Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


124 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this book
This is a little-known but delightful gem of a book. The inimitable Eleanor Roosevelt was a prolific author, but this effort is among her very best. Forged by adversity throughout her life, Eleanor was born into a privileged, wealthy family. Her father, Elliot, was Theodore Roosevelt's brother.
My favorite chapter is "The Right to Be an Individual." Mrs. Roosevelt...
Published on July 25, 2003 by Candace Scott

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Okay, not a must read. Kinda long.
Published 7 months ago by Laurene J. Doan


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An admirable woman with some good advice for us all, June 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'd give this book 4.5 stars out of 5. It is an impressive book, written by an intelligent, persevering, patient and empathetic woman who found herself thrust into the limelight of politics and who made a real success of her life in spite of the many difficulties she faced. I found her advice quite straightforward, no-nonsense, honest and helpful. She really did 'learn by living', and that is the message her short book imparts. It's possible to grow and change with experience, if you tackle the challenges that life tosses you rather than evade them. She meant that if we face our fears, we will grow as human beings. She was way ahead of her time in terms of how she lived her life and how she looked at her life as a woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This should be required reading in middle school., January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I first was introduced to Eleanor's wisdom by random quotes that made me want to know more about this amazing woman. Her observations on life and lessons that she learned and passed along through this book should be shared by everyone, adults and children alike. Many of her anecdotes are indispensable to getting along with others and treating others with respect. I would have thought that much of what is written would no longer be relevant in this era, but actually it's the opposite. It seems we have forgotten some basic courtesies, taking responsibility for our actions and how important education is. She led a very full life that we can learn from and apply to ourselves to enrich our own lives. I can't stop talking about this book with my friends. Now I want to read all of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd copy ....., June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this copy to replace a copy I left on a plane some time ago. The more I read abut this really wise, kind and powerful person, the more I appreciate the value of responsibility for my own growth. She started out with quite a bit (about as much as our 1%-ers), but then took it upon herself to continue to learn and grow, both intellectually, but also in maturity and largesse. Now, here's the secret I'm discovering - I am much improved if I develop these qualities, whether I'm part of the 1% or not. I'll be keeping better track of this copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Lessons From a Great First Lady, July 22, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Eleanor Roosevelt was the best First Lady America ever had in my humble opinion; she lived during the crises of the Depression and the Second World War. She exemplifies the wisdom learned from living during America's testing. I believe she has much to teach us in this book and I recommend it unreservedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As then, so it could be now., July 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Eleanor's insights are as valid today as years ago. It would be a great book for a course in government, history, or even a parenting class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: You Learn by Living: Eleven Keys for a More Fulfilling Life (Paperback)
Have always been a fan of Eleanor Roosevelt so when I saw this book, I had to buy it. Very interesting and sounds like she's talking to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sage advice from Eleanor Roosevelt, who could ask for anything more., January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: You Learn by Living: Eleven Keys for a More Fulfilling Life (Paperback)
The sage advice of Eleanor Roosevelt makes this book so worth the read. I would recommend it to anyone young or old who is interested in the wisdom she offers on eleven important area's of life, such as dealing with fear, maturity, readjustments in life, responsibility, being a good citizen and more.
For someone born after Eleanor Roosevelt's time, the book gave me wonderful insight into her beliefs and character, as well as her life. Written in 1960, just two years before she passed away, it is dedicated to her grandchildren and great grandchildren. The advice is as relevant today as it was then. We should all have been so blessed to have a Grandma Eleanor to learn from, the world would be a better place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Outstanding Woman!, September 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've always known that Eleanor was a remarkable woman, but the reading of this book cemented just how amazing she was. She demonstrated such intelligence and insight as well as down to earth common sense.
I think anyone who reads this book will benefit greatly from having read it. I plan to read it again and will most likely refer
back to many of her teachings when I need to refresh my memory of the many wonderful things she shared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A priceless gift for the humankind., April 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I find this book to be very useful to anyone who wishes to know more about his capabilities as an individual and HOW to accomplish more out of his/her life.
I would rate 10 if there were more stars.
A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and practical, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ahead of her time and practical in ours. This book provided insight to a great woman and gave applicable thoughts to become one as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

You Learn by Living: Eleven Keys for a More Fulfilling Life
You Learn by Living: Eleven Keys for a More Fulfilling Life by Eleanor Roosevelt (Paperback - April 26, 2011)
$14.99 $13.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.