Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: If You Want Blood You've Got It
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Adele Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars107
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$8.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 7, 2004
This is a great album! One of the best live albums i've ever heard from any classic rock bands! The CD starts out with a raving audience cheering, and you can tell when Angus comes out. Then you hear the intro played by Angus to "Riff Raff", and Bon is really at his best in this concert!! He screams his lungs out with raw hysteria, its great!! The song moves onto the great "Hell Ain't A Bad Place to Be", followed by one of the best songs off of Let There Be Rock, "Bad Boy Boogie", and this version really gets in your face! "The Jack" comes next, with the original live version of lyrics(which are so much better). "Problem Child" where Bon screams his best here as well. "Whole Lotta Rosie", another favorite, and you can really feel Bon's voice going through your ears and shaking your brain! And the rampaging crowd chants "Angus, Angus" during the beginning riffs, its just great! Then onto some classic rock and roll tunes, "Rock 'n' Roll Damnation" and "High Voltage", where Bon get the crowd to chant "HIGH", and wait'll Bon chants it the 4th time around(get your ears ready). "Let There Be Rock" the most powerful song on the album, where Angus and Malcolm blast their guitars and push their Marshall amps to the limit. The CD closes out with the classic "Rocker". Bon really puts his heart and soul into singing here, i've never heard him sing better than on this album. If you want blood...You got it, right on this album.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2005
I am not a huge fan of AC/DC. I own this album and '74 Jailbreak. But man, this ROCKS!!!! What a great, unpolished live recording! It has that magical rock n' roll raw energy all the way through it. Bon Scott and Angus Young are in their finest; aw, the entire band does a great thing!

I love this cd all the way through, but my favourite would include Let There Be Rock (possibly their best song ever) which is filled with incredible guitar licks from Angus, Riff Raff (featuring one of the best riffs I've ever heard) and High Voltage (which sounds to me as incredible rock n' roll wannabe theme). My least favourite here would be Bad Boy Boogie, but that one rocks as well!

I guess I gotta get more into AC/DC; this band really inspired Me! Recommended to any Rock N' Roll fan!
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2006
Live album from 1978 captures the band at the height of their powers with Bon Scott at the helm. This is a great straight ahead rock album that features some of the best songs from the bands early years. For me the highlight is the 8 minute plus version of "Let There Be Rock" which remains one of my favorite AC/ DC tracks to this day. Angus Young also shines on the 7 minute plus "Bad Boy Boogie" which features his trademark style. I think this may be my favorite AC / DC album in my collection. The album starts off with a blistering "Riff Raff" then runs through killer versions of "Hell Aint A Bad Place To Be", "The Jack", "Problem Child", "Whole Lotta Rosie", Rock n Roll Damnation", "High Voltage" and "Rocker", all played at maximum volume and energy. All in all a great live album.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2003
Contrary to what "mike" says below, this is the live recording to own if you are a real ac/dc fan. We all know Bon was the better singer/frontman, and phil the better drummer. Sorry dude, ou must have flunked-out of the school of rock!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2006
AC/DC is, first and foremost, a real band. They made it to the top because of their tight, energetic, powerful, ballsy sound that reaches down your throat and grabs hold of your heart from the inside.

Too many bands have created their sound with the aid of expert producers, engineering wizards and borrowed musicians who spent hours tweaking, over-dubbing, and over-producing the record until you are left with nothing but a cookie-cutter pop album that could have been released by any number of the "hot" artists of the day. But not AC/DC. Hand them their guitars, amps, and drums, and stay out of their way, and you'll get one heck of a performance. This album is proof that they don't need effects and gimmicks to sound good.

When recording in the studio the typical band records the instruments one at a time. AC/DC usually records the entire band all together. The reason? This is the best way to capture the energy of their live performances. Individually they may not be virtuoso musicians, but collectively their styles perfectly mesh to create a sound that has made AC/DC one of the greatest hard rock bands of all time.

As I said, this is a real band who can put on a live performance that matches the best of the best, and this recording captures that energy very well. "Riff Raff" is one of my all-time favorite songs from any band, of any era. It is fast, energetic, ballsy, and extremely well written. I respect the song so much that if I cannot listen to it at full volume I will not listen to it at all. The studio version of the song from "Powerage" is excellent, but AC/DC is at their best when performing live, and they push it over the top on this recording.

If you are a younger fan just getting into the old AC/DC this should be your first buy. It has several classic hits (i.e. "Whole Lotta Rosie"), and it captures Bon Scott in his prime. If you're already an AC/DC fan then this review is moot because you probably already own it!

AC/DC Live? This is absolutely a must buy.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2014
My favorite live AC/DC disc. You can't go wrong with this gem. The energy, crazy.

This was around the same time I first saw them at the Palace Theater in Cleveland opening for Thin Lizzy September 16th, 1978. It has all the energy of the live show on the disc.

The first time I saw them at the Palace Theater concert they played only 6 songs:
Live Wire
Problem Child
Sin City
Bad Boy Boogie
The Jack
Rocker

Angus on Bon's shoulders playing his Gibson as they walked up and down the isle in the theater. I was sold on AC/DC. The Bon era is my favorite.Then I saw them in 1979 at Cleveland Stadium at the World Series of Rock. Great to rock at 10 o'clock in the morning with AC/DC!

Get this disc if you wanna rock!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2010
In 1978, AC/DC was a powder keg with the fuse lit. They were just about ready to bust completely out internationally with Highway to Hell the following year. If You Want Blood You've Got It was offered up to markets in Fall of '78, and is, quite simply, a masterpiece and one of the best live rock & roll albums ever made.

This band, with this lineup, was as no-frills, no-nonsense, in your face rock and roll as any band in history. These guys went up on the stage and quite simply kicked ass. They held nothing back and gave people their moneys worth (and then some) every night. This CD sounds awesome, the production values are high, it feels like you are really there. The energy put out by this band just surges through your speakers and into your soul.

The song lineup here is a great representation of the band at this point of their career. I personally would have liked to see "TNT" or "Live Wire" on here, or "Long Way to the Top" (they hardly ever played that one live), but I can't fault the ten songs on this album at all. Bon Scott is simply fantastic here, his vocals are like nails across a blackboard (in a good way, of course! :)), the Young brothers are phenomenal, and the rhythm section of Rudd and Williams thump along in a sonic whirlwind.

Finally, kudos to the CD cover. What an image of the guitar piercing through Angus' stomach with Bon Scott leering at his shoulder. In an age of disco and a lot of syrupy music, this album punches you right in the face and doesn't apologize. It is an absolutely classic live rock & roll album, and should be an essential part of your collection if you like good, old fashioned unabashed rock and roll. Highly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2003
This is an album that not only an ac/dc fan should have but any rock and roll fan should have . Most of the album is taken from a concert in Glasgow, and is pure power from the first song, Riff Raff all the way to Rocker.Fantastic live versions of Problem Child, The Jack and Rock and Roll Dammation. Bon Scott is at his best in Whole Lotta Rosie.No space in between songs, it goes from audience sound to the next song, so even though the songs might have been recorded in different nights, it sounds like is one full concert. Listen to Bon while singing The Jack, when he sings, ...she told me she was a virgin... he asks,-any virgins in Glasgow?
This digi pack also comes with the booklet,with pictures and interesting details about the band. Killer sound and very appropiate title.Let There Be Rock in its full version live with Angus' solo is superb. This is the thunder from down under before Highway To Hell and Back In Black, and a powerful reminder of how great Bon Scott was.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2012
This is the classic version of AC/DC with the GREAT Bon Scott out front at the height of their powers!

Some may disagree, but just because they weren't yet a global name doesn't mean they weren't an awsome band. They were certainly HUGE in OZ.

Bon's voice had the range and power to cut through the Thunder from Down Under. And to me having grown up in Melbourne Australia, this is the Real AC/DC. You can actually hear the vocals in the mix.

What an absolute tragedy we're not still hearing this line-up today.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2015
AC/DC - If You Want Blood You've Got It is an excellent addition to any fan's collection, and with Bon Scott at the helm it is just what you would hope for! Raw unadulterated power sound from the band that made a simple riff the king of Metal! Long live AC/DC!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.