Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guides such as this are still of great value
The previous reviewers were correct when they said that reviews of the movies listed in this book are available online, but what are actually available are review summaries, not the original, complete reviews. There are plenty of original reviews from other publications available online, I realize, but not from the New York Times, unless you subscribe to their online...
Published 17 months ago by T. Murphy

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars ... of the reviewers in this book couldn't understand how great movies like JAWS
Many of the reviewers in this book couldn't understand how great movies like JAWS, Godfather, Breakfast Club, and many other great great films were. Get the books by Roger Ebert instead. He always got it right, and always wrote for the movie-goer as well as the film lover.
Published 22 days ago by Charlie'sAngel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guides such as this are still of great value, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made (Film Critics of the New York Times) (Paperback)
The previous reviewers were correct when they said that reviews of the movies listed in this book are available online, but what are actually available are review summaries, not the original, complete reviews. There are plenty of original reviews from other publications available online, I realize, but not from the New York Times, unless you subscribe to their online service.

But, still, why buy the "tome" if you are satisfied with the reviews from other sources? Got me there. But if you're like me and you have a high regard for the Times' reviewers, past and present, and also value their selections, categorizations, and even the original best ten lists by year, this compilation is worth it. Okay, I admit I'm an old guy, but I do use the internet all the time, and one thing I don't like about it is the necessity of sifting through a ton of hits only to be disappointed that I didn't quite find what I really wanted. Yeah, I could piece it all together, but, in my opinion, there is still value in picking a volume off the shelf and getting just what you wanted in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Guide!, January 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made (Film Critics of the New York Times) (Paperback)
One big book, a comprehensive guide to films big and smaller. A terrific resource of information, a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the Movie Lover, April 24, 2013
By 
Amy E. Shina "Jersey Girl" (high point, north carolina United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made (Film Critics of the New York Times) (Paperback)
My boyfriend's father is a huge movie buff so I got him this book and he loves it. Everytime he goes to rent a movie he uses it as a reference
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gave as a gift to my son to stimulate his thinking, February 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made (Film Critics of the New York Times) (Paperback)
He is discussing it with college classmates. They are planning on getting together to view movies together. A great gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ... of the reviewers in this book couldn't understand how great movies like JAWS, July 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made (Film Critics of the New York Times) (Paperback)
Many of the reviewers in this book couldn't understand how great movies like JAWS, Godfather, Breakfast Club, and many other great great films were. Get the books by Roger Ebert instead. He always got it right, and always wrote for the movie-goer as well as the film lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No longer worth owning: don't buy the cow..., July 20, 2012
By 
This review is from: The New York Times Guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made (Film Critics of the New York Times) (Paperback)
I love books which generate a list of movies you must see/greatest movies ever/etc. There was a time in my life when I went around buying all of them, in fact. And initially this book occupied a prime place on my shelf. Though there were many choices I disagreed with, it was cool seeing the contemporary reaction to a film now considered great. (For instance, though their inclusion here obviously means the paper has since changed its mind, at the time the Times clearly hated both Dawn of the Dead and The Good the Bad and the Ugly.) Plus I really enjoyed reading the individual entries, since the Grey Lady has had her some terrific film writers over the years. Bosley Crowther, Vincent Canby, and Janet Maslin in particular are truly excellent critics.

So why am I giving this book a recommendation? Just for the simple reason that it's no longer worth buying: all these reviews are accessible online. And not just these 1000, but every review the New York Times published about film since the 30s. Let's say you watched Gigi and want to see what the NYT thought of it. Simply type "Gigi New York Times Review" into google and it'll pop up. No worrying about whether it made the Top 1000, no pulling your book down from the bookshelf, and no spending money on a large tome such as this one. If they had written 1000 synopses about the films in question when they published the book that would be one thing, but since this is just a compilation of the original reviews and the original reviews are all online, it's just not worth your money.

All things considered, this might be a decent gift for someone older who doesn't use the internet so much, but if you're even remotely tech-savvy you can save yourself some money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 27, 2014
By 
Joe (Albuquerque, New Mexico) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made (Film Critics of the New York Times) (Paperback)
A great reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars leaves a lot 2b desired., August 9, 2013
By 
Moijay "Sinan" (Los Angeles, CA.USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made (Film Critics of the New York Times) (Paperback)
Left out some important foreign directors...Tarkovsky, Tommy Tykver, Klimov ..but it's a bargain price...Leonard Maltin's better value for looking up movies you want to rent..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, August 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made (Film Critics of the New York Times) (Paperback)
it ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made (Film Critics of the New York Times) (Paperback)
Lots of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The New York Times Guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made (Film Critics of the New York Times)
$29.99 $19.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.