Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: You & Your Jaguar XK8: Buying,Enjoying,Maintaining,Modifying (You and Your)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eli Paperboy Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 25, 2009
Unlike the other books on the XK8 that are avaliable, this book tells you what you are buying and what to look out for in a 96 to 2006 XK8. And more criticaly to decide if this is the car for you. The other books tend to be pretty histories printed for those who see these XK8s as dreams. And this book has lots of pretty pictures and a good history,if you want to read up on the car rather than buy one. If your thinking of writing a check for one, the information in this book as to what your buying beneth the pretty body is some thing you need to know. Its an XJS floor pan and in the early production before 2003, but especialy before 2000, has a lot of potential technical issues. The car is definately NOT designed for maintainability. On the other hand, at least for later production, it is reasonably reliable if well maintained. The chapters on buying a car and maintaining it are what makes this book a must buy if your thinking of getting one. The picture of just how much torque it takes to remove a nut to change a wheel bearing makes clear your not buying a Mustang or Camaro type car. What this book makes clear is that the highly depriciated prices for these cars especialy those built before the 2003 upgrade must be ofset with the high maintenance costs and the criticaly of making sure the car has been well maintained. If you cannot afford a new one, you cannot afford an old one; may not be totaly true for this car but its something to consider.
22 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2006
One of the best, if not the best, book on the Jaguar XK8/R series by a top expert on Jaguars. Great information if you own one, and you absolutely must buy this book if you are thinking about buying a used one. Also many good photos that I have not seen published elsewhere.
22 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2007
the best book you can get if you are planning on getting one of these cars this book can save you lots of money making the knowledge work for you classy precise and up to date
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2011
I have two other books on the Jaguar XK8/XKR models, and naturally there is a bit of overlap, but each book has its own endearing qualities. This attractive hardcovered book provides a little bit about the rushed evolution of the XK8 and a nod to the future, but its forte is in the owning of the car in the here and now. The book contains informative data tables and nicely done photographs as well as colorful mechanical illustrations of not only the different models of the XKR and XK8 cars, but also of race cars, modified cars, crash test cars, mechanical caveats, procedures, and options. This book is quite useful in the care and feeding of your prized car.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2011
book is so good i loaned it to a friend who is thinking of buying an xk8 and he likes it so much i decided to let him keep it and i'm buying another one for myself. covers a gamit of info. great book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2006
If you have or are planning to buy an XK8, this book is a must buy.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2011
This is a well done book. That aside, I was looking for something a little different. I was hoping for a list of places I could go in the United States for accessories as well as more technical information. It almost seems that when the author gets right up into the meat of the subject, he changes course and changes the topic, leaving me wanting the rest of the story. On the other hand, some of the repairs he describes are far beyond what I would attempt and should be done by a professional in my opinion. Although this book didn't contain what I was looking for, it did have a great amount of information. It would be particularly interesting if you live in Great Briton, as the author is English and his excerpts deal with mostly English themes. As an American I was just not that pleased with the book. I feel the book would have been more impressive to me if it had sold for about half as much.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2010
Nigel Thorley is one of the most authoritative writers on Jaguar and he produces another great book which outlines the development of the XK8/XKR cars up to 2006. In his excellent narrative, Thorley discusses the improvements to the car and production changes since its introduction. This is a great reference book for the XK8/XKR owner, or any Jaguar enthusiast. I also recommend the following book which falls within the same approximate price range. Jaguar XK8 and XKR (Mrp Autoguide) This book however only covers the cars up to the 2000 model year. Two others I have not read, but I am sure are worth checking out knowing the authors are: Jaguar Xk8 andJaguar XK8: The Complete Story (Crowood Autoclassics) This review is written by a Jaguar enthusiast and owner, having a XKR among other Jaguar models.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
Very pleased with Thorley's work! This author really has a good depth of knowledge about the subject! Very interesting read and I would not hesitate to buy another of his works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2014
Book is excellent condition very satisfied Bob
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.