Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LILY ISAACS’ POWERFUL & RIVETING AUTOBIOGRAPHY!
For those who are familiar with the Gaither Homecoming concerts, and Bill & Gloria Gaither and their network of family and friends, the name “Isaacs” spells awe and inspiration. Lily Isaacs is the matriarch of the The Isaacs, a multi-award winning family group who began singing 35 years ago. A vocalist for the group, Lily was born in Germany after World War II...
Published 3 months ago by the GreatReads!

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but lacking an element of her life
This book told a great deal about Lilly's life before and after she found Christ. My disappointment was it told virtually nothing about life as one of the Homecoming groups.
Published 2 months ago by lee


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LILY ISAACS’ POWERFUL & RIVETING AUTOBIOGRAPHY!, May 9, 2014
For those who are familiar with the Gaither Homecoming concerts, and Bill & Gloria Gaither and their network of family and friends, the name “Isaacs” spells awe and inspiration. Lily Isaacs is the matriarch of the The Isaacs, a multi-award winning family group who began singing 35 years ago. A vocalist for the group, Lily was born in Germany after World War II to two Polish Jewish Holocaust survivors and migrated to the United States when she was only 2 years old.

Lily encountered a dramatic life-changing event in 1971. She became a Christian. The occasion was the death of a family member which took her and patriarch Joe Isaacs to church for the first time. Soon after, they began singing Christian music. It laid the foundation upon which the Isaacs ministry has been built. Lily is also a 30-year breast cancer survivor. Her grit and determination inspired the hit country song “I'm Gonna Love You Through It” which was co-written by Sonya and Jimmy Yeary, and recorded by Martina McBride.

Her life, her struggles and her testimony has inspired countless people across the globe, compelling her to write the story of her life. You Don't Cry Out Loud: The Lily Isaacs Story by Lily Isaacs, and published by New Leaf Press (May 2014), is a moving, powerful and riveting memoir that takes a close look at her life, both personal and public. In it Lily narrates her experiences of growing up as the daughter of Jewish Holocaust survivors, how she overcame breast cancer and her struggle with marriage – eventually ending in divorce.

With foreword by Andy Andrews, New York Times best-selling author, Lily’s autobiography is both searing and honest in content, one of the most improbable real-life stories, almost stranger than fiction. It is indeed a long journey from Germany to United States, as a two-year-old Jewish to the globe-trotting vocalist of the The Isaacs is no mean achievement. Think of her struggle through breast cancer, and the emotional, physical and mental tool her disintegrating marriage might have caused, yet she survived them all.

You Don't Cry Out Loud: The Lily Isaacs Story by Lily Isaacs is a story that will inspire you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, May 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: You Don't Cry Out Loud: The Lily Isaacs Story (Paperback)
Enjoyed this book. Once I had started it, I couldn't put it down. Then husband read it, and now my Mother is reading it . Great Read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting., May 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
To have that kind of history and overcome it is awe-inspiring. The best book I've read in a long time, by far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the heart!!, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lilliy wrote with a sensitivity that touches the heart as you read her story. Very inspiring and enlightening. Well worth the time and money spent on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeping it real, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lily Isaacs' autobiography is worth reading if you are an Isaacs fan. She writes with transparency and in a way that most readers will likely identify, as she navigates through coming of age and the fascinating music scene of the 1960s. It is only natural that the story of a young ny Jewish girl whose parents were holocaust survivors and who marries a boy from the hills of Tennessee and goes on to become a world renowned southern gospel singer would be fascinating. My only criticism is that I wish she had shared even more of her thoughts and experiences, and I hope we have not seen the last of her writing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love The Isaacs music! The story of Lily's life is very inspiring. The story does not tell why she and Joe divorced, and I was curious about that. But her story is a remarkable one of trusting God to bring her through whatever comes and blessing her in the midst of so many trials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Given To Me for An Honest Review, April 30, 2014
Lily Isaacs has written an excellent book in You Don't Cry Out Loud. She shares with the reader her family's story from their time during the Holocaust and her mother's close call of being in a wrong line but being taken by her friend into another line in time to save her life. After the liberation her parents come to America to begin a new life. She and her brother are born and she shares with the reader their life. The way that she writes you become a part of the story. Meeting her husband, her career in music, their marriage, children, her serious medical situation, her divorce, grandchildren and her Jewish and Christian life. It is fabulous read and I highly recommend it to any reader who wants to read something that has a good story with a great meaning. If I was able to give more than 5 stars I would because this book is worth more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great no holds barred book., May 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Isaacs are my favorite gospel singing group and, although familiar with Lily's family history, I found the book to be an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When your faith is wavering, read this book...I'm a big fan of The Isaacs...now I know the story...God Bless you all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great view inside the family's life, May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm so hooked on the Isaacs and their current sound, anyway... wonderful to see Lily be the public matriarch.. great look into their lives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

You Don't Cry Out Loud: The Lily Isaacs Story
You Don't Cry Out Loud: The Lily Isaacs Story by Lily Isaacs (Paperback - May 19, 2014)
$14.99 $13.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.