Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a talk with your girlfriend, January 27, 2010
By 
S. Katz (alexandria, va) - See all my reviews
I can't believe how much I learned from a book that was so enjoyable to read! Carlson's voice makes this book feel like a talk with one of your girlfriends. She's funny and smart and teaches us without ever talking down to us (the reader). This is a must-read for anyone who would like to understand more about the economy but doesn't want to feel like a dummy doing it. Three cheers for the arrival of this wonderful, unique writer, her terrific voice and a smashing first book. Can't wait to see what she does next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three cheers, January 26, 2010
By 
I loved the book. I was living in Washington, DC, at the time of the economic collapse, and I remember reading the Post and listening to NPR in an effort to learn more about and better understand the financial crisis. It was a great pleasure to read You, Me & the US Economy, and I think Stacy's account is compelling; I really enjoyed the moments of levity she sprinkled throughout. It's a valuable document of a wild ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful review in plain language about the financial crisis, April 1, 2010
By 
Ross Marks (Wellington, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: You, Me & The U.S. Economy: A Plainspoken Story of Financial Crisis (Paperback)
As speech writer for US Treasury Secretary Hank Paulson, the author, Stacy Carlson, could have just given us a blow by blow of the financial crisis as she saw it happen. To her great credit, she not only did this, but she also carried out a lot of research into financial matters so she could provide readers with a context to help us understand what happened. Overall, I felt that all the important issues relating to the financial crisis were well covered. Stacy Carlson provides several useful explanations of technical terms in the text as they become relevant. These definitions are repeated in the Glossary at the back of the book. The glossary goes some way to making up for the absence of an index. This is not just a book for Americans, as many other countries made similar mistakes.

There is an element of gonzo journalism in the book as we learn about the life of this single, mid 40s, conservative Republican party supporter with a weakness for men in uniform, but this all helps make the book more readable. Importantly, this personal material also gives readers some understanding of the filters through which the author views the world. There is an interesting section in pages 99-102 that gives one a strong suspicion that some of candidate Obama's speeches on the crisis were substantially based on Carlson's writing for Paulson.

If you want to know why the Fed didn't bail out Lehman, read paragraph 2 on page 138.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wit, Wisdom, and War Stories of Stacy Carlson, February 2, 2010
By 
J. D. Schramm (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Carlson's book is an easy-read and must-read for anybody who wants to better understand the financial crisis of 2008. If Erma Bombeck had been the speechwriter for Secretary Paulson, this is the book she'd have written. Stacy's style and mastery of the chronology and terminology is a real gift to her readers. As I read from my kindle on the train I kept having to apologize to the people around for laughing out loud. Don't miss this book. JD Schramm, Faculty, Graduate School of Business, Stanford University.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best and most accessible book about what happened, January 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Stacy Carlson is such an engaging writer, and has a wonderful way with readable words. I love how she describes a speechwriter as someone who is not necessarily expert in anything, and yet is expected to be an expert on everything. Written like a journal with dates and anecdotes, Carlson walks readers through the days before and during the collapse, and with wit and warmth she helps us piece it together -- even while recounting how her own world (and her mortgage!) seemed to be falling apart. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book club selection!, January 26, 2010
Stacy's book does for economics what Julia Child did for French cooking: it makes the foreign, familiar. Her insider's vantage point, combined with her humor and vulnerability, provides a true decoder ring for understanding US and global markets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No more lemmings..., March 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: You, Me & The U.S. Economy: A Plainspoken Story of Financial Crisis (Paperback)
People... you must read this book BEFORE you vote in the next election. You will be able to identify the real causes, and know how actions being taken by the government have no coorelation to the actual problems. Don't be fooled again... read this and make up your own mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book for understanding 2008 financial crisis, January 3, 2011
By 
Larry Wanamaker (Bakersfield, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You, Me & The U.S. Economy: A Plainspoken Story of Financial Crisis (Paperback)
This book is a chronological narrative of the financial crisis events from mid-2007 to January 2009 as told from the author's vantage point as speechwriter for former Treasury Secretary, Henry Paulson. The book especially gains traction about halfway through when the author recounts the cataclysmic economic events of mid to late 2008. Throughout the story, Ms. Carlson does a good job in explaining and summarizing for the layman key financial terms and concepts. The author's observations of the political machinations of Washington during the crisis are insightful. Warning: I found Ms. Carlson's folksy and impish personal narrative style to be slightly distracting at times - nonetheless this is a helpful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift for Husband, December 31, 2012
By 
Mom2five (metro Atlanta) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: You, Me & The U.S. Economy: A Plainspoken Story of Financial Crisis (Paperback)
Book arrived very fast. This particular title wouldn't interest me, but my finance-degree husband is fascinated with what went wrong and loves reading about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! An explanation in plain English, April 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: You, Me & The U.S. Economy: A Plainspoken Story of Financial Crisis (Paperback)
I will admit to being drawn to this book more out of curiosity than an expectation of being "educated" about the nation's ongoing economic crisis. You see, Stacy Carlson, the author, grew up in Bakersfield, Calif., where I now live. But I was surprised and delighted by the insights and humor she brings to the complex circumstances that brought us to the economic brink. "You, Me & the U.S. Economy" describes the players and explains the developments in plain English. What a welcome change from the many dense tomes now on book shelves. I highly recommend this book. It's a real page-turner.

John Hardisty
Bakersfield, Calif.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

You, Me & The U.S. Economy: A Plainspoken Story of Financial Crisis
You, Me & The U.S. Economy: A Plainspoken Story of Financial Crisis by Stacy Carlson (Paperback - January 26, 2010)
$17.95 $17.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.