is Hey There, It's Yogi Bear, which is my personal favorite. A very cute tale where yogi and boo Boo must travel cross-country to rescue Cindy from an evil circus owner. Yogi finally admits he loves her and even sings her a love song, which is such a charming, old-fashioned idea of romance in this fast-paced world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Cartoon, but this doesn't work in any of my Players, February 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yogi's First Christmas (1980 TV Special) (DVD)
Well, got one for a gift at Christmas, could not get this DVD-R to play on any of the five DVD players I have. Amazon was nice enough to replace it and guess what?? My computer cannot even play the replacement DVD. Maybe I just have bad luck with this title, but two in a row??? Guess I will have to buy a copy bootleg to see this great cartoon, like I will have to do if I ever want to watch the rest of NEWHART TV series, set in Vermont!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Yogi's First Christmas (1980 TV Special)
Yogi's First Christmas (1980 TV Special) by Ray Patterson (DVD - 2009)
$17.99 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.