Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yogi Cleans Up
This is a totally fun collection of complete episodes from the Yogi's Gang TV series. The humor is toned down considerably from that of the short cartoons of the late 50's and early 60's, and the situations are rather didactic in nature--teaching kids about the pitfalls of selfishness, gossip, greed, litter, and so forth. In fact, the series would be downright preachy...
Published 19 months ago by H. F. Wiegand

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the original Yogi Bear, but a spinoff with unsubtle positive messages instead of entertainment
I used to watch reruns of this crummy series in the 1970's when I was about 10 years old. I had been a fan of the original "Yogi Bear" cartoons, and since those were seldom broadcast in my area during the late 1970's, I settled for "Yogi's gang" instead. (There was no home video or cable TV. If I wanted to see Yogi Bear on TV in the late 1970's, "Yogi's Gang" was...
Published 3 months ago by Eric Perlin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yogi Cleans Up, May 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yogi's Gang (DVD)
This is a totally fun collection of complete episodes from the Yogi's Gang TV series. The humor is toned down considerably from that of the short cartoons of the late 50's and early 60's, and the situations are rather didactic in nature--teaching kids about the pitfalls of selfishness, gossip, greed, litter, and so forth. In fact, the series would be downright preachy except for the fact that Yogi and his friends make it all entertaining. The great old characters are here--Yogi Bear, Boo Boo, Huckleberry Hound, Snagglepuss, Magilla Gorilla, and the rest. In each episode, one or more of the members of the crew of Yogi's Ark falls prey to the temptation brought by the show's "guest villian" such as the Greedy Genie, Lotta Litter, or the Prankster. Naturally, right thinking and right acting prevail by the show's end, so every story ends happily for all but the villain, who usually runs away looking for more corruptible souls to influence. The real treat in these stories is the voice work by the original artists, such as Daws Butler, who voiced Yogi, Huck, Snagglepuss, Quick Draw, and many of the rest. His vocal talent was still strong in the early 70's. Don Messick is also on hand as the voice of Boo Boo, and of Ranger Smith, who appears in a handful of episodes. Julie Bennett, as in the original TV series and theatrical film, provides the voice of Cindy Bear. There also are guest artists voicing the villains, such as Tom Bosley and Rose Marie, who is evidently having loads of fun providing the voice for Lotta Litter. The stories are very light-weight but they do teach kids worthwhile lessons about being good citizens of Planet Earth. The collection even includes the TV movie that provided the inspiration for the series--"Yogi's Ark Lark." This is provided in the context of the Yogi's Gang series as a flashback story. My only quibble about this presentation of "Yogi's Ark Lark" is that it leaves out the opening credits sequence in which the various characters make their entrances arriving at Jellystone Park--the original version should have been included, at least as a bonus; however, I am glad to have the introductory material that blends the earlier story into the rest of the series. Except for about a minute of footage which has been lopped off of "Yogi's Ark Lark," the series appears to be presented intact. The color is rich and vibrant, and the sound comes through nice and clearly. So for any die-hard fans of Yogi Bear who will take our favorite Jellystone bruin in whatever format he is presented--this collection is a treasure to enjoy with your kids. If you exclusively prefer the early Hanna-Barbera efforts, you will not enjoy this one as well. While there is some subtle adult humor sprinkled in here and there, this collection is pretty squarely aimed at the younger set. But if one is a fan of Yogi Bear, there is much to enjoy. It's great that this series is finally available!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yogi's Gangs lessons, April 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yogi's Gang (DVD)
I want say if you want to teach your children lessons about life than Yogi's Gang will provide the tools. I realize some people rather have something that lacks life lessons than I would recommend buying another HB classic than.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Cartoon is Gold, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yogi's Gang (DVD)
I choose this because This is funny and entertaining

And I`m a Hanna Barbera Fan Those Guys Made so much Good Cartoon series :)

I recommend This To all you guys that love old cartoon

This truly is a Great one :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, August 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yogi's Gang (DVD)
Good collection of classic HB cartoons. I love Atom Ant and this DVD includes some shows. Even my 3 year old enjoys the cartoons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here are some cartoons the whole family canwatch without hearing any nasty sounds coming from them, July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yogi's Gang (DVD)
Here are some cartoons the whole family can watch without hearing any nasty sounds coming from them.It is old time but the kids seem to enjoy them and want to watch them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the kids, April 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yogi's Gang (DVD)
Great classic cartoons, fun set of dvd's and has lots of episodes. We enjoy it around our household. Grew up watching them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hanna Barbara lives, April 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yogi's Gang (DVD)
This cartoon was the inspiration for Captain Planet in a Hannna Barbara way. Yogi always rocks. For the connoisseur. Hanna Barbara at its prime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the original Yogi Bear, but a spinoff with unsubtle positive messages instead of entertainment, September 21, 2014
This review is from: Yogi's Gang (DVD)
I used to watch reruns of this crummy series in the 1970's when I was about 10 years old. I had been a fan of the original "Yogi Bear" cartoons, and since those were seldom broadcast in my area during the late 1970's, I settled for "Yogi's gang" instead. (There was no home video or cable TV. If I wanted to see Yogi Bear on TV in the late 1970's, "Yogi's Gang" was it.)

"Yogi's Gang" is nothing like the earlier "Yogi Bear" cartoons that were produced a decade earlier. The old Yogi was a rebel who set out to outwit the ranger and obtain picnic baskets. The Yogi Bear of 'Yogi's Gang" looks and sounds the same, but his rebellious and fun-loving personality is gone!

Yogi is the captain of a ship filled with anthropomorphic animals from various Hanna-Barbera animated series (including Magilla Gorilla, Huckleberry Hound, Snagglepuss, and others too numerous too list). They all travel around in a large boat and encounter various villains who try to trick them into doing unkind or unwise things. For example, one episode has a villain named "Mister Waste" encourage the animals to throw away and replace everything they use.

If I remember correctly, some of the episodes had their plots filled out with bad musical numbers.

Yogi and his gang eventually learned their lessons, and made sure that the kids watching at home learned them too. The messages were positive, but delivered with no subtlety. Dr. Seuss sometimes injected messages into his children's books (such as "The Sneetches" and "The Lorax" among others); yet he understood subtlety. Seuss never decided to teach lessons INSTEAD OF entertaining.

The original "Yogi Bear" series and other early Hanna-Barbera TV cartoons always set out to put comedy first and foremost, while "Yogi's Gang" kept humor to a minimum.

The "real" Yogi Bear used to steal picnic baskets, and trick and con his way into anything else he set out to do. Who the helicopter is he to lecture others about morality? Yogi claimed to be "smarter than the average bear", yet he was not smart enough to pass up these terrible, preachy scripts.

The best thing about this series is that it made the original "Yogi Bear" cartoons seem like masterpieces by comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just a great cartoon to show to today's children, November 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yogi's Gang (DVD)
These are just as I remember them! No touchups, just a great cartoon to show to today's children. The quality of children's cartoons (Cartoon Network) don't have what these cartoons have . . . a lesson to be learned and just pure fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Happy, December 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yogi's Gang (DVD)
A+ item and seller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Yogi's Gang
Yogi's Gang by Yogi's Gang (DVD - 2013)
$35.99 $22.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.