Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leadership 101
Mark Sanborn's book defining the qualities of true leadership (with a small "l"), is a worthy effort. If it was his senior year thesis at Leadership University, he'd most likely get a straight A.

The information Sanborn packs in this little book is perhaps more valuable for a recent college grad or a junior executive somewhere; but not necessarily for a...
Published on August 23, 2009 by Larry Underwood

versus
29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Unfinished Work.
I have to go against the flow of most of the other reviewers of this book. I was rather pleased with "The Fred Factor" and looked forward to YOU DON'T NEED A TITLE TO BE A LEADER, but found this book to be somewhat of an "unfinished" work. Though the advice here is practical and good, the structure of book and the stories it contains at times just don't seem to come to a...
Published on November 23, 2006 by Monty Rainey


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Unfinished Work., November 23, 2006
By 
Monty Rainey (New Braunfels, TX) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You Don't Need a Title to Be a Leader: How Anyone, Anywhere, Can Make a Positive Difference (Hardcover)
I have to go against the flow of most of the other reviewers of this book. I was rather pleased with "The Fred Factor" and looked forward to YOU DON'T NEED A TITLE TO BE A LEADER, but found this book to be somewhat of an "unfinished" work. Though the advice here is practical and good, the structure of book and the stories it contains at times just don't seem to come to a definite conclusion. For instance, Sanborn will tell of an individuals adversities, accomplishments, etc. and might end that particular story with, "John now works for a major corporation and is doing well." Okay, you got me interested in John's story, told about the adversities he faced and how he overcame those adversities, and that's how you end his story! Many times, throughout the book, I found instances that left me empty and in want of more information.

As previously stated, there is some sound advice here, such as midway through the book where Sanborn tells of his revelation in focusing on phone calls as opportunities rather than obligations. Sadly, however, this sort of sage advice is sparse.

In the end, this was a collection of semi-success stories that were quite readable, but for me, not as inspirational as they were surely intended. I came away with the feeling that the author needed some quick cash and threw together a book that would sell based upon the author's previous name recognition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leadership 101, August 23, 2009
This review is from: You Don't Need a Title to Be a Leader: How Anyone, Anywhere, Can Make a Positive Difference (Hardcover)
Mark Sanborn's book defining the qualities of true leadership (with a small "l"), is a worthy effort. If it was his senior year thesis at Leadership University, he'd most likely get a straight A.

The information Sanborn packs in this little book is perhaps more valuable for a recent college grad or a junior executive somewhere; but not necessarily for a seasoned management veteran. Certainly, it helps to keep handy at all times; in preparation for a big meeting or to polish off an important memo.

However, if you're a senior executive somewhere and you don't already know this stuff; and most importantly, practice this stuff; consider yourself fortunate to have survived this long. In that case, you'd better read this book; the sooner the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and concise book on Positive impact, January 4, 2007
By 
I like reading books that have the quality of being an easy read. The power of positive outlook and attitude toward work can not be over estimated. The author does not limit the discussion to the business world, but that is the bulk of the focus. It is easy to become self absorbed in the day to day activities without really considering the impacts of our actions. This book draws attention to these details in leadership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We can all become leaders in our daily lives, December 20, 2007
This review is from: You Don't Need a Title to Be a Leader: How Anyone, Anywhere, Can Make a Positive Difference (Hardcover)
I was intrigued by Mark Sanborn's latest book, YOU DON'T NEED
A TITLE TO BE A LEADER, in part because of the title . . . it had
been a concept that I had thought about, but had never realized that
it could be put into practice . . . and quite easily, too.

Sanborn contends that we can each be a leader in our daily
lives . . . though the use of real examples involving both people
and companies, he actually shows how this can be done . . . such
as in the auto industry:

* At any Toyota plant, every employee on the line has the authority
and responsibility to shut down the line at any time they feel
necessary. Quality control and problem solving aren't left to the titled
managers. A woman who spots a problem is expected to lead by
calling attention to it rather than allowing it to slip through and become
an imperfection on a dealer's lot or owner's driveway.

He also gives very concrete suggestions on how to bring about
change; for example, in ourselves:

* Reading outside your area of expertise, or outside your comfort
zone, can stimulate your thinking, whether that means picking up
an interesting new book or thumbing through a new issue of
a magazine.

And I also liked his useful advice on how to choose the best person
to shine your shoes:

* As he worked, I commented on the quality of the shoe shines
I had gotten in other airports, mentioning how difficult it was
to gauge the kind of shoe shine I would get in places I hadn't been
in before. He looked up at me with astonishment. "It's easy to tell if
you're going to get a good shine," he told me. "Just look at the shoes
of the guy giving the shine. If they ain't fine, walk on by." I glanced
at his shoes; they literally shone. They were a walking billboard
proclaiming his competence.

In addition, YOU DON'T NEED A TITLE TO BE A LEADER contained
many insightful quotes, including this one:

* Sometimes being "good" isn't aiming high enough. As Erwin McManus,
the pastor of Mosaic Church in Los Angeles, "We spend so much time
worrying about our kids being good-not breaking the rules, getting into
trouble, and basically behaving-that we often forget to invite them to
be great."

This is a short book, but it is one that will get you thinking--long beyond
the time that you put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Be the change, start w/yourself", October 29, 2006
This review is from: You Don't Need a Title to Be a Leader: How Anyone, Anywhere, Can Make a Positive Difference (Hardcover)
The gift for you here is that: You will WANT to aspire to a higher standard!

"The fact is, all leadership begins with self-mastery. You can't lead others until you can first lead yourself."
"To truly lead, and make a difference in the world, you must always start with yourself." -excerpts from the book.

This small book is full of 'gems' that will make you sparkle! Besides the good advice on leadership,(aka: "The six Principals of Leadership) it's just good advice on how to live. Maybe you're not interested in being a leader, that's okay, you will improve your life by reading and applying the inspirational wisdom presented here!

This book is short (102 pages) and cuts straight to the point.
"Great leaders are not evaluated on the length at which they speak, but on the impact of the message." And- "People who act effectively as leaders boil down the details. The make the world easy for others to understand."

Great Book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and insightful read!, June 1, 2014
This review is from: You Don't Need a Title to Be a Leader: How Anyone, Anywhere, Can Make a Positive Difference (Hardcover)
You don't a title to be a leader is a quick read. It's a 128-page book. This is not a scholarly book; rather it is a reflective book on the author's experiences in both personal and professional life.
Part I seeks to define leadership by giving examples of people in real life who do not hold leadership position but are making huge differences in their workplaces and families.
Part II discusses the six principles of leadership. Some of these principles deal with self-discipline and others feature the influence leaders can have on those around them. It also discussed the importance of mentoring.
Part III explains the importance of making a difference and the idea that anyone can make a difference. It concludes with the section on leaving a legacy. The other gave examples of people who left great legacy.
Throughout the book, Samborn argues that the title does not equate with making a leader, but it is rather the values, disciplines, intentions, thoughts and actions that make great leaders.
The idea of this book is within reach. It is simply, be a leader wherever you are with whatever you have. You can make a difference. The size and format of the book make it simple to read and understand.
The following are some quotes from the book that stood out for me:
1. "Fame is based on what we get in life, but true greatness is based on what we give in life."
2. "Everything we accomplish happens not just because of our efforts but through the efforts of others."
3. " Don't confuse resume skills with leadership skills"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost every page is highlighted, April 24, 2014
By 
Edward (Green bay, WI, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Full of wisdom that we all should share with others. A very readable book. Read it and you will be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fresh Perspective on Leadership, March 5, 2013
This review is from: You Don't Need a Title to Be a Leader: How Anyone, Anywhere, Can Make a Positive Difference (Hardcover)
I’ve read a number of very good leadership books lately. Some very theoretical. Some very applicable. When I started reading Mark Sanborn’s book You Don’t Need a Title to Be a Leader, I thought I was going to get more of the same…I was wrong.

Many of the leadership books you will read give tons of great advice on motivating and influencing people or leading change. Many give great advice on how to manage or discipline yourself or a number of laws to be a better leader.

Mr. Sanborn’s book gave some of these things (especially in Part II: The Six Principles of Leadership) but there was something underlying all of the motivational and practical advice that I found very refreshing. Mr. Sanborn encourages leaders, whether you have a title or not, to make a difference and influence people in a positive way. He seems to assume that leadership is not about getting more done for an organization or getting yourself ahead, although these may be benefits of what he prescribes. Instead, he encourages the reader to work/serve/give to the best of their ability because the reader should want to make the world and others better.

While the principles, theory, and practical steps for leadership in this book are good, they are not the best I have read. However, it is refreshing to hear someone talk about leadership based on serving others and the world. Kudos to Mark Sanborn for framing leadership in a way that encourages us all to lead well in order to be better human beings!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free for review purposes from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "Game Changer", May 8, 2011
This review is from: You Don't Need a Title to Be a Leader: How Anyone, Anywhere, Can Make a Positive Difference (Hardcover)
My neighbor gave me this book to read on a recent business trip. He said it was one of the most practical leadership books he'd read in the past ten years and that he'd given one to all of his senior managers.

I read it and have since ordered one for each person on my senior management team. Sanborn's follow up to Fred Factor (which I also loved) is loaded with uncommon common sense tools and ideas that, if followed, will make leaders better. It's an easy read punctuated with great stories and profound insights.

For me, You Don't Need a Title... is a game changer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Principles for Leadership of `ME Inc.', November 29, 2007
This review is from: You Don't Need a Title to Be a Leader: How Anyone, Anywhere, Can Make a Positive Difference (Hardcover)
In this self-help book on the subject of leadership for your ME Inc., motivational speaker Mark Sanborn entertains with stories and one-liners for an interesting and informative read. Opening with stories to demonstrate that, "influence and inspiration come from the person, not the position", Sanborn then provides his six principles of personal leadership:
1. The Power of Self-Mastery
2. The Power of Focus
3. Power with People
4. The Power of Persuasive Communication
5. The Power of Execution
6. The Power of Giving

While most all of the information within the each principle chapter is interesting and useful advice, I was particularly taken by some of his simple statements such as: "Integrity ... is measured by the distance between your lips and your life"; or, "...confront problems, not people." And while he did not use these words exactly, the books overall advice might be summed up with this: People remember stories; in your life you are the story!

Dennis DeWilde, author of
"The Performance Connection"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

You Don't Need a Title to Be a Leader: How Anyone, Anywhere, Can Make a Positive Difference
$15.99 $12.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.