Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mouse is Back.....
"If you take a mouse to school he'll ask you for your lunchbox..." So begins Laura Numeroff and Felicia Bond's latest manic chain of events adventure, and little ones, familiar with this marvelous series, will know just what kind of trouble is coming next. Mouse is never quite satisfied. Once he's got your lunchbox, he'll want a sandwich, and a snack for...
Published on July 20, 2002 by Roz Levine

versus
30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Loosing steam?
My son loves the previous books in the series, and this one is not bad, either. The drawing of the mouse peeking out from behind the book in class is fabulous, as is the blackboard sequence where he shows off his spelling and math abilities.
But this title lacks some of the sparkle and mischevious charm that made the moose and the pig and the original mouse such...
Published on October 27, 2002 by L. Blackmore


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Loosing steam?, October 27, 2002
By 
L. Blackmore (Norwich, VT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My son loves the previous books in the series, and this one is not bad, either. The drawing of the mouse peeking out from behind the book in class is fabulous, as is the blackboard sequence where he shows off his spelling and math abilities.
But this title lacks some of the sparkle and mischevious charm that made the moose and the pig and the original mouse such lovable characters. It comes across as a bit uninspired, there's no crazy, yet logical, sequence to follow, just a series of interesting spreads of our mouse showing off his amazing skills. Skateboarding... whee. Basketball... whee. So what?
The giggle that builds to a crescendo as you near the end of the other books is missing here, leaving you... wanting. So, it's back to muffins and pancakes and cookies for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mouse is Back....., July 20, 2002
"If you take a mouse to school he'll ask you for your lunchbox..." So begins Laura Numeroff and Felicia Bond's latest manic chain of events adventure, and little ones, familiar with this marvelous series, will know just what kind of trouble is coming next. Mouse is never quite satisfied. Once he's got your lunchbox, he'll want a sandwich, and a snack for later, a notebook and pencils, and he'll want to share your backpack. Once you get to school, he'll do a little math, some spelling, and a rather messy science experiment, that sends him to the bathroom in need of washing up. Then he notices the building blocks, and so on, and so forth, through the end of the school day and after, until the story comes full circle, and his boy companion ends up taking him back to school..... Ms Numeroff's lively text is entertaining and engaging, but it's Ms Bond's busy, bright and exuberant illustrations that make this picture book sparkle. Each colorful, action packed page is filled with special, humorous details, and youngsters will revel in all the fun as they watch this endearing little rodent wreak havoc and create chaos in the classroom. Though the story doesn't flow as smoothly as in the previous books of this series (If You Give A Mouse A Cookie, If You Give A Moose A Muffin, If You Take A Mouse To The Movies), and isn't quite as intricate or clever, If You Take A Mouse To School is still a comical, silly romp kids 3-7 will want to read again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That demanding mouse is back for another adventure!, July 31, 2002
By 
Ariel Pawlak (POMPANO BEACH, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this for my soon to be three year old daughter because she loves the other books in this series so much (if you give a mouse a cookie, a pig a pancake, etc.). I was glad to see mouse going to school. I am currently trying to warm my daughter up to the idea of attending a preschool. Thanks to mouse and his human boy friend school looks like a fun place to be. The boy in this story reminds me somewhat of myself. Always trying to satisfy the insatiable demands of a mouse or in my case the demands of a preschooler. Parents and kids will enjoy reading this book together. A great addition to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cute characters, fun and lively illustrations, August 1, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This must be the 5th or 6th in this series that pairs author Laura Numeroff and illustrator Felicia Bond in a creative partnership that has spawned more than a few adorable characters and situations. While the bold watercolors are as enchanting as usual, the story is weak here, focusing on action and mischief rather than the charming overarching story arc that surfaces in their better efforts. This book is fine, but others in the series are better. Buy 'If You Take a Mouse to the Movies' and get Mouse .. School at the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Going to School Book, September 13, 2005
By 
Ramona (Maryland, USA) - See all my reviews
My daughter (2 years old) loves this book. It's funny, cute and has wonderful pictures. It was so great she even fell asleep with it (a first).

All of Laura Numeroff's books are worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Wonderful Addition to A Funny Concept, May 15, 2009
Another in the cumulative series that begins with "If you Give a Mouse a Cookie." The sound recording that comes with this one is particularly good, and although the novelty of the concept is beginning to wear off this is still a quite enjoyable book. Children from two to five love the humor of these books, and the silly fantasy can provoke some very funny play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun book - maybe 4 1/2 stars, August 22, 2002
By 
"michikami" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
My 4-year old really likes it. The writing style and pacing is very "in tune" with him - on the first reading, he seemed to know what was coming next, and guessed the last line perfectly. We've already read it several times, so it's definately a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you take a Mouse to School, September 6, 2002
By 
T. D. (Feeding Hills, Ma.) - See all my reviews
My four year old son really likes mouse...Mouse is just as precocius as he. He has bonded with the mouse character they are kindred in spirit. I am excited about it all! In this book the mouse does things that my son thinks about doing or does. It is fun for him to learn that others share the same thoughts, and actions. These series of books have definitly touched his heart and I believe they will be stories that he will one day pass along to his children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Schoolhouse fun!, April 19, 2011
The chalkboard, the science experiment, the mouse-house made out of clay... It's all great. What a fun story! I'm sure every kid that reads this book dreams of one day being able to goof off this much at school! Love this series! Fabulous artwork! - Marc Schmatjen, Author of My Giraffe Makes Me Laugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too much fun!, May 30, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Both my girls love all these books by Laura Numeroff. The art is fun and the pages are full of details, plus the stories are hilarious and engaging. The added bonus is that I don't get tired of reading these!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

If You Take a Mouse to School (If You Give. . .)
If You Take a Mouse to School (If You Give. . .) by Laura Joffe Numeroff (Paperback - June 30, 2003)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.