Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it A. Sinclair Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Outdoor Recreation Learn more

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$10.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 29, 2009
Warning: This film's blu-ray video transfer is critically flawed!
Somehow this film got past Lionsgate's quality control. It suffers from "jaggies," resolution issues and other HD mastering artifacts. The disc is nearly unwatchable and looks far worse than the most recent DVD versions, even without up-scaling.
Do not take my word on this, please google the issue.

I really enjoy this movie, as it takes me back to my youth and all those great brat-pack films. Which is why the Blu-ray version of this film was such an incredible disappointment. Stick to the DVD version until these issues are resolved.
66 comments|115 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2008
This is a review of the blu-ray transfer. It is just terrible. It's the worst in my collection of over 140 discs. There is stairstepping on everything. It's just awful. I don't know why Amazon insists on sticking reviews of DVD in with the blu-ray reviews.

I just want to warn people that this is not worth an upgrade. There was some sort of serious error in the conversion process. I wish I could get my money back!
0Comment|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2003
Emilio Estevez, Charlie Sheen, and Kiefer Sutherland are just a few of the all-star cast who fill out this film about outlaws set in the old west: The story of Billy the Kid & Co. Aside from the fact that its historical accuracy is more than highly questionable, the movie was more than entertaining.
Emilio Estevez plays William H. Bonney, a.k.a. Billy the Kid who was a runaway and an alleged murderer, who was taken in by Mr. John Tunstall, an English cattleman. Tunstall was murdered by a rival cattleman, a Mr. Murphy, played by Jack Palance. The movie goes on from there with a killing spree of those who were responsible for the death of Tunstall. The acting was great. "Dick," played by Charlie Sheen, was very good and one of Sheen's better roles. Lou Diamond Phillips was absolutely amazing as the Mexican Indian: Jose Chavez y Chavez. Charlie, played by Casey Siemasko, was a great and devoted friend, to Billy, and to the rest of the "Regulators."
It is said that Billy the Kid was no where near as arrogant, nor as trigger happy as the film portrays, but Estevez was rather impressive in his skills both as an actor and a gunslinger. Sutherland's "Josiah `Doc' Scurlock" was an admirable man; full of character and class given the circumstances. Terrance Camp's role as "John Tunstall" was short-lived but excellent.
This movie is highly entertaining. I recommend it to anyone who likes a good Robin Hood story (who isn't terribly concerned of historical accuracy). It is fun to watch, and the cast is second to none.
epc
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2001
"Young Guns" has been dubbed by Many a Critic as the "Brat-Pack Western". Well... Yes, it does star a few of the so-called Brat Packers, does that make it any less of a Classic Western... I think Not. "Young Guns" has All the Requirements needed for Classic Western Status, and in My Books, it's Up there with the Best.
Emilio Estevez, Kiefer Sutherland, Lou Diamond Phillips and Charlie Sheen lead the charge as "The Regulators", a Group of Young Cowboys out to Settle some Scores. Emilio plays Billy the Kid, the Self-Proclaimed Leader of the Regulator Posse, and he plays it Well. He is Tough, Likeable and a Natural Born Leader. If Billy the Kid Was really like this, I'd follow him to the Ends of the Earth. (remember, I said "If") Kiefer Sutherland and Lou Diamond Phillips give the Best Supporting Performances, in this one and in the sequel. Charlie Sheen isn't given as much Screen time, but he uses the time he has Very Well.
The Climactic Standoff is one worth Waiting for; it's Stylish, Original and Violent... It's a Classic Showdown. The film is Full of Tense Gunfights and Violent Shootouts, and as the Characters have been Well-Developed, the Audience is on the Edge of their Seats Throughout. "Young Guns" Will one day be rated up there with the Best Westerns, it is a Beloved film by many and it Will be Remembered by All who see it.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2007
I purchased the Blu-ray debuts of Young Guns & First Blood together to beef up my collection of "guilty pleasure" titles. As both of these are Lionsgate propety, they share similar layout and content. Young Guns, while a decent performer, doesn't seem to have the breathtaking image transfer I was hoping for. If you already own the "Special Edition" standard DVD that was released no so long ago, you would be fine not to upgrade to this, particularly if you have a decent upscaler (albeit, for $19, this BRD is a bargain). The picture seems slightly better defined than the standard version with the most notable improvements being in the blacks (which should be expected in hi-def). Since I don't have a DTS-HD capable setup, I can't really review the audio on this disc other than to say that the standard DTS track sounds just like the one from the standard DVD - which isn't a negative. The BRD also features the the same extra features from the DVD, which aint much. The "trivia" track is kinda cool - much more graphically intensive than before and gives a decent insight into the making of the film as you're watching it. As with First Blood, the pop-up menu is annoying in that is takes up half of the screen, but it's still functional and better than having to exit the film to play around. If you already own the Special Edition DVD, this may not be the upgrade you ar hoping for... it is better than the standard DVD, just not by much. First Blood has a much better transfer.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2004
In 1988, when I first saw this movie as a teen I was blown away by it all loving every minute of this slightly revisionist Western with the coolest cast (at that time) assembled solely to appeal to like minded folks in my demographic grouping. Watching it again some 15 years on DVD the luster has definitely been lost and, 'Young Guns,' comes across more as a late 80's popcorn action cheezefest, albeit still a somewhat enjoyable one. But enough of that. For those who have yet to see it or haven't seen it in years you'll still find a good deal of enjoyment within the flick as long as you go in with the expectation that this is a 'Western-lite' geared for a teen audience.
NOTE: If you do puchase this disc make sure that you get the 'Special Edition' version that was released in Feb. 2004. The earlier version was released back in the late 90's and as a result the menu designs and production quality of the disc itself is somewhat archaic. Worst of all, it doesn't even have a Dolby 5.1 Audio mix to it.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2001
Okay. Now, I rented this movie for one reason: Emilio. I didn't know Charlie was in it (bonus), and I didn't expect the movie, quite frankly, to be that good. It was. I hate westerns. I don't like them. But this one had a comedic tone underlying all the action and shooting. Estevez is terrific as Billy the Kid, and Lou Diamond Phillips has a great scene when he talks about why he hates Murphy (the bad guy). Kiefer Sutherland has some very funny lines directed at Billy. Billy gives this long speech and then leaves, and Sutherland confides to Mulroney "I'm really not liking him." The movie successfully combines humour, action and drama. It gets bloody (can't have shoot-outs without blood) but not disgustingly so. It would've been easy to make a B movie out of the story line (it's not like it hasn't been done before) but this surpassed my expectations. Kudos!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2014
YOUNG GUNS, any fan of this film knows the plot/story line
this review is about the difference between the special edition dvd release and this new Blu-ray release by Lionsgate
which is not much different from the dvd release actually

Lionsgate obviously made no effort for this classic western, what's the point releasing a blu-ray version
if your not going to make the effort to give it any respect
Lionsgate HD blu-ray transfer seems to be the same remastered picture quality from the special edition DVD release
Lionsgate may have enhanced the picture quality little bit but not much
this blu-ray is still the same widescreen format as the dvd release 1:85:1

as for the extras, another Disgusting effort
there are no new extras at all, no new featurette with Keifer sutherland, charlie sheen or Emillio estevez
for some reason they were not available for new interviews or didn't want to
so the only extras are from the special edition dvd
which is just a 30min featurette Documentary on the Real life story of Billy the kid
and the DVD Audio commentary from Lou Diamond Phillips, Dermot mulroney, Casey Siemasko,
that's all you get from this new blu-ray release which i think is pointless buying

so just stay with the special edition dvd release i guess
until a better blu-ray release of Young Guns comes along maybe next time will actually get
new interviews with Keifer sutherland, Charlie sheen etc

the film deserves 5 stars for sure
this blu-ray release deserves 1 star
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2014
What strikes me most about this movie, while widely inaccurate according to the true story of the Lincoln County Regulators, is just how amazingle almost identical Emilio Estevez resembles the real William H. Bonney aka Billy The Kid!! Just pure amazing. And also, according to the true accounts of the characteristics of Billy The Kid, Estevez portrays him to a T!! The true kid, as told by people that knew him, was jokingly and witty and laughed kind of like a hyena!! And Estevez's character acts the exact same way in both movies, I j6st think everyone of these young actors were perfect for their parts. However, Estevez as Billy The Kid just plainly steels the show in Both movies.

I think it would have been awesome to live back during Old West times and ride and fight alongside Billy The Kid!! I can see he and I would of been great friends. It would of been the same exciting awesomness to of played in this movie with these great actors, especially Estevez. I also think it is just about time for a Young Guns remake. I mean, they are remaking all these other lackluster movies. Why not remake the blockbuster movies such as this one?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2011
So it was with some pleasure when I got a copy of this BD for a birthday gift. The movie still holds all of its charms, with or without the historical errors. Billy the Kid and Gang, including the brilliant performance by Kiefer Sutherland, ride out on a heated trail of vengeance against the murderer of their mentor,played by the fan favourite Terrence Stamp (Kneel before Zod!)

The BD picture is restored fair well, and the sound sounds fair in both the 2.0 and 5.1, and if I recall the main menu it also includes 6.1 DTS. But that is hard to verify, seeing how you can only get to the main menu when you first play the disc. The picture quality is just fine, with none of the previous listed reviews. All in all, it is a fair shake for a 80's classic. One would just think the BD version would have been given a bit more heft.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.