Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$16.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 31, 2011
I'm an elementary school counselor and this was thoroughly enjoyed by all of the classes I read to at the end of last year. It's got a lot of good stuff in it regarding friendship, telling the truth, being proud of who you are, and stealing. Even though it was easy to focus on the older girl and how she had wronged Yoon. It become apparent to the kids that Yoon actually played a part in getting herself in this circumstance. Some great discussion questions we pondered: Why are some kids willing to sacrifice who they are and their values for a friendship? When faced with a tough decision, how can we motivate ourselves to do the right thing? How can we stay true ourselves? I also loved the cultural angle - there is definitely a struggle for some kids to fit in for fear of being rejected.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2015
This book is beautifully illustrated. It handles the issue of bullying in a caring manner. The story is emotionally poignant and has ethical issues that are quite relevant. It is a story about a girl, however, I think boys would also identify with the issue presented. I plan on using it in the classroom for discussion about how a person thinks and feels about someone stealing something and claiming it as their own. Also, there is the issue of how hard it is to feel like a part of a community when you come from a different country. This is a great book to explore inference and the impact of one's behavior on another. DCB
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2010
This is a nicely illustrated story with a good message and my 2.5 year old twins request it from time to time. Yoon receives a Korean story book about a girl who is tricked by a tiger for her birthday, when all she really wants is a jumprope. Her mom also hands down her precious jade bracelet to Yoon. Yoon is tricked at school by a tiger girl, but in the end she outwits her. I like that the story talks about an immigrant girl who is adjusting to life in a new country where she is hoping to meet new friends.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2012
I purchased this book to use in conjunction with "My Name is Yoon." The softspoken main character of the book is still getting used to American culture. A girl in her class borrows a special bracelet and refuses to give it back. This book will open up some possibly emotional conversations concerning what to do when someone does not believe you are telling the truth.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2013
This story is very touching and even older students were hooked iwhen I read it. Joon, the new student, finds courage to speak up when an older girl takes advantage of her desire for friendship. This endearing story of the gift of a jade bracelet touches upon friendships, honesty, bullying, and having the courage to stand up for yourself. We all loved it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2015
Bullying, cleverness, and the immigrant experience. Yoon longs to join the schoolyard girls in jump rope, but is never invited, and not even given one by her mother on her birthday. Though Yoon does cherish the jade bracelet she is given, which was passed down in her family. When Yoon is finally given a chance to play with the other girls, she is eager to join, but one demands to borrow her jade bracelet. And then will not give it back. How will Yoon outsmart this bully?

It looks like this is actually one book in a series, released after the initial book received recognition. While the story is quite believable, it isn't structured very well. It feels slow, and a bit disjointed. I maiinly dislike the early section about Yoon's birthday, which feels like it should be shorter, and a bit earlier, to transition better to the play-yard.

The artwork, while not technically simple, will look to children as if it is something they may accomplish, which might lead to your little ones wanting to try out some painting. Be prepared to connect this book to an art day.

Overall, it's a mediocre book. Feel free to check it out, if your library has it, but don't feel like you're missing something if they don't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2013
This is the second book I've purchased featuring Yoon; both are charming and thought provoking. I teach 4th grade, and use Ms. Recorvits' work in read-alouds. Students love the stories, and they both sparked great discussions. This particular one is about Yoon learning to speak up for herself, which is always a great message to children. Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2014
The story and illustrations show the readers Korean culture, “My name is Yoon. I came here from Korea, a country far away.” It’s also about how a Korean-American girl reconciles her two worlds. More than that, the story comes up questions for every kid to face in everyday life: what is true and valuable friendship? How to be accepted by others while staying true ourselves? Is it worth to sacrifice one thing to get another thing? How to speak up for ourselves? The culture angle makes the story more charming and provoking, it’s often frustrating for kids to fit into a new environment and being afraid of rejection.

The story starts from Yoon’s coming birthday. All she wants for a birthday gift from her mom is a jump rope - jump rope is a popular game in school so she can play with the other girls. Instead, Yoon’s mother gives her a Korean storybook and a jade bracelet with “Shining Wisdom” engraved in Korean, that once belonged to her grandmother. The next day at school, an older girl invites Yoon to teach her to play jump rope, but for exchange, she wants to wear the jade bracelet. Yoon reluctantly borrows her the bracelet. However, when she tries to get her bracelet back, the girl claims it belongs to her and refuses to return the bracelet. Yoon uses the lessons learned in the Korean folktale and her “Shining Wisdom” helps figure out a way to retrieve the precious jade bracelet.

This book is an emotional, colorful, vibrant experience. Swiatkowska’s illustrations are full of thickly applied large textured strokes, with backgrounds of single colors - bold reds, muted olives, aero blues, and cadet grays. Together giving the story a retro edge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2015
fast shipping - great story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.