Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YouTube Marketing
When I received YouTube and Video Marketing: An Hour a Day I dove straight into it. I'm a technical person and have been working with Marketers all my life either to build systems or help in presales engagements. As Marketing has is becoming an online experience more and more, it makes sense to arm oneself with knowledge of the various media options. YupTube, like...
Published on August 9, 2009 by Brian K. Seitz

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the proof is in the proofreading
Before reading Greg Jarboe's book I already had an in-depth knowledge of YouTube and online video with a number of successful campaigns behind me. I still learned a lot from the book and am the better for it. Mr. Jarboe certainly spent some time compiling data and examples to help illustrate his points. This made the book much more interesting and useful.

So...
Published on April 20, 2010 by Daniel Trattler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YouTube Marketing, August 9, 2009
By 
Brian K. Seitz (Eatonville, Wa USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: YouTube and Video Marketing: An Hour a Day (Paperback)
When I received YouTube and Video Marketing: An Hour a Day I dove straight into it. I'm a technical person and have been working with Marketers all my life either to build systems or help in presales engagements. As Marketing has is becoming an online experience more and more, it makes sense to arm oneself with knowledge of the various media options. YupTube, like Twitter, LinkedIn and Facebook are become forces to deal with in the online world.

Initially I expected a Step by Step, how-to guide. However as I dug through the book I kept asking myself when I was going to get to the first step. It isn't until halfway in that I started to find some technical aspects of how-to. But even these were not the "here's how" I expected. After completing the book, I initially felt I had not really gotten what I had hoped for.

However, I then reread the book. This time with a marketer's perspective. It reads more like a novel than an procedures manual and has one linger and investigate how others are engaging community and creating effective followings through YouTube Marketing. My opinion changed from a (2) to (4) stars after that insight. If you are looking for a technical step by step of loading videos, skip this book. If however, you want to get a flavor of how ours are being successful marketing with you tube and the elements to build your own campaigns. This is worth the investment and a second reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST-READ for any video marketing professional, September 8, 2009
This review is from: YouTube and Video Marketing: An Hour a Day (Paperback)
Unlike some other books on the topic of video marketing, Greg Jarboe really GETS it. You can really tell that Jarboe is a PR-professional that knows what he's talking about. Whereas most books describe YouTube's features one-by-one, his advice is solid-as-rock and genuinely helps in mapping out a video marketing strategy and implementing it on a daily basis. I love his quote that "YouTube is the center of your video marketing strategy, but not the circumference". What Jarboe means by this statement is that you should not ignore other video sharing platforms (e.g. Vimeo, Metacafe, MySpace, Blip, etc.), but use YouTube as the core of your video marketing efforts. For one, ability to embed is universal, allowing yourself or other users to spread your content to other social networks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Next Big Thing in Digital Marketing? YouTube and Video, November 29, 2009
This review is from: YouTube and Video Marketing: An Hour a Day (Paperback)
"Master Story Teller", that's how I would describe Greg Jarboe, someone I've known in the internet marketing and PR world for several years. Now he's pioneered yet another essential digital marketing channel: online video. In YouTube and Video Marketing: An Hour A Day, Greg has assembled a priceless collection of insights, examples and practical tips for companies that want, that need, to understand how to use video marketing to grow their business. You cannot afford to miss this story."

That's the endorsement I gave Greg's new book based on the pre-published preview copy. I got ahold of a copy of the final book summer 2009 and I thought it very timely to provide a more in-depth review.

As an active participant in the marketing industry ([...]), I see a lot of companies trying to get their arms around what will be the "next big thing" in digital marketing and social media. With YouTube the second most popular search engine after Google, video marketing is a big part of that answer.

What's great about the "An Hour A Day" series from Wiley is that each book is structured around practical tips. Sure, there's mention of a dead terrorist Ventriloquist dummy and Paris Hilton in jail, but you'll also find great background information on the emergence of YouTube as the dominant online video hosting service on the front end and "Mysteries of Online Video Revealed" on the back end. In between, chapters 3-10 offer a day by day, week by week plan for developing and executing a video marketing effort over 8 months that any motivated marketer can follow.

The "guts" of the practical tips in this book start with mapping out a video marketing strategy, finding influencers on YouTube and other video services and a clever reversal of the "old map of mass media". You'll also find very specific video optimization tips starting with keyword research and tools as well as specific video optimization tips for YouTube, other video sites and types of video promotion.

A few of the useful video optimization tips include:

1. YouTube SEO involves including keywords in the title, description and tags. Attracting views and ratings is also helpful for better rankings on YouTube.

2. Web video SEO involves using keywords on the page the video is embedded in as well as in anchor text links to the page. Filenames, metadata and RSS enclosures are also opportunities for keyword inclusion.

You'll find many more tips on video marketing besides those focused on SEO. The video marketing plan outlined in Jarboe's book continues with tips on creating viral video content using an ample number of specific examples and then covers the brass tacks of creating a YouTube channel and socializing within the YouTube community.

While a lot of the popular videos on the web are of the home grown, Flip video type, there's a lot to be said for good video production skills and chapter 6 covers everything from video formats to ideal resolution to editing software. Jarboe also offers advice on becoming a YouTube partner and advertiser before getting into the metrics of YouTube Insight (Trust but Verify) and illustrating the measurement of outcomes vs outputs.

In the way that Andrew Goodman "wrote the book" on Google AdWords, Greg Jarboe is undoubtedly the guy who "wrote the book" on YouTube and Video Marketing. If video is in your social media and content marketing future, this book is an excellent starting point.

Check it out:
YouTube and Video Marketing: An Hour a Day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the proof is in the proofreading, April 20, 2010
This review is from: YouTube and Video Marketing: An Hour a Day (Paperback)
Before reading Greg Jarboe's book I already had an in-depth knowledge of YouTube and online video with a number of successful campaigns behind me. I still learned a lot from the book and am the better for it. Mr. Jarboe certainly spent some time compiling data and examples to help illustrate his points. This made the book much more interesting and useful.

So why only three stars? Firstly, as in most books of this kind, it was artificially bloated. The information would have fit on 100 pages or so. Okay, I can accept that. The publisher wants to make some money, fine.

But what really annoyed me was the prevalence of mistakes, as if it was still in draft stage. Certainly this book was not given a final proofreading. For example on page 290 a paragraph begins with, "-marketing for PC Computering from 1988 to 1991 and then worked for William Ziff, Jr. ..." Not only is this not a sentence and makes no sense, it also has nothing to do with the previous paragraph. There seems to be some text missing from this page and the way it stands it is incomprehensible. On the other side of the spectrum, on page 300 a paragraph begins with, "As you learned in Chapter 7 ..." and then a list of three tips follows. On Page 301 this paragraph repeats itself exactly. There are many other instances of this throughout the book. Some people might think I am being petty, but when I spend $20.00 on a book (actually I spent more since I bought it in Europe) I don't think it is expecting too much that someone read over the manuscript before printing thousands of copies. It gives one the feeling that it was a rush job and not carefully written. Ultimately such blatant errors call into question the veracity of the factual content of the book.

In the end I can't say it's a great book, but I would still recommend it. There are not that many books on the subject anyway and this may very well be the best of the lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive guidebook to online video marketing, May 3, 2010
This review is from: YouTube and Video Marketing: An Hour a Day (Paperback)
Have you seen Blendtec's entertaining "Will It Blend?" videos on YouTube? Founder Tom Dickson throws such items as marbles, running shoes, glow sticks, golf balls and iPhones into his company's blenders and flips the on switch. People love these crazy videos so much that Blendtec's YouTube channel has more than 200,000 subscribers. In this book, Internet video-marketing expert Greg Jarboe explains how you, too, can become a "viral video master" and profitably showcase your products on YouTube. The book is part of John Wiley & Son's An Hour a Day series, which makes various undertakings less daunting by breaking them down into easy-to-manage, step-by-step tasks. Covering technical information, video marketing tactics, strategy development, campaign implementation and results measurements, Jarboe offers a well-illustrated yearlong workflow using 60 minutes daily for video marketing - though an hour seems more practical for some steps than others, like running a promotional campaign. getAbstract recommends his thorough manual to entrepreneurs and marketers of all types.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So you want to YouTube, April 13, 2010
This review is from: YouTube and Video Marketing: An Hour a Day (Paperback)
It starts off very basic and ultimately becomes very detailed about creating, optimizing and promoting videos. I really like the way they broke the steps down into an hour a week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reach the world directly, August 11, 2009
This review is from: YouTube and Video Marketing: An Hour a Day (Paperback)
Online video is a great way for anyone to get the word out about their products and services (or even themselves). Musicians and comedians were among the first to use YouTube videos, but now, with the help of Greg Jarboe's book, anyone can get the word out on YouTube. Entrepreneurs, business owners, and nonprofits all make use of video. Even job hunters ause YouTube to supplement the traditional C.V. or résumé.

It's so exciting that we're living in a time when we can reach the world directly, without having to spend enormous amounts of money on advertising and without investing big bucks in PR efforts to convince the media to talk up our products and services. Now we can publish great video online that people are eager to share with their friends, family, and colleagues.

And it's not just the viral aspects. Videos are easy to embed into your Website, which helps people to learn more at the point where they are ready to buy.

This book provides everything you need to know. And it's written in a quick and approachable style. I had done a bunch of videos before I got the book so I was not a novice. But I'm certainly not an expert either. I learned a great deal and will refer to it often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for YouTube and Video Marketing, an Hour A Day, August 30, 2010
This review is from: YouTube and Video Marketing: An Hour a Day (Paperback)
YouTube and Video Marketing, an Hour A Day by Greg Jarboe is a very useful tool for any marketing professional in learning how to begin and continue your journey into YouTube Marketing. I have used a lot of these tips and still reference back to it for more, it's my YouTube bible. It gets into the nitty gritty detail and really spotlights Greg Jarboe's online Marketing and PR expertise.

If you are looking for information on tips for your video marketing plan, learning how to create viral videos, how to create and optimizing your YouTube channel, socializing within the YouTube community and the 411 on how to get your videos on Google this is the BEST one in the market. Thank you Greg Jarboe, you are the YouTube guru!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They did Good, August 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: YouTube and Video Marketing: An Hour a Day (Paperback)
Its hard to keep up with rapid changes in social media and video marketing.. the book is a good start, but check online forums and help at youtube for updates and more info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent & Practical Insight!, May 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: YouTube and Video Marketing: An Hour a Day (Paperback)
Greg does a great job knocking the mystery out of YouTube marketing. His experience is valuable and his practical approach can be applied today. Thanks for all your effort Greg, great book! We will continue to recommend your book to clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

YouTube and Video Marketing: An Hour a Day
YouTube and Video Marketing: An Hour a Day by Greg Jarboe (Paperback - August 17, 2009)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.